Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys
Laine
Jun 13 2011, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 7 2011, 01:52 PM) Nope, so far on starbhub maxonline 16mbps, i do not experience any cut off period so far. Thats cable. Mobile broadband is a different story. I used to have a M1 line and iniatially they didnt restrict torrents but after 16 months into my contract they started throttling the hell out of torrenting whereby you cant download anything at all. Talk about an over exaggeration but all ISP nowadays have a clause which state they can basically do anything they want which contradicts their them giving you the speed which you pay for but control what you do with it which is actually part and parcel of the internet. Its like saying "you can have your cake but you cant eat it". But i dont so much torrenting nowadays since you can watch netflix with a paid subscription and their tv and movie library are fantastic. Since its streaming video, most ISP's dont block the protocols so its smooth sailing. thanks. this morning alone (~30 mins) i have experienced 2 times of disconnection. this is what i am thinking as well, a cabled connection should not experience so frequent disconnection. i will drop by their outlet at vivo city later. see what's their comment on this issue.
deodorant
Jun 13 2011, 12:02 PM
guys just for sake of discussion (i'm poor, can't afford) ... i see on the LTA website that OPC (off peak car) rebate is $17k.
but latest COE bid is $62k. so effectively speaking, now u buy new off peak car also still need to fork out $45k to government?
or is my understanding of the off peak car scheme fundamentally wrong?
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 13 2011, 12:02 PM) guys just for sake of discussion (i'm poor, can't afford) ... i see on the LTA website that OPC (off peak car) rebate is $17k.
but latest COE bid is $62k. so effectively speaking, now u buy new off peak car also still need to fork out $45k to government?
or is my understanding of the off peak car scheme fundamentally wrong? The only time you don't have to pay COE, is when you buy a car and you DON'T drive it. When you buy an off peak car, you pay 'off peak' COE lor. Still need to pay some COE, no... since you still drive the car.
crapp0
Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Laine @ Jun 13 2011, 11:28 AM) thanks. this morning alone (~30 mins) i have experienced 2 times of disconnection. this is what i am thinking as well, a cabled connection should not experience so frequent disconnection. i will drop by their outlet at vivo city later. see what's their comment on this issue.  Of course you have to expect that you may get disconnected on a mobile broadband plan. A cable connection is always the best for speed and reliability. The only reason you would want mobile broadband is mobility and not being tied to a house in singapore.
xbeelkh
Jun 13 2011, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 11 2011, 09:11 AM) 60 days for every past 90 days In between, you will need to "renew" your white card. thx for ur reply
Laine
Jun 13 2011, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM) Of course you have to expect that you may get disconnected on a mobile broadband plan. A cable connection is always the best for speed and reliability. The only reason you would want mobile broadband is mobility and not being tied to a house in singapore. true. if this happens on mobile broadband then i have nothing to complaint. but cabled broadband also can be so frequent... aih..
maloa
Jun 13 2011, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(Laine @ Jun 13 2011, 04:42 PM) true. if this happens on mobile broadband then i have nothing to complaint. but cabled broadband also can be so frequent... aih.. hi laine, could it be due to faulty connector? can try and do a latency test.. =P my M1 line is also like zero or one bar inside the room i am renting.. hehehehe
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(maloa @ Jun 13 2011, 05:11 PM) hi laine,
could it be due to faulty connector? can try and do a latency test.. =P Quite common for botched up wiring jobs to occur. Lots of flats have addition SCV points in multiple rooms. If the splitter, cabling and end points are not up to par, then the signal degrades as well. I recently put a TV in a spare bedroom with no SCV point, so I used a 15m long thin-gauge flexible coaxial cable to connect that TV to the SCV splitter point in the living room (slipping the cable under the bedroom door). Nothing more than a simple screw male-female connection but the degradation in signal quality is noticeable. When I connect the TV using the short, very stiff coax cable from Starhub, the picture looks noticeably better.
nicvoo
Jun 13 2011, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2011, 06:05 PM) Quite common for botched up wiring jobs to occur. Lots of flats have addition SCV points in multiple rooms. If the splitter, cabling and end points are not up to par, then the signal degrades as well. I recently put a TV in a spare bedroom with no SCV point, so I used a 15m long thin-gauge flexible coaxial cable to connect that TV to the SCV splitter point in the living room (slipping the cable under the bedroom door). Nothing more than a simple screw male-female connection but the degradation in signal quality is noticeable. When I connect the TV using the short, very stiff coax cable from Starhub, the picture looks noticeably better. u'll need a booster diy shops should sell them...ur unit should b the furtherest unit from the lift lobby right? This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jun 13 2011, 06:39 PM
hyperthom007
Jun 13 2011, 07:09 PM
Ouch, which Telco is best? LoL! I know they are very close to each other but I own an iPhone here and will be working there soon. I need data plan for mobile surfing purposes (I have Wifi already) and cheap calls to Malaysia.
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jun 13 2011, 06:38 PM) u'll need a booster diy shops should sell them...ur unit should b the furtherest unit from the lift lobby right? Closest to the lift lobby actually. Personally, I think it's the extra thin cable I'm using the slip under the door. Coax cables are stiff and thick from all the insulation for a reason.
shanelai
Jun 13 2011, 09:39 PM
my starhub 16mb home broadband very sxxucks recently.. Everyday dc once i back from office. Call starhub they say current the signal at my area(Simei) is weak.. what the hxxl the explaination is. One of the lesson i've learn. Say no to Starhub!!
precursor80
Jun 13 2011, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jun 13 2011, 09:39 PM) my starhub 16mb home broadband very sxxucks recently.. Everyday dc once i back from office. Call starhub they say current the signal at my area(Simei) is weak.. what the hxxl the explaination is. One of the lesson i've learn. Say no to Starhub!! Yeah..... And they started throttling my mobile broadband connection right after I recontract. Must say no to starfxxk Added on June 13, 2011, 10:21 pmQUOTE(r1v3r @ Jun 11 2011, 08:46 PM) And don't be fool by "all clear" Internet picture of tuas check point. Once you cross the peak of the bridge it may be worst than woodland. I got hit once. Got stuck for 4 hours standing in a bus. CW2. It's definitely worst than woodlands. I rather take KTM but too bad Tanjong Pagar station is closing down. This post has been edited by precursor80: Jun 13 2011, 10:21 PM
crapp0
Jun 13 2011, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Jun 13 2011, 09:39 PM) my starhub 16mb home broadband very sxxucks recently.. Everyday dc once i back from office. Call starhub they say current the signal at my area(Simei) is weak.. what the hxxl the explaination is. One of the lesson i've learn. Say no to Starhub!! im using starhub and everything is ok. Speed is quite good and i have yet to get experience DC that you guys have mentioned. One thing i dont like is starhub are the certain restrictions they like to place. Fortunately i can resolve that matter by vpning to my companies fiber broadband DMZ zone network. I wonder which 3G phone network is good for a smartphone, usually its between singtel and m1 but lately due to M1 disruption and the poor speeds from singtel. Looks like all three have really start to drop the ball. This post has been edited by crapp0: Jun 13 2011, 10:57 PM
Laine
Jun 13 2011, 11:01 PM
this is my speedtest result... more like a 6mb plan.. haha...
Shinichi
Jun 13 2011, 11:06 PM
I just signed up 3MB plan yesterday and I can use it now. Here's my speed:
crapp0
Jun 13 2011, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 13 2011, 11:06 PM) I just signed up 3MB plan yesterday and I can use it now. Here's my speed:  Usually the general tip for home broadband is dont get anything higher 15mbps since thats the average max speed your gonna get on international lines. For mobile its safer to be on 2mbps, i used to have an M1 4mbps mobile broadband line and only at certain areas and at certain times can i get full speed, the usual i get is around 1-2mbps. My office fiber lines get the max 25mbps which translates to around 3.15 mb/s but i am disappointed at its upload rate of around 800kb/s since i was expecting around 1.5mb/s.
Shinichi
Jun 13 2011, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 13 2011, 11:13 PM) Usually the general tip for home broadband is dont get anything higher 15mbps since thats the average max speed your gonna get on international lines. For mobile its safer to be on 2mbps, i used to have an M1 4mbps mobile broadband line and only at certain areas and at certain times can i get full speed, the usual i get is around 1-2mbps. My office fiber lines get the max 25mbps which translates to around 3.15 mb/s but i am disappointed at its upload rate of around 800kb/s since i was expecting around 1.5mb/s. Thanks bro, really useful info...
nishoba
Jun 13 2011, 11:59 PM
Hi, I am interested to find a job in Singapore. Unfortunately countless job application sent via jobs portal or directly to the respective company website till now (4 months) ended with zero interview request.
From what I was told, Singaporeans still have preference to hire locals or someone with working permit there thus they will automatically filter out Malaysians. Thus they suggest the best way is to actually go down to Singapore and camp there for a month or so to get a job since I will then have a Singapore address as well as being able to attend the interview at any time.
Unfortunately the option above is very costly as I would then have to spend quite a huge amount for accommodation, food and transport there and at the same time not earning any money since I would need to quit my job to go there.
May I know what are the other alternatives (recruitment agency doesn't seems to work well too)? And if the option above of going down to Singapore is still the best, I would have to roughly look at how long to get a job there?
WyjSwmW
Jun 14 2011, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(nishoba @ Jun 13 2011, 11:59 PM) Hi, I am interested to find a job in Singapore. Unfortunately countless job application sent via jobs portal or directly to the respective company website till now (4 months) ended with zero interview request. From what I was told, Singaporeans still have preference to hire locals or someone with working permit there thus they will automatically filter out Malaysians. Thus they suggest the best way is to actually go down to Singapore and camp there for a month or so to get a job since I will then have a Singapore address as well as being able to attend the interview at any time. Unfortunately the option above is very costly as I would then have to spend quite a huge amount for accommodation, food and transport there and at the same time not earning any money since I would need to quit my job to go there. May I know what are the other alternatives (recruitment agency doesn't seems to work well too)? And if the option above of going down to Singapore is still the best, I would have to roughly look at how long to get a job there? Did you have any friends or relative staying in SG? Mind to share what profession are u in and what's ur industry u r into? AFAIK, the job market in SG is quite quiet for these few months. Many companies are freezing headcounts such as my company.