Travel South Korea V2

fraulein
post Mar 28 2011, 03:54 PM

510 posts

Hi, as some forumers pointed out, it snowed a few days ago and it's very windy right now. wunderground.com says it's max 16 celcius and coldest at 0 degree at night while timeanddate.com hovers between -3 to 12 degrees.

Now I'm confused about what's to bring and wear when I'm there next week. Do I still need gloves, beanie cap and boots to stay warm? Initially I'm planning to just wear jeans, sandals, cardigans and normal jackets but now I wonder if they are sufficient.
fraulein
post Mar 28 2011, 09:32 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Mar 28 2011, 06:18 PM)
Boots not needed I think. Just 2 layers of cloth would be sufficient. I have survived with that, jeans and Converse shoes plus stocking. But had to keep my hands in pocket most of the time. The best part is when there is direct sunlight. That's when you will appreciate sun and Malaysia tongue.gif Remember Jeju is a completely different story.
Thanks tenten. Then my initial plan is ok.. Just may need to change the sandals to shoes and stocking. smile.gif
fraulein
post Mar 29 2011, 03:43 PM

510 posts

khchong81, I'm departing this sunday too. Have you checked the seats they had assigned to you via web check in? My husband and I were assigned 3 rows apart. Now thinking whether to pay RM35 or not to get side by side seats.
fraulein
post Mar 29 2011, 09:41 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:58 PM)
I face this problem too. I was placed at C row but my gf was at H row. So, i have to pay RM70 to get better seat because beside me already got people sitting.

Airasia marketing strategy really great. Force us to buy seat. But anyway, my air fare is only RM650 (with luggage) for 2 persons!
Mine is about that price too.. still thinking to prebook or not to. hmm.gif
fraulein
post Mar 30 2011, 09:56 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Mar 30 2011, 08:00 PM)
thanks for the info jack. i will be going to seoul next week. so i need to prepare one thicker jacket.

btw where is the best place to see the cherry blossom or spring flower in seoul?
Mostly suggested Yeuido, while some said Namsan. I'm planning to check out Namsan Park first.
fraulein
post Mar 31 2011, 09:25 PM

510 posts

Talking about radiation, will it be safe to try out the seafood at Noryangjin Fish Market?
fraulein
post Mar 31 2011, 10:00 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:34 PM)
korean fish market im not sure,but if japanese fish market better not
I'm wondering if they would conceal the origins of where the fish were caught is asked. But we can never know where those fish had swam before they were caught. Noryangjin fish market had been on the top of my itinerary and now this happened.... doh.gif
fraulein
post Apr 1 2011, 04:21 PM

510 posts

Nami Island is just for Winter Sonata fanatics? No other attraction than the 2 row pine trees?
fraulein
post Apr 1 2011, 05:29 PM

510 posts

Thanks stimix. Nami Island will then remain on my itinerary. smile.gif And I would still try Noryangjin Fish Market.
fraulein
post Apr 1 2011, 09:33 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Apr 1 2011, 09:04 PM)
Hi, mind to share how your itinary look like? Can PM me? smile.gif
I've PMed you. smile.gif
fraulein
post Apr 3 2011, 07:35 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(MickyMouse @ Apr 1 2011, 11:19 PM)
Hi, pls PM me as well.. i need itinerary smile.gif
thanks in advance~
PMed you. smile.gif

QUOTE(scy320 @ Apr 2 2011, 03:09 PM)
just came back from seoul,the weather there can reach 4 degree Celsius at night and 9 degree celsius during daytime but no snowing.
Sien.. that's why my luggage is the heaviest of all my travelling history this time.
fraulein
post Apr 5 2011, 11:06 PM

510 posts

In Seoul now. Too bad there's no cherry blossom yet, everywhere are dried leafless and flowerless trees.
For anyone going to namsan seoul tower and if you're the type who can't stand cold (like me) please bring thick clothes. I wear singlet + tops + cardigan + jacket and still can't stand it when the wind blows. Somehow we noticed it's particularly cold at time between 7 - 9 pm. Luckily I brought gloves. Going to buy a beanie tomorrow.

If planning to go back hotel using metro, please do so early because some station close quite early. We nearly got stranded because the flight delay and by the time we reached Seoul Station at 11.30pm, we heard the metro staff telling some people that their destination's last train is over. Our destination to jongno-3-ga still operating, but by the time we reached there, the station is closed & they won't let us exit using the exit nearest to our hotel. So we spent the a long time finding our hotel.

It's really hard to find someone who can speak english or mandarin here, except myeongdong area. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Apr 5 2011, 09:17 PM)
i recommend myeongdong is a must!!!, ewha univ. but i think dongdaemun and itaewon isnt much fun cos nothing much. but of all the shopping places i went the best is still myeongdong!
Agreed! I went Dongdaemun today and it's a big dissappointment. A simple shirt's price starts at 6000 won while some ciplak jacket is around 60K and above. For that price i might as well buy jacket from Zara in Msia.

BTW, is there any VAT for stuffs purchased at Faceshop, Innisfress, Nature Republic etc? I don't understand their receipt lah..

This post has been edited by fraulein: Apr 5 2011, 11:22 PM
fraulein
post Apr 6 2011, 07:31 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:43 PM)
I am at Seoul too. Staying at Insadong. Nice place to hang around with easy access to food. Yesterday is my 1st day in Seoul. Walk to GeongBukGong after breakfast at hotel, spend few hours there and walk to SamCheongDong for lunch & tea break. Both side of the road is full of nice cafe. Very relaxing. Walk to Bukchon Hanok Village after that & continue to Dongdaemun in the night.

Same feel as Fraulein, very dissapointed with DongDaemun, most of the complex is full with fake item. So becareful. Have a good Kimchi dinner at Doota complex 7th floor foodcourt.

As for today, went to Nami Island & spend almost half day there cycling. Very nice weather to hang out. Went to Ehwa University area for shopping and dinner in the evening. This area full with cafe & shops for women stuff. My wife feel so sad because the Charlie Brown a.k.a Snoopy Cafe is close down for renovation.

Tomorrow will spend my day MyeongDong, Namsan Tower & Teddy Bear Museum. Probaly will go to the fish market in the morning for lunch.
Fish Market? Must try their fish spicy soup that comes together with sashimi. Very delicious that we scrapped the bottom of the pot!

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Apr 6 2011, 06:19 AM)
wahhh so envious of u people who already sampai korea. i'm planning to go there perhaps next year cause cannot tahan tengok all the drama already. my question is, is it easy to find halal food in korea? and also, does the people can speak english fluently or do i have to learn some basic korean language? thanks.
you can try this malay lady who stayed in korea's blog. budgettravel2korea.blogspot.
fraulein
post Apr 7 2011, 04:53 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 6 2011, 04:16 PM)
BTW, Korean voted 2nd higheset in Asia for their command in English 1 rank below M'sia which is the highest rabnking of Non English speaking countries liao..So it must be true or the surveyors choose the wrong guys as samples  biggrin.gif

http://news.malaysia.msn.com/regional/arti...umentid=4757645
Impossible..... shakehead.gif
We communicate using drawing and writing chinese on my notepad.
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 6 2011, 06:53 PM)

plastic or real?  unsure.gif
Try Lotte and Young Plaza, there are even more 'out of this world' leng lui...

It's raining in Seoul now and it's freezing cold ..
fraulein
post Apr 9 2011, 04:49 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 7 2011, 05:46 PM)
What about leng chai that looks like Im Ju Hwan, Lee Min Ho or Jang Geun Seuk  brows.gif  brows.gif

I would like to the see their leng chai too.  biggrin.gif
I was expecting to see a lot of leng chai too but maybe I missed the night spots and pubs so didn't manage to see much. The only leng chai I saw is one that jaga the subway station guy, I forgot which station, maybe Chungmuro station.

Jang Geun Seuk & Lee Min Ho is everywhere you turned but ONLY... on t shirts, posters, ads and even on stockings.. tongue.gif
My poor favourite Im Ju Hwan only got his face at STCO outlet.

My hubby is the untung one, can see so many leng luis.

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 7 2011, 08:56 PM)
Theres very very minor radiation detected in the rain showers at Busan today.
It's.. started. People at Busan were quite scared to go out today.

Hope it doesn't get worst.
More rain expected over the next 2 days.
Ho... any radiation spotted in Seoul on that day? I was at Nami Island and got a lot of rain on me too..

When I was coming back yesterday, weather was getting better and I only need to wear my cardigan. But still, better bring a thick, wind resistant type jacket.

Anyone going back to Msia using AirasiaX, please make sure you ate dinner and bought everything you need before heading for Incheon airport. All the shops in Incheon closed at 9 pm. blink.gif

Can anyone tell me what's the normal working hour for Seoulites? I can't help wondering why there's a lot of people heading to work at 10 am and by 4.30 pm all office guy and lady were all over the street. I thought Koreans are one of the nations that have the longest working hour. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: Apr 9 2011, 04:52 PM
fraulein
post Apr 9 2011, 05:47 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 9 2011, 05:15 PM)
Nope, no radiation spotted in the rain at Seoul or Nami Island for that matter.
And no Koreans were reported to have any radiation effects either.

As for working hours in Seoul, it's a common misunderstanding.
The LONG working horus are at the factories and the entertainment businesses, others... they're just pretty much like Malaysia.
Thanks SSJBen.

No wonder the office ladies were all over the place by evening.
fraulein
post Apr 10 2011, 09:27 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 9 2011, 09:43 PM)
You must have not been to Dongdaemon. Ladies there are still
Shopping at 1-2am on a weekday night!
Been there, done that and got really bored...
That's why I wonder why the Korean girls keep shopping and shopping any day any time, like they don't have to work..

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Apr 10 2011, 12:31 AM)
rclxms.gif yeah agree with this. msian leng lui got more. don kena tipu by kdrama/kpop artist.
One thing I noticed, the Korean girls are not slim like models, like we always saw in Kdrama. Their S size cutting are a bit bigger while most of them buy M size. I didn't see any XS. But their makeup technics and dressings are really thumbup.gif

Korean guys, I think most of them looks very 'original'. biggrin.gif

Oh one more thing. The Koreans that we met are 2 extreme opposites, either very kind or very very rude. We asked an uncle how to get to Bukchon Hanok Village, and he brought us all the way there and even became our free tour guide. He talked the guard into letting us into Baek Inje's house in Gahoe Dong even though it's closed for renovation. 2 Korean ladies seeing that we only eat Samgyetang at Tosokchon, belanja us to eat seafood pancake. A few Korean girls we met at Noryangjin, spent the whole hour helping us to find a good seafood stall and restaurant & helped us to bargain with the fish monger even though they don't understand what we're saying. They even bargained until the fish monger gave us some free oysters and octopus.

On the rude side. when we need to looked at our map, we stand aside (like there's already a wall behind us) so we won't obstruct the people walking. But still some rude Koreans use their hands to push us aside because they want to walk the tiny little space between us and the wall. This happened many times by older or younger Koreans - like they're already accustomed to pushing people with their hands. When asking for way (I just want to show them the hangul name of the place), some ignore us and quickly walked away like we're some sort of smelly beggars.

This post has been edited by fraulein: Apr 10 2011, 09:50 AM
fraulein
post Apr 10 2011, 03:49 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Apr 10 2011, 12:55 PM)
Haha,I think it happen in the subway? Cos everyone is too busy going for work rushing for time.
Not only subway but pedestrian walkways and shopping center too. ohmy.gif If we pushed someone in that way in Msia, surely will start a fight already.

Stimix,
drunk men hugging each other - checked.
drunk men holding each other's hand - checked
drunk man follow and talking to us all the way in Seoul station - checked
drunk men fighting - checked
salesman on MRT - checked
salesman doing sampling on MRT- checked
homeless guys having a small compartment made out of boxes as their sleeping place outside subway station - checked

beggars begging on MRT? Now, that's something new to me.
fraulein
post Apr 12 2011, 12:57 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 11 2011, 01:27 PM)
Poor Im Ju Hwan  cry.gif  He's my favourite too. He should be more on bill board & endorsing brand instead of STCO outlet.

OK, need help from fellow forumers. Below are my intended programme. Pls fee free to help me to adjust and give some recommendation on what we should add or remove. Tks

Day 01
Arrive Incheon at 0710hrs. Take train to the guesthouse at Ewha Woman's University area. Chk in and rest. Around 12pm go to Gyeongbokgung Palace, Changdeokgung Palace, Namsan Seoul Tower and shopping at Namdaemun Market.

Day 02
Visit Royal Tomb of Joseon Dynasty, Suwon Hwaseong Fortress.

Day 03
Gimpo Airpot to Jeju do

Day 04
In Jeju

Day 05
Jeju/Seoul. Shopping at Myeong Deong, Insadong, Itaewon

Day 06
Korea Folk Village and Everland.

Day 07
Free

Day 08
Free

Day 09
Return to KL in the morning.
Depends on what time you arrived back from Jeju, if you'll be in Seoul only by evening, better put Insadong and Itaewon to another day.

How about slotting in Nami Island? We enjoyed there a lot. We ta pao a lot of food and had picnic there, but there's a few restaurants if you don't wanna ta pao. Just check on whether it's going to rain or not on that day. You can take a bus from Insadong to Nami Island. The fee is 23,000 per person for return trip inclusive ferry fee. But time is only 9.30am and come back at 4pm.

Not sure if you wanna go 2 palaces or not. I highly anticipated Gyeongbokgung but when I visited, I got bored very quickly. Unlike other nation that decorates their palaces with grandeur and collections, Gyeongbokgung is very simple (Confucianism concept). Not sure about the palace museum though cause it's close on the day I visit.

Namdaemun is better to go in the early morning when there's less crowd but all shops are open. By evening, some of the shops are closed already except the food streets.

If you like skincare and cosmetic, you'll be spending a lot of time in Myeongdong. I myself went back there 3 times. BTW, don't miss out Lotte Young Plaza. They have promotions at their Ground level and I managed to get a good and cheap trench coat there.

This post has been edited by fraulein: Apr 12 2011, 01:14 AM
fraulein
post Apr 14 2011, 11:38 AM

510 posts

For anyone planning to rent iPhone there, the free 5 days rental promotion had ended. I had to pay the rental but got 50% discount la because we have coupon.

0.0602sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:28 PM