Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post Feb 15 2017, 11:37 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 15 2017, 11:06 PM)
I think he meant the q16 launcher perhaps...
*
if he meant launcher, i doubt it.

the default launchers are specific to the firmware.

can use 3rd party launchers, though.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 08:00 AM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
I don't think it's called the launcher...

In Q16 home screen, you'd usually have those flash of various latest programs sliding right to left on top screen while the bottom you'd have the shortcuts or favorite... That makes it look premium 😁😁😁

Doubt there's any device out there that does this...😝😝😝

That's the one I wanted to install into Q5 cos the current Q5 home screen is like dull....😴😴😴

Hope you get my drift

This post has been edited by GuyM: Feb 16 2017, 08:06 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 08:04 AM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 15 2017, 10:26 PM)
not sure what u mean...?

q5/q10pro does NOT come with mangotv.
u just install the green mangotv like any apk.
the gold color of the mango will become green, everything else the same, that's all. biggrin.gif

when u get the chance and if your AVR has atmos and dtsx, try it on q5/q10pro!
*
I've installed the green mango, yes!

Current NrR509 don't support Atmos n dtsx.. unless you implying I should update the firmware on Onkyo but doubt it'll have 😜
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Feb 16 2017, 09:51 AM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 08:00 AM)
I don't think it's called the launcher...

In Q16 home screen, you'd usually have those flash of various latest programs sliding right to left on top screen while the bottom you'd have the shortcuts or favorite... That makes it look premium 😁😁😁

Doubt there's any device out there that does this...😝😝😝

That's the one I wanted to install into Q5 cos the current Q5 home screen is like dull....😴😴😴

Hope you get my drift
*
That IS the launcher, at least the landing page...we're on the same page here... biggrin.gif Nicest launcher by far...
Attached Image

I suspect it's this guy here but I'm not sure if it's hard coded into the firmware...
Attached Image

It can be downloaded/copied...but could be a real challenge if not impossible to get it working...its integrated with many other apks and you will need all of them too...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 16 2017, 10:04 AM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 11:05 AM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
guys, if u haven't tried, check out popcorn time 2.9.

set player to himedia player, u get DD audio if the link is such.

this app is best with 2/16gb boxes; 2/8gb may lack storage to do some of the links.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 11:11 AM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
Yup dwRK not sure if just install the apk will do the trick and worry abt other dependency
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Feb 16 2017, 11:37 AM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 11:11 AM)
Yup dwRK not sure if just install the apk will do the trick and worry abt other dependency
*
It won't install on my phone laugh.gif I tried...
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 02:21 PM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2017, 11:37 AM)
It won't install on my phone laugh.gif I tried...
*
Could it be it runs a check to confirmed it's on Himedia devices?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 02:22 PM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 16 2017, 11:05 AM)
guys, if u haven't tried, check out popcorn time 2.9.

set player to himedia player, u get DD audio if the link is such.

this app is best with 2/16gb boxes; 2/8gb may lack storage to do some of the links.
*
Abng AVfan, give la link....😋😋😋
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Feb 16 2017, 02:57 PM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 02:22 PM)
Abng AVfan, give la link....😋😋😋
*
Search include "2.9"...so easy laugh.gif

Endorsed by the original developers...

All hints given

Research could also throw up a xxx fork laugh.gif

User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 03:23 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 02:22 PM)
Abng AVfan, give la link....😋😋😋
*
See? Just google la... biggrin.gif

2.9 is for all boxes with android 4.x and above.

1.4 is for google androidtv.

I m loving both. rclxms.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 03:40 PM
On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 679

Joined: Jul 2007
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2017, 02:57 PM)
Search include "2.9"...so easy laugh.gif

Endorsed by the original developers...

All hints given

Research could also throw up a xxx fork laugh.gif
*
Lol
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Yesterday, 05:52 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 10 2017, 10:26 PM)
just get a 4k hdr tv, set q5pro to 2160p 60hz, 4:2:0 10 bit.

u can then get any video... it will play nicely, smooth and deep colors. tongue.gif
*
Maybe i got the above wrong...

Spent a little time trying to understand this.... 2160p, 60hz, 24hz, 23.976hz, 10 bit, ycbcr 444, 420, hdmi 2.0, hdcp2.2... biggrin.gif

After playing around with my q10pro, 4k avr, 4k tv... am i right to say below... true or false?

.. if a video is 1920x1080, setting the player at 2160p does nothing; only that the tv may upscale it.
.. if a video is 23.976fps, the correct one to set on player is 24hz; 25, 30, 50, 60hz can work but does not improve video.
.. rgb is meant for older, lower grade videos like dvi, avi; ycbcr is better for newer videos.
.. ycbcr 420 8bit 60hz is a better setting than ycbcr444 10bit 24hz unless the video is 10bit.

Maybe some of u can help me out, thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
voncrane
post Yesterday, 07:25 PM
Noir et fier!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,953

Joined: Oct 2011
From: ARPANET


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2017, 05:52 PM)
Maybe i got the above wrong...

Spent a little time trying to understand this.... 2160p, 60hz, 24hz, 23.976hz, 10 bit, ycbcr 444, 420, hdmi 2.0, hdcp2.2... biggrin.gif

After playing around with my q10pro, 4k avr, 4k tv... am i right to say below... true or false?

.. if a video is 1920x1080, setting the player at 2160p does nothing; only that the tv may upscale it.
.. if a video is 23.976fps, the correct one to set on player is 24hz; 25, 30, 50, 60hz can work but does not improve video.
.. rgb is meant for older, lower grade videos like dvi, avi; ycbcr is better for newer videos.
.. ycbcr 420 8bit 60hz is a better setting than ycbcr444 10bit 24hz unless the video is 10bit.

Maybe some of u can help me out, thanks!
*
Correct... However, for apps that have a native 4K UI, like Kodi, you get the advantage.. Until playback of 1080p content, then engine takes over.
Correct... For smoother PQ... Some external players have the capability to auto switch between 60hz to 24hz for playback and back again, after playback complete.
Somewhat Correct... RGB is still acceptable as computer format... Though YCbCr preferred.
YCbCr 4:4:4 8-bit or YCbCr 4:2:2 10-bit -- which is better for 10-bit display?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Yesterday, 09:08 PM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2017, 05:52 PM)
Maybe i got the above wrong...

Spent a little time trying to understand this.... 2160p, 60hz, 24hz, 23.976hz, 10 bit, ycbcr 444, 420, hdmi 2.0, hdcp2.2... biggrin.gif

After playing around with my q10pro, 4k avr, 4k tv... am i right to say below... true or false?

.. if a video is 1920x1080, setting the player at 2160p does nothing; only that the tv may upscale it.
.. if a video is 23.976fps, the correct one to set on player is 24hz; 25, 30, 50, 60hz can work but does not improve video.
.. rgb is meant for older, lower grade videos like dvi, avi; ycbcr is better for newer videos.
.. ycbcr 420 8bit 60hz is a better setting than ycbcr444 10bit 24hz unless the video is 10bit.

Maybe some of u can help me out, thanks!
*
Set player to auto...player will output FHD...TV will upscale. If set player to 4k, TV does nothing.

23.976 if available...24 closest if not.

Not really.

Not really.

Movies are typically encoded to 420. (not sure about 4k) For you to see, it's converted back like this....

420 to 422 to 444 to rgb to ycbcr. ycbcr to rgb.

Your settings decide who gets to convert what. Your picture quality depends on who does a better job...player or TV.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Today, 06:39 AM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Yesterday, 09:13 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2017, 07:25 PM)
Correct... However, for apps that have a native 4K UI, like Kodi, you get the advantage.. Until playback of 1080p content, then engine takes over.
Correct... For smoother PQ... Some external players have the capability to auto switch between 60hz to 24hz for playback and back again, after playback complete.
Somewhat Correct... RGB is still acceptable as computer format... Though YCbCr preferred.
YCbCr 4:4:4 8-bit or YCbCr 4:2:2 10-bit -- which is better for 10-bit display?
*
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 22 2017, 09:08 PM)
Set player to auto...player will output FHD...TV will upscale.  If set player to 4k, TV does nothing.
23.976 if available...24 closest if not.
Not really.
Not really.
Movies are typically encoded to 420. (not sure about 4k) For you to see, it's converted back like this....
420 to 422 to 444 to rgb to ycbcr
Your settings decide who gets to convert what. Your picture quality depends on who does a better job...player or TV.
*
thanks for all comments.

i will read up and do a bit more trial n error.

possible there are some other settings i need to play with.

as of now, i find 2160p 24hz, ycbcr 444 10 bit gives best overall performance for my collection, which i find is excellent, so far. biggrin.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Yesterday, 09:44 PM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2017, 09:13 PM)
thanks for all comments.

i will read up and do a bit more trial n error.

possible there are some other settings i need to play with.

as of now, i find 2160p 24hz, ycbcr 444 10 bit gives best overall performance for my collection, which i find is excellent, so far. biggrin.gif
*
...sorry made mistakes in the conversion description...busy with something else...brain freeze a bit... sad.gif
I'll type correction later...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Yesterday, 09:45 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Yesterday, 10:03 PM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


Does the Q10 upscale FHD to 4k in the truest sense? I.e, interpolation, or just stuff 1 pixel into 4?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AVFAN
post Yesterday, 10:50 PM
10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,775

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 22 2017, 10:03 PM)
Does the Q10 upscale FHD to 4k in the truest sense? I.e, interpolation, or just stuff 1 pixel into 4?
*
no that i know of or read anywhere.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dwRK
post Today, 01:05 AM
Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 491

Joined: Jun 2006


H.264 & older, all encoded to 420.
H.265 aka hevc, depends. Mostly 420, but can be higher.

Let say your file is FHD 420 8bits; your TV 4K 444 10bits.

File is always ycbcr. TV panel is always rgb (well mostly).

Your settings decide who gets to convert what. Your picture quality depends on who does a better job...player or TV. So what is required is...

420 to 422 to 444. Ycbcr to rgb. FHD to 4k.

For chroma sampling conversion, the data rate increase exponentially, 8bit to 10bit is used here. This can be a problem for some system/hdmi cable. For color space conversation, depends what rgb profile is used...can affect dynamic range.

Your setting "2160p 24hz, ycbcr 444 10 bit" means Q10 converts everything except color space.

I can't find any upscaling info for Q10, as far as I can see, no upscaling is taking place. Your watching FHD only. Hmmmm...need to check the SoC chart again...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Today, 01:16 AM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0833sec    3.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd February 2017 - 08:17 AM