Lets talk salary v4

conqu3ror
post May 1 2011, 01:56 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(staff_matter @ Apr 29 2011, 05:01 AM)
Job Title : Database Administrator
Job Desciption : administering oracle, mssql and db2
Years spent in company : 1yrs +
Company : banking
Industry : banking
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : executive level
Experience before joining : 2 years exp as dba
salary : RM 4k

may i know if I am underpaid now?
QUOTE(staff_matter @ May 1 2011, 12:38 AM)
no one asnwer my question....

sob...
You are over paid, just with 2 years experience, what you expect to get? 5k? or 7k?

Some manager level only getting 4k with years of experience.
conqu3ror
post Sep 3 2011, 11:01 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(Lealoi @ Sep 2 2011, 09:59 PM)
[cool.gifI think u r underpaid. For 25, should earn more than that with the current inflation in MY

Added on September 2, 2011, 10:07 pm
I think it's kinda underpaid. Some mgmt associates earn like 3k++ for fresh grads. U should move nowwww

Added on September 3, 2011, 12:02 am
[B]do you hav a Gf? U guys go on AA/Dutch? U power can save so much... Do u need to pay car installment? Parking? Rental? Insurance? Personal grooming?
Seem you have very high expectation.

Please share your salary package & your working experience as well & do let us know which company is giving you a superb paid.
conqu3ror
post Sep 6 2011, 09:16 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(eLiz @ Sep 5 2011, 11:27 PM)
Job Title : Senior Finance Officer
Job Desciption : Budgeting, planning, monthly/quarterly reporting
Years spent in company : 1.5 years
Company : One of Malaysia's leading international bank
Industry : Banking & Financial
Employment Level : Senior Staff Officer
Experience before joining : 6 months
Salary : RM 3200
Benefits : OT claim RM13 per hour, basic PA insurance, medical benefits, EPF, SOCSO, 26 days annual leave, minimum 2 months bonus per annum

Am I underpaid? Got an offer from a local bank for a 20% adjustment. Job scope slightly different, more on Asset/Liability management.
2 years of experience, cannot expect much. BTW not bad that you still can claim OT & have lot of AL.

Just jump when you get a better offer, no point work for peanut.
conqu3ror
post Sep 8 2011, 03:19 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(moskee78 @ Sep 8 2011, 03:13 PM)
Job Title : SAP Technical Development Manager
Company : Any consulting firm that deal with SAP
Industry : IT
Tenure : Freelance
salary : RM 1,100 a day
benefits: None
Total Experience: 11 years
Tax free? LOL

I think I should remain in SAP platform company, then request for higher paid.
conqu3ror
post Nov 7 2011, 05:38 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Snoopie @ Nov 7 2011, 04:41 PM)
Job Title : Compliance Executive Officer
Job Desciption : Compliance on trading activities in internal control, and monitor customers account, prevent anti-money laundering
Years spent in company : Fresh Grad
Company : Bank
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : None
Qualification : Diploma in Accounting, Advanced Diploma in Accounting, BA (Hons) Accounting & Finance
Benefit: Leave, Medical, Dental
Salary : RM2350
Bonus : Not sure
Am I underpaid? unsure.gif
Bro. if you think you're under paid. Then just jump to next company with ur desire paid. If you cannot get the desire paid, mean you are well paid already.

All about give and take
conqu3ror
post Nov 11 2011, 11:55 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(amely @ Nov 10 2011, 03:50 PM)
You are not wrong
In business studies,if wish to more than RM2.5K must work at bank industry,high stress..

I am not sure for degree..Will continue my degree by next year...
For finance & business, most important is experience & skill you gain.

By the years of experience, your salary may double or triple. So as from a non-exec to become a CEO/CFO or director.
conqu3ror
post Dec 15 2011, 12:03 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2011, 11:43 AM)
Er, at 28 years old earning 3k is difficult these days. Probably can survive but not much of saving. smile.gif

That's the reality because everything is so expensive these days.

Yet again, not sure about your job's salary range. That may be common for your industry. hmm.gif

Anyway, I just received a revised salary adjustment yesterday. Effective 01.01.2012. New title as well. laugh.gif

Job Title : HR Executive to Specialist (2012)
Job Description : HR operational related stuffs, payroll, employees' engagement, training and development, recruitment and resourcing.
Years spent in company : 2 years by 31st Dec 2011.
Company : MNC
Industry : Telecommunication
Tenure : Contract but enjoying permanent benefits
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : None, just internship with the same company (6 months)
Basic Salary : Started with RM 2.8k (2010) and adjusted to RM 3.5k (2011), soon will be around RM 4.1k (2012).

There are fixed allowances of RM 500 per month. RM 2k for optical and dental per year. Medical (outpatient) is RM 1.7k per year. Hospitalisation is basically unlimited.
@fruitie

You joined a great company, as normally it won't have such good adjustment, unless you get promoted.

Most people will only get 4-7% increment annually. Yours is about 25% annually, which are unbelievable to most people.

Mind to disclose which company are you in? (or PM me) I will like to consider to join your company thumbup.gif
conqu3ror
post Dec 29 2011, 10:10 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(shenngau @ Dec 29 2011, 09:56 AM)
Job Title : Software Design Engineer ( Jan 2012)
Job Description : Software development, implementation, support, etc.
Years spent in company : 0 (Only will join on Jan 2012)
Company : MNC
Industry : Telecommunication
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 3.5 years
Basic Salary : RM4500
(Started on 2008 - RM2200, 2009 - RM2800, 2010 - RM3300, 2011 - RM3800)

Bonus: at least 1 month bonus and depends on performance
Benefits: RM100 (Parking), RM800 (Dental & Optical)
Just wonder, how many companies you had work for? 1 year 1 company?
conqu3ror
post Jan 5 2012, 04:20 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 5 2012, 03:55 PM)
A lot of my classmates works in the company for 1-2 years, jump to other company for another 1-2 yeras, and become a senior manager till COO in the MNC company(example Shell, T-System, Aviva, EMC and other MNC). Isn't that everyone apply the same techniques to get a better salary and position?

Okay I'm a stalker...  brows.gif
+1

If you are good, why stuck & narrow yourself in one company.
In 4 yrs working, soon joining my 4th company, and I jump from a small company, SME, local MNC, now going to international MNC.

Perhaps that is old school culture, which prefer climbing the corporate ladder in the same company.
conqu3ror
post Jan 12 2012, 11:45 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Jan 12 2012, 10:28 AM)
Yes, i started very low in a subcon manufacturing in semicon industry.
In may 2007 i started with a mere 1.8k basic. worked really hard for a few rounds of promotion.

Jumped ship last year to this new company and enjoying my life now wink.gif
Envy you join a good company that give you opportunity & able to double up your salary in 3 years with in the same company.

I have the same working experience as you, but sadly I only able to reach that level after jumping of 3 company. Even promotion, the company policy (Local MNC) promotion ceiling rate is 15%. I'm in Finance & Accounts Industry.
conqu3ror
post Jan 12 2012, 01:51 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Jan 12 2012, 12:28 PM)
smile.gif smaller company tends to give better increment than big mncs if you are a key player but intense working life and long working hours are sacrifices one has to make.

Now that i am with the new company, my increment for the coming years might not be as great as what i had achieved before but nonetheless i will do whatever it takes to get me the highest ratings for my performance appraisal.
Agree, only if your boss value & appreciate your work. Then you always can bargain with boss for better paid.

But in big company will very hard to strike for good rating & is very competitive. Good luck.
conqu3ror
post Jan 12 2012, 04:30 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(cutiepooh @ Jan 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
Which one you prefer the most. Yearly increment or bonus?
Of coz it depend which come more.

Bonuses normally you need to tahan till the year end only get it, and high increment help u to jump further in next job.
conqu3ror
post Jan 21 2012, 07:42 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Jan 21 2012, 11:17 AM)

Hi there,

Although our functions are different and to you it may have been an underpay, nevertheless this will serve as a good benchmark for me.
My function is on preparing reports for management, so I know that I should expect lesser than those in sales and marketing, as my department is a cost center.
Thank you for sharing. I have a rough idea of what to expect for my pay in years to come, after considering factors like inflation and etc or when asked for my pay expectation during interviews.
After promotion..from officer to manager title.

Years spent in company : 1 year (prior employers, 1 year plus)
Company : Foreign Bank
Industry : Banking
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining : 1 year with MNC and less than a year with 2 local banks
salary : RM4K range (from RM3k range)
Benefits: Medical claim, bonus +- 1-3 months.
As a Manager only getting RM4k? Even a senior exec get higher then that.
conqu3ror
post Feb 29 2012, 07:17 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Zenith Lim @ Feb 29 2012, 02:08 PM)
whats' the average salary for a junior accounts executive without experience? Let say a degree holder
Average 2.5k, if you want more go to Big Four, then maybe u can get 2.8k. But its miserable life...
conqu3ror
post Mar 9 2012, 09:26 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Mar 8 2012, 07:32 PM)
is this above average? against person my age or ppl with my backgrd? i have this feeling my pay is only average. most friends of my uni days appear to be doing much better than me, driving nice cars, buying props, some already snr managers in big companies.... hmmm...
A finance manager at age 31 with 160k annual salary still unable drive nice cars & own few properties? hmm.gif

At the age 31 become finance manager is superb, some more with 10k++ salary.

I rarely see at age 31 become Finance Manager with 10k+ salary & 4 mths bonus.

conqu3ror
post Mar 10 2012, 12:11 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Mar 9 2012, 11:35 PM)
actually i dont knw what they earn, just that they appear to be doing much better. maybe they dont save much? most of us dont jump that often. perhaps 3 jobs since graduation is the norm...

Added on March 9, 2012, 11:36 pm

accounting and finance.    smile.gif

Added on March 9, 2012, 11:40 pm

maybe i am just lucky. i dont know, dont normally like to discuss with my peers how much they earn, but i really dont think i m esrning a lot honestly speaking.
Then those earning 3-4k consider as a what? Super duper low income group? Don't tell me as finance manager don't know your staff earning how much?

Your salary is 3-4 times higher then them.

Mind to share how much tax/PCB u pay?

People always complain their salary is low, but look around, how much is the majority income.
conqu3ror
post Mar 15 2012, 03:13 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Mar 15 2012, 02:38 PM)
you really dont know what you are talking about...
if he says he earns that much... accept it...
don say he's a dupe...

as long as you keep thinking ppl this young cant carry that kind of earning power...
you will never get there as well...

open your eyes... and be more transparent with earnings with your peers...
sometimes when you think you are at the top, you might just be right below the surface and you don even know it...
From what Ultraman29 said, it didn't sound as a Finance Manager which manage a department.

As a Manager how can you don't know the market salary for your staff, thus most manager (especially with that salary range) should have company's car.
conqu3ror
post Mar 15 2012, 03:43 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Mar 15 2012, 03:32 PM)
well let me tell you this...
>10k isnt really hard to achieve anymore...
and company car with that salary range? Not ALL company does that...

i'm not saying that ultraman is 100% correct in his JD...
big fish in small pond theory...

but ppl do carry that kind of earning power these days...
depends on your industry...
Yes, it's depend which industry you in. But in Accounting & Finance... I don't think it is easy to reach 10k. Unless you working oversea, or investment/commercial banking.

But in sales & engineer/IT sector, you may reach that if you reach the sales target or have special skills.
conqu3ror
post Mar 15 2012, 10:20 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 15 2012, 04:31 PM)
No, don't need to work overseas to achieve that. The Finance manager in my company earns more than that. smile.gif
You gotta expose more to the outside world. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Please tell me your size of company, name. I bet his/her age above 40.

What I like to highlight is Accounting & Finance take years to gain experience to reach higher level & salary. Unless you in investment & banking, probably you can reach in young age with special talent. Who the hack will paid you so much while your experience & contribution so little. Cost-Benefit
(if yes, please refer me, will be much appreciated)

BTW with 10k plus salary, your tax will be sky high.

My colleague was a Finance Manager, but when he join, he is same position as me, Team Lead. So those are just title, most important is your paid.

I would rather be a exec, but getting a manger paid, instead of being a manger getting a exec paid. Easy job but high paid.. although just a dream.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by conqu3ror: Mar 15 2012, 10:26 PM
conqu3ror
post Mar 16 2012, 12:34 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:48 AM)
why got so many ppl doubting here. i thought here is a platform to share?

my backgrd is in accounting and finance. i have >10 staff under me in a listed company. i report to my boss who is the cfo of the company. his salary is much much higher than mine and he is <40.

fruitie, may i ask how much is the highest paid finance manager in your mnc at age 36?
Mine to share what industry are you in? Technology/IT?

Cause it sound like a very young industry.

Come on for salary, sky is the limit.

0.0250sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:55 PM