AlamakLor
post Aug 10 2005, 07:52 PM

9,856 posts

just get this:

but you may have trouble finding an audiologist to take ur impression for the custom mold.

or you can buy my er6 after I tested them smile.gif

EDIT: btw, sec hand er4 could be had around RM600

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 10 2005, 07:55 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 11 2005, 12:15 AM

9,856 posts

it's the reason because u have never used a canalphone (i presume), never auditioned it before, and dont have the chance to do that, it's best to get a sec hand to try it out and you can always sell it back around the price you bought it with minimal lost. but of coz, if u got the moolah....then forget about it...and should just get the UE10pro.
AlamakLor
post Aug 16 2005, 04:29 AM

9,856 posts

the 4s is the one you should get.
i just cant get myself to buy something like that despite however good deal/great sound it is. it just look too ugly laugh.gif i bet they are gonna launch a new model to replace that pretty soon. the er4 has been in the market for very very very long.
AlamakLor
post Aug 20 2005, 03:17 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(gavlim @ Aug 19 2005, 04:16 PM)
just to let you guys know, the ebay seller "idealsound" is affiliated with www.discountheadphones.com and they are selling the ER4s earphones for US$180 which is really well below the retail of US$330. i used their "offer best price" option in their auction and gave an offer of US$170 which they declined but messaged me saying they would sell for US$180. of course, + US$40 shipping international sweat.gif
i wonder what happens if you put $10 laugh.gif
oh btw, idealsound is discountheadphone....just that discountheadphone is their store name in ebay. idealsound is their general web store name biggrin.gif they are even under the same address XD

oh btw, i have a feeling that (based on some reviews) the so called ultra high detail on the er4 is actually the ultra crisp highs...= super bright phone. it is also said that it is quite bassless...got a feeling that it is even brighter than the er6...man...ear piercing ouch!

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 20 2005, 03:21 AM
AlamakLor
post Aug 20 2005, 06:00 AM

9,856 posts

actually...im gonna let go of my er6 that i received yesterday...if anybody is interested..lemme know..smile.gif USD68 + RM12 shipping.
AlamakLor
post Aug 20 2005, 06:07 AM

9,856 posts

small box? nice....you ever seen the box? laugh.gif they ship by ups worldwide express, usually take 3-4 days to reach asia i belive. it cost USD35 to ship across boarder when I ordered the hd650 from them. if you quote the same box size, weight, yada yada from ups' site...it cost > 100 bucks laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 20 2005, 06:13 AM
AlamakLor
post Aug 21 2005, 12:37 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(Cannonfodder @ Aug 20 2005, 01:10 PM)
How big can the box be? I've seen the ER-4s retail box, just a little larger than the one on the ER-6i, and it can easily fit inside a padded envelope.

Don't tell me they try and stuff it inside a Jumbo Box?!?

it's at least 3-4 times the size. the er6 can be shipped as document, the er4 must be shipped as parcel smile.gif and they do use larger box with cushion for added protection.
AlamakLor
post Aug 21 2005, 01:15 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(yanjinowa @ Aug 20 2005, 02:13 PM)
well, for all u guys advice i would like to get the er-4p a go.
then where else i can get the p-s cable? andhow much does it cost?
i can make it for you laugh.gif but i dont ahve 70+ohm resistors now laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Aug 21 2005, 01:32 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(yanjinowa @ Aug 20 2005, 02:18 PM)
then when will u be able to make it?
haha.
and how much?
u still in canada now right?
so how is the shipping?
the closest resistor i have now is 100ohm, 1% tolerance. can be hand matched for both channels. That will make the er4 around 130ohm, as oppose to 100ohm of the er4s. shipping back to msia is RM10-12. the adapter...cost around 20usd + shipping if u get it off from someone else in the states though. i dun have any pricing yet since i dont have the resostors for perfect cloning of the adapter tongue.gif
AlamakLor
post Aug 22 2005, 10:58 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Aug 22 2005, 08:45 AM)
Cmoy amp good meh? It's made up of less than USD10's worth of parts and can be built in 15 minutes tongue.gif Maybe add 2 more bucks for a tin of strepsils.

I have the ER-4Ps that I use with my iPod mini. Note that they come 3 sets (if I'm not mistaken) of silicon eartips and foamies... if you're having trouble with the silicons then just use the foamies. I personally use foamies for a better seal - they give you better bass too.

All the ER-4 models have identical drivers, it's just the cable which is different. I had my original cable (the "rubbery" one) broken, sent it back to Ety and within 2 weeks I got them back with the new braided cable.
wanna be my supplier? wink.gif
AlamakLor
post Aug 23 2005, 06:40 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Aug 22 2005, 03:04 PM)
I'm in aus leh unsure.gif

A Cmoy with generic parts can be made with less than USD15 easily, especially if you "mass-produce" and buy them in bulk lah. I have a cmoy and meta in KL, but I did put a fake alps in as well as silver plated ofc, and IIRC it was less than AUD40 in materials... but my 2132s were samples tongue.gif
lemme highlight the important points. it is not possible with vishay dale 1% resistors, panasonic/nichicon/sanyo oscon caps, panasonic pot, printed copper clad board (ugh...not with those universal boards XD), non-free opamps, shipping cost, +*PROFIT MARGIN laugh.gif u know...if you take china stuff into account...it could be even cheaper(with uber generic stuff LOL)...and how much is the grado RA-1? 300+USD retail? LMAO.... shakehead.gif

EDIT: *added an important point.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 23 2005, 06:42 AM
AlamakLor
post Aug 23 2005, 08:43 PM

9,856 posts

why not vishay? is a cmoy too crappy to have quality components in it? I never settle for less smile.gif
AlamakLor
post Aug 23 2005, 09:17 PM

9,856 posts

LOL ok. good for you.
AlamakLor
post Sep 4 2005, 11:38 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 4 2005, 01:35 AM)
greeting...

im lookin for a mediocre headphone for versatility

a decent sound quality headphones for gaming and music

my budget is on the average of RM100

any recommendations?

i was thinkin of gettin this headphone
Sony MDR-XD200

what ya guys think?
forget about the xd200, i have one and it sounds like crap. it's sounds uber muffled, if the grado sr60 could make the px100 sounds like junk, this is probably poo.
AlamakLor
post Sep 7 2005, 12:46 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Sep 4 2005, 11:27 PM)
so what do you recommend for a mediocre headphones ranging around the price of MD200?
you can barely get anything that is listenable with RM100. some cheapo philips perhaps? most of the more accurate sounding phones would cost at least double the price. the grado sr60 should be around RM280 in msia, yeah, it's almost 3 times your budget, but if you ever compare it to the xd200....you will know what I mean by that the xd200 sounds like pooooooooo
AlamakLor
post Sep 11 2005, 03:28 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(spirit8931 @ Sep 10 2005, 02:51 PM)
Hi all, Just wanted to ask if there's any recommendations for a sealed headphones? My price range is between RM 200-Rm300.

I currently have a AKG K 24 P & Koss KSC 75 to use it at home or quite places. Need a sealed one so that people can't hear what i'm listening when i'm out.

Thanks in advance. Newbie here.
I find it hard to enjoy good music when im outdoor. the only way is probably with really good IEM, but they cost alot and the sound quality is often, I belive, worth less than half of what you'd pay for it. I had owned 3 portable phones so far, senn px100, senn pmx60, and ety er6. the er6 cost rm400+ retail, and to me, the overall sound quality doesn't worth more than RM100+. I prefer the px100 over the er6 anytime. the px100 is around rm200 or less, they are good for portable use, and they have the higher-end senn house sound but unfortunately, they sound like crap when you compare them to the grado sr60, which should be around RM100 more than the px100 (still within your budget). the px100 is open, but they don't leak much. I've read comments on people saying that they "leak like hell" and apparently, they havent heard anything that really "leaks like hell" (e.g. senn hd500, 570, grados, and etc)

the px100 or koss ksc75 should be good enough for portable use, and within your price range. they leak, but usually people around you would only be able to hear some "hissing sound", that's all. you can literally hear "lyrics" with the hd570 laugh.gif. unless you intend to spend alot of a good pair of IEM, these should be adequate.

EDIT: wait, I jsut re-read your post and u say u are using the ksc75 @ home? heh....get yourself a pair of grado sr-60 with that budget and bring the ksc75 out.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 11 2005, 03:30 AM
AlamakLor
post Oct 12 2005, 02:06 PM

9,856 posts

if you want bass and bass only, then sony ex71 is ur best friend. you can even pimp that you have a canalphone without actually spending hundreds for a real one tongue.gif and dude, it's white(or black) biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 13 2005, 12:13 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Oct 12 2005, 01:27 PM)
the ex-71's bass doesnt seem that...uhh overwhelming to me, if i remember correctly even the Philips' HP-890 had a stronger bass
all-it and a few other shops in low yat plaza has it too
that's what everybody says initialy. After's they've heard the real deal...this is the usual respones: "holy cr@p! I've been listening to that?" next thing, the ex71 goes into the bin laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 13 2005, 02:15 PM

9,856 posts

mail Koss and claim a new one under their lifetime warranty. When asked how it broke, says it just broke suddenly with no apparent reasons tongue.gif

ei, i'm also contemplating getting a ksc75, sicne they are only around rm70. but personally i dun like clip ons, they are really uncomfortable to me. I've never heard of the ksc75, since it is said that the driver is the same as the portapro, the bass should be quite heacy as well, but clip ons have less clamping pressure and i guess it should be tad less than the portapro. I've heard both the portapro and px100(duh i own one tongue.gif), and I think the bass is pretty overwhelming. but it's a fun phone. When I put on my er4, the detail is sweet, but sometimes....the bass is really a let down...especially with light bass or moderate bass songs....I was always hoping....damnit....where the f is the bass...

edit: wah lau...look at my typos....even got "'s" after "after" LMAO

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 13 2005, 02:16 PM
AlamakLor
post Oct 14 2005, 03:07 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Oct 13 2005, 11:04 AM)
dont think that's gonna work, the neckband snapped into 2  biggrin.gif

which do u prefer between the px100 and portapro?
heard a lot of good things about the portapro, but the design is kinda weird  sweat.gif
im quite indifferent between the sound quality. They are quite similar. But I find the portapro very tedius to use, the way the band extend and the silly pressure adjustment switch.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:29 PM