Credit Cards Ways to CANCEL your credit card, Updated since 30/07/12

beyond86
post Nov 29 2013, 08:36 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Nov 29 2013, 03:30 PM)
hi, just wanna ask, if bank calls up and ask if interested to signup for their credit card, and unfortunately said yes, is it considered as a proper Credit Card application? My wife received the credit card already, but not activated. It is not her intention to get the card though. Is it possible to cancel it? Not long after receiving the credit card, the bill of RM50 reached. How to cancel it and not paying that RM 50? It is from CIMB.
i did for public bank....the card already charged RM50 gst...but i go to public bank cancel the card directly, but didn't activate it

This post has been edited by beyond86: Nov 29 2013, 08:37 PM
[[]]
post Nov 30 2013, 03:54 PM

35 posts

just need to call to cancel the card.. since it's not activated they'll waived the RM50 gst smile.gif
cfa28
post Dec 15 2013, 11:11 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(zeus2005 @ Dec 15 2013, 11:06 AM)
Hi, i have been using this standard charterd CC for few years and decided to cancel it. I found that it is quite tedious to make payment since their branches is not easily accessible and very few.

May i know is it possible to cancel the CC at their saadiq branch?

I would prefer walk-in for this CC card cancellation instead of through phone. Felt unsecured.  laugh.gif

Thanks in advance.
I suppose u can walk in and just hand over your cancellation letter.

But have u considere internet banking to pay your credit cards bills. The cost is only 10 sen compared to 65sen (50 + 15) using cheques

This post has been edited by cfa28: Dec 15 2013, 11:12 AM
Human Nature
post Dec 16 2013, 03:50 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(zeus2005 @ Dec 16 2013, 03:39 PM)
Thanks for your feedback.

The thing is I don't have any saving accounts with standard chartered. I think I can't make online payment from other bank to stan chart credit card, or can I?

Anyway, I have decided to cancel the CC since I seldom use it plus I need to pay the yearly government service tax (RM50) or whatsoever.
Just for your info, yes you can do IBG transfer from other banks to pay your CC. 10 cents only.
koinibler
post Dec 16 2013, 04:37 PM

2,050 posts

The thing is I don't have any saving accounts with standard chartered. I think I can't make online payment from other bank to stan chart credit card, or can I?

Anyway, I have decided to cancel the CC since I seldom use it plus I need to pay the yearly government service tax (RM50) or whatsoever.
Previously, I cancel stan chart CC by email only.
Just need to wait their call to confirm.
I also paid monthly through maybank2U. Still got stan chart online service, just for checking stuff.
cfa28
post Dec 16 2013, 05:04 PM

4,830 posts

You can make payment for any and all credit card providers once you have Internet Banking.
vez
post Dec 16 2013, 06:32 PM

4,622 posts

this thread is so informative smile.gif thanks TS

Standard Chartered credit card cancellation is a lot troubles :S

call them, they told me few days, transfer me to other third party department and the line drop (before that told me will call me back if line drop) after a week no news

they said can help me waive annual fee and pay government tax RM50 >.<" but i do not use that card anymore, so i just proceed for cancellation

*between, i have cancel standard chartered card few weeks ago" but until today i still receive sms from standard chartered regarding credit card promotion and etc... how to unsubscribe sad.gif ?

This post has been edited by vez: Dec 16 2013, 06:35 PM
Human Nature
post Dec 16 2013, 06:43 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Dec 16 2013, 06:32 PM)
this thread is so informative smile.gif thanks TS

Standard Chartered credit card cancellation is a lot troubles :S

call them, they told me few days, transfer me to other third party department and the line drop (before that told me will call me back if line drop) after a week no news

they said can help me waive annual fee and pay government tax RM50 >.<" but i do not use that card anymore, so i just proceed for cancellation

*between, i have cancel standard chartered card few weeks ago" but until today i still receive sms from standard chartered regarding credit card promotion and etc... how to unsubscribe sad.gif ?
Simple, just send an email to Bank Negara. The same thing for the marketing materials, I managed to get my name completely removed from their marketing database (another bank).
vez
post Dec 16 2013, 07:06 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Dec 13 2013, 04:34 PM)
ignore..he too pro..
phone LTE modem come with 100/50 or 150/50
running at max speed also cant same...
furthermore our tower pretty congested now  doh.gif
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2013, 06:43 PM)
Simple, just send an email to Bank Negara. The same thing for the marketing materials, I managed to get my name completely removed from their marketing database (another bank).
email to bank negara shocking.gif

email bank negara, standard chartered will know and remove my name from their database?
Human Nature
post Dec 16 2013, 07:10 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Dec 16 2013, 07:06 PM)
email to bank negara  shocking.gif

email bank negara, standard chartered will know and remove my name from their database?
usually, when bank negara receives a complaint, it will forward to the bank. The bank will have to address the issue and respond to the customer and cc to bank negara within 2 weeks.

for my case, the contact person (bank) followed up diligently and ensured that my name is removed from all marketing channels.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 16 2013, 07:11 PM
ubuntu
post Dec 31 2013, 04:32 PM

620 posts

Just to check, I've applied for CIMB credit card (instance card issuance) at their card centre today, but I've cancel this credit card on the spot (immediately after received the credit card), will I still be charge for the GST?
Human Nature
post Dec 31 2013, 05:16 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Dec 31 2013, 04:32 PM)
Just to check, I've applied for CIMB credit card (instance card issuance) at their card centre today, but I've cancel this credit card on the spot (immediately after received the credit card), will I still be charge for the GST?
Interesting. What is your motive, to apply and cancel on the spot? hmm.gif
victorywp
post Dec 31 2013, 05:25 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 31 2013, 05:16 PM)
Interesting. What is your motive, to apply and cancel on the spot?  hmm.gif
let me guess...
1) to prove the cimb instant card issuance service
2) to go for a collection of different credit cards
3) to get the free gifts
4) got cheated by the promoters
5) all of the above
ronnie
post Dec 31 2013, 11:11 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Dec 31 2013, 04:32 PM)
Yes... sure kena charged... it's up to CIMb to "offset" for you.
cyang81
post Dec 31 2013, 11:23 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Dec 31 2013, 05:25 PM)
let me guess...
3) to get the free gifts
5) all of the above
I know why.......
The 50% rebate (up to max RM250) on your First Purchase end today (31/12/2013).

ubuntu
post Jan 1 2014, 02:47 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 31 2013, 05:16 PM)
Interesting. What is your motive, to apply and cancel on the spot?  hmm.gif
I'm being cheated by the 'CIMB staff' without realizing she is a credit card agent! Went there stated my intention to apply for credit card under RM250 cash back promo, after 2 hours go and collect credit card was told by the customer service only eligible for RM50 cash back as the person who assist me is an agent! How can this happen in their card centre? They allow credit card agents to con their customers in the branch. It is ridiculous! Called their card service hotline, no answer, then cancelled it immediately.

QUOTE(victorywp @ Dec 31 2013, 05:25 PM)
let me guess...
3) to get the free gifts
5) all of the above
Answer is no. 4.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 31 2013, 11:11 PM)
Yes... sure kena charged... it's up to CIMb to "offset" for you.
Even it is not activated will need to pay as well?
victorywp
post Jan 1 2014, 07:20 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jan 1 2014, 02:47 PM)
I'm being cheated by the 'CIMB staff' without realizing she is a credit card agent! Went there stated my intention to apply for credit card under RM250 cash back promo, after 2 hours go and collect credit card was told by the customer service only eligible for RM50 cash back as the person who assist me is an agent! How can this happen in their card centre? They allow credit card agents to con their customers in the branch. It is ridiculous! Called their card service hotline, no answer, then cancelled it immediately.
Answer is no. 4.
Even it is not activated will need to pay as well?
it's better if you report her as the reason you cancelled the cc.
i think it's not the centre's fault, it's this agent trying to get some easy successful application since the people who comes in by themselves are those who interested to apply the cc, sp the rejection rate for her will be lower as compared if she go around other places asking randomly for people to sign up.
since they gave you the rm50 cash back, you can also use it to strike off the rm50 gst when cancelling.
you have a valid reason to cancel and just insist on it that the agent is unethical to have done this to you.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 1 2014, 08:32 PM

52,874 posts

I also cheated by RHB agent at Tesco. So I told the CS that I'm demanding to cancel the applied card with the solid of reason that the agents are promoting the card with expired promotions.
deity01
post Jan 3 2014, 01:44 PM

921 posts

gosh...how to cancel the citibank cash back platinum card?? i called them 3 times already...

1st time say it is not working day...will called in 3 working days from card cancellation department...at the end...no call..

2nd time...say the person in charge (huh? I got dedicated person in charge?) of cancelling my card is on leave..will forward the request to the cancellation department and called me again...at the end..no call again..

3rd time...transfer me to the card cancellation department TWICE..no one pick up (WTF, whole department noone???)...then CS say will make request and foward it to the department AGAIN!!!

This post has been edited by deity01: Jan 3 2014, 01:44 PM
cfa28
post Jan 3 2014, 03:03 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Jan 3 2014, 01:44 PM)
gosh...how to cancel the citibank cash back platinum card?? i called them 3 times already...

1st time say it is not working day...will called in 3 working days from card cancellation department...at the end...no call..

2nd time...say the person in charge (huh? I got dedicated person in charge?) of cancelling my card is on leave..will forward the request to the cancellation department and called me again...at the end..no call again..

3rd time...transfer me to the card cancellation department TWICE..no one pick up (WTF, whole department noone???)...then CS say will make request and foward it to the department AGAIN!!!
Happened to me also. I faxed 2x my notification to cancel which someone called me to persuade me not to cancel which I refused and they said they will proceed to cancel but still, next month, I still receive Statement showing GST and AF owing.

So in my 3rd Cancellation, I said

"If I ever receive another Statement showing that I still owe Citi money, I will make formal complaint to BNM"

That did the trick.

35 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:34 PM