QUOTE(wailup @ Sep 21 2011, 07:50 PM)
hmm...sorry to hear that...btw whats castor?? LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVI, Come in & let's discuss about Wira
LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVI, Come in & let's discuss about Wira
Sep 21 2011, 07:32 PM
628 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Sep 21 2011, 07:49 PM
19,321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
wailup, try to find caster adjustable bushes and see
Sep 21 2011, 07:49 PM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
Caster
When you turn the steering wheel, the front wheels respond by turning on a pivot attached to the suspension system. Caster is the angle of this steering pivot, measured in degrees, when viewed from the side of the vehicle. If the top of the pivot is leaning toward the rear of the car, then the caster is positive, if it is leaning toward the front, it is negative. If the caster is out of adjustment, it can cause problems in straight line tracking. If the caster is different from side to side, the vehicle will pull to the side with the less positive caster. If the caster is equal but too negative, the steering will be light and the vehicle will wander and be difficult to keep in a straight line. If the caster is equal but too positive, the steering will be heavy and the steering wheel may kick when you hit a bump. Caster has little affect on tire wear. The best way to visualize caster is to picture a shopping cart caster. The pivot of this type of caster, while not at an angle, intersects the ground ahead of the wheel contact patch. When the wheel is behind the pivot at the point where it contacts the ground, it is in positive caster. Picture yourself trying to push the cart and keep the wheel ahead of the pivot. The wheel will continually try to turn from straight ahead. That is what happens when a car has the caster set too far negative. Like camber, on many front-wheel-drive vehicles, caster is not adjustable. If the caster is out on these cars, it indicates that something is worn or bent, possibly from an accident, and must be repaired or replaced. ![]() cili sos |
Sep 21 2011, 09:29 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Old Klang Road~ |
Sep 21 2011, 10:21 PM
57 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Shortyeyek @ Sep 21 2011, 02:00 PM) Using wira for 1 and half so far so good la.. But I wonder 1 thing is the power window Try change the Windows Run Channel.....Keep on kacau. I fix it by changing the motor and everything but still same Problem after Awhile, lik stuck when u wind your window up and stuck at middle Then have to use hand to push up.. and mind is the old wan not the one got auto on the driver side. QUOTE(chaf @ Sep 21 2011, 02:17 PM) i oso custom LED to fit wira ori third brake lamp.... i ask the ppl to make the circuit board ngam ngam to fit into the casing... Just get those Triangle LED Brake Lamp...just need to open up the cover and fit into it..but the whole part is plastic...worry will break or spoil it only... |
Sep 21 2011, 10:30 PM
97 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Wow. That explanation is much better than wat I googled. Perhaps I should go n change the bushes first.
Sep 22 2011, 07:07 PM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hye all sifu
need to ask u all something if my car already 100k km,wat need to be change and service? n how much the price? My car wira SE 1.5 Gli |
Sep 22 2011, 08:21 PM
10,459 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong |
When the fuel warning light goes on then off when I accelerate. How much more fuel do I approximately have?
Sep 22 2011, 09:29 PM
9 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Sep 22 2011, 10:17 PM
1,413 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 22 2011, 08:21 PM) When the fuel warning light goes on then off when I accelerate. How much more fuel do I approximately have? According to owner's manual book, it is 10 liters but based on practice, 15 liters should light up the warning light once in a while. You can go up to 50-100km more before empty, provided it is a flat road and at a constant speed. Going uphill and in a traffic jammed consumes more fuel. Driving fast too. The most I experienced is 13 liters to empty. Balls not big enough to push my luck |
Sep 23 2011, 08:40 AM
97 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Why need balls for that ? Hahha. Anyway it's not good to see the light flashing. Bad for the fuel pump
Sep 23 2011, 08:45 AM
I want to refuel on weekends for cash back.
The light hasn't turned on continuously but just flashing. If it really has 10l remaining, no problem. But before I stall my car in the middle of the road, I'll fuel up few ringgit first. |
Sep 23 2011, 11:15 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 22 2011, 08:21 PM) When the fuel warning light goes on then off when I accelerate. How much more fuel do I approximately have? a) For my Hero 1.5GLi, when it first start to on/off, I still can go about 80-100km in normal Klang Valley 50% jam and RPM <3.5kb) When it start to immediate ON when accelerating/uphill and OFF when brake/downhill, then it can still go about 40-50km. c) When it permanent ON 80-90% even when braking/downhill, it still can go 20km. Speed keep stable 90km/h and no rev. d) When permanent ON no matter what, <10-15km e) When it OFF after this, it means the engine die already Guess how I know ? Nowadays I refuel between b and c |
Sep 23 2011, 11:36 AM
1,478 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 23 2011, 11:15 AM) a) For my Hero 1.5GLi, when it first start to on/off, I still can go about 80-100km in normal Klang Valley 50% jam and RPM <3.5k wahahahaha you really go and drive till empty tank few times? b) When it start to immediate ON when accelerating/uphill and OFF when brake/downhill, then it can still go about 40-50km. c) When it permanent ON 80-90% even when braking/downhill, it still can go 20km. Speed keep stable 90km/h and no rev. d) When permanent ON no matter what, <10-15km e) When it OFF after this, it means the engine die already Guess how I know ? Nowadays I refuel between b and c |
Sep 23 2011, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 23 2011, 11:15 AM) a) For my Hero 1.5GLi, when it first start to on/off, I still can go about 80-100km in normal Klang Valley 50% jam and RPM <3.5k This is exactly what I need to know. I'm at (B) this morning, I think I should be able to reach home with remaining few KM. But I chicken out, I went to refuel RM5 and it's back to (A). b) When it start to immediate ON when accelerating/uphill and OFF when brake/downhill, then it can still go about 40-50km. c) When it permanent ON 80-90% even when braking/downhill, it still can go 20km. Speed keep stable 90km/h and no rev. d) When permanent ON no matter what, <10-15km e) When it OFF after this, it means the engine die already Guess how I know ? Nowadays I refuel between b and c |
Sep 23 2011, 11:56 AM
1,413 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Shah Alam |
I never tried until c, d or e. The most is b. Now still got the guts until the light flashes. Last time, quarter to empty I already fill until full.
Sep 23 2011, 12:34 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(GKWong @ Sep 23 2011, 11:36 AM) No la, kena one time saja.That time I already know can move max 5km distance only and already on the way to petrol station after work, but it is slightly uphill. So, kantoi halfway and walk 500m to petrol station 2x times QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 23 2011, 11:41 AM) This is exactly what I need to know. I'm at (B) this morning, I think I should be able to reach home with remaining few KM. But I chicken out, I went to refuel RM5 and it's back to (A). Another indicator:My standard white VDO for fuel got 4 bars, and another thicker bar (5th bar) at bottom-most (IINM). If exactly touch the lowest bar (4th), is (A) If touch thick-bar (5th) is around (B) and (C ) If inside/middle 5th is (C ) and (D) if inside/low 5th, prepare for (D) and (E) And just to share about the "empty-tank not good for pump/engine theory", I've been refilling like this for the past 250+ tanks since new car (mine is old car 9.5 years). So far no issue with anything, except change fuel-filter 2x times only. If real empty (D) (E), I can pump in 46-48L. If © (D), around 41-45L If (B) (C ), around 39-42L At current price RM1.90, ~40L cost me RM75 Added on September 23, 2011, 12:37 pmAnd for (B) challenge, when it start, I can still drive from Sri Kembangan to KLIA, and then to Damansara Utama. Keep constant ~100km/h @3k RPM. This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Sep 23 2011, 12:37 PM |
Sep 23 2011, 12:44 PM
628 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
hey sifu...thanks for the explanation for the caster...btw i still havent fix my wira yet for the knocking sound infront when i turn my steering..haha...i think is something related to the steering rod...btw wanna ask u guys...anyone here did sound dampening or soundproofing for their wira?? whats the effect ar??
Sep 23 2011, 02:52 PM
57 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Check your Lower Arm and your ARB Connection link
Sep 23 2011, 08:14 PM