154 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month

ben83
post Jun 9 2011, 08:59 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

For the first time in my life, I got under 100ms ping as well as over 5 Mbps download speed & over 1 Mbps upload speed on a 3G mobile broadband. This 3.75G is really impressive, kudos to UMobile & hope will retain such service speed for some time.
chuahcs79
post Jun 9 2011, 09:04 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jun 9 2011, 08:59 PM)
For the first time in my life, I got under 100ms ping as well as over 5 Mbps download speed & over 1 Mbps upload speed on a 3G mobile broadband. This 3.75G is really impressive, kudos to UMobile & hope will retain such service speed for some time.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

xcen
post Jun 9 2011, 10:13 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

U Mobile service has been quite inconsistent in Subang Jaya area lately...
mochachoke
post Jun 9 2011, 11:14 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

3.75G ? Do you mean HSPA+

This post has been edited by mochachoke: Jun 9 2011, 11:14 PM
xcen
post Jun 10 2011, 01:47 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Well this is not good... around USJ 6 area.

Funnily enough, my phone, which is using also U Mobile (500MB/RM28), can get up to 1.8Mbps with ease.

Problem with modem?

EDIT: Apparently not a problem with the modem. More like SIM card problem or account problem. I took the SIM card out and put it in my phone. Still the same crappy speed.

Can anyone go to their U Mobile Online Portal and under Account Information, does it state UB USIM plan?

This post has been edited by xcen: Jun 10 2011, 02:10 AM
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 10 2011, 03:41 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

You live at where?

You use what modem? unsure.gif
donnwyt
post Jun 10 2011, 11:27 AM

153 posts

what happened to umobile?? even if throttled, wont be this bad right? sad.gif

in technology park malaysia, bukit jalil.

This post has been edited by donnwyt: Jun 10 2011, 11:28 AM
Icehart
post Jun 10 2011, 11:54 AM

14,899 posts

Still the same for me.
steven1379
post Jun 11 2011, 01:54 AM

234 posts

any u28 unlimited internet user here ?

i facing problem that when i turn off my 3G service .. it will switch to celcom network automatically ... but when i turn 3G on again it won't auto connect me back to umobile .. i have to do it manually .. i am iphone user ...

any kind souls can guide me on this ?
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 11 2011, 03:35 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jun 11 2011, 01:54 AM)

i facing problem that when i turn off my 3G service .. it will switch to celcom network automatically ... but when i turn 3G on again it won't auto connect me back to umobile .. i have to do it manually .. i am iphone user ...

Usually once i changed back to 3G for my Nokia phones, it would automatically connects me to the UM 3G network. Unless I am not in the UM 3G coverage.

Have you tried to manually connect back to the U mobile network?
alwinnng
post Jun 11 2011, 03:37 AM

4,296 posts

in johor my area veri slow....when will they expend their 3g coverage area???
9M-MAS
post Jun 11 2011, 10:38 AM

1,422 posts

Johor what area la? Kota Tinggi? Tongkang Pecah? Labis? Lenek?
xcen
post Jun 11 2011, 11:05 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jun 11 2011, 01:54 AM)

I'm using Android. And yes, when switch back to 3G it will not automatically go back to 3G. You have 2 options:

1. Wait for like half an hour and it will turn to 3G.
2. Switch on Airplane Mode and switch it off again. It will refresh the network and you will have 3G back.

Added on June 11, 2011, 11:08 amuser posted image

My ping is good but my download speed is terrible. I suspect U Mobile is throttling my speed. Btw, U Mobile customer service is just as bad as any customer service you'd expect in Malaysia. Damn.

This post has been edited by xcen: Jun 11 2011, 11:08 AM
steven1379
post Jun 11 2011, 11:25 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Jun 11 2011, 11:05 AM)
I'm using Android. And yes, when switch back to 3G it will not automatically go back to 3G. You have 2 options:

1. Wait for like half an hour and it will turn to 3G.
2. Switch on Airplane Mode and switch it off again. It will refresh the network and you will have 3G back.

Added on June 11, 2011, 11:08 amuser posted image

My ping is good but my download speed is terrible. I suspect U Mobile is throttling my speed. Btw, U Mobile customer service is just as bad as any customer service you'd expect in Malaysia. Damn.
haiz .. it's suck ... have to change everytime.
btw your airplane method works but too annoying have to repeat it everytime.

my conclusion is Umobile can't live when out of 3G coverage . your smartphone 3G has to on all the time ... but how long can your phone battery sustain with 3G on rclxub.gif
vergil90
post Jun 11 2011, 01:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jun 11 2011, 11:25 AM)

my conclusion is Umobile can't live when out of 3G coverage . your smartphone 3G has to on all the time ... but how long can your phone battery sustain with 3G on  rclxub.gif
?? Iphone cannot off data network meh? my android can off data network as i always connect to 3g network, just enable back data network when want online and off to save battery when not online

when off data, 3g just use for sms and voice

This post has been edited by vergil90: Jun 11 2011, 01:10 PM
digilife
post Jun 11 2011, 05:46 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

these few days UM sucks, sometimes speed cannot move even connected doh.gif

shahrul_sama
post Jun 11 2011, 06:59 PM

regular customer
1,247 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jun 11 2011, 11:25 AM)

my conclusion is Umobile can't live when out of 3G coverage . your smartphone 3G has to on all the time ... but how long can your phone battery sustain with 3G on  rclxub.gif
just on 3g mode without using it,will not affect to ure battery life ...only continuously using of data,sms ,call ,wifi or games will drained ur battery faster ....u just off the packet data option if dont want to use the data connection...i think all latest phone got this function..my crappy samsung bada phone got this function and also no problem auto changed the network mode...sometime takes 2 or 3 minutes only ...

also i still can surfing,call n sms when roaming to celcom edge mode...no issue when out of 3g coverage...

This post has been edited by shahrul_sama: Jun 11 2011, 07:50 PM
ddr3
post Jun 11 2011, 08:09 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

JOHOR BAHRU - LARKIN AREA there can get umobile o nt? coz goin there nex week....
steven1379
post Jun 11 2011, 11:29 PM

234 posts

for me ... i off my 3G network ... it takes me very long time to switch back to Umobile when i turn 3G network on ...

very annoying ...
xcen
post Jun 11 2011, 11:58 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 11 2011, 05:46 PM)
these few days UM sucks, sometimes speed cannot move even connected doh.gif
Subang Jaya area?

154 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top