7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVI, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

wailup
post Mar 26 2011, 10:30 PM

97 posts

anyone here uses water temp gauge? what's the normal temp range? mines read at 80deg C and sometimes 90deg C.
wailup
post Apr 3 2011, 11:00 PM

97 posts

let me update a bit on my high water temperature problem.
some few days ago, drive car to kulai, johor. along the way, water temp still rise during jam. on highway still okie. then on the highway, suddenly my car lamp went 'blackout' (driving at night), then within seconds heard a sound, kaboom.

next thing (without lights) park my car at the highway side. open the hood. smoke coming out from battery ( but battery no explode ), car cant start coz batt now very weak.

tow out. next day checking. 6 fuse blown. batt died. light bulb blow, spotlight blow, rear light blow.. (all the bulb that were okie, now all KO). also alternator KONG!... change all that (RM650), and now temperature sudah okie... weird.. foreman conclude that alternator is the culprit of blowing the fuses and bulb. when the alternator is running, it was charging for some mins, then not charging all for some mins. on and off like that.

but im happy that the weird temperature reading is now no more... but wallet sakit lei...
wailup
post Apr 4 2011, 10:21 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(maxgenesis @ Apr 3 2011, 11:45 PM)
tu ler, invest sikit on the volt meter den dis wont happen lor rclxub.gif
yaloh.. only rm50 pun i tak mau kasi.. now rm650 fly..
learn my lesson... going to install volt meter after this.
wailup
post Apr 8 2011, 07:56 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 6 2011, 06:45 PM)
Make it this way, in the market, there's many many of foremen can boast they are able to repair Mitsubishi engines nicely. But the fact is, foremen that can really do good job are less than 5%.
Like my foreman is the best example, can boast around and I let him touched my car for 8 years without changing foreman. Just 1 incident are good enough to know.....
what incident? what happen? hmm.gif
wailup
post Apr 8 2011, 06:37 PM

97 posts

major operation doesnt really mean upgrading. could be some terminal illness need to be cured. mana tahu, cured tadak, problem makin banyak. brows.gif
wailup
post Apr 8 2011, 07:23 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 8 2011, 07:06 PM)
Just overhaul only.... No need to mod for performance.... Since I only use highways once a blue moon.....
For me, performance mod = got pickup only = waste petrol.....
More important is, maintaining constant speed at all time....
My ori engine can smoke cars that having bigger cc than mine most of the time, so what somemore I want?
so? what makes shakehead.gif to your faithful foreman?
wailup
post Apr 10 2011, 11:46 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 8 2011, 07:26 PM)
Well, the fact is, I no need to overhaul my engine.... Just need to change the engine oil pump...... And normal overhaul only takes 1 week but he need 2 weeks..... So, still can continue to use him? I in doubt.....
only engine oil pump?? take 2 weeks?? i think it's because you're very 'regular' to him, so he take some advantage by doing others first kua... since you are 'close' to him, then he delays yours lo.. thinking that you wont blame him for doing it slow. tongue.gif
wailup
post Apr 11 2011, 11:55 PM

97 posts

anyone kena this b4?
i was installing tail lamp. i plug in the small bulb (t10?) the little leg dented (din notice) and short circuit it. so, i change the tail lamp fuse at the engine there. but still the tail lamp wont work along with my dashboard lighting... damn.. wat's wrong here?
wailup
post Apr 13 2011, 09:48 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Apr 12 2011, 10:01 AM)
check the relay
relay? where izzit?
wailup
post Apr 16 2011, 11:25 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(JenHuang @ Apr 15 2011, 02:43 PM)
hi all

i wanna sell my protong wira 1.5manual, year 2002, full bodykit.
interested pls let me know

thanks XD
upload your protong picture lei..
wailup
post Apr 17 2011, 11:43 AM

97 posts

im always on mineral 15w-50 pennzoil.
3k++ change oil. brows.gif, foreman says i change too early.. for me, dun care lo. at least the 'sewing machine' stop working, im very pleased liao. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wailup: Apr 17 2011, 11:44 AM
wailup
post Apr 19 2011, 03:12 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 18 2011, 03:29 PM)
Last weekend, return home, temperature gauge max again. Park my car in front of the house, open hood. I can see the fan is working (off and on couple of times). No water leak from radiator, reservoir also 60% full.

Let it run another 5 min at max gauge, still nothing.  hmm.gif  Switch off and went inside.  doh.gif

Today while driving, it slowly creep up to 90% max, then hang there for few minutes, then immediate within split second, it drop back to middle (~45%)  doh.gif  Still continue to drive for the next 10-15 minutes.
your symptom is almost like mine. check ur alternator. maybe your alternator is not supplying enough current when the fan are running. i went thru the hard way to got things right. first suspect radiator, but after open it up. nothing stuck there. wasted money to open it up. change thermostat too. almost going to change water pump then went for a autogauge water temp (just to be sure that the temp is working). but in the end, on highway, the alternator suddenly give up and gave me a 'reactor meltdown'. destroyed my battery. burned all the bulbs (coz driving at night), and a few fuses. tuition fee, rm650. this price is excluding open up the radiator, change thermostat, and a blown amplifier!!!. sakit gila.. vmad.gif

the next thing i did was install a voltmeter.
wailup
post Apr 19 2011, 02:41 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 19 2011, 10:36 AM)
Thanks guys for all the advise.  smile.gif
How much is the voltmeter ? Where to install in KL ? Any recommendation ?
QUOTE(lixc @ Apr 19 2011, 11:10 AM)
i am interested too... any cheap cheap ones at penang?
err... i bought mine for rm60. (pivot cap ayam).
i know from mudah, you can get it for under rm50. (dunno include installation or not.
basically, installation very easy. just plug in, into your cigarettes socket there.
wailup
post Apr 20 2011, 04:40 PM

97 posts

looks like cosmetic to me.. no special meaning.
wailup
post Apr 22 2011, 10:22 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 22 2011, 03:48 AM)
send to tayar shop check lo... most probably ur rubber valve is leaking air...
if only the valve is leaking, then is small case lo..
if it is side wall leaking... then very teruk already...
wailup
post Apr 22 2011, 01:36 PM

97 posts

ya.. that's right! DIY
wailup
post Apr 22 2011, 11:27 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 22 2011, 09:23 PM)
go find a good tuner lar, atleast they know what are they doing. not like us, main hantam. tongue.gif

i checked mine today, it's actually stable when idling, only when got sudden change it will be a bit erratic. like when aircond fan running or stopping or depress the clutch. i got record video to show. brows.gif the RPM will become a bit erratic when aircond fan kick in or when the fan stop, this coz my TB about to kong already. timing also run ard, now quite low..

looks okie to me. just abit low lo..
and your meter is LANCER one woh.. not wira std already.. rclxms.gif
wailup
post Apr 25 2011, 11:32 PM

97 posts

what is that??? a rotary engine in wira???? shocking.gif

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 24 2011, 10:55 PM)
how about this engine?

wailup
post Apr 30 2011, 06:25 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Apr 29 2011, 10:54 AM)
My 1995 1.5 wira Manual fc is like really crazy bad right now. like 240km, one full tank habis already.

Bring back to Eon Proton to top overhaul, come back one full tank until 320km only. Now hovering around 270km again. It doesn't move very fast either, 120km/h is the max or else the engine going to cry already.

However, I'm also stuck in jams 4 days a week, so dunno if that would affect so much or not.
yours a carburetor type? if so, your carb could be problem.
wailup
post May 2 2011, 12:59 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ May 1 2011, 02:11 AM)
let's see...

usually 2 or 3 ppl.
using shell also
changed the piston rings and one more part, can't remember what, but it solved white smoke problem.
tyre pressure 210
allignment abit off
most of the things are light.
idle mostly at traffic light and traffic jam
aircond compressor dunno, but got whistling sound when on aircon.
when overhaul carburetor, what is that?

Added on May 1, 2011, 2:25 am

yup, carb engine. very old car.
carb setting could be problem.. the carb itself could be 'dying'.. time to change the carb, perhaps?

QUOTE(aaaeye @ May 2 2011, 12:56 AM)
Hello all..want to ask several questions especially to taiko2 who already change their engine.. I wanna give a new breath to my 10years+ wira + rebuild it..might change it to GSR Turbo..seems cool because of turbo  biggrin.gif  ..want a speed..so,

1) What's UR opinion??
2) How about the maintenance??
3) Can i change the engine w/o take a body parts??
4) Any other opinion to go other engine??

Hope U ols can leave ur answer..  notworthy.gif
im a GSRian. biggrin.gif
1) good engine, spareparts easy to get. overtake car without downshift. tongue.gif , FC better than my 1.5I auto.
2) a bit more than NA. i change engine oil at 3k++, mineral only.
3) engine PNP, no modification needed. JPJ approved.
4) no. since you're ready to do transplant, i would suggest to go for the turbo. for once, try it, and you'll love driving. wub.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:44 AM