124 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

Agito666
post Feb 23 2011, 09:52 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 23 2011, 08:20 AM)
OS = Optical Stabilization.
Don't be lazy. Google !
google alraedy..still blur unsure.gif

eh front page dun have Short form dictionary?

like what is AF-S, Af ar.... OS la...VR la... unsure.gif
aldosoesilo
post Feb 23 2011, 10:24 AM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(hellsoldier33 @ Feb 23 2011, 07:17 AM)
somehow i feel canon calour is like more bright but nikon more sharp and dark, can feel quality if comparing on the exposure. nikon seems more less, no wonder all football photography using nikon ?
football photog a lot using white lens yow! laugh.gif

QUOTE(hellsoldier33 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:25 AM)
can recommend which portrait lens is good and cheap enough for d5000?
35mm 1.8G I am using it and it's a very good lens I'd say.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2011, 08:29 AM)
Been searching for the HB-55, but so far all says need to order etc but can't commit timeline.
35mm f/1.8G, able to autofocus.

Else 50mm f/1.4D, cheap but unable to autofocus on D5000.
Hey hey bro.. can join find HB-32 ma? Please.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 23 2011, 09:52 AM)
google alraedy..still blur  unsure.gif

VR.VC.OS.IS they are brothar and sista icon_idea.gif
TSKTCY
post Feb 23 2011, 10:25 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 23 2011, 09:52 AM)
google alraedy..still blur  unsure.gif

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikortek.htm

Sold off my 35/2 already. rclxms.gif
1.4 1.4 1.4 wub.gif
Andy214
post Feb 23 2011, 10:27 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hellsoldier33 @ Feb 23 2011, 05:43 AM)
Guys, just a question. In the end, what the biggest difference that Nikon and Canon distinguish?

I believe Nikon plays with contrast, but canon more pure and original. is that true?
The biggest difference is the name/company/brand tongue.gif
Really, some people are brand concious and go by brand.

The colour, contrast, etc, if you do post processing, most probably it won't matter, besides, you have in camera picture control to adjust it to your liking. Unless you only shoot auto on standard picture control.

The main difference is the body design, which is obvious from the looks itself, then the grip, feel, etc. Button layout, design, navigtion, and the menu system. As for performance, you might need to test out each model usually. As for specs, you can basically see the difference from the spec sheet.
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 10:29 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 09:43 AM)
Spot on bro!  thumbup.gif

I've went on a job assignment and met with some media pros including Bernama, Astro Awani & several other media photo/videographers. Talked to one reporter from Astro Awani, and I talked about the D3s and he said most of the guys there that have their D3s just changed system from canon to nikon because their companies changed brand & there's a lot of media companies that are doing that. He said it's a bit of pain for em because most of them are used to canon and now they have to get used to using nikon. I asked why the media companies changed system... he was reluctant to say & just changed the topic after that (probably because he is a canon user himself) blink.gif A good example of NEED vs WANT.
Maybe the guys were complaining that they didn't get any shot due to slow focus tongue.gif. Just kidding haha!
Agito666
post Feb 23 2011, 10:31 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 23 2011, 10:25 AM)
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikortek.htm

Sold off my 35/2 already. rclxms.gif
1.4 1.4 1.4 wub.gif
so long list shocking.gif
need many time to digest....
aldosoesilo
post Feb 23 2011, 10:33 AM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 23 2011, 10:31 AM)
so long list  shocking.gif
those will never able to understand if they don't want to sacrifice their time. tongue.gif
geekster129
post Feb 23 2011, 10:34 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

geeks like me LOOOVVEE taking my sweet time to digest the information. icon_idea.gif
TSKTCY
post Feb 23 2011, 10:35 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I never really bother reading but once you get hands on, you should be understand it pretty well wink.gif
C_Sagi
post Feb 23 2011, 10:35 AM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

Hey guys, wanna ask. When u bring your camera to service, do u leave the lens attached or just the body ? First time bringing it to service.
Andy214
post Feb 23 2011, 10:37 AM

3,308 posts

You don't have to read all at once and memorize all, plus, it's not exam or anything.

Just bookmark it, and refer to it when you see any of those term, it's easier and make u remember/understand faster. If you read all now, doesn't mean you will remember it anyway.
TSKTCY
post Feb 23 2011, 10:37 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 23 2011, 10:35 AM)
Hey guys, wanna ask. When u bring your camera to service, do u leave the lens attached or just the body ? First time bringing it to service.
Body only. Battery also take back.
jchue73
post Feb 23 2011, 12:01 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Feb 22 2011, 08:35 PM)
80-200 two touch for RM2.8k. Is it a good price?
Assuming it's a good copy, that's a very fair price. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:47 AM)
Personally I would opt for two touch; Compare third party, Sigma is soft wide open, especially at 200mm. Third party lens might have built-in motor and newer technology.
Yes, I would do the same too. Then when you need something better, sell it. You can still command good price for it.

QUOTE(thomaskhling @ Feb 23 2011, 02:18 AM)
Does any hv this problem with zoom ring? quite stiff.. what should i do. go for service?
I think a simple lubrication service at Nikon SC should be able to cure the problem.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 23 2011, 07:38 AM)
And some very little issue on it doesn't make people won't buy it also. I've seen lots of nice images from the so-called-flawed 5d2. Well said bro celciuz.
It's the person behind the camera that matters most of the time. It's how you work around your equipment.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 09:10 AM)
"The focus issue is real. Canon's actions clearly establish this as fact.
Debating this reality is only a source of controversy, and needless at this point in time.

1. There was and is a problem with the MkIII. This is not longer a debate, it is fact.
2. Most of the released units to date may be effected.
3. Canon will be implementing a process to repair the MkIII"
I believe that's a very old statement. Canon has already re-called and provided a "fix" but it still remains a problem if I'm not mistaken. What I heard is the 1D Mark IV while better at AF, it introduces new set of AF problems.
alpha_company
post Feb 23 2011, 12:08 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2011, 10:29 AM)
Maybe the guys were complaining that they didn't get any shot due to slow focus tongue.gif. Just kidding haha!
Haha tongue.gif
celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 12:10 PM

14,037 posts

My friend's 1Dmk4 went back to Canon for almost 1 month to 'fix' the AF module. He was complaining about focusing inaccurate, the shooting the same thing under lowlight and focusing it twice with the AF, one shot can be sharp another can be slightly off focus.

Took back, so far his feedback is more or less similar LOL.

alpha_company
post Feb 23 2011, 12:21 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:01 PM)
I believe that's a very old statement. Canon has already re-called and provided a "fix" but it still remains a problem if I'm not mistaken. What I heard is the 1D Mark IV while better at AF, it introduces new set of AF problems.
Yup it was an old statement dating around 2007 I think... Yup, I've also read about photographers sending their 1Dm3 for repairs/service but when they got it back the problem still persists even when they send it in the 2nd time... I'm not sure if they ever got it fixed at all. The hardware problem is much harder to fix.... I feel sorry for those people...

For 5Dm2 there's numerous firmware updates that upgrades stuffs & fixes a lot of problems, glitches or whatever..maybe because it has video mode.

I wonder why the D700 has so few firmware updates.... rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure about the 1Dm4 af problems... guess I'm better of in the DARKside.

Added on February 23, 2011, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2011, 12:10 PM)
My friend's 1Dmk4 went back to Canon for almost 1 month to 'fix' the AF module. He was complaining about focusing inaccurate, the shooting the same thing under lowlight and focusing it twice with the AF, one shot can be sharp another can be slightly off focus.

Took back, so far his feedback is more or less similar LOL.
My goodness... shakehead.gif Three years warranty but no satisfaction in using the product... That's the cream of the crop for canon... shocking.gif

Definitely made my mind... D700 it is.. hehehehe biggrin.gif ... Did i mention my friend got his D3 for just 6K NEW back in late 2009? Frickin unbelievable but true... He bought it and used it with an AFD 50 1.4...hehehe.. Same source as mine.. clearing stock or something...

Now I can sleep soundly & dream of wonderous stuffs... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Feb 23 2011, 12:32 PM
C_Sagi
post Feb 23 2011, 12:44 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 23 2011, 10:37 AM)
Body only. Battery also take back.
Oh, thanks. smile.gif
OldKidz
post Feb 23 2011, 01:05 PM

$ MoNeY $
1,573 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 23 2011, 12:44 PM)
Oh, thanks. smile.gif
Huh?

I tot if send in for services, better send in ur lens as well to tweak the focusing as well?

celciuz
post Feb 23 2011, 01:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 12:21 PM)
Yup it was an old statement dating around 2007 I think... Yup, I've also read about photographers sending their 1Dm3 for repairs/service but when they got it back the problem still persists even when they send it in the 2nd time... I'm not sure if they ever got it fixed at all. The hardware problem is much harder to fix.... I feel sorry for those people...

For 5Dm2 there's numerous firmware updates that upgrades stuffs & fixes a lot of problems, glitches or whatever..maybe because it has video mode.

I wonder why the D700 has so few firmware updates.... rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure about the 1Dm4 af problems... guess I'm better of in the DARKside.

Added on February 23, 2011, 12:32 pm

My goodness... shakehead.gif Three years warranty but no satisfaction in using the product... That's the cream of the crop for canon... shocking.gif

Definitely made my mind... D700 it is.. hehehehe  biggrin.gif ... Did i mention my friend got his D3 for just 6K NEW back in late 2009? Frickin unbelievable but true... He bought it and used it with an AFD 50 1.4...hehehe.. Same source as mine.. clearing stock or something...
Now I can sleep soundly & dream of wonderous stuffs... tongue.gif
Damn good price la... Now I know those shops earning so much if they ever manage to grab any of these cheap stocks!
TSKTCY
post Feb 23 2011, 01:38 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Feb 23 2011, 01:05 PM)
Huh?

I tot if send in for services, better send in ur lens as well to tweak the focusing as well?
He say service, I take that as servicing the cam only.

124 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:11 AM