Credit Cards Ways to CANCEL your credit card, Updated since 30/07/12

ronnie
post Apr 5 2011, 12:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Apr 4 2011, 10:59 PM)
would it be too late to cancel the card by the time you receive the statement with the $50 government tax? or do you have to cancel it before the government tax appears on your statement?
You can try to get the GST waived upon card cancellation.... up to the bank's policy.
You should have cancel CC one month before the GST month.
ronnie
post Apr 13 2011, 09:59 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(joey85 @ Apr 13 2011, 09:48 AM)
no one cancel standard chartered before?? coz i m thinking to cancel my standard chartered coz no cash rebate tongue.gif
You can cancel via SCB Online Banking page... ;-)

SCB has 0.5% rebate is you use the ChoicePoints redemption method.
SCB Business Visa has 0.5% + 0.5% (ChoicePoints Redemption)
ronnie
post Apr 13 2011, 10:25 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

All SCB has ChoicePoints which can use 5000 ChoicePoints to redeem RM25 cash back into your CC.
ronnie
post Apr 21 2011, 01:05 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Just cancelled SCB and Direct Access... just one call away
- SCB said they will call me within 5 working days to confirm the cancellation.
- DA said no letters will be sent out
ronnie
post Apr 21 2011, 01:17 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 21 2011, 01:09 PM)
why cancel the SCB?
Cancelled the SCB Visa + Mastercard, while maintaining the SCB Business Visa
ronnie
post Apr 21 2011, 03:39 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 21 2011, 01:20 PM)
okay. then just wait whether SCB will call you or not. SCB will send you the letter on the card cancellation or not ?
SCB just called to confirm the cancellation of the CC...
ronnie
post Apr 22 2011, 12:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Sending cancellation notice is additional work and cost to the Bank. And you no longer their customers brows.gif
ronnie
post Apr 22 2011, 03:03 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 22 2011, 02:49 PM)
so far, scb visa business platinum is their best card ? 10k credit limit card can be used to apply it or not ?
Wrong topic to ask this question... proceed to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1824199
ronnie
post Apr 26 2011, 07:31 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Can we transfer TP from Maybank SonyCard (wants to cancel) to Maybankard2 AMEX (maintains) ?
ronnie
post Apr 26 2011, 08:28 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 26 2011, 08:02 AM)
Sure can transfer. I did it twice:

1. MBB Visa Classic to MBB Visa Petronas
2. MBB Ikhwan AMEX to MBB2 AMEX
Was the request made by phone or fax or email ? What was the reason for the TP transfer ?
ronnie
post May 1 2011, 01:58 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 30 2011, 02:32 PM)
i requested through phone to hv my RHB CC cancelled and when i called again after 1 week to check, my account number is no longer active. but i still receiving statement 2 months later :S
Someone forgot to remove your record from their Billing run.... gonna cost that dept some Mainframe CPU cycle cost

This post has been edited by ronnie: May 1 2011, 11:31 AM
ronnie
post Jun 13 2011, 09:32 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(ShinChan88 @ May 27 2011, 10:00 AM)
Hey, how long i need to hold the standard chartered credit card? i just get it last month, and i find out that the card is not as good as others bank such as citibank and maybank which got lots of privillage such as priority line for TGV, discounts bla bla bla, just call them and cancel? no penalty charges?

Added on May 27, 2011, 10:05 am

Hey, honestly speaking i dun think Standard Chartered bank credit card is good, just like when u shop in harvey norman, they got free installment plan for all bank, except Standard chartered. And if u want to transfer ur balance to installment plan. wow, they charge u damm high interest, 5.99% for 6 to 9 months, 6.99 for 12 months and 7.99 for 18 months, so high.

My CIMB only charge 2% for 10 months installment, 4% for 20 months and 5% for 30 months, i think Standard Chartered is sucks
You can cancel the SCB credit Card anytime... agent's commission will be taken back if you cancel within 6 months.
ronnie
post Sep 29 2011, 10:54 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(sfchoi @ Sep 29 2011, 05:03 PM)
I want to cancel my Standard Chartered card, i already write in many time they dint respone. Call in always say will call me back. So boring with they service. Any one can advice me what i can do ????
Same here, nobody called me back... and I'm waiting for my RM100-pls-keep-your-SCB-CC
ronnie
post Oct 3 2011, 01:06 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

My SCB Business Visa Platinum has been cancelled without a single call from SCB to confirm. There goes my RM100 free cash to retain me.
ronnie
post Oct 3 2011, 10:12 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 3 2011, 05:56 PM)
First the CS offered you RM100, you accepted it and then now they decided to cancel it?
The 11k free points is a separate offer altogether right?
I didn't get any offer to keep the card for RM100 AT ALL mad.gif vmad.gif
Reason : I still have SCB cards left with them... Should have cancel all at one go to get my cash retainer.

This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 7 2011, 12:27 AM
ronnie
post Dec 1 2011, 02:38 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Dec 1 2011, 11:50 AM)
Anyone know cancelling Visa Petronas Maybankard need to surrender card or not? How long will it take to transfer the treat points? and is it immediate cancel? Thanks so much.  smile.gif
Just give them a call... no need to surrender the card.
ronnie
post Dec 17 2011, 12:14 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 17 2011, 10:27 AM)
Update:

Yesterday called up Eon/Hong Leong Bank to cancel my card, but she said must clear all outstanding balance only can cancel..

So I cannot cancel my card now until I clear all outstanding..  rclxub.gif
Do you think by cancelling your CC, all your debt will disappear ? shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
ronnie
post Jan 5 2012, 11:58 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(SaltyBean @ Jan 4 2012, 07:23 PM)
I rather pay RM50 than to pay addtional RM300 or maybe more just to get that refund. They might issue other charges..
I can get better cash back with my UOB card than AMB.
2% cash back and is subject to minimum amount blocks is no good compared to UOB.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
You paid RM50 and get nothing
You paid RM300 for a pair of Levi's Jeans, you get a nice pair of jeans + RM50 waiver

Again... it's your money icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
ronnie
post Feb 13 2012, 08:48 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Feb 13 2012, 08:20 AM)
I have one question here. If the RM50 service tax is charged ady, can I still cancel it? Thanks.
Possibly... do check with the bank directly.
ronnie
post May 11 2012, 09:13 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(PradaLee @ May 11 2012, 08:36 AM)
how do you cover the cvv?
Just put a sticker on it...

0.0344sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled