Income Tax Issues

MGM
post Apr 7 2011, 07:59 AM

18,405 posts

I bought two notebook PCs last year on different dates one was RM1300 and the other RM2000. How can I maximize tax deduction? Claim both or only the Higher priced one?
ronnie
post Apr 7 2011, 08:32 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 7 2011, 07:59 AM)
I bought two notebook PCs last year on different dates one was RM1300 and the other RM2000. How can I maximize tax deduction? Claim both or only the Higher priced one?
You can choose one of the receipts only... logically select the RM2000 notebook.
If you had planned to use the PC purchase as Tax Relief, you should have bought >RM3000 notebook instead.
This why Tax Planning is crucial.
dongster
post Apr 7 2011, 09:47 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 6 2011, 10:51 PM)
I tried to login to e-form, was asked to renew my digital cert but it keeps failing... and im not able to login now... anyone faced this problem?
When did you first get your pin? The digicert is valid for 3 years only. If expired then you need to get a new pin.
alvinfks78
post Apr 7 2011, 10:02 AM

1,127 posts

Is SOCSO contribution tax deductable under D17 (EPF and Life insurance)?
leongal
post Apr 7 2011, 10:33 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:02 AM)
NO
ac_N1
post Apr 7 2011, 11:04 AM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

I wanted to open an income tax file with LHDN.
What are the documents that i need to bring to open the file? hmm.gif
ronnie
post Apr 7 2011, 11:06 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:02 AM)
Of course not... We don't even get a yearly statement from SOCSO. I don't get anything back (even a paper statement) when contributing RM14.75 monthly

vmad.gif mad.gif RM14.75 x 12 = RM177 per year
SUSDavid83
post Apr 7 2011, 11:09 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
Of course not... We don't even get a yearly statement from SOCSO. I don't get anything back (even a paper statement) when contributing RM14.75 monthly

vmad.gif  mad.gif RM14.75 x 12 = RM177 per year
I also forced to contribute that amount every month!
ronnie
post Apr 7 2011, 11:29 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

How do we renew your Digital Certificate ?
deodorant
post Apr 7 2011, 12:26 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Eh, cert can expire one meh? I've already e-BE'ed last 4 years (2007 to 2010 submissions) with the same password ah ... no problem also.
ronnie
post Apr 7 2011, 12:38 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2011, 12:26 PM)
Eh, cert can expire one meh? I've already e-BE'ed last 4 years (2007 to 2010 submissions) with the same password ah ... no problem also.
Go check your verify Digital Certificate link to see what's the expiry date.
protonw
post Apr 7 2011, 01:08 PM

5,191 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2011, 12:38 PM)
Oh, first time I heard it too. hmm.gif
TSclsiluf
post Apr 7 2011, 01:15 PM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Apr 6 2011, 11:20 PM)
For house tax relief..say i paid rm5k for interest last year..house 2ppl name..each ppl 2.5k? or can i put 1 ppl 5k?
just put 5k. why treat the government so good ?

if they call you in future just say 'mana saya tau'
deodorant
post Apr 7 2011, 01:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Apr 7 2011, 01:15 PM)
if they call you in future just say 'mana saya tau'

what kind of rubbish advice is this? feigning ignorance isn't going to get you off the hook if you get audited doh.gif

Added on April 7, 2011, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2011, 12:38 PM)

Oooo

16/04/11 02:28 PM

So I guess next year's filing won't have digital cert already hmmm ... nevermind lah worry about it next year lol.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 7 2011, 01:52 PM
leongal
post Apr 7 2011, 01:58 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Apr 7 2011, 11:04 AM)
I wanted to open an income tax file with LHDN.
What are the documents that i need to bring to open the file?  hmm.gif
Documents Required For Registration

Please forward the following documents together with the application form to register an income tax reference number:-

a. A copy of the latest Salary Statement (EA/EC) or latest Salary Slip
b. A copy of Identification card / police i.c. / army i.c. / international passport
c. A copy of marriage certificate (if applicable)

http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?kump=5...7&unit=1&sequ=1
ronnie
post Apr 7 2011, 02:08 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Is it true that if LHDN sends you a refund, they won't audit you ?
SeanChang
post Apr 7 2011, 03:28 PM

208 posts

steps to renew Digital Certificate:
1. go to elejar at https://elejar.hasil.gov.my/index.php?optio...ge&lang=english
2. at bottom of the page (ID maintenance) click on (3) Register / Renew Digital Certificate
wee1030
post Apr 7 2011, 03:58 PM

369 posts

I made my tax report submission on 28 March.. I am using MBB acc...when I would get the returned extra money i paid??
leongal
post Apr 7 2011, 03:58 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2011, 02:08 PM)
Is it true that if LHDN sends you a refund, they won't audit you  ?
not necessary, they make re-open your previous years (within seven years) and audit you
zenwell
post Apr 7 2011, 04:02 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(wee1030 @ Apr 7 2011, 03:58 PM)
I made my tax report submission on 28 March.. I am using MBB acc...when I would get the returned extra money i paid??
I also put in my bank account details. I thought they wil bank-in direct. they still sent me a cheque. Submit on 19 Mar, got my cheque on 06 April. Kinda fast.

125 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:26 PM