Please Recommend... Earphones/Headphones

scotty
post Aug 29 2005, 07:27 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(lemon_lime @ Aug 29 2005, 06:23 PM)
Does this mean that the 895 would definitely need external amplification? If it is used with a portable player (discman, mp3 player) without any external amplification, how is the performance?
i did try with the 895 with a tiny thomson mp3 player.it sounded okie. just that u need to put the volume to the max compare with normal earphones biggrin.gif
Tachikoma
post Aug 29 2005, 07:29 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

depends lah. To me the SHP 895 was badly under-performing when I plugged it on a AV-710 without an amp =P
pukarix
post Aug 29 2005, 09:11 PM

1,053 posts

so SHP805 is ok without any amplification?
mikechai
post Aug 29 2005, 09:13 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Aug 29 2005, 09:11 PM)
so SHP805 is ok without any amplification?
It can be driven by almost anything. laugh.gif
pukarix
post Aug 29 2005, 09:15 PM

1,053 posts

mikechai...u r tempting me to buy it...hehehe for the price,overall its ok?or anyother opinions?thumbs up or otherwise?
lemon_lime
post Aug 29 2005, 10:09 PM

86 posts

Considering that i don't have an external amplifier to drive the headphones, will the 805 and the 895 still have a noticeable difference in performance? Or will they be of no difference and i would have wasted RM110 tongue.gif sweat.gif
sky_lor
post Aug 29 2005, 10:16 PM

203 posts

just go ahead for the 895...with the price, it wont make u feel that u are wasted ur money...i think beside than pair it with ur mp3...u also listening song with pc right?bcoz if u want a real portable...895 may not be the best choice...but if u want to use it for pc...it's one of the best at this price range
scotty
post Aug 29 2005, 10:56 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

do keep this in mind, the 895 is a very huge head phones.if size does not matter get it. if yes get the 805 instead biggrin.gif
The Scourge
post Aug 30 2005, 01:30 AM

367 posts

Er, the 895 and 805 seem to be cut from the same mould, i.e. aren't they identical, size-wise? Anyway, I had no issues driving the 895s with my Audigy, Prodigy or MP3 player. Still had enough headroom.
thedoctor
post Aug 30 2005, 01:20 PM

Certified PhD in EE
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Aug 29 2005, 03:36 PM)
Have you tested the HP1000, btw? Is it a worthwhile upgrade over the HP 895?

i have no idea. never tried the HP-1000, but it's really tempting. anyone that have tried the HP-1000 and SHP-895 wanna give some opinion? with amplification of course, since HP-1000 needs a good amp to shine.

QUOTE(pukarix @ Aug 29 2005, 09:15 PM)
mikechai...u r tempting me to buy it...hehehe for the price,overall its ok?or anyother opinions?thumbs up or otherwise?

overall? it's good. really, give it some burn-in time, around 40-50 hours and the sound will definately get better. for half the price of the SHP-895 you wouldn't get half the performance of the SHP-895.

QUOTE(lemon_lime @ Aug 29 2005, 10:09 PM)
Considering that i don't have an external amplifier to drive the headphones, will the 805 and the 895 still have a noticeable difference in performance? Or will they be of no difference and i would have wasted RM110  tongue.gif  sweat.gif

what soundcard do you have in mind of pairing it with?
from my experience, yes, it will. considering that you don't plug in it Chaintech AV-710. even an Audigy/Audigy2 ZS (that has internal amplification) would be enough.

QUOTE(The Scourge @ Aug 30 2005, 01:30 AM)
Er, the 895 and 805 seem to be cut from the same mould, i.e. aren't they identical, size-wise? Anyway, I had no issues driving the 895s with my Audigy, Prodigy or MP3 player. Still had enough headroom.
nope. the 805 is smaller, and is oval-shapped. not to mention that it's lighter, a lot lighter. the 895 is kindda rounded shape.

if you wanna have a portable can that you could wear on the street and not look so dorky tongue.gif , get the 805. the Audigy/Prodigy does have internal amplification right? and as for the MP3 player, some couldn't drive it well enough.
jefferey
post Aug 30 2005, 09:03 PM

252 posts

895 user here ...
pair it with a audigy2zs ...

really need an external amplification after tested my fren's one which only pair v a sudigy2zs + edifier ha11 ...

anyway i have a serious headache after 30mins of listening, this prob may not happen on u perhaps as it nvr happen on some ppl ... this is due to the shape of the head .. kekeke
KilJim
post Aug 31 2005, 03:56 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

the closest you'll get is prolly some canal phones since the plastic part wont be pressing against your ear
but it'll still feel pretty uncomfortable

so u actually listen to music on earphones while going to sleep? sweat.gif
thedoctor
post Aug 31 2005, 11:22 PM

Certified PhD in EE
1,040 posts

QUOTE(boyakasha1234 @ Aug 31 2005, 10:48 PM)
yea, sleeping and listne to music and especially talk shows audio
its fun.
its my way to get sleep, my brain cant stop thinking

woh.. that's new.. might wanna get your brain checked.. it might be at fault. tongue.gif

just joking.. tongue.gif
ezinger
post Sep 4 2005, 12:35 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

greeting...

im lookin for a mediocre headphone for versatility

a decent sound quality headphones for gaming and music

my budget is on the average of RM100

any recommendations?

i was thinkin of gettin this headphone
Sony MDR-XD200

what ya guys think?
AlamakLor
post Sep 4 2005, 11:38 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 4 2005, 01:35 AM)
greeting...

im lookin for a mediocre headphone for versatility

a decent sound quality headphones for gaming and music

my budget is on the average of RM100

any recommendations?

i was thinkin of gettin this headphone
Sony MDR-XD200

what ya guys think?
forget about the xd200, i have one and it sounds like crap. it's sounds uber muffled, if the grado sr60 could make the px100 sounds like junk, this is probably poo.
ezinger
post Sep 5 2005, 10:27 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

so what do you recommend for a mediocre headphones ranging around the price of MD200?
jckwlw
post Sep 6 2005, 11:56 PM

154 posts

Dear,

Intend to get 1 headphone but don't know which is good.

Budget: below RM150
Brand: any brands
Purpose: for movie, music and games.

May I know which brand (with model) is good? Thank you notworthy.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 7 2005, 12:46 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 4 2005, 11:27 PM)
so what do you recommend for a mediocre headphones ranging around the price of MD200?
you can barely get anything that is listenable with RM100. some cheapo philips perhaps? most of the more accurate sounding phones would cost at least double the price. the grado sr60 should be around RM280 in msia, yeah, it's almost 3 times your budget, but if you ever compare it to the xd200....you will know what I mean by that the xd200 sounds like pooooooooo
na21m
post Sep 7 2005, 03:32 PM

Uuuu i have four already!
545 posts

what about the Philips SHP805?
ezinger
post Sep 7 2005, 10:13 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

well i clearly stated mediocre...

poo sound that applies to me is headphones under the price of 70 perhaps...

144 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:40 AM