Travel South Korea V2
tenten.wikuta
Mar 10 2011, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 7 2011, 04:24 PM) Haha..dun worry all AAX current flight also will be arriving ~9PM and departing ~ 11:30pm Seoul time.. All hotels that I stayed b4 having no problem allowing to put our luggages at their hotel while waiting for room or even waiting for departure time. What I did on last day..Early check-out ~ 8am and straight away put my luggages as other guests at the common lobby...Well for security purposes, ensure you don't put any valuables inside-lah... Thereafter I only came back ~ 4pm to the hotel & made my way to the airport... Uncle, why did u get back to the hotel around 4pm and then make your way to the airport after that? Wasnt it to early since the flight is at 1130pm?
tenten.wikuta
Mar 10 2011, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 10 2011, 05:08 PM) Nothing much to do liao...Shop to many times Namdaemun & Myeong Dong infact almost every Morning & nite at these two areas.. haha..So instead of going to late, decided to go earlier than Seoul peak hour MRT jam...and having better quality time spent at Incheon superb airport...Well, for the world best airport, spending few hours there already consider another attraction liao  MRT peak hour? Ok, I dont know that. I am going to Gimpo airport from Myeong Dong on Monday morning. My flight to Jeju from Gimpo would be at 12pm. MRT peak hour should be from 7am to 9am right? And 5pm to 7pm? Correct me if I am wrong.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 10 2011, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 10 2011, 09:04 PM) that peak hours are pretty standard everywhere around the world..common sense liao haha Haha true true. I am not planning to bring much, so I am planning to buy those stylish-stylish jacket for men which I heard is damn cheap. Where is the best bet to buy that? Namdaemun?
tenten.wikuta
Mar 12 2011, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 11 2011, 06:02 PM) I only saw 4-pax dorm in Stay Korea II. Apparently it's the same for Stay Korea I.. http://www.staykorea.co.kr/english/03-2.htmlP/S: If you haven't been to Seoul before (like us), once you arrived @ airport - take the elevator down to B2 and walk about 5-8min to AREX station (underground). Buy T-Money at the big metal machine there or go to the counter to purchase single journey ticket (4000won) to Hongik Univ station. If you want to play safe, approach the Transportation counter in airport (arrival hall, near to tourist info desk) for help. Those men in yellow uniform can speak english to help you (that was how we found the train stn..) T-Money: We tried to buy from the GS25 mart in Incheon Airport but they said they don't sell.. so, how come other forumers managed to get them there? We managed to get T-Money from Hongik Univ station with the help of the staff there. We didn't even know the machine is to purchase T-Money =.= Remember to top it up right after the purchase (same as Singapore's EZLink card) either at the same machine or those next to it. Dang! We cant buy TMoney at the airport? I'm going there this Friday
tenten.wikuta
Mar 13 2011, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(moronic @ Mar 13 2011, 09:54 AM) I going tomorrow night.... anyone at Korea now?? How is the weather gonna be.. Freezing
tenten.wikuta
Mar 14 2011, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 14 2011, 09:59 AM) My fave drink in South Korea: Yuza Blossom Tea in Holly Cafe. Not cheap, about 4000 won or so but it definitely warms me up and it tastes really good! [attachmentid=2093883][attachmentid=2093889] Ok sophistafunk, the floor is yours now. Feed us with all the photos you have .
tenten.wikuta
Mar 15 2011, 02:55 PM
I'm going this Friday 18th. The 4th reactor at the Fukushima just blew up. South Korea is close to Japan. Great. Just great.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 17 2011, 08:56 AM
Haha I've booked Room 101 too at TGG. Even bought some souvenir for Sylvia. Will arrive at Jeju this Monday. Looks like I'll be smelling Sophistafunk leftover
tenten.wikuta
Mar 17 2011, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 17 2011, 10:19 AM) Am jealous of you now.. wish I'm still in Jeju! Room 101 is nice but then the view from room is nothing much.. basically you'll only see the area outside the inn. But then it was the most luxurious one compared to my stay in Seoul and Gyeongju.. It is the cheapest and for nice view we can just go and hang out upstairs right?
tenten.wikuta
Mar 18 2011, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 17 2011, 03:17 PM) I thought Jeju Hiking Inn is cheaper? About 30,000won per night.. I meant the cheapest room within TGG hehe. For sleep only, theres no need for extravagant room for me.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 18 2011, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 18 2011, 12:32 AM) From the website, 55,000won is the cheapest - room 105. But TGG is always full house so it's difficult to secure booking within short period.. True. Thats why I booked the room November last year. Thanks for feeding us with all the pics sophistfunk  I am checking in now hehe. P/S: Hoping the radiation in Japan wont spread until Seoul. God save us all.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 22 2011, 10:48 PM
[quote=samforte,Mar 22 2011, 02:25 PM] [quote=Seng007,Mar 22 2011, 10:41 AM] Day 1 Departed from LCCT. Touched down at Incheon International Airport at about 920pm. After a long queue at immigration custom, we managed to board AREX train at about 1045 pm. Headed towards Seoul Station and managed to board the last subway train heading towards Cheongyangni Station. Lodging at Flower Hotel which is about 500m away from the subway station. We managed to settle down at about 1 am. where did u buy T-Money card in Incheon Airport? Will be staying at Flower Hotel from 2nd night onwards... [/quote] Tmoney can be bought at the store opposite the Incheon airport. At the basement. But seriously, getting Tmoney is easy around Seoul. GS25, Family Mart all of them sell the card.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 27 2011, 03:52 PM
Bonquet? It is not Baguette? Btw, just got back this morning. Yup it was snowing the other day. Weird. I was eating at Itaewon and it suddenly poured. Had to buy payung, but no space to fit in luggage. Left at the hotel. And it was a cute payung!
tenten.wikuta
Mar 28 2011, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 28 2011, 03:54 PM) Hi, as some forumers pointed out, it snowed a few days ago and it's very windy right now. wunderground.com says it's max 16 celcius and coldest at 0 degree at night while timeanddate.com hovers between -3 to 12 degrees. Now I'm confused about what's to bring and wear when I'm there next week. Do I still need gloves, beanie cap and boots to stay warm? Initially I'm planning to just wear jeans, sandals, cardigans and normal jackets but now I wonder if they are sufficient. Boots not needed I think. Just 2 layers of cloth would be sufficient. I have survived with that, jeans and Converse shoes plus stocking. But had to keep my hands in pocket most of the time. The best part is when there is direct sunlight. That's when you will appreciate sun and Malaysia  Remember Jeju is a completely different story.
tenten.wikuta
Mar 28 2011, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(fraulein @ Mar 28 2011, 09:32 PM) Thanks tenten. Then my initial plan is ok.. Just may need to change the sandals to shoes and stocking.  No problem. Better to regret bringing all the things than to regret not bringing nothing at all  Or else if you have money, just buy all the shoes stockings hoodie there hehe. They are so cheap
tenten.wikuta
Mar 29 2011, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:38 AM) Haha...seem like quite a few people going Seoul this week. I'm flying this sunday, anyone with me?  Btw, i just bring 1 hoodie there. Hopefully i can survive the cold before i buy jacket there. Don't think there will be cherry blossom with this kind of weather:( You will survive dont worry. Dont forget mosturiser if your skin is prone to dry cold weather rash. Most of the people do since we are from a warmer country.
tenten.wikuta
Apr 4 2011, 06:44 PM
For those who have been to Jeju, did you rent scooter/bike there? Any experience to share?
tenten.wikuta
Apr 6 2011, 10:40 AM
I prefer Ewha Uni instead of Dongdaemun.
For Halal food, there are plentyat Itaewon since its the foreigner neighbourhood. You should find 1 or 2 kebab houses at Ewha. Didn't see any at Myeong-dong.
tenten.wikuta
Apr 7 2011, 08:38 AM
Trust me language barrier is not a problem. Just like what one of the forumer said, we can have a very informative and mutual understanding eventhough we talk bahasa to them and they are replying in hangul. Its fun. For me. Eventhough I can speak a little bit of hangul, I seldomly use it. I pretend not to know and then at the end of the conversation I replied back in Korean and see they cheer up and hit me lightly for pretending. Mostly the ahjummas hehe. Its adventurous.
Plus seoul, jeju and most of the place are very tourist oriented. English signboards sre everywhere.
tenten.wikuta
Apr 8 2011, 07:59 PM
I've got mine at Masjid India for 2.77 last month. Brought back 600,000 won. Want to keep it since I will be going there again next year hehe