Lets talk salary v4

hdslr cinematography
post Jul 1 2012, 01:19 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(carto0n @ Jul 1 2012, 01:49 AM)
I'm from mass comm background bt bcoz of my CGPA is not that good, i can't even have a chance to go to "A" for interview cuz they hire 2nd class upper and above only.
But for me they should at least giv ppl a chance b4 just filter ppl off based on CGPA.
Hence, i gave up so called "production line" yawn.gif
may i know what production is it? can PM me?
ernest0205
post Jul 1 2012, 04:00 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(AppleOfMyEye @ Jun 30 2012, 11:09 PM)
pay is ok but need to work in saturdays turn most people off
half day stil okay la..if alternate saturday better in his case smile.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 1 2012, 09:09 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ May 19 2012, 10:57 PM)
Education: Professional accounting cert
Job Title : Costing exec
Job Description: Analyse costs, manage proper cost postings, assist in monthly closing
Experience : sap, advanced excel skills and analysis
Years spent in company : 7 months
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : external Audit (3yrs)
Company : Mnc oil n gas
Salary: rm4000
Benefits: Oil and gas company benefit (slightly above average)

Currently feel slightly underpaid but would like to see the advise of all the "sifus" here laugh.gif

Thing is that they are increasing the workload as I have so far been able to complete tasks efficiently and also turnover is increasing. Any comments? notworthy.gif
You have passed your CIMA then I will think you are underpaid since with your 3.7 years exp you are AM in Big 4. Should get 5-6k.

Added on July 1, 2012, 9:46 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:19 PM)
Fresh doctors (medical officers) only get about RM2,200. Ive got doctor friends with about 10 years experience in Gov hospitals earning only about RM7K per month (including allowances).
why doctors paid so low?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jul 1 2012, 09:46 AM
beiodm
post Jul 1 2012, 09:51 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(ernest0205 @ Jul 1 2012, 04:00 AM)
half day stil okay la..if alternate saturday better in his case smile.gif
Well, the thing is that the offer letter basically did not state that it is alternate Saturday, I got that answer after asking the interviewer. Forgot to add on, such training program ties me for one year, else have to compensate. Do you guys think it is worthwhile for me to kick start my career? (nature business =furniture)
conqu3ror
post Jul 1 2012, 04:52 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 30 2012, 08:38 PM)
In KPMG for 4 years exp, it should be at least RM6k la bro

Added on June 30, 2012, 8:44 pm

wow AP executive just data entry can get RM3.6k good liao..But, you should aim big 4 now otherwise you will regret in future since in long term your audit perks will have higher salary than you
Should be and actual is very different. If you have friends in that level getting 6k, he/she must be brilliant.

I never be an auditor & I glad not to be. I believe during Uni time, lecturer & student always said, the best career path is thru audit. But the reality is not, I have plenty of friends from audit (big four or medium size), some of them are quite good & getting well paid. Sorry to said that most of them not even as good as what you mention.

Try to ask more friends from audit & their portfolio. Its not really good as what you imagine.

Some of my colleague after years of experience in audit, they are same level as me & my knowledge not as bad as them.

AUDIT = All You Do Is Tick hmm.gif

They just train you to be good in checking ppl work & good in Tax & Statutory reporting. You don't really learn much other then that.

Company always want a employee in helping them to earn more money, save cost, add value, improve efficiency & build up the company. Those Tax & Statutory reporting just a compliance & never help the company to make more money.

Think about it
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 1 2012, 05:29 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jul 1 2012, 04:52 PM)
Should be and actual is very different. If you have friends in that level getting 6k, he/she must be brilliant.

I never be an auditor & I glad not to be. I believe during Uni time, lecturer & student always said, the best career path is thru audit. But the reality is not, I have plenty of friends from audit (big four or medium size), some of them are quite good & getting well paid. Sorry to said that most of them not even as good as what you mention.

Try to ask more friends from audit & their portfolio. Its not really good as what you imagine.

Some of my colleague after years of experience in audit, they are same level as me & my knowledge not as bad as them.

AUDIT = All You Do Is Tick  hmm.gif

They just train you to be good in checking ppl work & good in Tax & Statutory reporting. You don't really learn much other then that.

Company always want a employee in helping them to earn more money, save cost, add value, improve efficiency & build up the company. Those Tax & Statutory reporting just a compliance & never help the company to make more money.

Think about it
But I am in reality have added value, save cost and improve efficiency, my increment just 10% and promoted without increment..maybe you are just lucky in the right industry.. When I was interviewing with many companies, they wanted to discount my salary. When I was interviewing with PwC, they accepted my 40% increment liao.
conqu3ror
post Jul 1 2012, 07:26 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 1 2012, 05:29 PM)
But I am in reality have added value, save cost and improve efficiency, my increment just 10% and promoted without increment..maybe you are just lucky in the right industry.. When I was interviewing with many companies, they wanted to discount my salary. When I was interviewing with PwC, they accepted my 40% increment liao.
Probably your fate is to be success in audit firm. blink.gif

Honestly, most big companies have HR policy which only allow 30% increment for new joiner.

As I said, if you want to have a fast promotion, get into those high staff turnover companies. But of cause you will be struggling to stay with the company.

Remember salary is not everything, although is one of the important reason we work.

Good Luck wink.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 1 2012, 11:47 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jul 1 2012, 07:26 PM)
Probably your fate is to be success in audit firm.  blink.gif

Honestly, most big companies have HR policy which only allow 30% increment for new joiner.

As I said, if you want to have a fast promotion, get into those high staff turnover companies. But of cause you will be struggling to stay with the company.

Remember salary is not everything, although is one of the important reason we work.

Good Luck  wink.gif
Good evening!
I have already been promoted as accounting supervisor, what next?
I think my career end now after being promoted without increment.
I am better join big 4 where senior position salary > supervisory in MnC.
conqu3ror
post Jul 2 2012, 12:51 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 1 2012, 11:47 PM)
Good evening!
I have already been promoted as accounting supervisor, what next?
I think my career end now after being promoted without increment.
I am better join big 4 where senior position salary > supervisory in MnC.
Accounting supervisor? Executive or senior exec level? Mind to share the salary in your new role?

Anyway for me most important is paid, those supervisor or manager all just title & not really give you any value in next job.

I was a team lead with few subordinate direct report to me. In the new job I don't have any subordinate, but I getting 40% increment. tongue.gif

So you may be a manager sit in a room in local company, but the paid maybe same as an exec in MNC company (my friend case).
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 2 2012, 02:39 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jul 2 2012, 12:51 AM)
Accounting supervisor? Executive or senior exec level? Mind to share the salary in your new role?

Anyway for me most important is paid, those supervisor or manager all just title & not really give you any value in next job.

I was a team lead with few subordinate direct report to me. In the new job I don't have any subordinate, but I getting 40% increment. tongue.gif

So you may be a manager sit in a room in local company, but the paid maybe same as an exec in MNC company (my friend case).
I am in an European MNC la bro not local. I have 4 subordinates and my job is very stressful. I can say my salary in par of A2 big4 salary which I can save 2k/month.
I am better don't have subordinates so I can learn more without my ego deteriorating. When I apply new jobs, I always hide my title since I'm afraid i'm overrated since I'm just 23 years old..I was promoted but without increment, this is what i'm afraid for long term. When I applied to other companies, they always want to bargain me say my exp not relevant,i am too young, etc. Previously, i am a controller/management accountant before promoted. And I had 9 months audit experience.S1 in big 4 already 4.2k-4.5k while in this MNC max increment just 10% I think.

P.s: If I'm a manager I will be very happy la, got company car,can go home early etc.
My FM goes home early then all the things put on me, I am the one work very hard but all my works credited to him.
My responsibility is very high such as liase with auditors, intercompany reconcilliation and consolidation, cashflow forecast, hedging, netting, submit to regulatory for export-import, review financial statements, posting GL(even supervisor needs to post all GL postings!!), prepare and posting salary payment, taxes,review payment block, etc..Heck man, tomorrow submit my resignation letter!!! Our transactions are very high about 2000 invoices/month, we have almost 1000 employees.

Added on July 2, 2012, 2:51 amI'm here still in OFFICE you know. wanna go home now and 8 am should be in office.

Added on July 2, 2012, 4:00 amjust checked email..got another called from one consultancy firm but the suspect is the HR also acts as software developer liao..

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jul 2 2012, 04:00 AM
RazerDeathAdder
post Jul 2 2012, 11:59 AM

Auuuuuuuummmm~~~
821 posts

QUOTE(hardcoreangel @ Jun 29 2012, 04:01 PM)
Current Job

Job Title: Mechanical/Process Document Controller specialization in Final Documentation
Education : SPM
Job Description : Final Doc. Preparation and handover to Client.
Years spent in company : Just start this week.
Experience : 3 years (Start working after SPM in many O&G company in Malaysia)
Company : IPS ( 5 working days )
Industry : O&G
Tenure : Probation period
Employment Level : Exec
Salary : RM3,200 with allowance ,if travel, pay up in Dollar if company sent to abroad project.
Increment history : RM700 > RM800>RM1100>RM1300>RM2000>RM3200
Previous last salary : RM1,300 (company somewhere at Perak) , got some offer at 1 company based in KL. They offer RM2,000 but then,
this company that i working now counter back my salary and offer me RM3,200. = )

Upcoming offer :-

Job Title: Document Controller Co-Ordinator
Company : Exxon
Industry : O&G
Tenure : 2 year + 1 year extend contract
Salary : RM250 perday = RM6500 per month.

I was in dilemma weather should i take this offer or not. since Pasir Gudang quite far away from my place and then 10 hour working day including saturday. any advise ?

RM6500?? Super nice.. but will have no life.. If me i will take..
shenngau
post Jul 2 2012, 12:39 PM

154 posts

anyone know what is the salary range for graphic designer, art director n creative director?

I always heard from my friends, their salary is low. Even art director only earning 4k.

peeyaw
post Jul 2 2012, 05:38 PM

163 posts

y nobody layan me wan cry.gif
hardcoreangel
post Jul 3 2012, 08:59 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(RazerDeathAdder @ Jul 2 2012, 11:59 AM)
RM6500?? Super nice.. but will have no life.. If me i will take..
i make my calculation and i see it was very big different when talk about salary range.
but like u said,i will have no life. lol
SUSDayang Kemboja
post Jul 3 2012, 09:26 AM

53 posts

Can I know what is the market rate for fresh graduates now?
vey99
post Jul 3 2012, 11:12 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Kemboja @ Jul 3 2012, 09:26 AM)
Can I know what is the market rate for fresh graduates now?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1997292

this year economic is a bit slow, expect rates to hold or soften by some percentages.
tiny
post Jul 3 2012, 02:44 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tiny @ Mar 7 2011, 11:53 AM)
Time to update mine for 2011

Job Title: Sr software dev
Job Description : Design develop test deploy
Years spent in company : 2.5y
Company : SME
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Senior Exec
monthly salary : SGD8.3k basic
benefits: standard medical
It's been a year since my update.
Year: 2012
Job Title: Head of IT
Job Description : All IT related within company, primarily s/w dev
Years spent in company : almost 4yrs
Employment Level : Management
monthly salary : SGD 12k basic
LovesReborn
post Jul 3 2012, 03:15 PM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jun 25 2012, 08:35 PM)
Just an update from previous post.

Job Title : SharePoint Apps Support
Job Desciption : SharePoint
Years spent in company : < 1 month
Company : Kuala Lumpur
Industry : ICT
Employment Level : Senior Exec
Experience before joining : 4 years
salary : RM 6600
wow. shocking.gif I used to work as developer where my main development projects are sharepoints(2007) customization & webparts development, my salary is less than half of yours that time. sad.gif

This post has been edited by LovesReborn: Jul 3 2012, 03:15 PM
aliqueamyrei
post Jul 3 2012, 03:42 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(tiny @ Jul 3 2012, 02:44 PM)
It's been a year since my update.
Year: 2012
Job Title: Head of IT
Job Description : All IT related within company, primarily s/w dev
Years spent in company : almost 4yrs
Employment Level : Management
monthly salary : SGD 12k basic
What prog language u are using?
RazerDeathAdder
post Jul 3 2012, 03:54 PM

Auuuuuuuummmm~~~
821 posts

QUOTE(hardcoreangel @ Jul 3 2012, 08:59 AM)
i make my calculation and i see it was very big different when talk about salary range.
but like u said,i will have no life. lol
Sure! high payment sure we must put 100% commitment on the company vision

178 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Top

0.0345sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:35 PM