178 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v4

heyafrika
post Nov 4 2011, 07:21 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Nov 3 2011, 09:33 PM)
Job Title : Accounts Exec
Job Desciption : Handle monthly accounting entry, issue cheque & PV, bank recon, liase with bank, auditor, ad hoc work, petty cash claim, etc
Years spent in company : 2years plus
Company : Commercial Company
Tenure : permanent
Experience before joining : 2years plus in accounting firm
Qualification : Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting
Benefit : Medical, Meal Allowance
Bonus : Depend on Company performance

guys, what should be my salary range?
need some guidance~  notworthy.gif
rm2200-2500

Added on November 4, 2011, 8:49 amJob Title : site civil engineer
Job Desciption :
Years spent in company : 0
Company : small company
Industry : construction

Experience before joining :3 year experience at site
salary : RM 4k

an i underpaid?

This post has been edited by heyafrika: Nov 4 2011, 08:49 AM
fruitie
post Nov 4 2011, 10:06 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

RM 2200-RM 2500 is way too low for 2 years experience. sweat.gif
littleprawn
post Nov 4 2011, 10:55 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(heyafrika @ Nov 4 2011, 07:21 AM)
rm2200-2500

Thanks for the feedback~

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2011, 10:06 AM)
RM 2200-RM 2500 is way too low for 2 years experience. sweat.gif
thanks for the feedback~
i also thinking the same thing~
now considering to ask boss to revise my salary~

PhakFuhZai
post Nov 4 2011, 11:01 AM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Oct 26 2011, 01:53 PM)
just a question, how much can I request, after I got my CCNA and MCITP certs, but with almost 0 years experience in back-end support (helpdesk experience doesn't matter much in this scenario)
let's say I want to apply network/server support related jobs

let me revive this old question notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by PhakFuhZai: Nov 4 2011, 11:01 AM
justin_nys
post Nov 4 2011, 11:49 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Nov 4 2011, 11:01 AM)
let's say I want to apply network/server support related jobs
let me revive this old question notworthy.gif
normally it's 4k and above for L1 but with some experience required. So I guess you need to be really prepared for the interview and stand out among candidates who has previous experience...Why don't you try Internal Job transfer (I'm assuming you're working in the same company as I am since you're pretty active in that thread wink.gif )
I have seen many people that got transferred from Service Desk to Back office support (Wintel, Unix, Network) and I personally know a few of them who have progressed well in their career today smile.gif

This post has been edited by justin_nys: Nov 4 2011, 11:53 AM
PhakFuhZai
post Nov 4 2011, 02:24 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Nov 4 2011, 11:49 AM)
normally it's 4k and above for L1 but with some experience required. So I guess you need to be really prepared for the interview and stand out among candidates who has previous experience...Why don't you try Internal Job transfer (I'm assuming you're working in the same company as I am since you're pretty active in that thread wink.gif )
I have seen many people that got transferred from Service Desk to Back office support (Wintel, Unix, Network) and I personally know a few of them who have progressed well in their career today smile.gif
lol already throw letter liao

few reasons

- without a fulltime job, I got more time to concentrate in studying for the courses mentioned
- feel that current job is a waste of time, although I can flip the e-book during work hours, but that greatly impact the efficiency
- current salary is not that high, so I can afford to risk losing them for few months without hurting much

And also, for internal job transfer, talk is easy, but after seeing how things going here, I got the feeling that its harder than applying from outside smile.gif

I won't demand RM4k from the start, got RM3k above as the basic, I am more than happy.. for as long as it is higher than current base pay
seanwc101
post Nov 4 2011, 02:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Nov 4 2011, 02:24 PM)

few reasons

- without a fulltime job, I got more time to concentrate in studying for the courses mentioned
- feel that current job is a waste of time, although I can flip the e-book during work hours, but that greatly impact the efficiency
- current salary is not that high, so I can afford to risk losing them for few months without hurting much

And also, for internal job transfer, talk is easy, but after seeing how things going here, I got the feeling that its harder than applying from outside smile.gif

I won't demand RM4k from the start, got RM3k above as the basic, I am more than happy.. for as long as it is higher than current base pay
So you resign to study what course?
PhakFuhZai
post Nov 4 2011, 02:42 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Nov 4 2011, 02:39 PM)
So you resign to study what course?
MCTS -> MCITP
and CCNA

justin_nys
post Nov 5 2011, 08:39 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Nov 4 2011, 02:24 PM)

few reasons

Well what I was referring to is to officially apply for the job in the Internal Job portal. Not just discussing with your manager who usually pay lip service. It actually works if you qualify for the job and provided your boss is willing to release you. But since you've tendered , all the best smile.gif

genXYZ
post Nov 5 2011, 10:01 PM

Job Title : Programmer
Job Desciption : System development and maintenance.
Years spent in company : since 2007
Company : Educational
Experience before joining : -
Qualification : Diploma of Computer Science on 2006, Bachelor of Computer Science on 2010
Salary : RM2500 (plus allowances)
Bonus : Depend on our PM la. Haha.

I want to find another job that suits with my qualification. smile.gif So, what salary range for expected salary? 20% from my current salary?

This post has been edited by genXYZ: Nov 5 2011, 10:23 PM
PhakFuhZai
post Nov 6 2011, 11:49 AM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(genXYZ @ Nov 5 2011, 10:01 PM)
Job Title : Programmer
Job Desciption : System development and maintenance.
Years spent in company : since 2007
Company : Educational
Experience before joining : -
Qualification : Diploma of Computer Science on 2006,  Bachelor of Computer Science on 2010
Salary : RM2500 (plus allowances)
Bonus : Depend on our PM la. Haha.

I want to find another job that suits with my qualification. smile.gif So, what salary range for expected salary? 20% from my current salary?
you worked 4 years there and your basic is still RM2.5k?

very underpaid bro
genXYZ
post Nov 6 2011, 12:03 PM

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Nov 6 2011, 11:49 AM)
you worked 4 years there and your basic is still RM2.5k?

very underpaid bro
Plus allowances dude. Haha, so sad right. They squeeze us but pay peanuts. But, that salary range is for Diploma holder, for Degree holder, the salary range RM2900 - RM3000 only. So, i want to find a job for Degree holder. Any idea what salary range that reasonable?

This post has been edited by genXYZ: Nov 6 2011, 12:15 PM
kelvin_tan
post Nov 6 2011, 12:40 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@genxyz
Nope, I believe even for degree holders for IT programming, 2.9k - 3k is still underpaid for 4 years experience.

Added on November 6, 2011, 12:41 pmOf course this is assuming you dont suck at your job. If you do, then you deserve it.

This post has been edited by kelvin_tan: Nov 6 2011, 12:41 PM
genXYZ
post Nov 6 2011, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Nov 6 2011, 12:40 PM)
@genxyz
Nope, I believe even for degree holders for IT programming, 2.9k - 3k is still underpaid for 4 years experience.

Added on November 6, 2011, 12:41 pmOf course this is assuming you dont suck at your job. If you do, then you deserve it.
Yes, it's underpaid, that's why i want to jump out from this hell. I understand, if i can't perform, then i deserve for that scale of salary, but i manage to finish the project in time, able to work independently or in team, have a good rapport with team and client (not my intention too be proud just want to explain my situation). smile.gif

Sorry if it's off topic.
justin_nys
post Nov 6 2011, 05:09 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(genXYZ @ Nov 6 2011, 01:52 PM)
Yes, it's underpaid, that's why i want to jump out from this hell. I understand, if i can't perform, then i deserve for that scale of salary, but i manage to finish the project in time, able to work independently or in team, have a good rapport with team and client (not my intention too be proud just want to explain my situation). smile.gif

Sorry if it's off topic.
it's perfectly fine to be proud of your achievements smile.gif just keep working on your next jump ASAP or else you'll continue to be in "hell".. like many others, I don't understand why they keep on winning but refuse to act on it and keep getting exploited willingly smile.gif
fruitie
post Nov 6 2011, 06:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

Just to update on my latest case, I'll have to inform my bosses on my decision on next Tuesday.

After a long consideration (approx 2 weeks), I think I'll stay and accept the new role.

Salary wise, this wasn't officially communicated to me yet but I was told that I'll get about 20% increment. I'm expecting 4k. smile.gif
debbieyss
post Nov 7 2011, 12:32 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Nov 6 2011, 05:09 PM)
it's perfectly fine  to be proud of your achievements smile.gif just keep working on your next jump ASAP or else you'll continue to be in "hell".. like many others, I don't understand why they keep on winning but refuse to act on it and keep getting exploited willingly smile.gif
If that's the case, how much should a programmer of 4 years experience should deserve?
I'm just asking out of curiosity. tongue.gif
justin_nys
post Nov 7 2011, 12:44 PM

1,192 posts

I think for a programmer , number of years are taken into consideration but definitely not the deciding factor. It all depends on the language you know, platform you've implemented it and hoe good you are.. I'm work in IT line but unfortunately don't have any accurate salary info on experienced programmers..sorry wink.gif

This post has been edited by justin_nys: Nov 7 2011, 12:44 PM
alifatimah
post Nov 7 2011, 12:45 PM

28 posts

--deleted--

This post has been edited by alifatimah: Apr 10 2012, 06:24 PM
Snoopie
post Nov 7 2011, 04:41 PM

b|ack bεauтy
693 posts

Job Title : Compliance Executive Officer
Job Desciption : Compliance on trading activities in internal control, and monitor customers account, prevent anti-money laundering
Years spent in company : Fresh Grad
Company : Bank
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : None
Qualification : Diploma in Accounting, Advanced Diploma in Accounting, BA (Hons) Accounting & Finance
Benefit: Leave, Medical, Dental
Salary : RM2350
Bonus : Not sure

Am I underpaid? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Snoopie: Nov 7 2011, 04:45 PM

178 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:19 AM