The Sony Alpha Thread V51!, The Orange Legion

ieR
post Mar 24 2011, 02:43 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i am busy with a new writeup about monitor calibration.

usually the jpeg (picture of alot black and white thingie) or software that show a series of black and white tweaking for monitor usually cover Contracts and Brightness.

Contrast shows details on Photo.
Brightness Shows "proper eV" on photo (important to calibrate as today most LCD are 'ultra bright' LED thing which make underexpose photo look overexpose.

only proper calibration tool like spyder will have advance calibration of RGB and TEMP. RGB is just a minor balancing. while temp is important, it give u the idea how blue or red is 5500k (but calibration standard target is 6500k due to RGB output, print out is CMYK) sometimes, u shot a normal 5500k photo, (general laptop are cool temp) but on ur lcd, it look blue (face arent cute red) so u might adjust the red slider till it look good on ur lcd. but on home pc (acer/samsung are warmer, HP dell are 6500k), it will turn out very red face.

so RGB/Temp show proper kelvin of ur photo.

(will continue after i finish the whole article tongue.gif and maybe will provide calibration service in future!....)
jfrymdwsz
post Mar 24 2011, 04:16 PM

Wh alpha model is better for someone who is non-newbie (but not expert either), A700 or A580?
Pls elaborate why so?
Thks!

This post has been edited by jfrymdwsz: Mar 24 2011, 04:20 PM
ieR
post Mar 24 2011, 04:23 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

A700 vs A580.

A700 is aging, if u wan physical control, A700. and the quick navi. access to 1/3 stop of iso, commander WL flash with F58 (if u dont know what i just said, then its not meant for u)

otherwise, A580 new tech win in many ways.

i. MP = more
ii. iso = cleaner vs A700
iii. multi iso = even cleaner, a good add on option
iv. more AF point = 11 in ovf (4 become hidden assist for center point), 15 in QLV.
v. ohhh QLV, the best thing of DSLR. A700 doesnt have it
vi. better LCD and u can flip for low/high angel shot.
vii. back to AF, it can do better AF lock at low light (tested with gouki with his A700 vs A580)
viii. 7fps? important?
ix. auto HDR is really good feature for landscape and low light interior shooter!.

This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 24 2011, 04:24 PM
chiahau
post Mar 24 2011, 04:26 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

You forget A55, Ed biggrin.gif

EVF, i tell you. EVF tongue.gif
TSalbnok
post Mar 24 2011, 04:28 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Newbieeeeee: Your 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT is the original or the SAM version? If it's the SAM version then you might have a problem, but it is best to compare to another 50mm F1.8 DT SAM.
ieR
post Mar 24 2011, 04:39 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 24 2011, 04:26 PM)
You forget A55, Ed biggrin.gif

EVF, i tell you. EVF tongue.gif
i just replying what he asked ma, no point going off topic. and i assume he looking for big grip body.
fansoption
post Mar 24 2011, 05:23 PM

3,065 posts

i get alot comment of other people, saying my macro photoshoot is very diffrent style with other, always the color is very colorful and vibrant smile.gif haha!
I learn macro almost need 1 year already. did i have improve?

This post has been edited by fansoption: Mar 24 2011, 05:24 PM
eddybeh
post Mar 24 2011, 06:57 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 24 2011, 02:43 PM)
i am busy with a new writeup about monitor calibration.

usually the jpeg (picture of alot black and white thingie) or software that show a series of black and white tweaking for monitor usually cover Contracts and Brightness.

Contrast shows details on Photo.
Brightness Shows "proper eV" on photo (important to calibrate as today most LCD are 'ultra bright' LED thing which make underexpose photo look overexpose.

only proper calibration tool like spyder will have advance calibration of RGB and TEMP. RGB is just a minor balancing. while temp is important, it give u the idea how blue or red is 5500k (but calibration standard target is 6500k due to RGB output, print out is CMYK) sometimes, u shot a normal 5500k photo, (general laptop are cool temp) but on ur lcd, it look blue (face arent cute red) so u might adjust the red slider till it look good on ur lcd. but on home pc (acer/samsung are warmer, HP dell are 6500k), it will turn out very red face.

so RGB/Temp show proper kelvin of ur photo.

(will continue after i finish the whole article tongue.gif and maybe will provide calibration service in future!....)
yeah good good!! ieR this is a very good topic rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ieR
post Mar 24 2011, 06:58 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

fansoption: i dont get ur english, but macro is really a diff world of photography, see thing different, and many, MANY ways to execute macro shooting.
Newbieeeeee
post Mar 24 2011, 07:04 PM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Mar 24 2011, 02:27 PM)
hmmm i just tried the 50mmf1.8 on my bro's a380 works fine. u off the AF switch on lens?
Thats why.. Its my lens I think. Cause other lenses works fine on my a380! Its on AF always. smile.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 24 2011, 04:28 PM)
Newbieeeeee: Your 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT is the original or the SAM version? If it's the SAM version then you might have a problem, but it is best to compare to another 50mm F1.8 DT SAM.
My 55200 is the SAM. unsure.gif

fansoption
post Mar 24 2011, 08:22 PM

3,065 posts

Just now after work I go test 35mm F1.8 really sharp I reserved 1 sat go take haha.
ahtsong
post Mar 24 2011, 10:25 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 24 2011, 04:23 PM)
A700 vs A580.

A700 is aging, if u wan physical control, A700. and the quick navi. access to 1/3 stop of iso, commander WL flash with F58 (if u dont know what i just said, then its not meant for u)

otherwise, A580 new tech win in many ways.

i. MP = more
ii. iso = cleaner vs A700
iii. multi iso = even cleaner, a good add on option
iv. more AF point = 11 in ovf (4 become hidden assist for center point), 15 in QLV.
v. ohhh QLV, the best thing of DSLR. A700 doesnt have it
vi. better LCD and u can flip for low/high angel shot.
vii. back to AF, it can do better AF lock at low light (tested with gouki with his A700 vs A580)
viii. 7fps? important?
ix. auto HDR is really good feature for landscape and low light interior shooter!.
u miss out the HD Video as well...seems like my A700 is dinosaur now
viruz019
post Mar 24 2011, 10:34 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

guys, let's say i wanna take pictures of gadgets for reviewing purpose, it's better to have white background and surface right? is it alright to use cloth for the surface? and roughly how many meter would i need? O.O..or is there any other method..sifu pls teach tongue.gif
porkchop
post Mar 24 2011, 11:04 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Mar 24 2011, 08:22 PM)
Just now after work I go test 35mm F1.8 really sharp I reserved 1 sat go take haha.
flex.gif good choice...where u going to take and wats the market price now? if got sigma 85 1.4 can help me check too??
chiahau
post Mar 24 2011, 11:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Mar 24 2011, 11:04 PM)
flex.gif good choice...where u going to take and wats the market price now? if got sigma 85 1.4 can help me check too??
Wa porkchop, go straight CZ 85 la tongue.gif
ahpingko
post Mar 24 2011, 11:36 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Today actually shooting my uncle's pre wedding...but miscommunication and misunderstanding make me no chance to shoot...stand aside see the official photographer and his assistant shooting, by harshly asking for smile and pose...keep scolding..so unprofessional...kesian them...10am shoot at studio until 5.45pm...only go putrajaya...so i end up shooting my gf instead.... doh.gif

some photos:

Moments - 18 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 15 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 12 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 11 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 5 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

This post has been edited by ahpingko: Mar 24 2011, 11:52 PM
fansoption
post Mar 24 2011, 11:43 PM

3,065 posts

ahpingko skill getting geng
zstan
post Mar 24 2011, 11:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Mar 24 2011, 08:22 PM)
where's your location a? can help me buy one also?><
ahpingko
post Mar 24 2011, 11:50 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Moments - 4 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 8 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 9 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 16 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Moments - 1 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

Added on March 24, 2011, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(fansoption @ Mar 24 2011, 11:43 PM)
ahpingko skill getting geng
thx thx...still learning too.. blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by ahpingko: Mar 24 2011, 11:51 PM
fansoption
post Mar 24 2011, 11:56 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 24 2011, 11:46 PM)
where's your location a? can help me buy one also?><
KLCC sonystyle smile.gif retail price Rm899

127 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top