U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month

Quantum_thinking
post May 21 2011, 02:54 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

Wow, a new U mobile thread ald. rclxms.gif

Anyway, any idea when Alor Star would be able to receive 42Mbps speed internet?
Quantum_thinking
post May 23 2011, 01:44 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ May 22 2011, 11:54 PM)
what is this RM28/month plan? Where can I find it?
You can get a U mobile prepaid sim card and then you can subscribe through *118*3#. wink.gif
Quantum_thinking
post May 24 2011, 07:45 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 24 2011, 05:57 PM)
You guys here aware tat if you are using UM voice on a 3G fon and in a UM3G area all your calls are FREE if the receiver is using a 3G fon in a UM3G area icon_idea.gif

Yes, its FREE for now thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
You mean the other receiver also have to use the U mobile sim card right?
Quantum_thinking
post May 26 2011, 12:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ May 26 2011, 11:27 AM)
should I call up Cust Serv if i occasionally experience sudden disconnection?
when it happens the ZTE Modem program will suddenly show Celcom roaming instead of Umobile, then i have to re-plug in the modem then only it'll show Umobile and can connect again.
sometimes it don't show celcom, it show "no service" instead, then I'd have to do the same then it'll detect umobile again..

something wrong with the sim? something wrong with the modem? btw I'm on the old U68 with 3.6MBps ZTE modem..
I also suffer same problem with U mobile line when using it with my Dlink modem. However, my modem usually change to other kind of bandwidth from HSDPA and i have to do like what you say to get it back online.

QUOTE(teq @ May 26 2011, 11:53 AM)
hi, any umobile broadband user from seremban?
how is the speed?
Digilife usually in Seremban. He should know about it.
Quantum_thinking
post May 27 2011, 12:26 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(johorfreak @ May 26 2011, 07:32 PM)
hey dude...im in uniten too...finding bb to play flying spaghetti monster...will u recommend u mobile?
I strongly suggest that you test the broadband performance using the U mobile prepaid broaband first. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: May 27 2011, 12:26 AM
Quantum_thinking
post May 27 2011, 03:01 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ May 27 2011, 12:41 PM)
Umobile up to 42mbps?! Is this broadband good for gaming?
High speed does not means that it is good for gaming....
Quantum_thinking
post May 27 2011, 05:22 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 27 2011, 05:16 PM)
now all calls from UM to UM in a UM3G area is FOC, yes TRUE FOC 

you can talk and talk till the cows come home and UM wont deduct your credit

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Nice. rclxms.gif

Bro,

The RM28/month unlimited internet free voice calls can be used for the overseas call?
Quantum_thinking
post May 27 2011, 11:30 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ May 27 2011, 06:08 PM)
need both are in um3g area,so have to be local calls.

Umm, i thought the free voice calls are including to the different telcos? If like this, how come people need to be in the U mobile 3G area at the same time?
Quantum_thinking
post May 27 2011, 11:56 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ May 27 2011, 11:43 PM)
what you're talking about is the free 100mins credit given by RM28 prepaid plan,right?
I'm talking that currently if both parties are using um3g and under um3g area calling,the call will be free of any charge,and not charge on the free credit too.
LOL.

If i have the remaining free talktime under the RM28/month plan, will it be deducted from the free talktime or my main credit will be deducted if i am calling to overseas?
Quantum_thinking
post May 28 2011, 11:55 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Juneapril @ May 28 2011, 12:46 AM)
First few weeks of using Umobile I  got at least 1.70 Mbps (normal over 2 Mbps)  but now only about 1.05  Mbps .
They talked about upgrading but seem to me like downgrading.
I am worry this new 42 Mbps plan will affect a lot on UB68 Users's speed.  You can see it's happening now. No point of creating a fast 42 Mbps plan but reduce the current user's speed.
Usually when i heard that the ISP is upgrading their service, i sincerely temporary stop using their services unless i have no choice until their upgrade is finished....
Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 02:54 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ May 28 2011, 05:04 PM)
The free credit is only used for local calls,so when you make a call to overseas,surely that will charge on your cash balance.No reduction of either free credit or cash balance is only applied when both sides are under um3G coverage and so of course is local call.  biggrin.gif

If i did not subscribed to the RM28/month unlimited internet plan, the UM 3G to UM 3G still FOC right?

QUOTE(tutiger @ May 28 2011, 05:20 PM)
I am interested to get the RM28 plan...... How do I get it?
Is it just for handphone/smartphones only or can also use in dongles?
I am using it in the USB modem. Once it is over 500MB, i usually use it in my smartphones rather than for computer.
Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 06:50 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ May 29 2011, 06:10 PM)
/offtopic: nothing to do with Internet laugh.gif

U3G to U3G is still free, with or without Unlimited Mobile Internet, confirmed and verified biggrin.gif  drool.gif  brows.gif

just wondering on U3G to U3G is lack of "shout", why it is gone silent on this feature, way better than competitor, just that both parties to be in U3G coverage,
QUOTE(digilife @ May 29 2011, 06:38 PM)
if you flip back the post, no one mention abt this FREE voice UM3G ~ UM3G, actually i only knew it a few days ago and i posted it here, and now you guys tested it worked thumbup.gif

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:39 pm

care to mention you are on UB package or RM28 package
Thanks for the respond guys.

I guess they want to save the advert costs and let the consumer spread it out? Otherwise, it is a temporary only? unsure.gif

Note: I almost forget this is a broadband section..... doh.gif
Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 07:53 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(buddy @ May 29 2011, 07:44 PM)
hi, i have a huawei 3g modem
where to get the umobile sim?
would like to try umobile coverage in serdang area..any 7 days return policy?
Umm, you can PM digilife for the U mobile sim card. Please be reminded that no 7 days return for the prepaid sim.
Quantum_thinking
post May 31 2011, 10:41 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 31 2011, 08:29 AM)
Yesterday i went to ask about this umobile bb service... Asked about the prepaid version... The brochure stated hor dl speed up to 14.4mbps... But the sales gurl told me only edge speed at best... If edge only means 384kpbs max rite?
Nono. EDGE is slower than that for sure. A lot of forumers have done speedtest here. Plz check it out yourself.

QUOTE(digilife @ May 31 2011, 09:27 AM)
where is the location of the noob sales asst. ?
+1.

Quantum_thinking
post May 31 2011, 10:42 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ May 31 2011, 08:33 PM)
EDGE technology wont go beyond 236kbps....even its hard to achieve its max speed.
I am not sure about that, but last time when i check out the speed, it is constant at 5.6kb/s in my hometown before digi have 3G coverage here.
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 1 2011, 12:34 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lengcaiboy @ Jun 1 2011, 12:02 AM)
i already buy rm28 today (31/5/2011)
why i still cannot use it?
it normal?
i can use it tomorow on 1/6?
i try to connect it tell no network

Added on June 1, 2011, 12:23 amwhy connection failed?line full gprs also cannot connec
Have you tried to connect using the my3g APN?
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 1 2011, 07:03 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(zephyr3d @ Jun 1 2011, 01:00 PM)
hi guys... i'm seeking an opinion or two regarding U Mobile. Price wise, it looks reasonably priced..  I'm planning to get Voice & Data Plans U Lite (RM68).

I've been a stubborn Digi customer for donkey years.. since 1997 I think. But I have to admit that I'm (finally) calling it a day. The coverage and strength hardly came on par with other telcos. Either I'll lose 3G at certain area (even in my own house at Kinrara it fluctuates!!). Plus Digi is also famous for "zero coverage" in enclosed areas.. sometimes 'no line' in shopping complexes.. .frustrating! imagine no line at certain parts of Pavilion or The Gardens? Its a joke.

So..... main questions. How's the coverage and strength of U Mobile? 3G as well. Hopefully you guys can give me your honest opinion.. and don't tell me to go thru hundreds of pages in this (and other) topic.

Thanks a bunch smile.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 1:10 pm

Hi.. i'm a little confused. Why are you guys roaming with Celcom? In M'sia? Would there be additional charges?

Thks.
Different area different broadband performance. That i s why i always advise people to test out the prepaid broadband first. In bandar Sunway, the performance is fine with me.
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 2 2011, 01:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(em.kuan @ Jun 2 2011, 11:26 AM)
soli....what mean 'go to *118# select u broadband'......
mean send from handphone ? i using maxis line de wo...
soli....i m new here.... icon_question.gif
You have to use the U mobile sim to access to that. sweat.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 3 2011, 01:25 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(em.kuan @ Jun 2 2011, 01:23 PM)
haha...soli soli...i understand liao...
pai sei~ notworthy.gif
u guys mean the package is only open for existing U Mobile user?
coz from thier website didnt show...
coz rm68 unlimited really attractive wo...
existing or new U mobile user with a prepaid sim. I suppose you are referring to the UM RM28/month unlimited internet?

QUOTE(misstrezzz hermanazzz @ Jun 3 2011, 12:57 AM)
what if i buy the UM prepaid starter pack and reload around RM78 to enjoy the broadband..is it ok guys?
which broadband need RM78 to top up???
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 3 2011, 05:32 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jun 3 2011, 01:50 PM)
but still only 15GB,.. p1 provided 20 GB also is far way not enough,.
Nobody say that you cannot buy 2 or 3 sim cards if you want to, but subscribing 3 postpaid lines sounds crazy....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:40 AM