Please Recommend... Earphones/Headphones

TSyanjinowa
post Aug 10 2005, 07:45 PM, updated 21y ago

565 posts

hey guys.
it is s happen to that i can get someone in US to help me bring a RH-10 and a pair of earphone to me. so i would like to ask some comment from u guys.

izzit good to get a canal earpiece? i plan to get E3c or ER-6i. but my fren said there is a promotion going on with the ER-4p. so which one should i get? it is a headache to decide. since the earpiece cost much also. cry.gif

well, if u r the one to get something to pair up with the RH-10 Hi-MD player, wat will u get?

thx in advance.

This post has been edited by yanjinowa: Aug 13 2005, 02:15 PM
AlamakLor
post Aug 10 2005, 07:52 PM

9,856 posts

just get this:

but you may have trouble finding an audiologist to take ur impression for the custom mold.

or you can buy my er6 after I tested them smile.gif

EDIT: btw, sec hand er4 could be had around RM600

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 10 2005, 07:55 PM
TSyanjinowa
post Aug 10 2005, 08:03 PM

565 posts

huh? 2nd hand is good?
coz i duno wats the difference between shure and etymotic.
from online review some website recommend shure.
is E3C really good?
ER-4p is more expensive than the ER-6i?
gavlim
post Aug 10 2005, 09:07 PM

i'm too sexy for my girlfriend
1,487 posts

you really need to try google a bit smile.gif

but to answer your questions..
2nd hand, depends how long the 1st owner has used it and whether you like to experience the burn in process yourself. the issue about sticking something into your ear which someone else has stuck into theirs is not really a big thing considering you can buy new earpieces.

er4s > er4p > er6i > er6 in order of price, er4s being the most expensive of the ety range.

comparing shure and ety, try head-fi.org, got a few reviews there.

but if you got da spare cash, yeah try the one in the picture alamaklor posted.. tongue.gif its about us$900
AlamakLor
post Aug 11 2005, 12:15 AM

9,856 posts

it's the reason because u have never used a canalphone (i presume), never auditioned it before, and dont have the chance to do that, it's best to get a sec hand to try it out and you can always sell it back around the price you bought it with minimal lost. but of coz, if u got the moolah....then forget about it...and should just get the UE10pro.
TSyanjinowa
post Aug 11 2005, 04:23 PM

565 posts

erm, yes, i nvr tried canal earphone b4.
thru the review of headfi, it recommends shure e3c if compare to er-6i.

will try to look for review of er-4p.

sky_lor
post Aug 11 2005, 07:26 PM

203 posts

i am looking for an ear plug at price below RM100 to pair with my mp3 player. so everyone have any good suggestion?thanks...
airbag_grado
post Aug 11 2005, 07:29 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Aug 11 2005, 07:26 PM)
i am looking for an ear plug at price below RM100 to pair with my mp3 player. so everyone have any good suggestion?thanks...
senheiser mx550/500.
gavlim
post Aug 11 2005, 07:33 PM

1,487 posts

threads merged. have PMed threadstarter for change of topic name. lets use this thread from now on for recommending and suggesting earphones. as usual, please refrain from one word/model/brand answers. as much as possible try and justify your suggestion with some useful information.
sky_lor
post Aug 12 2005, 04:20 AM

203 posts

senheiser mx550/500 is how much and where can i get in malaysia?anyone try it?it's more for bass lover or what?
airbag_grado
post Aug 12 2005, 09:14 AM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Aug 12 2005, 04:20 AM)
senheiser mx550/500 is how much and where can i get in malaysia?anyone try it?it's more for bass lover or what?
bulk buy in lyn got a guy selling, mx500 <rm100, mx550 i think slighly higher.

people generally comment mx500 more bass.

you are basshead? then u might want to check koss ksc75, clip on hp. you can buy it in low yat plaza(ipod shop outside, or search inside), klcc(one of the gadget shop)

you can get it under rm100.

i owned both mx550 and ksc75, prefer mx550 when listen to vocal. koss more harsh relatively, but definitely offer more bass.
sky_lor
post Aug 12 2005, 10:53 AM

203 posts

then i think i will like the mx550 more, bcoz i seldom listen to rock or techno...and i am not a basshead also...i prefer some old song and classical song...thanks for the info dude...smile.gif
Akabane@DrJackel
post Aug 13 2005, 08:41 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

try avp pro 5.1 head set with external amp price is rm199 good for movie, gaming & music, can go for a try at low yat plaza, 4th floor, midi speacialist opposite edifier showroom.
TSyanjinowa
post Aug 13 2005, 02:34 PM

565 posts

i had read the review of Shure E3c and Etymotic ER-4p.
it seems that the review favors E3c more that ER-4p.
as for the ER-4p it is more difficult to get the "sealing" effect and the E3c provide better comfort compare to the ER-4p.
http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=74863

and the review of ER-6i and E3c http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=121808

so, i guess E3c will be better to me as i m going to use it as an isolation when i m taking bus back to my hometown. and comfort is a point i m looking for.
but after all, i would like to ask that had someone tried both model?

i have a Koss Porta Pro so how is it when compare to the Porta Pro?

kenlui
post Aug 13 2005, 08:03 PM

2,380 posts

@yanjinowa

I think it's not really appropriate to compare porta pro and the other 2 buds. As porta pro is a headphone, not a canal phone. The other 2 provides isolation whereas porta pro doesn't. Somebody correct me if i'm wrong.

jodern
post Aug 14 2005, 02:19 AM

erm ~~

hi guys , i just want to know that what kind of earphone is suitable for a Luxpro MP3 player ????? and the price will not be over RM60 or something , coz i'm still a secondary student ....

Also , do you guys knew where can find this earphone ? user posted image

My ears having some problem on its shape , so i cannot ware those normal earphones for a long period of time , if anyone can find it in low yat , plz e-mail me the location and prize plz ...

This post has been edited by jodern: Aug 14 2005, 02:20 AM
TSyanjinowa
post Aug 16 2005, 02:03 AM

565 posts

hello, guys.
i had made up my mind to get the etymotics ER-4s, as my fren can get it atthe price of USD$190.00. so i guess its a goodbuy after seeing the price of E3c at USD$120.00 and ER-6i at USD$99.00.

now i m waiting for my fren to come back.
then i will get the ER-4s pair with the RH-10, wondering how will this setup sound.
gavlim
post Aug 16 2005, 02:08 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(yanjinowa @ Aug 16 2005, 02:03 AM)
hello, guys.
i had made up my mind to get the etymotics ER-4s, as my fren can get it atthe price of USD$190.00. so i guess its a goodbuy after seeing the price of E3c at USD$120.00 and ER-6i at USD$99.00.

now i m waiting for my fren to come back.
then i will get the ER-4s pair with the RH-10, wondering how will this setup sound.
US$190 is a good price! where is your friend getting them from? do share tongue.gif hope your RH-10 has enough juice to drive these earphones, as they are rated at 100ohms. get the most out of your setup by using the lineout on your md player and hooking it up to a portable amp perhaps.
TSyanjinowa
post Aug 16 2005, 02:48 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(gavlim @ Aug 16 2005, 02:08 AM)
US$190 is a good price! where is your friend getting them from? do share tongue.gif hope your RH-10 has enough juice to drive these earphones, as they are rated at 100ohms. get the most out of your setup by using the lineout on your md player and hooking it up to a portable amp perhaps.
erm, is the er-4p and 4s the same?
coz i can find no difference between them.
and the amp of the RH-10 not enough to drive the ER-4s/p?
i tot the er-4p/s is mean for portable.

*jz find out that there are 3 versions of ER-4p/b/s.
one more question, p or s to get?

This post has been edited by yanjinowa: Aug 16 2005, 02:57 AM
Cannonfodder
post Aug 16 2005, 02:58 AM

374 posts

The ER-4s has a nominal impedance value of 100 ohm compared to the 27 ohm of the 4p, which mean that the 4s will be significantly harder to drive than the 4p.

That said, 100 ohm isn't impossible to drive with a portable, though it might not be at its best without the benefit of an additional amplifier.

If you plan to drop some cash on an amp, then the 4s should be a safe choice, but if you know you don't ever want to use an external amp, then stick with the 4p just to be on the safe side.

What's more, you can convert a 4p into a 4s should you want to at a later stage, but not vice versa.

144 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:21 AM