Tiles, Cost and Installation

weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 09:21 PM

12,019 posts

If you don't put BRC, your floor will sink. Is even faster if you drive huge heavy car or truck.
kelvyn
post Oct 27 2011, 09:27 PM

3,173 posts

The BRC is acting as reinforcement for the slab to prevent cracking. It does not effect whether the slab sink or not.
Proper compaction below the slab will ensure/ reduce the sinking. smile.gif
weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 10:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 27 2011, 09:27 PM)
The BRC is acting as reinforcement for the slab to prevent cracking. It does not effect whether the slab sink or not.
Proper compaction below the slab will ensure/ reduce the sinking. smile.gif
Maybe is not good to put "sink" only. Is actually is called RC, not BRC. It make the concrete better support tensile strength and sudden change in stress (load). Without RC, and with soft soil it will crack and sink down.

ummul21
post Oct 28 2011, 12:31 PM

173 posts

I have problem with my new tiles grout. My tiles is dark brown, but the grout gap is white colour which is too obvious and not nice.

What I can do to make it dark? I googled about a product called Grout Colorant. But where can I find this product in Malaysia?

Regards,
kelvyn
post Oct 28 2011, 01:18 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(ummul21 @ Oct 28 2011, 01:31 PM)
I have problem with my new tiles grout. My tiles is dark brown, but the grout gap is white colour which is too obvious and not nice.

What I can do to make it dark? I googled about a product called Grout Colorant. But where can I find this product in Malaysia?

Regards,
Grout Colorant is applied by painting over your existing grout. This can be a very tedious process; not forgetting back breaking.
If it is for your floor tiles where there are lots of traffic, it may not that durable.
Alternatively, you could get your contractor to remove the existing grout. White cement can be easily remove as compared to the grey cement. Then re-grout with your preferred colour grout. This will be longer lasting.

ummul21
post Oct 28 2011, 02:01 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 28 2011, 01:18 PM)
Grout Colorant is applied by painting over your existing grout. This can be a very tedious process; not forgetting back breaking.
If it is for your floor tiles where there are lots of traffic, it may not that durable.
Alternatively, you could get your contractor to remove the existing grout. White cement can be easily remove as compared to the grey cement. Then re-grout with your preferred colour grout. This will be longer lasting.
The problem is the contractor just wash hand... they said nothing can be done once the tiling work completed. cry.gif
Will it cost a lot, if I assign other contractor to do?
kelvyn
post Oct 28 2011, 02:15 PM

3,173 posts

From what my reno contractor told me previously, it should not cost an arm & leg. smile.gif
He did that for one of his client when he was renovating his house. Since he was carrying out the other renovation work at the same time .... That was replacing the existing floor tile grout by the developer.
Anyway, it will also depends on the area affected and the man-days required.

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Oct 28 2011, 02:16 PM
ummul21
post Oct 28 2011, 02:48 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 28 2011, 02:15 PM)
From what my reno contractor told me previously, it should not cost an arm & leg.  smile.gif
He did that for one of his client when he was renovating his house. Since he was carrying out the other renovation work at the same time .... That was replacing the existing floor tile grout by the developer.
Anyway, it will also depends on the area affected and the man-days required.
Thanks for the feedback. I will try to talk to the contractor. Not much area affected, only living hall. This is because I choose the change the tile color for living hall from original white to dark brown during the building construction. But somehow they screw up the grout by using the standard one. doh.gif
kelvyn
post Oct 28 2011, 02:57 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(ummul21 @ Oct 28 2011, 03:48 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. I will try to talk to the contractor. Not much area affected, only living hall. This is because I choose the change the tile color for living hall from original white to dark brown during the building construction. But somehow they screw up the grout by using the standard one. doh.gif
Try talking to your contractor and offer to compensate 50% for the labour required. Will be win-win for both parties smile.gif
kucingfight
post Oct 28 2011, 07:53 PM

5,784 posts

recently i juz bought guocera 2x2 tiles, 2 diff colors, only to realized, one color batch are grade superior, the other one grade 1. anyone knows what are the difference?

Added on October 28, 2011, 8:03 pmrecently i bought guocera 2x2 tiles, 2 diff colors, only to realized, one color batch are grade superior, the other one grade 1. anyone knows what are the difference?

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Oct 28 2011, 08:03 PM
scouser7
post Oct 28 2011, 09:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 27 2011, 09:09 PM)
Better to have BRC if you are making a new car porch floor. No point trying to save on this.
Not dispose rubbish. Does it mean that you will provide the tong sampah for the contractor?
Sorry guys, but i was no clear in my reply abt the BRC. I'm putting BRC for porch area but the price given my tiler doesnt include BRC. Also, the rubbish container ir borne by me coz my main contractor i chase away for it doin work.
Anyway, what u guys think, should take up the tiler at RM7.50 all in or RM4.50 excluding tiles.
coconutzz
post Oct 28 2011, 09:42 PM

1,109 posts

Pardon my ignorance.. May I ask if broken marbles are cheaper in cost?
kelvyn
post Oct 28 2011, 09:58 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 28 2011, 10:34 PM)
Sorry guys, but i was no clear in my reply abt the BRC. I'm putting BRC for porch area but the price given my tiler doesnt include BRC. Also, the rubbish container ir borne by me coz my main contractor i chase away for it doin work.
Anyway, what u guys think, should take up the tiler at RM7.50 all in or RM4.50 excluding tiles.
The rates of RM7.5 includes what tile size? 1'x1' or 2'x2'? The diff between is only RM3.5 for the tiles. If you are using 1'x1' tiles, should be quite reasonable. However, if using 2'x2', then will be quite difficult to get those reputable 2'x2' tiles.
So, it is up to you what tiles you plan to use. Normally for car porch people will go for either 1'x1' or 1'x2' tiles.
Bear in mind that no contractor will do a money losing deal. So, what you pay is what you get smile.gif

kucingfight
post Oct 28 2011, 10:35 PM

5,784 posts

also to add, rm3.50 tiles assumingly for 1x2 tiles will most probably b grade B. but it's fine tho, as it is not necessary for grade A @ porch
scouser7
post Oct 29 2011, 06:22 PM

233 posts

[quote=kelvyn,Oct 28 2011, 09:58 PM]
The rates of RM7.5 includes what tile size? 1'x1' or 2'x2'? The diff between is only RM3.5 for the tiles. If you are using 1'x1' tiles, should be quite reasonable. However, if using 2'x2', then will be quite difficult to get those reputable 2'x2' tiles.
So, it is up to you what tiles you plan to use. Normally for car porch people will go for either 1'x1' or 1'x2' tiles.
Bear in mind that no contractor will do a money losing deal. So, what you pay is what you get smile.gif

[/quote
Thanks for ya replies guys. I asked the tiler and he said RM7.50 is for 2x2 tiles and for 1x1 or 1x2 it should be any tile NOT more RM2.50 per sq ft. If i choose RM4.50 it does not cover cement and sand but only labour and susu.
For 2x2 tiles i dont mind those china made cheap ones and like kucingfight said for porch its ok for Grade B tiles. I tried to get the tiler to include cement for the RM4.50 rate but he wouldnt budge.
Man, this house renovation thing is a BIG headache lah. rclxub.gif
weikee
post Oct 29 2011, 06:40 PM

12,019 posts

Thing expensive already. Grade B some time not symmetric and don't look nice.
RailKill
post Oct 30 2011, 01:04 PM

49 posts

[quote=kucingfight,Oct 28 2011, 07:53 PM]
recently i juz bought guocera 2x2 tiles, 2 diff colors, only to realized, one color batch are grade superior, the other one grade 1. anyone knows what are the difference?

Added on October 28, 2011, 8:03 pmrecently i bought guocera 2x2 tiles, 2 diff colors, only to realized, one color batch are grade superior, the other one grade 1. anyone knows what are the difference?

[/quote]

There are no superior grade tiles locally because all are exported. Different shade because different batch. Tiles are graded lower on factors such presence of pin holes, symmetry, size variance and warping.

[quote=scouser7,Oct 29 2011, 06:22 PM]
[quote=kelvyn,Oct 28 2011, 09:58 PM]

[/quote
Thanks for ya replies guys. I asked the tiler and he said RM7.50 is for 2x2 tiles and for 1x1 or 1x2 it should be any tile NOT more RM2.50 per sq ft. If i choose RM4.50 it does not cover cement and sand but only labour and susu.
For 2x2 tiles i dont mind those china made cheap ones and like kucingfight said for porch its ok for Grade B tiles. I tried to get the tiler to include cement for the RM4.50 rate but he wouldnt budge.
Man, this house renovation thing is a BIG headache lah. rclxub.gif

[/quote]

Price of RM7.50 for 2x2 tiles all-in is good. thumbup.gif Ask tiler to provide sample of the actual tile to use as standard before comfirming. Just remember to keep the tile so you can compare.
weikee
post Oct 30 2011, 01:22 PM

12,019 posts

If is too good to be true, than is not true.
scouser7
post Oct 30 2011, 02:14 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(RailKill @ Oct 30 2011, 01:04 PM)
There are no superior grade tiles locally because all are exported. Different shade because different batch. Tiles are graded lower on factors such presence of pin holes, symmetry, size variance and warping.
Price of RM7.50 for 2x2 tiles all-in is good.  thumbup.gif  Ask tiler to provide sample of the actual tile to use as standard before comfirming. Just remember to keep the tile so you can compare.
Thanks for ya reply Railkill. Tiler said i can go with him to choose the tile i want. Will defo keep one sample to compare.
Good advise and opinion from all you sifu's here. Really thankful for givin ya time and effort. God bless all of you!!! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by scouser7: Oct 30 2011, 02:15 PM
realstingzz
post Oct 31 2011, 11:46 AM

82 posts

i need to repair my wall tiles...small portion..need reasonable price...any contractor to recommend?..danau kota area...TQ..

136 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:33 PM