Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

skydna
post Dec 19 2007, 12:57 AM

236 posts

Hi all sifu here i am considering to buy a pair of bookshelf
Most of the song i love are japanese/chinese pop and vocal like ovilia ong and emi fujita. Over 80% of song is Female.
i am finding a speaker have very clear high,sweet mid and average bass
Monitor Audio Bronze BR2 / BR1 ,Wharfedale Diamond 9.1, B&W CM1,KEF Q1 /Cresta 10
my budget is about rm1k any 1 know the price for those speaker?Any recomment shop to get those?
Which will most probably will stuitable for me?
Thinking to go Amcorp mall for a look, do the audio shop there provide amp repair service?my old sansui have some problems also hehe...
skydna
post Dec 20 2007, 02:46 AM

236 posts

Ou thx sifu but i think i need seriously think about the speaker sound signiture 1st.Then i need to find a shop to try the speaker..
Any 1 know where got sell USHER speaker? seems very popular in taiwan HI-FI audio
skydna
post Jan 7 2008, 09:11 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 2 2008, 05:52 PM)
i just bought a amp and CD player from frens now want to find a pair of bookshelf which is recommend i prefer more to vocal 60% detail abt 40 %

My System :
Marantz PM4001
Marantz CD5001
Chord Calypso RCA
Streetwire Stream 16/2 Speaker Wire
which speaker u guys recommend
1) AE Evo 1
2) AE Neo (abit out budget)
3) Mordaunt Short Carnival 2
4) Wharfedale Diamond 9.1
5) Mordaunt Short Avanti 902i (abit bright)

just buy the Mordaunt Short Carnival 2 from amcorp mall 2 weeks ago
After compair between Mordaunt Short Carnival 2 and Wharfedale Diamond 9.1
i feel the sound of Diamond 9.1 more "Thick" and Carnival 2 more "Liner"
but both are very nice speaker under rm1k
and i think u can add Monitor Audio BR2 in ur list
skydna
post Jan 8 2008, 10:06 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 8 2008, 09:46 AM)
i just bought my Carnival 2  2 days ago from Amcorp Mall also are u buying from Acoustic System ????
lucky there have a same setup wif me just the cable is different.To test.

after i audit 3 speaker result
Base on Marantz CD 5001 , Marantz PM4001 , Chord Silver Plus speaker cable . Wireworld RCA.

1) Mordaunt Short Avant 902i - detail very clear high extension control well, vocal is slightly thin ,bass are solid n fast this speaker is more to dynamic side.

2)Whafedale Diamond 9.1 - Vocal is thick but (MCC = mong cha cha aka Blur) lack of bass n detail is laid back n mellow.

3)Mordaunt Short Carnival 2 - this speaker is between the 2 speaker above.Not Mellow not dynamic.
yaya i brought my Mordaunt Short there
do Acoustic System have Avant 902i?
i hope to have a listen to it when buy my new cable on comming CNY
skydna
post Jan 8 2008, 12:52 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 8 2008, 10:34 AM)
yup is inside the room ....... than i bring in out to test heheh bcoz he bz soo ask me to do it myself lol

wut cable u going to use smile.gif
wow that is too nice
ermm i still finding wather bi-wire, sliver, copper with about rm 1xx
i am using Sansui A-UX111 + my Carnival 2 with Visage cable from my dad old system
that day the boss recommend me a silver cable which using in his demo system about rm 40 per meter
any recommendation?

skydna
post Jan 8 2008, 08:06 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 8 2008, 02:10 PM)
i think that is Chord Carnival Silver Plus RM 40m not bad the price.
this cable can bring out alot of detail ..... smile.gif actually is silver coated not pure silver.

Currently listen see ur system is lack of wut things than tune from there if lack of detail than use this silver cable will bring some detail out if ur sound bright dont use this silver cable than go for copper smile.gif

If copper i will recommend VDH Clearline abt RM 25+ per m or take VDH Skyline Hybrid RM 45 per meter but VDH cable more to analog sound n warm sound if ur sound brights or harsh sound is suitable.

Copy From The Chord Company
Chord Carnival Silver Plus is a very affordable high performance speaker cable. Designed to achieve equal and realistic dynamics throughout the frequency range, Carnival Silver Plus features a pair of six identical, silver plated oxygen free copper conductors in a semi-air spaced configuration.

This is a well-balanced speaker cable with powerful, tuneful bass and an open, expressive mid range and treble. Carnival Silver Plus will bring out the best in any hi-fi or home cinema system.

Chord Carnival Silver Plus
ermm i see really thanks for ur advice
i found my setup has blur vocal compair to what i listen in the demo room
i wish to change my interconnection cable also but facing the problem of my creative x-fi which use 3.5mm connector
skydna
post Jan 26 2008, 05:31 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 25 2008, 10:24 AM)
Hi sifu,

Recently, I noticed that my old faithful CD63SE CD player produced crippling sound when playing high pitch musical,especially "paul potts - one chance" CD.  do anyone know what is wrong and any idea good repair shop ard KL and PJ.  TIA
for repair shop i think u should go amcorp mall for a look
most of the audio shop provide repair services
skydna
post Jul 16 2008, 10:08 PM

236 posts

Halo sifu here i am looking for a low end stero amp for my mordaunt-short carnival 2.
Now i am wondering to go Denon PMA-700AE or Rotel RA-04.
My budget is about rm1k, some audio shop boss had recommend me for Denon but i draw back cause some bad feed back from some online review.
i am a female vocal lover and some jpop which a sweet vocal clear sound is needed.
Any recommendation which should i go for or any other good amp?
skydna
post Aug 10 2008, 09:11 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(mattyl @ Aug 7 2008, 05:35 PM)
Any recommendation what amplifier to paired with monitor audio br2??

not to be too-pricey amp...

thx all the sifus..
just for ur info
i try before BR2 with a FU12 tube amp
sound really weird totaly not smooth
i think may be the speaker match batter with a solid amp
thx~
skydna
post Aug 17 2008, 10:53 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Aug 17 2008, 10:33 AM)
Hi guys, is 3k - 3.5k  a good budget for a good hifi? (speakers , amp & cables)

And can give some comment and price estimates on this setup:

1. Mission M30i, Mission M3AS, Marantz CR401

2. Mission M31i, Mission M3AS, Marantz CR401

How do you think this speaker, sub and the cd player sound?

Thanks for help. Im noob at hifi, but want to pursue it as my passion.
As u already have so much of budget i think u can consider Floor stand speaker like m35i
and try out some different type of amp and speaker before buying
so u know more wht type of sound u like
and if u list out the type of music u like and wht type of sound u expect for
it is much easier for the sifu here to gv u recomendation
thx~~
skydna
post Aug 25 2008, 08:01 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 25 2008, 12:07 PM)
Hi everyone, consider I am a newbie in this section, tried to read as much as I can, but audiophile is so huge and dating back to long period of time. I can't be reading everything and absorb them in few weeks time, but I'm willing to learn. My new house going to ready soon, I'm in the midst of planning my budget AV setup in living room. Hope those expert in hifi setup can share some opinion. And here's some description:

budget: RM2000-2500 for sound system only
aim: less clutter setup, simple and clean.
spec: living room size is approx 20' x 25'.
use: I enjoy jazz very much. The rest are movie watching.
remark: I don't really need hi-tech fancy thing.
I prefer something that can enjoy in long term.
Even a basic 2.0 bookshelf speaker came into my mind, as I try to avoid cable running across living room. The setup will work with 32" LCD TV + AppleTV + iPod (not included in the budget), since most of my stuff are in digital format (computer files). No idea what to get as my sound system...
speaker set + amp? speaker set + receiver? I'm kinda lost when thinking about that.

Many thanks in advance for you reply.

BTW, is any of you using GLOW One amp? http://www.glow-audio.com/
GLOW One amp is a really nice amp with EL84 in class A
the vocal really sweet and soft
but it need high sensetivity speaker to pair with
because its output only 5W per channel
tat time i testing with my mordaunt-short carnival 2 which has 90db
but still need to tune the volume to "11o'clock" position to have my normal listening volume
for me it is perfect for jazz but put it in a living room
i think u need a 96db and above sensetivity speaker
then u can rock and roll with it....
skydna
post Aug 25 2008, 10:46 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 25 2008, 08:37 PM)
Thanks for the advice guys. Will have to adjust my budget for accommodate my need then.

Is there a local dealer for GLOW One?
hmm i try it at Amcorp mall Acoustique systems
try it with mordaunt-short avant
i like the sound when it pair with the amp

This post has been edited by skydna: Aug 25 2008, 10:48 PM
skydna
post Aug 26 2008, 10:55 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Aug 26 2008, 07:23 PM)
Hi guys, wondering if there is are any AVR priced around RM1000. The idea is that since im using for Stereo, i dont need the better AVRs so i can pump more into speakers and woofer.
a good amplifier with best matching speaker is a point to get a nice sounding
so try AB testing to get a best combination is more important than the ratio u spend on which component
a pair of good speaker with a crap amp is wasted~

if u willing to spend about rm1k+- on a stereo amp
i think u can try all those sifu recommented soundstage 1.5 or Rotel RA-04
but i am not sure about woffer output ~~"
skydna
post Oct 19 2008, 11:59 AM

236 posts

i had try RA-04 on my mordaunt short carnival 2 a while in the shop before may be the room is too big feeling not my cup of tea
no much bass vocal not sweet enought, a little bit harsh on high..
if pair with rotel may be BR2 is a good choice?
i am looking for naim nait 5i,audio space,matranz pm6002,pioneer a-a6
any sifu know where got demo them and recommented which to get for pop and jazz?
thx in advance oso~
skydna
post Mar 10 2009, 02:01 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(waters @ Mar 7 2009, 06:06 PM)
Guys, need some advice.

I got a DENON PMA 700 amp to replace my old NAD that went bust awhile ago.

Now looking for a pair of speakers to match the DENON. Right now, I'm using my trusty Wharfedale Diamond 8.1s but looking to upgrade.

Price should be within the 1.5 - 1.6K. Can probably stretch it a bit, but not by much.

I've auditioned  the AE Neo 1 and the Quad11L. Anything else within that range that would be good partner to the DENON?
i did try mordaunt short avant 908i with Denon 700AE at amcorp mall
it did well and very musical but i am not sure the price and it is a floor stand...
skydna
post Mar 31 2009, 03:05 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(kwchan_7 @ Mar 19 2009, 04:23 PM)
Dear audio sifus  notworthy.gif

I'm a newbee  to Hifi world and would like to get some advise from you all, i'm looking for a setup (bookshelf+ integrated amp) less than 4K. So far i have heard Klipsch synergy B3+ Onyko A9555 and Mordaunt-Short Mezzo2+NAD 355 amps.

Klipsch sound more bassy and clarity is nice too while the Mezzo2 sound really really sweet esp on vocal, but i felt the bass isn't as good as klipsch B3. ( pls correct me if i'm wrong as i audit this this 2 setup at different time and different shops, i might mess up and kinda forget the hows the previous "feel") I listen to wide range of music and sometimes i prefer some bass when needed. The shop onwer who sell mezzo2 say that mezzo2 is far better than B3 interm of sound quality and if i need more bass, i can added a sub later on if i have $$

Kinda a dillemma now as this is my 1st time buying such expensive stuff and i don't want to screw up and regret after buying, any sifus care to comment on this? thanks notworthy.gif
1st of all i am not a sifu laugh.gif
According to my experience on mezzo2
mezzo2 is musical and it might sound lesser bass than other brand but i found its bass "tight" and "clear" so to get more bass u can try place the speaker near to the wall...
i think u should try usher s-520 also it is a very value and nice speaker
i do think that which speaker + amplifier can get ur attention to listen longer time that is the right systems
and a good interconnect and speaker can make a big different so get a nice cable and try with the systems u wanna buy
good luck laugh.gif
skydna
post Apr 3 2009, 01:18 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(kwchan_7 @ Apr 1 2009, 01:21 PM)
Thanks for the advise skydna & dlyz,

will try to check a few more speaker before decide, btw any comment on wharfedale diamond 9.2? Thanks
Yeah should use the chance to try more and gain more thumbup.gif
i found that Dynaudio is intresting u can try it out drool.gif
for me i feel wharfedale diamond has warmer sound than mordaunt short but both with proper amp and cable tuning will be very nice
depends which type of sound u prefer
but i prefer more to mordaunt short rclxub.gif

QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 1 2009, 04:05 PM)
I think my mistake was going without my own musics cause i only have flac and ape.

And the boss turn up the bass knob when i mentioned i like my music to have more punch. I only realise this later and this gave me a early false impression. Cause tho i like punch, i still want no equaliser to mess up the music.

I tested the Diamond 9.5 and Mission M34i and honestly, i coudnt really tell the difference with such a short audition. But i liked the looks of the Diamond more. If the 9.2 suit your taste than by all means go for it, thats why you MUST bring your own cd and make sure that the shop dont mess around with the bass/treble controls.

Make sure you get an amp that can properly amp it and good cables. I dont know about boutique cables but i believe that there is a difference between chapalang cables and quality cables. Cause i dont have a interconnect yet so i use chapalang cables and it add many noise into the sound. I discover this cause i have use the filter (ferrite clamps) on the cable and notice cleaner sound.

Im using my setup with lossless music on pc.. lol How bout you?

Sorry im not very pro at this as im a newbie trying to help a fellow newbie tongue.gif
Ah a good cable may make a very big difference even power cord
it is worth to get, but make sure try at ur own systems before buy laugh.gif

skydna
post Jul 13 2009, 11:30 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(jerren @ Jul 8 2009, 11:58 AM)
need a suggestion for an amp,
music route: APE/FLAC -> Foobar2000 -> AudioTrak Prodigy 7.1 LT -> TianYun Zero DAC -> AMP -> wharfedale diamond 9.1
music preferance: mostly focus on vocal, jazz.. other genre too.
From the amplifier you have listed down, if you are going deep into stereo hifi then go for a stereo amplifier not those AV receiver
Actually if you like vocal and jazz, you should give yourself a chance to try out some china vaccum tube amplifier for a silky smooth and clear presentation
But the way it is always depends on your preference of sounding which u might hate the tubby taste then you can always try the NAD and marantz
for me NAD normally will more dynamic and detail than marantz, but marantz win in relax and musical
Both are good but just which you prefer to match with your speaker~~ laugh.gif
skydna
post Jul 28 2009, 12:13 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(kraft @ Jul 26 2009, 01:59 PM)
hi,

can recommend or suggestion mini hi-fi for student price (around RM 200-300)

for the brand, anything ... ok ?

thanks before ...
i think with the budget is very tight for a proper hifi
you can try some computer speaker
i suggest you to try Edifier R - 1900 T III

0.0447sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:17 PM