Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V1, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

Gen-X
post Jun 2 2011, 12:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

The SCB Platinum cash back of 0.5% is like the standard norm where we also get approximately 0.5% in returns with points.

Edited/Updated

August 2012, is the best time to go apply for the Standard Chartered Business Platinum or Gold credit card. Reason being StanChart is offering FREE money for credit cards approved in August. And to top that, the SCB Business Platinum and Gold credit cards approved in July and August 2012 are eligible for 5% cash back for Petrol thumbup.gif But, as usual, there are terms and conditions, click below link to read more.

Standard Chartered Bank Business Platinum & Gold Cash Back Credit Cards

If you are interested in the Standard Chartered Bank Visa Infinite, click here to read my article.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 18 2012, 05:03 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 6 2011, 05:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 6 2011, 04:06 PM)
That's why you shoud try to hit RM600 dining within June 2010 !!! That's my target ....
Idea : Go bring your dad to a nice expensive meal during Father's Day  drool.gif  brows.gif
You see, this promotion making spend more that you otherwise would tongue.gif

Idea: why not take you dad to a nice and reasonable priced restaurant and save more than the cash back, haha

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 6 2011, 04:28 PM)
but where to spend for another rm900 ? lol buy a massage chair ???
the balance RM900 go spend on weekend with MBB2 and get back 7.5% would be better?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 6 2011, 05:05 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 3 2011, 10:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 3 2011, 10:17 PM)
i got the first 2 years annual fee waived, so no harm giving it a try.

frankly, no USP in the card, except for the priority pass.  Other than that, just like any other card, i suppose.
2 years free, that's good news smile.gif I have been wanting SCB VI for quite sometime (shiok sendiri and fetish with credit card thingy as someone said) and this month SCB got incentive for me to go get it smile.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 3 2011, 11:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 3 2011, 11:10 PM)
chief.....to be fair, I was pleasantly surprised with the SCB VI

u know the rm 50 gst tax - the VI comes with a RM 120 cash back upon activation - so, it comes loaded with a RM 70 credit balance.

that's indeed a surprise, even with 2 years GST, you still make RM20 biggrin.gif Wonder if I'll get the same offer as you sweat.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 6 2011, 04:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(audionutter @ Oct 4 2011, 07:17 PM)
Does SCB have two types of Visa Infinite cards? I thought only one type given to Priority Banking customers which is free for life? There is another one that has annual fees, is it?
1st year SCB VI Free, my new RM said that second year onwards, one have to swipe RM10K/year to get the annual fee waived. But she ensured me that she will get the annual fees waived for me as long as I maintain my PB status. She further told me previously there was another SCB VI (black colour) by invitation which do not need PB Status (maybe that VI needs to pay annual fee).

Another thing I found out is that PB customers get the SCB Platinum Visa Debit/ATM Card for free and there is no transaction fee for overseas cash withdrawal from any ATM machine, pretty good. Come to thing of it, I should go sign up for it for fun and add to my collection.

Phoeni_142: I didn't get the 2 years annual fee waiver nor will I get RM120 cash back sad.gif But my RM said as long as I swipe three times within a certain period (I think she said a month), all I have to do is call CS and the GST will be waived (just like my previous CT offer). But I will be getting a free gift.
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 08:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 6 2011, 10:49 PM)
Chief, considering u r could get their VI - I presume u r their PB customer.  SCB PB's would normally qualify via 2 methods:
1. AUM of 250K and above OR

2. Loans of 800K and above.

More often that not, most PB customers would invest in FD's / UT's.  Most of my business with SCB is via mortgages.  I just argued with them that I actually contribute more to their P&L as a mortgage customer, vs a UT customer - and said that i deserve a AF waiver + other sweeteners....So, that's how I got my deal, I guess.

Maybe U can try to nego?
Thank you Sir for your reply. No lah, won't nego with them since getting 1st year AF waived and GST can be offset with 3 swipes. Furthermore, most probably next year will even withdraw my funds since SCB FD rates are usually not competitive with other banks. If not for my fetish with CC, I will earn much more in a year time by locking the same funds with HLB Junior FD even after taking into consideration SCB current promo for 3 months. Like I said I am a fool doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 10:30 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 7 2011, 09:55 AM)
Curious.....

what's with your fetish with Credit cards? And all the various blogs?

If you don't mind sharing, is it just a "hobby", or are u in the industry?
hahaha, fetish was mentioned by another fellow forumer and also called crazy by gerrardling.
The blog ar, as I mentioned in my article Thank You - Guide To My Blog, I started blogging in 2009 because many people here lazy to do search and keep asking the same questions, so thought easier if I just blog it (that time we had only one thread for CC at LYN Forum). Then another forumer said to write more often (got only 1 post per month from 2009 to 2010), so since I freaking free nowadays, write for fun to keep myself entertained. And you can see from the many threads here, people still asking the same questions and still lazy to read the posts or do a search.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 7 2011, 10:32 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 27 2011, 10:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I posted 2 day ago I received my SCB VI and did a short review on it. Click here to read my artilce SCB VI - The Ultimate Airport Card.. The card really nothing good except the Free entries to airport lounge for me. However, the card design is cool as it can change color.

Also, I just checked with CS, Supp cards DO NOT enjoy access to airport lounge for FREE.
Gen-X
post Oct 27 2011, 12:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 27 2011, 11:13 AM)
Did you get free Cash with your SCB VI ??
Unlike Phoeni_142 case, I am getting nothing! Mentioned in post #487, only get GST waiver with 3 swipes or something like that, good that you ask because it just reminded me go go swipe the card at least 3 times ASAP.
Gen-X
post Oct 28 2011, 02:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Oct 28 2011, 02:27 PM)
I am an existing SC biz plantinum card holder. I received their offer of SCB VI last month with cash back but I rejected them. I am getting irritated nowadays of their frequent call offering RM50k personal loan with some lowe interest rate (according them). I thought they can't do this according to the new Bank Negara ruiling?

In fact, I just cancelled the other Platinum master card. For my business platinum card, GST waived after 3 swipes and additional 1k points was credited.

Oh, forgot to mention - my unused bonus points from platinum master card was transferred to business platinum before it was terminated.  thumbup.gif
Normal la, I get call every week from different bank. Why don't you call CS and request that they forward message to marketing not to make any further calls. Aiyah, you should have accepted the VI, use for 1 year then cancel, no diff, since marketing will still call you.
Gen-X
post Oct 29 2011, 12:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 28 2011, 10:45 PM)
How come? When I got mine, there was RM 70 inside!
Well, my RM told me no cash back. But because of what you mentioned above, I called CS and was told. yes, I do get RM120 and after less GST earn RM70 smile.gif Thank you Sir. Got to go charge the card 3 times within 30 days.

Just to add, today look at the back of the card and saw Toll Free number for CS thumbup.gif When I activated the card, called the number stated on the letter that the card was attached to and had to pay for the call.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 29 2011, 12:37 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 30 2011, 02:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Oct 30 2011, 01:33 AM)
Gen-X, do you mean you have the RM70 net credited into your card account already, or you have to swipe 3 times within 30 days to get the cashback?
From what I understand, they will credit RM120 after I swipe 3 times. Aiyah, now that you asked, forgot to ask CS when my statement date doh.gif

Question to any one that can answer: will I get paper statement if I have signed up for online account with SCB? Reason I'm asking is because now I don't get HSBC's paper statement after I sign up for HSBC online (wanted to check my agoda transaction that time and did not know by signing up automatically I won't get anymore paper statemetns doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif ).
Gen-X
post Oct 30 2011, 11:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 30 2011, 02:29 AM)
No you won't get paper statement anymore once signed up for e-statement.
Unlike MBB, where it is specifically mentioned that if one sign up for eStatement, paper statement will no longer be issued. For HSBC case, not sign up estatement but register for online account.

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Oct 30 2011, 08:46 AM)
That's strange. When i received my VI, the RM120 has already been credited, no condition to swipe 3 times. The RM50 has also been debited. Wonder why their procedures are not standardised.  rclxub.gif
haha, I only like activated the card yesterday and that's why did not bother checking online. But you and rockefeller are correct, there is RM70 shown in my account when I just checked online minutes ago smile.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2011, 08:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Oct 31 2011, 08:28 AM)
NEW promotion from SCB.

Make online bill payments via Standard Chartered Online Banking with over 600 merchants and get 20% CashBack
promotion link
Thanks for the info. Now that I have SCB card, can look into this offer.

To ALL: Does the Just One still earn you guys up to RM600 on Fridays?
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2011, 06:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Wow, SCB going all out with the 20% cash back and their sponsorship of LYN Finance section is more effective than previous citibank's ad.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2011, 06:32 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2011, 08:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 31 2011, 08:08 PM)
Does this mean you don't have to swipe your card 3 times asap like you said earlier to enjoy it?
Not for the RM70 I guess because it is shown as credit in my account when I checked online. Guess I still need to swipe for the GST RM50.
Gen-X
post Nov 23 2011, 08:27 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

deleted - commented on the wrong bank, thought I was in HSBC thread doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 23 2011, 08:44 AM
Gen-X
post Nov 23 2011, 08:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(name @ Nov 23 2011, 08:42 AM)

I got call from SCB , they said i got an offer for Visa Platinum or Priority Visa Infinite

is it true one?

Priority Visa Infinite is an invited credit card right?
then accept the SCB VI smile.gif

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Nov 23 2011, 08:43 AM)
I called CS to cancel my card one month before the second year. Then they give me RM100 to waived the GST, so I continue using this card.
I was so blur this morning and thought this was HSBC thread doh.gif Anyway, fantastic news from you, not only did you get RM50 to waive GST but got another RM50 extra thumbup.gif
Gen-X
post Nov 24 2011, 11:30 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ Nov 24 2011, 10:26 AM)
Hello, I wish to ask is there an email I can direct to SC regarding Platinum card.

My friend who is a SC Classic and Gold card user for 14 years and recently his brother applied for the Plat card and he got 37k card limit.

My friend had both Classic and Gold card limit at 8K for both cards each. When he applied for the Plat card, he got a shocking 8K limit FOR A PLATINUM CARD!!!

The odd thing is that his brother's salary is lower than his. How come SC can issue such a card limit for Platinum card?

I wish to help him in this issue and I do not think emailing to the general email will help.

Do anyone knows any internal email so that this can be directed to? My friend is really good customer of SC but he felt cheated over this matter.
Well, if your friend needs the increase in CL, then he should call CS and request for it. But the way I see it, your friend don't use much with his SCB CC else SCB would have raised it periodically over the last 14 years.

And what is so shocking of having RM8K for Plat? It is more than another member who reported he got RM3K for his HSBC Plat recently. Plat is the new Gold tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Jun 24 2012, 06:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Thought I post this here too based on echoesian's statement that one earning is 1% "returns" from their SCB Business Plat and question if there are other cards out there better than SCB Biz Plat here.

Let's do a comparison based on shopping vouchers SCB Business versus MBB VI for local transactions (for overseas no need to compare lah)

SCB - Isetan and Giant RM50 voucher needs 12000 points (0.416%) and when consider 0.5% cash back total = 0.92%
SCB - Hush Puppies, MJ, Courts, Guardian and Popular RM50 voucher needs 12,500 (0.4%) and when consider 0.5% cash back total = 0.9%
SCB - KFC, McD and Tesco RM50 voucher needs 13000 points and when consider 0.5% cash back total = 0.88%
SCB - Jusco (AEON) - RM50 voucher needs 13,500 points and when consider 0.5% cash back total = 0.87%

versus MBB VI 2X Treats Points for local transactions

Popular, Giant and TESCO RM10 voucher 3000 points or 0.66% (stay away from RM10 voucher with 3000 points, better wait as MBB Treats Points are evergreen)
McD - RM10 voucher 2700 points of 0.74% (still not worth it)
Tesco and Giant RM50 voucher 11000 points or 0.9% (here SCB for Giant better)
Jusco (AEON) RM100 voucher 21000 points or 0.95%
Hush Puppies RM50 voucher 8500 points or 1.17%
MJ RM50 voucher 9000 points or 1.11%
Coffee Bean RM10 voucher 1800 points or 1.11%

So from above, it looks like if want unlimited cash back, HLB Essential at 1% better than SCB Biz Plat. But if your MBB card earns you 2X Treats Points and you don't mind getting cash vouchers, then maybe MBB 2X TP better if you patronize the merchants that offer RM50 vouchers for less than 10,000 points.

Of course best if the merchant accepts MBB 2 AMEX.

However, no one can deny that SCB really generous in giving out cash to its customers smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 24 2012, 06:29 PM

0.0489sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:08 AM