3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Mar 28 2011, 03:37 PM
3,589 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Bolehland |
Going to Korea next Fri. Hope no snow and no radiation
I hate cold |
Mar 28 2011, 03:54 PM
510 posts Joined: May 2005 From: PJ |
Hi, as some forumers pointed out, it snowed a few days ago and it's very windy right now. wunderground.com says it's max 16 celcius and coldest at 0 degree at night while timeanddate.com hovers between -3 to 12 degrees.
Now I'm confused about what's to bring and wear when I'm there next week. Do I still need gloves, beanie cap and boots to stay warm? Initially I'm planning to just wear jeans, sandals, cardigans and normal jackets but now I wonder if they are sufficient. |
Mar 28 2011, 04:46 PM
712 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 28 2011, 03:54 PM) Hi, as some forumers pointed out, it snowed a few days ago and it's very windy right now. wunderground.com says it's max 16 celcius and coldest at 0 degree at night while timeanddate.com hovers between -3 to 12 degrees. I am currently planning my first trip to S.Korea. Knowing I like food very much, my friend (frequent busy travel to Seoul) told me to try out the following:-Now I'm confused about what's to bring and wear when I'm there next week. Do I still need gloves, beanie cap and boots to stay warm? Initially I'm planning to just wear jeans, sandals, cardigans and normal jackets but now I wonder if they are sufficient. @ Seoul, please do go visit these places for food: 1) All the korean street snacks can be get here under one roof - Gwang Jang market 2) Sariwon - For yummylicious Bulgogi 3) Singdangdong - for spicy tteokbokki with noodles, fishcakes, eggs, etc..(good for a late night supper especially in cold weather - missed this) 4) Myeongdong Gyoja - for spicy cold noodles 5) Samgyetang (Ginseng Chicken soup) - near the Palace (Gyeong Bok Gong). 6) Crispy Duck near KBS station...forgot the address, can go eat and try to catch if can see some korean artiste..hahaha 7) Fish market - for korean style fresh sashimi and other seafood. arghhh, a lot more. |
Mar 28 2011, 06:18 PM
6 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 28 2011, 03:54 PM) Hi, as some forumers pointed out, it snowed a few days ago and it's very windy right now. wunderground.com says it's max 16 celcius and coldest at 0 degree at night while timeanddate.com hovers between -3 to 12 degrees. Boots not needed I think. Just 2 layers of cloth would be sufficient. I have survived with that, jeans and Converse shoes plus stocking. But had to keep my hands in pocket most of the time. The best part is when there is direct sunlight. That's when you will appreciate sun and Malaysia Now I'm confused about what's to bring and wear when I'm there next week. Do I still need gloves, beanie cap and boots to stay warm? Initially I'm planning to just wear jeans, sandals, cardigans and normal jackets but now I wonder if they are sufficient. |
Mar 28 2011, 07:19 PM
785 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Mar 27 2011, 12:24 AM) no doubt the wind is very strong,i was told that there is a kid got blown away by the wind before but not far i think,just lifted and went few meters backward. thanks for the suggestion the famous one such as the face shop? skinfood? misha? and alot more,but korean ginseng i feel a little overated Added on March 28, 2011, 7:20 pm QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 27 2011, 02:16 PM) thank you sophi! how about Dior? i see alot of advertisement....This post has been edited by shakiraa: Mar 28 2011, 07:21 PM |
Mar 28 2011, 08:49 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Mar 28 2011, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Mar 28 2011, 06:18 PM) Boots not needed I think. Just 2 layers of cloth would be sufficient. I have survived with that, jeans and Converse shoes plus stocking. But had to keep my hands in pocket most of the time. The best part is when there is direct sunlight. That's when you will appreciate sun and Malaysia Thanks tenten. Then my initial plan is ok.. Just may need to change the sandals to shoes and stocking. |
Mar 28 2011, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 28 2011, 09:32 PM) Thanks tenten. Then my initial plan is ok.. Just may need to change the sandals to shoes and stocking. No problem. Better to regret bringing all the things than to regret not bringing nothing at all |
Mar 28 2011, 11:48 PM
4 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
I saw a lot of Dior products there too but their local products are cheaper by wider margin
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 28 2011, 09:49 PM) Added on March 28, 2011, 11:51 pmAgreed! I brought too many clothes to layer up resulted in my backpack so heavy that I had problem carrying it. Better to only bring 1 set of thick clothing and buy extra there if you feel cold. It's definitely cheaper there. I bought a thick knitted scarf for 7000won only! QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Mar 28 2011, 11:55 PM) No problem. Better to regret bringing all the things than to regret not bringing nothing at all This post has been edited by sophistafunk: Mar 28 2011, 11:51 PM |
Mar 29 2011, 12:38 AM
443 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Haha...seem like quite a few people going Seoul this week. I'm flying this sunday, anyone with me?
Btw, i just bring 1 hoodie there. Hopefully i can survive the cold before i buy jacket there. Don't think there will be cherry blossom with this kind of weather:( |
Mar 29 2011, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:38 AM) Haha...seem like quite a few people going Seoul this week. I'm flying this sunday, anyone with me? You will survive dont worry. Dont forget mosturiser if your skin is prone to dry cold weather rash. Most of the people do since we are from a warmer country.Btw, i just bring 1 hoodie there. Hopefully i can survive the cold before i buy jacket there. Don't think there will be cherry blossom with this kind of weather:( |
Mar 29 2011, 03:04 PM
13 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: kl,malaysia |
Just got back from south korea last sunday. Went to so many places but failed to climb Bugaksan Mountain. I already went to Malbawi Information Center but it seems that they were closed at that time. The wind was too strong went we were they. i already got frostbite because i underestimate the wheather
My total cost was Rm1500 including flight fare, we also went to Gyeonju. This post has been edited by xclent182: Mar 29 2011, 03:19 PM |
Mar 29 2011, 03:43 PM
khchong81, I'm departing this sunday too. Have you checked the seats they had assigned to you via web check in? My husband and I were assigned 3 rows apart. Now thinking whether to pay RM35 or not to get side by side seats.
Mar 29 2011, 04:58 PM
443 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 29 2011, 03:43 PM) khchong81, I'm departing this sunday too. Have you checked the seats they had assigned to you via web check in? My husband and I were assigned 3 rows apart. Now thinking whether to pay RM35 or not to get side by side seats. I face this problem too. I was placed at C row but my gf was at H row. So, i have to pay RM70 to get better seat because beside me already got people sitting.Airasia marketing strategy really great. Force us to buy seat. But anyway, my air fare is only RM650 (with luggage) for 2 persons! |
Mar 29 2011, 06:26 PM
181 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Cair Paravel |
QUOTE(xclent182 @ Mar 29 2011, 03:04 PM) Just got back from south korea last sunday. Went to so many places but failed to climb Bugaksan Mountain. I already went to Malbawi Information Center but it seems that they were closed at that time. The wind was too strong went we were they. i already got frostbite because i underestimate the wheather How was your trip?Was it snowing?I heard it was snowing a couple of days ago.I also went there early March.How come your cost is only RM1500?Is it include shopping?My trip costs me RM2000 for flight,accomodation,transport and souvenirs.Tell us more!My total cost was Rm1500 including flight fare, we also went to Gyeonju. |
Mar 29 2011, 07:39 PM
785 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 28 2011, 11:48 PM) I saw a lot of Dior products there too but their local products are cheaper by wider margin thank you again sophi. what korean brand is good? i plan to get a few set as a gift for friends.Added on March 28, 2011, 11:51 pmAgreed! I brought too many clothes to layer up resulted in my backpack so heavy that I had problem carrying it. Better to only bring 1 set of thick clothing and buy extra there if you feel cold. It's definitely cheaper there. I bought a thick knitted scarf for 7000won only! btw, girls, is there any recommended shops for bargain shopping? such as 100 yen shop in japan? thx This post has been edited by shakiraa: Mar 29 2011, 08:15 PM |
Mar 29 2011, 07:55 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Miri,Sarawak |
hmm..after reading comments by u guys, we need roughly RM1.5k for accommodation,souvenirs,transport? is it enuf?
i dun shop..i like mountains,sea,lake,trees! |
Mar 29 2011, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:58 PM) I face this problem too. I was placed at C row but my gf was at H row. So, i have to pay RM70 to get better seat because beside me already got people sitting. Mine is about that price too.. still thinking to prebook or not to. Airasia marketing strategy really great. Force us to buy seat. But anyway, my air fare is only RM650 (with luggage) for 2 persons! |
| Change to: | 0.0315sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:16 PM |