thanks for the input.
Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future
Sep 13 2011, 06:09 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2011 From: J.B |
thanks for the input.
Sep 13 2011, 10:58 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 13 2011, 12:39 PM) if budget permits, use a CLASS AB monoblock to drive a sub. hi victor, may you list out class AB monoblock amps for SQ purpose? want to know more on their existence and see how poisonous are them..hehe u wont go wrong.. Cons: its pricey for 300RMS@4ohm above Pros: u will love how ur sub sounds listening impression: u need to experience it urself to fully comprehend why Class AB monblock is the most ideal to drive a sub |
Sep 14 2011, 07:27 AM
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Tru Hammer H1!
Sep 14 2011, 11:32 AM
189 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
u can try out the following - proven!
class AB monoblock 1. mcIntosh MCC301M 2. mcIntosh MC443M 3. Genesis Monoblock series III 4. TRU Hammer H1 note: there isnt many amps out there which are class AB monoblock at 300RMS@4ohm +/-. they are pricey and its a small market for it. most of the monoblock in the market are class D. |
Sep 14 2011, 01:45 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 14 2011, 11:32 AM) u can try out the following - proven! hmm what about JL audio class AB monoblocks?class AB monoblock 1. mcIntosh MCC301M 2. mcIntosh MC443M 3. Genesis Monoblock series III 4. TRU Hammer H1 note: there isnt many amps out there which are class AB monoblock at 300RMS@4ohm +/-. they are pricey and its a small market for it. most of the monoblock in the market are class D. |
Sep 14 2011, 04:39 PM
189 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
u r referring to low power class ab mono for jl audio.
its 150rms@4ohm. Can mostly drive entry to mid level sub onli. Not bad for the price..we have it too |
Sep 14 2011, 08:07 PM
73 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
hello guys... I'm a total idiot and newbie on car audio system settings ): so I need some help on few question as I own myvi and myvi had very terrible sound system as everyone knows too.. My question is...
1)Do i really 100% need amp to change a new speaker? What if I use the same head-unit originally from myvi but I changed the speakers w.o amp, is it possible? 2)what are the brands of speaker out there that produce quite decent sound? (The sound that I was aiming for my car is not really for the boombastic kind but more to a normal listening but when there's bass, of course there must be bass and doesn't produce bass like playing it on milo tins , and no breaking sounds for sure . possible not over rm500 just for speakers xD ) 3) If I'm changing speakers on front and rear... does that mean I have to ask them drill holes on the door? Sorry that I'm such an idiot in this field T.T This post has been edited by lovedivine: Sep 14 2011, 08:20 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 10:31 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Sifus, need confirmation
Song 1: Akon - Beautiful Song 2: Tatanka - GTP (Technoboy Remix) or Carnifex - Fireflash When I play song 1, the song sounds alright. But when I play song 2, it felt like there's a delay between the kick and the bass. Is it supposed to sound like that? Because the music is produced out in that kind of way? Still a beginner in ICE. I used to listen to these songs using a computer speaker(barely hear any bass). But in the car, its like I'm exposed to more frequencies of sound and bass This post has been edited by ILikePie: Sep 14 2011, 10:38 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(lovedivine @ Sep 14 2011, 08:07 PM) hello guys... I'm a total idiot and newbie on car audio system settings ): so I need some help on few question as I own myvi and myvi had very terrible sound system as everyone knows too.. My question is... 1) possible, mid bass will however be weak, and may not be up to your standards on SQ. again, personal preference. if ur songs all classical/sentimental with no regards to bass, this could work for you1)Do i really 100% need amp to change a new speaker? What if I use the same head-unit originally from myvi but I changed the speakers w.o amp, is it possible? 2)what are the brands of speaker out there that produce quite decent sound? (The sound that I was aiming for my car is not really for the boombastic kind but more to a normal listening but when there's bass, of course there must be bass and doesn't produce bass like playing it on milo tins , and no breaking sounds for sure . possible not over rm500 just for speakers xD ) 3) If I'm changing speakers on front and rear... does that mean I have to ask them drill holes on the door? Sorry that I'm such an idiot in this field T.T 2) HU in general look for alpine/pioneer, speakers you may look through this thread, post from me/zenn/howiechoo/mywifecar/carcrazy/crazychild/bafukie/krayden etc (in no particular order, and awesome people i missed out mucho apologies ya? no offense meant) try to budget rm500-800 if ur doing ONLY speakers. that would set you just right to get a reputable brand entry level component set. though since you mentioned bass, again, depend on your requirement. bass have mids/lows, for the lows, you 100% need a subwoofer and if you have a subwoofer, at least an amp (or monoblock) will be needed to drive it. please bear this in mind. 3) you dont need change rear, if can, throw away the rear or just use fader to make them really soft. for mids, year most likely need to drill holes on your door panel to have a proper installation. Added on September 14, 2011, 10:55 pm QUOTE(ILikePie @ Sep 14 2011, 10:31 PM) Sifus, need confirmation car speakers are generally "in your face" and theres no wide space (your room, vs car cabin) for sound to disperse properly and in the case of car cabin, sound will reflect from surfaces causing distortions or even noiseSong 1: Akon - Beautiful Song 2: Tatanka - GTP (Technoboy Remix) or Carnifex - Fireflash When I play song 1, the song sounds alright. But when I play song 2, it felt like there's a delay between the kick and the bass. Is it supposed to sound like that? Because the music is produced out in that kind of way? Still a beginner in ICE. I used to listen to these songs using a computer speaker(barely hear any bass). But in the car, its like I'm exposed to more frequencies of sound and bass bad setup/installation, and/or bad ICE equipments, will lead to really unpleasant SQ or even SPL (to your ear drums mainly, it doesnt need to be car shaking, heck, if ur listening over 100 decibels at constant rate, dont be surprise if you go deaf) Added on September 14, 2011, 10:56 pm QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 14 2011, 04:39 PM) u r referring to low power class ab mono for jl audio. haha see how for my future ride its 150rms@4ohm. Can mostly drive entry to mid level sub onli. Not bad for the price..we have it too This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 14 2011, 10:56 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 11:02 PM
It doesn't sound distorted or noisy. I did soundproof too. And I don't blass my sound system, I love my ears lol. So does that mean the music is produced in that way? (kick, then bass)
Sep 14 2011, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(ILikePie @ Sep 14 2011, 11:02 PM) It doesn't sound distorted or noisy. I did soundproof too. And I don't blass my sound system, I love my ears lol. So does that mean the music is produced in that way? (kick, then bass) - distortions and noise could mean many things in audio world and the term itself is also very subjective- sound proof doesnt solve sound waves bouncing around your car cabin - dont have to *blast* your sound system to experience distortions or noise. the only difference between blasting and not is the higher your volume goes, the easier and noticeable flaws (distortion/noise and/or more etc etc) on your sound system are sound re-production is not a a then b thing, all the drivers have to work together in harmony to produce accurate (and "insert positive audiophile term here") sounds. if you would like to know more, i would suggest google/wiki on "sound reproduction" or "speakers" with relevant sources/references/links/"see also" from them |
Sep 14 2011, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 14 2011, 11:15 PM) - distortions and noise could mean many things in audio world and the term itself is also very subjective For my ears, the sound suits me. Whether I'm listening to hardstyle, R&B or rock. Guess I need to learn more on sound production. Thanks - sound proof doesnt solve sound waves bouncing around your car cabin - dont have to *blast* your sound system to experience distortions or noise. the only difference between blasting and not is the higher your volume goes, the easier and noticeable flaws (distortion/noise and/or more etc etc) on your sound system are sound re-production is not a a then b thing, all the drivers have to work together in harmony to produce accurate (and "insert positive audiophile term here") sounds. if you would like to know more, i would suggest google/wiki on "sound reproduction" or "speakers" with relevant sources/references/links/"see also" from them Added on September 15, 2011, 1:39 pmTested on some friend's ICE and home audio. Sounds the same. What does that mean? This post has been edited by ILikePie: Sep 15 2011, 01:39 PM |
Sep 15 2011, 05:24 PM
Quazacolt: Thanks for the advice (: But i do have another few silly question T.T
And another thing is, For my car, there's 2 speaker build in on top of the dashboard.. Is it recommended to use back there if i change them? Because I realise that MYVI is very fragile lol and so, if you build in all the speaker on the doors, I think the doors will start to banging |
Sep 15 2011, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(ILikePie @ Sep 14 2011, 11:32 PM) For my ears, the sound suits me. Whether I'm listening to hardstyle, R&B or rock. Guess I need to learn more on sound production. Thanks assuming your friend's ICE and home audio is good, setup/done properly, then perhaps the song is meant to be played that way.Added on September 15, 2011, 1:39 pmTested on some friend's ICE and home audio. Sounds the same. What does that mean? Added on September 15, 2011, 6:12 pm QUOTE(lovedivine @ Sep 15 2011, 05:24 PM) Quazacolt: Thanks for the advice (: But i do have another few silly question T.T 2 way = tweeters + mid bassAnd another thing is, For my car, there's 2 speaker build in on top of the dashboard.. Is it recommended to use back there if i change them? Because I realise that MYVI is very fragile lol and so, if you build in all the speaker on the doors, I think the doors will start to banging 3 way = tweeters + mid + mid bass you can move the old speakers to back, and control them via fader to not disrupt your front sound stage doors only 1 mid bass each. and thats why we do sound proofing on door panels This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 15 2011, 06:12 PM |
Sep 15 2011, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 15 2011, 06:05 PM) 2 way = tweeters + mid bass 3 way = tweeters + mid + mid bass you can move the old speakers to back, and control them via fader to not disrupt your front sound stage doors only 1 mid bass each. and thats why we do sound proofing on door panels |
Sep 16 2011, 01:07 PM
210 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Penang |
hi i am new here... anyone can tell what the differences between passive set up and active setup up...
thanks |
Sep 16 2011, 04:12 PM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
the most obvious difference is
passive = fixed crossover point and gain active = adjustable crossover point and gain of course there's some more difference except above, but u better understand these first. |
Sep 16 2011, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Sep 16 2011, 04:12 PM) the most obvious difference is in more laymen terms:passive = fixed crossover point and gain active = adjustable crossover point and gain of course there's some more difference except above, but u better understand these first. passive = set/tune 1 time and thats the end of the story, less headaches active = option to tune it anytime you want, however, headaches as you may most likely be tuning it all day erry day |
Sep 16 2011, 07:05 PM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 16 2011, 06:16 PM) in more laymen terms: passive also ca play with other various settings.....eq, phase and etc......can make ppl headache also :>passive = set/tune 1 time and thats the end of the story, less headaches active = option to tune it anytime you want, however, headaches as you may most likely be tuning it all day erry day |
Sep 16 2011, 07:29 PM
210 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Penang |
thanks for your information & feedback ...
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:08 PM |