Lets talk salary v4

viper-xs
post Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM

263 posts

fruitie,
move your *** into the new role ASAP...well that I would have tell you right in your face though..ehehe

Where the boss is doesn't matter. Reporting to remote boss is even better because you can show your capability and credibility even more. It shows that you can be pretty much independant. It gives you the flexibility still only you need time to show what you are really made for.

Contract or non contract doesn't matter if your benefit about the same. In MNC contract or not if they decided to boot you out then you are out. Maybe the first 5% chosen from contract or temp staff but in the end it's all about business decisions. Redundancy, cost saving etc..you know the drill wink.gif

Being in comfort zone far too long is not good in long run. Seeing how you write shows that you are pretty much go getter so you need to go now or the comfortable feeling will slowly seep in wink.gif

fruitie
post Oct 25 2011, 03:19 PM

Rise and Shine
72,815 posts

QUOTE(viper-xs @ Oct 25 2011, 03:06 PM)
fruitie,
move your *** into the new role ASAP...well that I would have tell you right in your face though..ehehe

Where the boss is doesn't matter. Reporting to remote boss is even better because you can show your capability and credibility even more. It shows that you can be pretty much independant. It gives you the flexibility still only you need time to show what you are really made for.

Contract or non contract doesn't matter if your benefit about the same. In MNC contract or not if they decided to boot you out then you are out. Maybe the first 5% chosen from contract or temp staff but in the end it's all about business decisions. Redundancy, cost saving etc..you know the drill wink.gif

Being in comfort zone far too long is not good in long run. Seeing how you write shows that you are pretty much go getter so you need to go now or the comfortable feeling will slowly seep in wink.gif
Haha. True true. I got the point very well. smile.gif

Yes, everyone is so disposable in MNC. I know that too well. Being in recruitment role for the past 2 years, I guess my understanding and grasp on this are pretty strong. tongue.gif So, I do know how hard have my bosses tried to convert me into a permanent. Not that they don't want to but they can't. I'm too junior to be considered with a permanent position. smile.gif So, after so many years, seriously it doesn't bother me anymore. tongue.gif

Yes, too comfort that I don't wish to move on. I just wish to be static, at times. tongue.gif I still can't get it now because my new contract only officially starts on 01 Jan 2012. biggrin.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 3:27 pmI'm sorry for the long rant, you guys may continue with your usual discussion. biggrin.gif I shall pop in when I'm free. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 25 2011, 03:27 PM
hellremix
post Oct 26 2011, 12:58 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:27 PM)
Your last sentence is the best one, no doubt...
Correct, I agree with you...too much question to ask but none of your options fit the bill, unfortunately  laugh.gif but well think there...actually I'm an engineer working in semi-gov construction industry, semi gov pay is good and very standard ala gomen pay if we compare within the industry with the benefits etc but when comparing the basic in GLC OnG company with less experience its a lot more plus benefits...Is it too far to compare nowadays between these fields with the same profession? My career progress is quite substantial in terms of pay when changing jobs and it can be consider as a good career move when comparing to the market of the same field whereas I can be consider good with what I'm doing. Maybe construction industry is not on par with OnG especially...I'm trying to aim high before taking the huge leap forward and may need some time but no doubt your guys opinions are really encouraging thumbup.gif
Hi bro,

yes OnG pays really well,and I mean it as most of my family members work in OnG fields, and even my wife also. But my sister work in a construction industry, and she has a really good pay for a goverment servant. They even send her to take her master abroad. Got Business class ticket also, for her whole family worth more than 40K, Dangg..haha.. What I think is that each industry has its own potential. I am not in the OnG industry, yet my salary is far higher from my wife who work in the OnG industry,even she started to work earlier from me ( I graduated late due to repeat some papers during my Uni days, hahaha.. whistling.gif Not so bright after all). The important thing is your speciality bro. When youre good at something, people will surely find you, and appreciate your speciality.Did you know that Telco industry guy also have a high salary?. All industry will give a better pay as long as were keen to learn new things, and improve ourself bro.

Thanks..hehe...

Just my opinion from my experience.. biggrin.gif
Penangnitesz
post Oct 26 2011, 12:08 PM

111 posts

Before

Job Title : Senior RnD Engineer
Job Desciption: Product Development
Education Level : Degree, E&E
Years spent in company : 10 months
Experience before join: 4 years as NPI Engineer(last drawn salary: 3300)
Company : MNC Penang
Industry : Semiconductor
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Executive
salary : RM 4300 Basic
Benefits : 1 month contractual+1-2 month Performance bonus, medical, etc

After counter offer:

Job Title : Senior RnD Engineer
Education Level : Degree, E&E
Years spent in company : 10 months
Experience before join: 4 years as NPI Engineer(last drawn salary: 3300)
Company : MNC Penang
Employment Level : Senior Executive
salary : RM 5800 Basic
Benefits : 1 month contractual+1-2 month Performance bonus, medical, etc

I have have a job offer with the same role at 5.5k(my basic before was 4.3k) from a competitor but my current company countered offer with 5.8k basic.
It is a rare for my company to be able to counter offer same or higher than the competitor but according to the management
i have the skills to be the candidate for future generation managers. Having to have the recognition shown by the management i decided to stay although the yearly renumeration from the Competitor's are higher than my current comp.
Overall i am happy with my decision to stay and looking forward for future challenges.
PhakFuhZai
post Oct 26 2011, 01:53 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

just a question, how much can I request, after I got my CCNA and MCITP certs, but with almost 0 years experience in back-end support (helpdesk experience doesn't matter much in this scenario)
heyafrika
post Oct 26 2011, 03:47 PM

144 posts

petrochemical engineering salary...anyone know?
jewellyjew
post Oct 27 2011, 06:38 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(cherylds @ Oct 24 2011, 02:25 PM)
Agree with the statement above... I'm in my 4th company now... age 26 ,started working at age 22 .. Reason for change I was offered 50% extra of my current pay , that's why i decided to jump ship.. 
service desk line quite hard to climb up unless  the boss is really  keen on developing the agents otherwise is all up to the agent to  chart  his/her own
career path
Would'nt it look unhealthy when the employer view ur resume? I am considering a job hop too but I m in my current job for only one year (previous job less than 2 years)..My concern is how should I answer in a persuasive way when the interviewer ask me "why do u want to look for a newjob, you've been in ur current job for only 1 year?"

How would you answer that? If i say for better career prospect/ career progression, it might not be convincing to the interviewer as he might think one year is too short to have learned all the stuffs...
imyourlimbeh
post Oct 27 2011, 10:14 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Oct 27 2011, 06:38 PM)
Would'nt it look unhealthy when the employer view ur resume? I am considering a job hop too but I m  in my current job for only one year (previous job less than 2 years)..My concern is how should I answer in a persuasive way when the interviewer ask me "why do u want to look for a newjob, you've been in ur current job for only 1 year?"

How would you answer that? If i say for better career prospect/ career progression, it might not be convincing to the interviewer as he might think one year is too short to have learned all the stuffs...
You need not to worry if you are good enough. I had changed to company A in year 2010 and in 2011 i changed to company B and now still 2011, I'm offered by company C
potemkin
post Oct 28 2011, 10:09 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Oct 25 2011, 01:12 PM)
I assume you're already having CCNA and CCNP? How about working towards CCIE? wink.gif
Doing that. I have passed the CCIE written for R&S. But i really lack the confidence to take the Lab. Current company doesn't seem to want to sponsor so paying USD1500 for the exam along with the airfare/accommodation is quite costly sweat.gif

Still i'll be moving back to a vendor environment once my bond ends so try there then.
justin_nys
post Oct 28 2011, 10:14 AM

1,192 posts

Congrats! and you can do it! Well there will always be other MNCs who appreciates talents and take learning and development seriously wink.gif
Marcus94
post Oct 28 2011, 06:45 PM

36 posts

Hi everyone, may I know hw much is the salary for a fresh grad. as lawyer? and may I Knw currently lawyer is having a good pay? I heard my neighbour says her daughter as a fresh grad. as lawyer gets only RM 750!!! O.O
kelvin_tan
post Oct 28 2011, 08:09 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@marcus94
Thats because she's doing her "chambering" which is normal. After that they get paid decently.
fruitie
post Oct 28 2011, 10:30 PM

Rise and Shine
72,815 posts

QUOTE(Marcus94 @ Oct 28 2011, 06:45 PM)
Hi everyone, may I know hw much is the salary for a fresh grad. as lawyer? and may I Knw currently lawyer is having a good pay? I heard my neighbour says her daughter as a fresh grad. as lawyer gets only RM 750!!! O.O
My ex-roommate back in university just finished chambering and now will start with a proper employment in law firm, junior lawyer. RM 3.2k. smile.gif
Her chambering was RM 1.5k I heard. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 28 2011, 10:30 PM
hellworld
post Oct 30 2011, 01:42 AM

199 posts

Job Title : Product development Engineer
Education Level : Degree,
Years spent in company : 6 months
Experience before join: 3 and half years as wafer fab process Engineer
Company : MNC
salary : RM 4200 Basic
Benefits : 2 month contractual+1-2 month Performance bonus, medical, house loan and car loan 50% interest subsidy etc

feel like underpaid..
amalthea
post Oct 30 2011, 07:01 AM

383 posts

my friend

Job Title : Senior BW Consultant
Job Description: Product Development
Years spent in company : 2 years
Experience before join: 6 years (6 life cycle)
Industry : Consulting
Tenure : Permanent
salary : RM 7400 Basic
Benefits : No contractual. One average 1.5 months performance bonus. 1K for optical +dental and medical card

myself

Job Title : Senior Sharepoint Developer
Job Desciption: Microsoft .NET
Experience before join: 3 years
salary : RM 5500 Basic
Benefits : No contractual. No bonus. 1K for optical +dental and medical card

PhakFuhZai
post Oct 30 2011, 02:20 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(amalthea @ Oct 30 2011, 07:01 AM)
myself

Job Title : Senior Sharepoint Developer
Job Desciption: Microsoft .NET
Experience before join: 3 years
salary : RM 5500 Basic
Benefits : No contractual. No bonus. 1K for optical +dental and medical card
pretty good pay you got there
did you start out your career in Sharepoint/MS technologies from the beginning (3 years ago)?

KaktuZ
post Oct 30 2011, 10:36 PM

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Oct 27 2011, 06:38 PM)
Would'nt it look unhealthy when the employer view ur resume? I am considering a job hop too but I m  in my current job for only one year (previous job less than 2 years)...
Job hopping is consider normal for Gen-Y nowadays...normally people will work for 1-3 years in 1 company.
if the boss want to hire staff who worked 5-10 years in previous company, he/she only can look for gen -X

kwaile
post Oct 31 2011, 11:26 AM

Does loyalty pays? My case

Job Title : Assistant Vice President
Tenure in company : 20 yrs (my first job here)
Company : Subsidiary of a PLC.
Industry : Financial Institution
Qualification: Diploma in Accountancy
Basic : 11k (starting salary was RM1,000 in 1991)
Allowances : RM500 fixed petrol allowance, RM200 mobile phone allowance
Other Perks : Loans + medical + dental + etc
Bonus: 2 - 10 months. My rezeki, I got 8 months this year and 9 months last year.

justin_nys
post Oct 31 2011, 11:39 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(kwaile @ Oct 31 2011, 11:26 AM)
Does loyalty pays?  My case

Job Title : Assistant Vice President
Tenure in company : 20 yrs (my first job here)
Company : Subsidiary of a PLC.
Industry : Financial Institution
Qualification: Diploma in Accountancy
Basic : 11k (starting salary was RM1,000 in 1991)
Allowances : RM500 fixed petrol allowance, RM200 mobile phone allowance
Other Perks : Loans + medical + dental + etc
Bonus: 2 - 10 months.  My rezeki, I got 8 months this year and 9 months last year.
Not necessary in many of the MNC...with the Degree and MBA holders mushrooming and many with lots of experience smile.gif But I guess you're lucky to have a good employer.
Bill rancic
post Oct 31 2011, 11:20 PM

Position:senior exec
Experience:7 years (3 years prior experience in banking)
Job:marketing in oil n gas
Salary:basis rm 7168
Benefits:
No limit medical coverage for self n family plus maternity (as per bill medical) + 500 dental for ownself.

0.80 cent per km for mileage,rm 100 meal allowance for travelling >50km

As per bill phone claim.

4% housing loan,insurance coverage of 450k

Bonus:5 months in 2010.

Company's epf contribution 15% first 5 years 17% next 5 years and 19% next 5 years until retired.

Hows my salary yea?

This post has been edited by Bill rancic: Oct 31 2011, 11:45 PM

178 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:20 AM