133 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

dlyz
post Aug 22 2008, 11:30 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

So, if i got that, i would serve as an amp, only that i can also use it in the future as the heart of a HT system? Cool. Maybe long term getting a A/V Receiver might be good.

I been looking at yamaha and marantz site and i not sure which model amps they have have preout for woofer. lol...

This post has been edited by dlyz: Aug 22 2008, 11:43 PM
yfyap69
post Aug 23 2008, 09:30 AM

852 posts

Most of the AV amp will have pre out for subwoofer. I'm not sure about stereo amp. I check out some stereo amp like the PM4001, doesn't seems to have any pre out for sub. Yamaha 663 has per out for sub. If you are in KL, can drop by Yamaha sales in Kelana Jaya.
dlyz
post Aug 23 2008, 03:15 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

With a tip from my friend, i found a small HT/Hifi shop. It didnt have an actual showroom sad.gif but it has mission, whaferdale, JBL, BMB, marantz, onkyo and others in there smile.gif

With my friend's powerful influence (got 4-5 sets of Hifi or HT from the boss), the boss quoted me RM700 for M31i. Considering shipping nowadays. This should be ok i guess. How much these go for in west m'sia?

He doesnt keep Yamaha stock but can order and i forgot to ask the price for Yamaha 663 sad.gif. However he introduced me to Onkyo TX-SR-506 for RM1700 (If remember correctly, anyone know the price in west side?)

You guys got any comment of those 2 A/V receivers?

Assuming i get M31i and the Onkyo, i would be at RM2400 with RM600 left in my budget. I asked what is the cheapest sub he had and he told me a RM1k Whaferdale. sad.gif From this i have 2 choices, take my budget to the next level of RM3500 (HARI RAYA COMING!) or wait.... wait for more savings and get a more decent sub in the future, but im not one of patience. smile.gif

In the end, hopefully i can get more discounts. Or i just find a friend that can buy for me in KL and bring back slowly or some other way haha.

This post has been edited by dlyz: Aug 23 2008, 04:52 PM
yfyap69
post Aug 23 2008, 09:29 PM

852 posts

I saw M31i in KL AV show selling for RM399. Of course that is during sales price. Onkyo 506 doesn't decode the new Hidef codec (DTS MA & Dolby Thru HD). I guess you only use it for stereo then it's ok. I heard some one in east malaysia can get the 606 for RM2100. That one is a good buy. Between the 663 and 506, 663 is the better buy. What Whaferdale model he offer you? I guess it't the WH210. Better get the SW150.
dlyz
post Aug 23 2008, 10:03 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

RM399 O.O I can only wish for such a price here.

I am not sure which woofer he was referring to but i didnt ask as i was flooded with informations and introductions haha.

As for the 606, i will also ask the tauke how much he can give. smile.gif

So far this few days really learn a lot about hifi shopping. Thanks yfyap69. I think the next step after learning the basics is actually visit more AV shops to get a listen. Time to book plane ticket lol

Added on August 24, 2008, 3:03 pmI did some googling and cant find anything proper review on WH210. It must be a terrible model i take it.

This post has been edited by dlyz: Aug 24 2008, 03:03 PM
wei
post Aug 25 2008, 12:07 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Hi everyone, consider I am a newbie in this section, tried to read as much as I can, but audiophile is so huge and dating back to long period of time. I can't be reading everything and absorb them in few weeks time, but I'm willing to learn. My new house going to ready soon, I'm in the midst of planning my budget AV setup in living room. Hope those expert in hifi setup can share some opinion. And here's some description:

budget: RM2000-2500 for sound system only
aim: less clutter setup, simple and clean.
spec: living room size is approx 20' x 25'.
use: I enjoy jazz very much. The rest are movie watching.
remark: I don't really need hi-tech fancy thing.
I prefer something that can enjoy in long term.
Even a basic 2.0 bookshelf speaker came into my mind, as I try to avoid cable running across living room. The setup will work with 32" LCD TV + AppleTV + iPod (not included in the budget), since most of my stuff are in digital format (computer files). No idea what to get as my sound system...
speaker set + amp? speaker set + receiver? I'm kinda lost when thinking about that.

Many thanks in advance for you reply.

BTW, is any of you using GLOW One amp? http://www.glow-audio.com/
yfyap69
post Aug 25 2008, 01:32 PM

852 posts

Your room size is big. Bookshelf may not be adequate for you. Budget too little for dedicated HT. You best choice will be HTiB with wireless surround since you don't want to run wire across.
l30n91120
post Aug 25 2008, 04:34 PM

153 posts

Dear members,

My current system consists of Marantz CD6002, Marantz PM7200 and Mission M73i. I'm thinking to replace my current amp to the PM6002 to match the CD6002 aesthetically. However, is the PM6002 considered a downgrade compared to PM7200? Looking forward to comments from members here.

Cheers!
skydna
post Aug 25 2008, 08:01 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 25 2008, 12:07 PM)
Hi everyone, consider I am a newbie in this section, tried to read as much as I can, but audiophile is so huge and dating back to long period of time. I can't be reading everything and absorb them in few weeks time, but I'm willing to learn. My new house going to ready soon, I'm in the midst of planning my budget AV setup in living room. Hope those expert in hifi setup can share some opinion. And here's some description:

budget: RM2000-2500 for sound system only
aim: less clutter setup, simple and clean.
spec: living room size is approx 20' x 25'.
use: I enjoy jazz very much. The rest are movie watching.
remark: I don't really need hi-tech fancy thing.
I prefer something that can enjoy in long term.
Even a basic 2.0 bookshelf speaker came into my mind, as I try to avoid cable running across living room. The setup will work with 32" LCD TV + AppleTV + iPod (not included in the budget), since most of my stuff are in digital format (computer files). No idea what to get as my sound system...
speaker set + amp? speaker set + receiver? I'm kinda lost when thinking about that.

Many thanks in advance for you reply.

BTW, is any of you using GLOW One amp? http://www.glow-audio.com/
GLOW One amp is a really nice amp with EL84 in class A
the vocal really sweet and soft
but it need high sensetivity speaker to pair with
because its output only 5W per channel
tat time i testing with my mordaunt-short carnival 2 which has 90db
but still need to tune the volume to "11o'clock" position to have my normal listening volume
for me it is perfect for jazz but put it in a living room
i think u need a 96db and above sensetivity speaker
then u can rock and roll with it....
wei
post Aug 25 2008, 08:37 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Thanks for the advice guys. Will have to adjust my budget for accommodate my need then.

Is there a local dealer for GLOW One?
ccschua
post Aug 25 2008, 10:24 PM

1,630 posts

Tube sound is distinct. U will either like it or hate it.

Nowadays tube amp are getting more affordable. Look at Little Dot, Cayin (the Spark).
skydna
post Aug 25 2008, 10:46 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 25 2008, 08:37 PM)
Thanks for the advice guys. Will have to adjust my budget for accommodate my need then.

Is there a local dealer for GLOW One?
hmm i try it at Amcorp mall Acoustique systems
try it with mordaunt-short avant
i like the sound when it pair with the amp

This post has been edited by skydna: Aug 25 2008, 10:48 PM
dlyz
post Aug 26 2008, 07:23 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Hi guys, wondering if there is are any AVR priced around RM1000. The idea is that since im using for Stereo, i dont need the better AVRs so i can pump more into speakers and woofer.
skydna
post Aug 26 2008, 10:55 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Aug 26 2008, 07:23 PM)
Hi guys, wondering if there is are any AVR priced around RM1000. The idea is that since im using for Stereo, i dont need the better AVRs so i can pump more into speakers and woofer.
a good amplifier with best matching speaker is a point to get a nice sounding
so try AB testing to get a best combination is more important than the ratio u spend on which component
a pair of good speaker with a crap amp is wasted~

if u willing to spend about rm1k+- on a stereo amp
i think u can try all those sifu recommented soundstage 1.5 or Rotel RA-04
but i am not sure about woffer output ~~"
dlyz
post Aug 27 2008, 09:11 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Oic, i will take all you said into consideration. smile.gif

Where can i find schedules for AV shows in KL? If there is a show, i might go... 1Mil free seats smile.gif

This post has been edited by dlyz: Aug 27 2008, 09:28 PM
clivengu
post Aug 31 2008, 02:50 AM

1,850 posts

iM now having trouble deciding what kind of HIFI system to go for..

THEATER SYSTEm VS KARAOKE SYSTEM

my mum love singing and all this while we have this 4 pieces bulky 20 years old PIoneer Speaker in the house with the equalizer + another dono wat to adjust microphone+ echos.

Now we want to move house, and we thought of getting a theather system... those sleek 4 surround sound speakers from sony.. But only to realise that they doesnt work as Karaoke (not as good)

Any to recommend if we wan to enjoy BOTH? So far from Sony ppl recommend me FXG99k THE LETHAL SAMURAI EXPERIENCE. They say this can be good for karaoke...but im not too sure of it..

Wat would u guys recommend?
han2nd
post Sep 3 2008, 12:31 PM

21 posts

hi sifu can anyone recomend home theater system in a box ?
dlyz
post Sep 6 2008, 09:57 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Guys, i was wondering how loud can bookshelves or floorstanders go without damage or sound quality loss?

How loud is too loud for a particular speaker?

What would you hear when the speakers is reaching its limit?
eyerule
post Sep 7 2008, 10:00 AM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,036 posts

distortion or clipping. generally no one would turn it to that level, unless u just wanna damage the speakers or the amp on purpose
htkaki
post Sep 7 2008, 10:59 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(han2nd @ Sep 3 2008, 12:31 PM)
hi sifu can anyone recomend home theater system in a box ?

as usual, what's your budget?

133 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:39 AM