Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V1, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

hye
post Jul 18 2011, 01:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Folks ... please upheld a decent language use in here OK ?
hye
post Sep 19 2011, 03:36 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Sep 10 2011, 06:47 PM)
the problem is i didnt apply the card at first place. SCB just send to me and i had use it for a few times oversea... complain SCB whereby i don't know got such condition and i didn't sign the application form?
Err ... if you don't want it then you shouldn't have used the card in the first place. Call direct to reject.
By using the card, you agree to everything that is stated in the T&C for card usage. Did you read the welcome pack / card which the new card came attached with ?
hye
post Sep 19 2011, 03:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 10 2011, 06:08 PM)
No such thing, unless it is stated clearly in the application form!
Yup ... I agree no such thing. Can attempt to ask bank to show/provide evidence of consent for the 6 month moratorium for card cancellation.
I also felt @shiroikun is not entirely fault free as the "pre-approved" card was not cancelled upon receipt - it should have been rejected and to inform the bank immediately if the pre-approved card is not required/acceptance. Using the card (although 1 time), constitute acceptance of the card.

Bank spent a lot of money with lawyers to ensure their T&C is watertight, try to challenge them legally (on the above scenario) and you'll find yourself burned and fried very quickly.

Added on September 19, 2011, 3:44 pm
QUOTE(shiroikun @ Sep 19 2011, 03:41 PM)
The card come with nothing...they just send like a replacement card, don't have any welcome pack.
Not true. Every credit card issued by any bank in Malaysia will come "attached" on a piece of white card (written bank name, recipient name + address, etc) inserted into an envelope. Are you aware there's some T&C written on the (and oftenly regarded insignificant) white card? Unlikely your credit card came just in an envelope with absolutely nothing else.

Added on September 19, 2011, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(andyfriends @ Sep 9 2011, 09:52 AM)
its stated in every cc's std t n c.  if cancel within 6 months, u wil be black listed.
Absolutely not true and non-existant. This T&C (if it does exist) should be written on the application form or disclosure sheet.
The 3-6 months (or whatever month) moratorium for card cancellation exist (if it is being practiced by the bank) in the card application internal policy.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 19 2011, 03:56 PM
hye
post Sep 19 2011, 03:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Added on September 19, 2011, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(ck23 @ Sep 19 2011, 02:32 PM)
SCB CC free RM120 grocery spend and waive RM50 GST, is it real?
What if we signed and cancelled after 6 months?
You are very excited about owning credit cards aren't you ? You posted in a few threads.
We won't spoon feed you with the answer on what will happen then ... try it / do it and you'll find out the consequences yourself. This way you'll appreciate owning a credit card and not to treat it just for the sake of owning one or for fun.
hye
post Oct 3 2011, 09:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

New SCB Infinite card is only granted to PB customers thus no AF applied. GST is still payable by the card holder.

I have not known anyone getting their SCB Infinite waived. Be aware of the hefty AF as mentioned by winner.
hye
post Jan 25 2012, 12:12 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 25 2012, 10:39 AM)
wonder how much is the oversea fee charged by SCB?

http://1-million-dollar-blog.com/overseas-...n-credit-cards/

I think UOB is hisap darah.

I charged $500 on 12/1 and on 12/1 the rate was 3.17 included 1% admin fee. But UOB charged me 3.206

Wonder if we can ask them to reveal the transaction if they are following the exact rate given by VISA + 1% fee?
No you can't. If you were to call CS then they will tell you their standard default answer.
Forex conversion are automatic and handled by their computer. Even if someone knows, it's very limited and CS won't know or these guys have instruction not to talk (or not allowed) to customer directly.

That's why in the forum there's a initiative to compare forex charges on our own as you will never get the answer from the bank.
hye
post Apr 30 2012, 10:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 29 2012, 03:21 PM)
Don't think so because this is what the CS told me.
SCB is unique because everything they offer you during campaigns are stated in B&W in additions to their T&C. Plus, you will be required to sign the paper.
In absence of this paper - then I would ask you to reconsider the validity of their offer/statement.

Not just SCB ... any cc sales agents also I don't trust their offers unless they can show it to me in B&W. Believing these sales agents .. you need to do it with a pinch of salt and believe them @ your own risk. These days card market is very tight ... so they will say anything to make you sign up.
hye
post May 17 2012, 02:48 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tzejinlau @ May 15 2012, 05:19 PM)
the 1st part of 150 got d, but the balance 100 still dun have,,, 2 month liao... y?
Obviously you guys did not bother to read your card T&C. Withdrawal from your cc account is constituted as Cash Advance and irrespective the cash is given to you by the bank - Cash Advance fees will be imposed.

You guys are thinking like debit card where there is no issue of cash withdrawal where withdrawals are done from saving/current account the card is linked to. Can you answer your cc account is linked to what then ? CC account works on CL assigned by the bank. Get your thinking caps correct guys.

If you continue to think like this then don't hold a credit card - you guys are just immature to hold one.
hye
post May 21 2012, 04:35 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ May 19 2012, 09:29 AM)
I find it funny that people in this thread like to ask newcomer/"those in doubts" to search the thread for information...although i know the question may have been asked, but HELLOOO, searching 58 pages for 1 question????..isit even reasonable at all?.. doh.gif
There's a technology called search function these days. And the answers is some cases exist many times as well.
HELLLLOOOO ... there's only few of us and being repeatedly asked the same question by hundreds or thousands of readers. Repeated question problems and people who want golden treatment exist since V1 of the cc thread. Is it reasonable for us ? We serve the forum voluntarily but the expectations is not reasonable.

And the expectations that people want their question to be entertained personally so that they could get direct answers quickly to their own personal needs. (I think ... I said that directly) And I have said this in the T&C ... we don't entertain such coz we don't spoon fed spoilt kids.

This is the problems caused by the young internet generations these days .... not only apparent in LYN but also in many forums in all over the world. And in those forums as well ... they exemplify the technology called search function - use it. Not so difficult right ?
hye
post May 23 2012, 08:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ May 23 2012, 04:44 PM)
any existing SCB cc holder apply scb cc and get RM300 cash rebate?

my SCB customer relationship personnel told me that she have 1 customer which is existing SCB cc holder apply scb cc and get RM300 cash rebate.
Correct me if I'm wrong but the Customer Relationship personnel is the term used for Premier customers. So, if that's correct a Premier customer getting a RM300 cash rebate ? Not surprising.

Normal customers will have Customer Service Officer attending to them.

Now, we seek smsbusiness2u to clarify.
hye
post May 23 2012, 11:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Then likely it's just a rumor.
SCB is well known to made their own in B&W and you are required to sign. If the offer exist then potential signups are aware of the offer upfront.

@smsbusiness2u ... Different words used can imply different things. No hard feelings.
hye
post May 26 2012, 08:10 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ May 26 2012, 12:02 PM)
just a call to cancel the card without proper writings?
Compare this

1. Cancellation via letter - it'll be verified against signature in record. In most cases the bank would not call again to authenticate the cancellation.
2. Cancellation via phone - it'll be verified against several security questions and upon successful authentication then only will the card cancellation request be executed.

Unless someone else know of all your security questions & answers, I don't see any issues. And if someone else knows your all the answers to the security questions, it is a major concern in the first place and cardholder should do something about it.

Can you please show me where is the concern / problem is for cancellation via phone ?

The only one thing in common for both is that, cardholder need to call back the bank to ensure the card is actually cancelled. Some banks do not send letters of cancellation confirmation.
hye
post Jun 29 2012, 04:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@jonathanchew
If your promotion claim cannot be substantiated via written B&W proof, please remove your ad or we shall remove you from the thread.

No proof it is as good as nothing / fake promo and we don't tolerate that here.
hye
post Jun 29 2012, 08:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchew @ Jun 29 2012, 07:14 PM)
want to clarify ya, rm450 u need to apply for 3 cards..

the TV promo much better off. yup 2 more days u see ads up
cari makan no tipu orang one
If you are unable to prove it right now with solid evidence then it is as good as nothing.
I'd appreciate if you temporarily remove your ads until you have something concrete to show - else I stand firm on the decision to remove your post.

"cari makan no tipu orang one" - both the con and genuine guys will use this line. Difference - The genuine guys will have something to back them up - the cons have no proof. Which one would you want to behave like ?

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 29 2012, 08:35 PM
hye
post Jul 1 2012, 04:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 1 2012, 11:21 AM)
The point is, posting should be informative and best backed by source or proof so that others are not "mislead". Furthermore, agents are to post at Service Noticeboard, so actually hye was very accommodating when he requested for the source of his ad.
Thanks for backing me up.
Too many misleading adverts these days (especially those appearing in the forum) and we need to be responsible to our readers with regards to facts and financial products information. Of course I get flamed every now and then and I take it as a normal job hazard being a mod in LYN.

I disagree with veli remark about sales (I'm not a sales person) which paints the profession and everyone in it negatively. And I hope our readers would be matured enough to give such remarks a mature analysis. @Veli if you are truly working for SCB, you should know that everything you do in your capacity as SCB staff reflects the identity of the bank and your response is simply outrageous and irresponsible.

I know this online and a lot of people (or even yourself) don't give a **** about your identity but you know what I just mentioned is true.
hye
post Jul 21 2012, 05:08 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@fastreader

Go and learn what is the difference between GST waiver and offset. Your post were misleading.

This post has been edited by hye: Jul 21 2012, 05:08 PM
hye
post Sep 10 2012, 10:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jeffwkh @ Sep 10 2012, 12:15 PM)
gosh all credit card sales are liar!!! b4 apply said no GST and said apply one card bank give RM600!!! later received both visa and master each hv RM200 onli!!! after deduct GST RM 50 is RM150 each!!!
I don't see the need to shout. Did you ask more questions on how the promotions work ?
Or you got excited after the sales person mention the cash and you forgot to be sensible ?

Similar situation a card sales rep approached me during the recent PC Fair. I asked in detail and more questions ...
1. What is the T&C ?
2. (My favorite) GST waiver or GST offset ?
3. When will I get the money ?
4. Etc ...

With each questions, you'll get more answers. Finally I told off the sales "Are you trying to mislead me ? I won't sign up if you promote your product by lying"
That got the attention of every other sales rep around the guy and they dare not approach me. And they were careful when promoting the cards to subsequent customers.

Sorry, but the way I see it - you got blinded by the offer and forgot to be sensible. We repeated mentioned in here that this would be typical of any card sales behaviour and one would need to be sensible when applying credit card. Never to be blinded by offers of whatsoever kind. You are gravely at fault as well.
hye
post Sep 12 2012, 08:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 12 2012, 04:10 PM)
My friend just got the card, she said the credit limit only 9k.

9k for Platinum card but not gold? Sound weird
A few years ago, Platinum card income requirements were RM100K-RM120k p.a. onwards. Now, the entry requirements is so low that many qualifies. You may ask your friend, how much is her income - RM100k p.a. onwards ?
Many chase this artificial "status" but in reality the low CL says it all.
hye
post Oct 4 2012, 06:20 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

To all readers of this section.

I'm aware that SCB has a referral program that everyone would love to participate. However, this forum does not accept unsolicited referral nor advertisement nor any kind from agents/members who recommend agents.

Now, please discontinue such actions and I won't have any of this in any form. Due to the frequency of such violations in this thread, I'm very concerned and will pay a lot of attention to everyone here due to the rewards which SCB is offering for referrals.

Lately, there's has been many violations in this particular thread and I'd like to remind everyone to toe the line or expect swift reaction to your actions. (I'd not even hesitate to name and shame culprits) This applies to everyone without prejudice.
hye
post Oct 17 2012, 09:58 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Oct 17 2012, 09:03 AM)
SCB got offer 'Titanium' card? LOL laugh.gif
Just to clarify. SCB do have Titanium card but no longer open to new applicants. It became the "exclusive" card now.
You do have SCB Titanium card holders in this thread. (I can confirm that)

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 17 2012, 09:59 AM

0.0226sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:47 AM