Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

WyjSwmW
post Jun 8 2011, 08:56 PM

862 posts

Hi, may I ask anyone of you here failed to get PR with a basic salary of $4,200 in the accounting line?
WyjSwmW
post Jun 9 2011, 12:13 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 9 2011, 09:19 AM)
Which Malaysian city has more trees in the city itself compared to Singapore? In Ipoh, ever since city council went on a tree uprooting binge 10 years ago, there are no longer any real trees in the town or residential areas.

And I don't recall any Malaysian city being "surrounded" by greenery. There'sf course jungle still in Malaysia, but it's nowhere near enough any major city to play a part in it's urban environment.
Wah, you guys arguing about trees??? rclxms.gif
WyjSwmW
post Jun 9 2011, 02:35 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ Jun 9 2011, 02:20 PM)
anyone travel from singapore to redang b4?

what coach to recommend? i need to get to merang jetty.
currently aiming on five star
LoL, I will be heading to redang next week... travel to KL LCCT to take AirAsia to Redang.
WyjSwmW
post Jun 9 2011, 02:50 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ Jun 9 2011, 02:38 PM)
i need to go by coach, coz i cant dive if i fly there..
wanna book the right coach, comfortable one
I believe even with a comfortable coach, you will still feel uncomfortable as the journey is too long from SG to the Jetty.

This is why I opt to fly there instead of by road.
WyjSwmW
post Jun 10 2011, 12:06 AM

862 posts

wah, u guys bising-bising over some trees issue?? hahaha
WyjSwmW
post Jun 10 2011, 10:15 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2011, 12:00 AM)
probably july... hahaha  rclxub.gif i know around this period... my company is hiring aggressively due to this... all msians... lol
U mean which dept or position ur company is hiring? I got a fren who is Malaysian wanna get a job in SG.
WyjSwmW
post Jun 11 2011, 11:50 AM

862 posts

[QUOTE]
Anyone know how long can a white card holder stay in singapore?

[/quote]

max 1 month

[/QUOTE]

I wanna ask if I came in SG using white card and I noted in the white card my max stay is 14 days, should I return to Malaysia after 14 days or I can prolong my stay in SG since the max stay is now 1 mth?

I am asking because I dunno now the stay in SG has been prolong to 1 mth instead of the previous 14 days only.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jun 11 2011, 11:50 AM
WyjSwmW
post Jun 11 2011, 10:03 PM

862 posts

Anyone filled-up the white card "numbers of days to stay in SG" as 14 days but actually stay till 30 days only leave SG...?

Are there any consequences since the max stay is 30 days?
WyjSwmW
post Jun 12 2011, 10:59 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(weihong @ Jun 12 2011, 09:37 PM)
gold fish pond
Talking bout fishes, anyone here know any good aquariums?? brows.gif
WyjSwmW
post Jun 14 2011, 12:14 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(nishoba @ Jun 13 2011, 11:59 PM)
Hi, I am interested to find a job in Singapore. Unfortunately countless job application sent via jobs portal or directly to the respective company website till now (4 months) ended with zero interview request.

From what I was told, Singaporeans still have preference to hire locals or someone with working permit there thus they will automatically filter out Malaysians. Thus they suggest the best way is to actually go down to Singapore and camp there for a month or so to get a job since I will then have a Singapore address as well as being able to attend the interview at any time.

Unfortunately the option above is very costly as I would then have to spend quite a huge amount for accommodation, food and transport there and at the same time not earning any money since I would need to quit my job to go there.

May I know what are the other alternatives (recruitment agency doesn't seems to work well too)? And if the option above of going down to Singapore is still the best, I would have to roughly look at how long to get a job there?
Did you have any friends or relative staying in SG?
Mind to share what profession are u in and what's ur industry u r into?
AFAIK, the job market in SG is quite quiet for these few months. Many companies are freezing headcounts such as my company.
WyjSwmW
post Jun 14 2011, 01:16 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(nishoba @ Jun 14 2011, 12:32 AM)
Yes I do have relatives and friend staying there. But it would not be good for me to stay at their place without contributing anything, hence I still need to incur cost for accommodation although at a lower rate. I am working in the banking industry (relevant experience would be marketing/social media/digital marketing/media)
You can try to apply Bank of China if you are in banking industry. My friend just got her job confirmed in that bank.
I dont think address is a issue here as you can always tell them you are now staying in Malaysia but will be renting a room once I got a job confirmed.

QUOTE(IEE @ Jun 14 2011, 12:37 AM)
anyone know if there is also headcount freeze in the IT industry in Singapore? I applied to many companies in Singapore online for few months but there is still no reply yet.
Yup, I believe not only IT industry is affected. But if you have expertise in SAP/Oracle (in terms of system implementation and security maintenance), it is still highly in demand as alot of companies are migrating to these ERP systems nowadays.

Alot of jobs are only stated for "Singaporean and SPR only". Having said so, my Singaporean colleague-IT professional has been job hunting for few months too.

However dun give-up, you may still try your luck in your job hunting.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jun 14 2011, 01:18 AM
WyjSwmW
post Jun 29 2011, 01:21 PM

862 posts

Hi everyone,

Today I just started my work in another new company.

IMO, i think is good benefits. The environment is good too.

17 days AL, flexible lunch hours, 13 months bonus+variable bonus, medical+dental, can wear jeans during working hours.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jun 29 2011, 01:22 PM

0.0442sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:02 AM