Credit Card Foreign Exchange Rate

ragk
post Jul 5 2016, 12:38 AM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 4 2016, 11:52 PM)
Not during the transaction date/time? Is on posting date/time?
based on most bank explanation "rate on which the transaction is received and processed", the term is pretty confuse some people here use post date some using transaction date, for the exact maybe u need to call bank for clarification
ywk12345
post Jul 5 2016, 06:27 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Jul 5 2016, 12:38 AM)
based on most bank explanation "rate on which the transaction is received and processed", the term is pretty confuse some people here use post date some using transaction date, for the exact maybe u need to call bank for clarification
Base on my understanding, the rate date is refer to POSTING DATE.

Because transaction date is not necessarily the same as the settlement date, which can happen several days after the transaction occurs. Example, u swipe the credit card merchant and available credit will be reduced accordingly BUT the merchant is show pending transactions. Once merchant banks submit payment to credit card issuers bank, then it is POSTING DATE. Credit Card issuers Bank never count pending transaction caz merchant bank no submit payment to credit card issuers bank, So conclusion is POSTING DATE.

If i was wrong don shoot me sweat.gif
nitehawk
post Jul 11 2016, 01:23 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 1 2016, 12:06 PM)
You should calculate based on the official rate at posting day, not transaction day...

Official visa rates already has a spread of .8 to 1.2% over the median rate...
We will know the posting date after we received the statement, where can I view past official Visa rates?

taysir17
post Jul 11 2016, 06:19 PM

15 posts

Hi Sifus,

Need some quick guidance.

Im using Ambank World Mastercard and I'm shopping in the UK. When the machine prompts me to choose between RM or Pound, do i select RM or Pound?

In Primark, on Sunday 10/7, the machine did not prompt me and after doing my own calculations, the exchange rate was approx 5.26

Im now in Ralph Lauren Monday 11/7, and when the machine prompted me, it shows exchange rate at 5.46 and asked me to choose to pay in pounds £124.96 or RM682.28.

Wondering whether I should have chosen to pay in pounds when prompted?

Appreciate any response soon as I'm continuing shopping smile.gif
limeuu
post Jul 11 2016, 06:36 PM

12,290 posts

Always put the currency of purchase....it's always work out cheaper than having them convert to myr, which in my experience is a 5% charge over base rate...
ronnie
post Jul 12 2016, 10:34 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(taysir17 @ Jul 11 2016, 06:19 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Need some quick guidance.

Im using Ambank World Mastercard and I'm shopping in the UK. When the machine prompts me to choose between RM or Pound, do i select RM or Pound?

In Primark, on Sunday 10/7, the machine did not prompt me and after doing my own calculations, the exchange rate was approx 5.26

Im now in Ralph Lauren Monday 11/7, and when the machine prompted me, it shows exchange rate at 5.46 and asked me to choose to pay in pounds £124.96 or RM682.28.

Wondering whether I should have chosen to pay in pounds when prompted?

Appreciate any response soon as I'm continuing shopping smile.gif
Always pay in the foreign currency as it's always cheaper than via DCC [Dynamic Currency Conversion] in MYR

Read this: http://www.smh.com.au/business/banking-and...329-1ma77q.html
jack2
post Jul 12 2016, 11:22 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Transaction Type Maybank 2 Card VISA
Transaction Date 4-Jul-2016
Posting Date 5-Jul-2016
Transaction amount USD5095
Amount charged RM20,889.62
Rate RM4.10
1 USD = 3.9911 MYR

jack2
post Jul 12 2016, 11:23 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Transaction Date 5-Jul-2016
Posting Date 6-Jul-2016
Transaction amount USD3,362.70
Amount charged RM13,855.87
Rate RM4.12
1 USD = 4.0322 MYR
francistcc
post Jul 13 2016, 11:55 PM

201 posts

Transaction Type: Cimb Cash rebate platinum master
Transaction Date: 10-07-2016
Posting Date: 12-07-2016
Transaction Amount: EUR 107
Amount Charged: MYR 490.07
masterRate @ 12/7: 4.437758
Difference: 3%

Seems like cimb increased their credit card charge to 3%?
I called cimb n was told that mastercard charge 2% then cimb charge another 1% so total is 3%. Dont know I was given the correct info or not.

This post has been edited by francistcc: Jul 14 2016, 12:08 AM
mieza
post Jul 14 2016, 10:35 AM

541 posts

Transaction Type Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express
Transaction Date 11-Jul-2016
Posting Date 12-Jul-2016
Transaction amount USD100
Amount charged RM414.72
Rate RM4.15
1 USD = RM x.x (I don't know where to check)

Transaction Type Maybank Islamic MasterCard
Posting Date 12-Jul-2016
Amount charged RM411.31
Rate RM4.11
1 USD = RM 3.994

I just read this thread and decided to do some experiment. I never know about this exchange rate. Previously I use my Amex for international shopping. Now obviously I will change to MasterCard. Don't know what my Amex for..

This post has been edited by mieza: Jul 14 2016, 10:36 AM
my_store
post Jul 15 2016, 04:25 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(francistcc @ Jul 13 2016, 11:55 PM)
Transaction Type: Cimb Cash rebate platinum master
Transaction Date: 10-07-2016
Posting Date: 12-07-2016
Transaction Amount: EUR 107
Amount Charged: MYR 490.07
masterRate @ 12/7: 4.437758
Difference: 3%

Seems like cimb increased their credit card charge to 3%?
I called cimb n was told that mastercard charge 2% then cimb charge another 1% so total is 3%. Dont know I was given the correct info or not.
Your transactions were performed on 10 July 2016 (Sun), settled on 11 July 2016 (Mon) then posted to your account on 12 July 2016 (Tue).

During the settlement (Monday), the rate used is actually taken from last Friday's rate because Monday's rate not yet available. So this is the rate used by the bank: 1 MYR = 0.222699 EUR (MasterCard rate on 8 July) -> MYR as Base Currency

With 2% markup,

Your Transaction Amount: EUR 107
€ 107 / 0.222699 * 1.02 = RM490.08
Your Posted Amount: RM490.07 (1 cent rounding difference)

Obviously, the CIMB call center had given you the wrong information. biggrin.gif
cheahcw2003
post Jul 15 2016, 06:55 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Jul 14 2016, 10:35 AM)
Transaction Type Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express
Posting Date 12-Jul-2016
Amount charged RM414.72
Rate RM4.15
1 USD = RM x.x (I don't know where to check)
Transaction Type Maybank Islamic MasterCard
Posting Date 12-Jul-2016
Amount charged RM411.31
Rate RM4.11
1 USD =  RM 3.994
I just read this thread and decided to do some experiment. I never know about this exchange rate. Previously I use my Amex for international shopping. Now obviously I will change to MasterCard. Don't know what my Amex for..
Apparently Amex more exp
kenjixx
post Jul 22 2016, 12:24 PM

my home hero
741 posts

Transaction TypeAeon Watami
Transaction Date19/07/2016
Posting Date22/06/2016
Transaction amount4192¥
Amount chargedRM161.8
rate0.03859732824
visa rate @ 22/70.038556
Difference(0.03859732824 - 0.038556) / 0.038556 =0.1%

limeuu
post Jul 22 2016, 04:56 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 12 2016, 11:22 AM)
Transaction Date 4-Jul-2016
Posting Date 5-Jul-2016
Transaction amount USD5095
Amount charged RM20,889.62 
Rate RM4.10
1 USD = 3.9911 MYR
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 12 2016, 11:23 AM)
Transaction Date 5-Jul-2016
Posting Date 6-Jul-2016
Transaction amount USD3,362.70 
Amount charged RM13,855.87
Rate RM4.12
1 USD = 4.0322 MYR
not sure where you get the rate from, but based on what you posted, it's 2.73 and 2.15% above...

normally maybank charge 2% on top of the visa/mc rate...which is also 1% over the median rate...
cenkudu
post Aug 1 2016, 06:31 PM

1,206 posts

anyone use airbnb and pay using their payment system? they normally convert the original currency to our currency that they claim will be on the spot rate with extra 3% to cover all those forex (this is similar conversion as paypal). I understand that most of the time we believe paypal charge will be higher and better to use the original foreign currency. but nowadays even most cards also charge close to this 3% and just wondering whether this 3% is bad or not.

example:

1088 CAD = RM 3349

final charge= RM 3449

This post has been edited by cenkudu: Aug 1 2016, 06:36 PM
DarReNz
post Aug 2 2016, 08:34 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 12 2016, 10:34 AM)
Always pay in the foreign currency as it's always cheaper than via DCC [Dynamic Currency Conversion] in MYR

Read this: http://www.smh.com.au/business/banking-and...329-1ma77q.html
i also noticed when you do online shopping you can choose what currency u wanted to pay with including MYR but i still chose the website currency thumbsup.gif
DarReNz
post Aug 2 2016, 08:37 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Aug 1 2016, 06:31 PM)
anyone use airbnb and pay using their payment system? they normally convert the original currency to our currency that they claim will be on the spot rate with extra 3% to cover all those forex (this is similar conversion as paypal).  I understand that most of the time we believe paypal charge will be higher and better to use the original foreign currency. but nowadays even most cards also charge close to this 3% and just wondering whether this 3% is bad or not.

example:

1088 CAD = RM 3349

final charge= RM 3449
if you use Visa and Mastercard would definitely be lower than 3% icon_idea.gif
limeuu
post Aug 3 2016, 07:50 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 2 2016, 08:37 PM)
if you use Visa and Mastercard would definitely be lower than 3%  icon_idea.gif
If you use maybank cards, it will still work out to 3%....
DarReNz
post Aug 3 2016, 09:25 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 3 2016, 07:50 AM)
If you use maybank cards, it will still work out to 3%....
all right the best so far now is Aeon and Public bank cards at 1-1.25% nod.gif
DarReNz
post Aug 3 2016, 09:48 AM

7,496 posts

Public Bank Visa Signature
Transaction Date: 28-Jul-2016
Posting Date: 1-Aug-2016
Transaction amount: KRW108,700
Amount charged: RM405.35
Effective rate: 1 South Korea Won = 0.003683 Malaysian Ringgit (KRW108,700 = MYR400.3421)
Difference - 1.25%

104 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:57 AM