Income Tax Issues

munkeyflo
post May 31 2011, 12:51 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ May 31 2011, 12:44 AM)
They sent me letter indicating "semakan" (audit) in mid Apr.  I declared housing loan interest 10k tax relief because bought house in Aug-2009 and 1st instalment on 3-Jan-2010. Monthly interest is ~1.1k. That save me about 2.4k because I am in 24% bracket.
If you have all the relevant receipts then I don't see any harm showing it to them to get back your refund.

That's what I'll be doing anyway, cause it does not seem like they will refund without showing them anything. Haven't heard from them since the letter they send, in mid April also.
patricktoh
post May 31 2011, 10:55 PM

462 posts

My point is inform us earlier rather than chasing them.
munkeyflo
post May 31 2011, 11:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ May 31 2011, 10:55 PM)
My point is inform us earlier rather than chasing them.
Ooh. It's like that wan la. Everything in this country is like that. Duh.
In the letter that they've send to me, it states that if I don't hear from them in 3 months, then only I should call them up to ask about it. So yea, that's what I'm gonna do. smile.gif
leongal
post Jun 1 2011, 08:06 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 30 2011, 05:41 PM)
Did they send you a letter to say that your refund is in process?
They send me a letter saying that and ask me to call back if by 3 months still no news from them.
i got the same letter. later on, after a month, they send me another letter saying that i am being audited, asked me to show proof of purchase of home and loan statement - for the tax relief on housing loan interest - i courier to them.....

now still waiting for them...

i have no fear, because i did NOT cheat!
whilly
post Jun 1 2011, 10:43 AM

99 posts

Insurans nyawa dan KWSP (Terhad 6,000)
Insurans pendidikan dan perubatan

Can claim the above for parents/children if one is paying for them?
munkeyflo
post Jun 1 2011, 01:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 1 2011, 08:06 AM)
i got the same letter. later on, after a month, they send me another letter saying that i am being audited, asked me to show proof of purchase of home and loan statement - for the tax relief on housing loan interest - i courier to them.....

now still waiting for them...

i have no fear, because i did NOT cheat!
Same here. No fear haha. But still waiting for their letter that it's being audited.

QUOTE(whilly @ Jun 1 2011, 10:43 AM)
Insurans nyawa dan KWSP (Terhad 6,000)
Insurans pendidikan dan perubatan

Can claim the above for parents/children if one is paying for them?
I think as long as you can show them the prove that you are paying for it then can.
leongal
post Jun 1 2011, 10:50 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 1 2011, 01:50 PM)
Same here. No fear haha. But still waiting for their letter that it's being audited.
I think as long as you can show them the prove that you are paying for it then can.
coincidentally, i got my letter today saying that they have revise the taxable income, they are giving me back the tax relief on housing loan interest, which they were auditing for...(but their letter abit confusing...need to take a long time to read in order to understand)

now waiting for the refund letter n money - either cheque or bank in.......hope dun have to wait too long....
hyzam1212
post Jun 2 2011, 09:20 AM

**Fantasista**
1,681 posts

After the dateline, my wife finally got the refund via bank transfer from LHDN, feel such a long wait. With the current posts are going on, I detect a trend that LHDN is most likely to audit if you claim the housing loan. Maybe for such a sum they need all the proofs etc, the best way is indeed to be honest, cheers:)
munkeyflo
post Jun 2 2011, 10:47 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

Yea their letter is always a hassle to read it. Have to read few times and very carefully cause I don't wanna misunderstand anything. -.-

Mine wasn't about housing loan. Just that for the past few years always have been paying tax and this year overpaid because of the PCB. Haha.
leongal
post Jun 2 2011, 12:46 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 2 2011, 10:47 AM)
Yea their letter is always a hassle to read it. Have to read few times and very carefully cause I don't wanna misunderstand anything. -.-

Mine wasn't about housing loan. Just that for the past few years always have been paying tax and this year overpaid because of the PCB. Haha.
oh....they will probably ask for your EA form then....good luck!
munkeyflo
post Jun 2 2011, 06:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 2 2011, 12:46 PM)
oh....they will probably ask for your EA form then....good luck!
Haha. Thanks. Hopefully everything goes well and can get refund soon. smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 2 2011, 10:32 PM

52,874 posts

Guys, let's move to new version thread:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1903172

0.0152sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled