Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

jchue73
post Feb 17 2011, 11:06 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(SeanLee85 @ Feb 16 2011, 10:51 PM)
Bad thgs is uk and us is out of stock(Lee Filters Digital Starter Kit ). I did find out Singapore Cathay got stock. but singapore got 7% gst, then not worth. So i try look in Malaysia, see got luck or not.
If you fly into Singapore, you can claim back the GST. Else, if you ask them to send the item out by post to you, tell them that GST should not be applicable.

Else, you can try and source Ebay.
jchue73
post Feb 17 2011, 03:53 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Feb 17 2011, 02:14 PM)
The 35 1.8G is only bout rm780
the 17-55 cost a bomb that's why might as well buy the 24-70 and upgrade the body.
Errr... Buy the 24-70 AND upgrade to D700? rclxub.gif Wouldn't that break the bank?

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 17 2011, 02:20 PM)
nod.gif
I even will go for 24-70 at any time as I find 17-55 range is not sufficient for me. tongue.gif
QUOTE(pikipiki @ Feb 17 2011, 02:23 PM)
Me too, but may be he wants to cover the wide ends too. I would never spend so much on DX.
Get the 24-70 and eat bread everyday to save for a FX body.  laugh.gif
What are you guys talking? hmm.gif Isn't 17-55 on DX equal to 25.5-82.5? That's very similar to 24-70 on FX. whistling.gif

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Feb 17 2011, 02:27 PM)
I will get 24-70mm when i got FX body but not now

ya i was thinking tamron , sigma , and nikon . wonder which is suit for DX

i need faster focus
On the DX and if you happen to use the 17-55, do you see yourself using more wide end or on the tele end?

If on the wide side, perhaps you can settle for the cheaper 16-35mm f/4 which is a stop slower lens than the 24-70mm f/2.8?

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Feb 17 2011, 03:12 PM)
the 80-200 has no VR which for a telephoto is kinda useless. The keep rate is just too low.
Must a lens have VR for it to become useful? How did people shoot with Nikon when the earlier 400mm, 500mm and 600mm lenses were without telephoto but yet still delivery stunning images?

I sometimes think we rely too much on technology. With proper shooting technique, you'll have no problems getting high keep rates with the 80-200mm f/2.8.

Besides, if you're into shooting fast action sports, you'd usually shoot without VR since VR interferes slightly with the focus acquisition and the time the camera needs to lock focus. Of course VR is useful during panning but even then it's not necessary.
jchue73
post Feb 17 2011, 04:45 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Feb 17 2011, 03:58 PM)
2) 16mm is not that wide for DX
If bbuser91 did not complain about the 17mm end from the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens, why would he complain about 16mm? hmm.gif

I'm more worried that he says the 35mm end from the 16-35mm f/4 is not tele enough...

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Feb 17 2011, 03:58 PM)
2) Of course you can, but I said the keep rate is too low and it is very hard to get sharp focus especially at the longer end without VR. For example handheld shooting a bird without VR and to get a sharp pic you really need to have a hand of steel.
If you talk about birding with 500mm and 600mm f/4 lenses, you do not need a hand of steel. There is this thing called the tripod. thumbup.gif For large lenses, you'd want the full Wimberley head or the smaller Wimberley Sidekick with arca swiss clamp ballhead. When you put the lens on a solid tripod mount, you'd want to turn off VR anyways. rclxms.gif

Sorry lah. Example shows a C lens. blush.gif
jchue73
post Feb 17 2011, 04:52 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(daze @ Feb 17 2011, 04:41 PM)
if 16mm is not wide on DX.
what is consider wide on DX? 12mm??
and how to define an ultra wide for a DX??? 5mm??
LOL

Ultra wide category is in the 10mm region on DX provided by the Sigma 10-20mm and Nikon's own 10-24mm which is 15mm equivalent on full frame. The 14-24mm f/2.8 is ultra wide on FX. The widest lens on FX is the Sigma 12-24mm f/4 if I'm not wrong.
jchue73
post Feb 17 2011, 05:39 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(daze @ Feb 17 2011, 05:24 PM)
conclusion...
- f2.8
- wide angle
- street photography
- DX camera

nikkor 14-24mm f2.8
tokina 11-16mm f2.8
nikkor 14mm f2.8
nikkor 20mm f2.8
nikkor 24mm f1.4
nikkor 24mm f2.8

list go on....
You forgot two lenses that were already discontinued... biggrin.gif

Nikkor 18mm f/2.8
Nikkor 28mm f/1.4

Incidentally, both are precission grounded glass.
jchue73
post Feb 22 2011, 08:11 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 22 2011, 09:52 AM)
Very true. Getting the AF-S 80200 might as well get VR 1
Depends on how much you can get the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8 for... If you're planning to use the VR 1 on FX body, it's ok unless you don't mind living with vignetting at wide open f/2.8.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 22 2011, 03:24 PM)
Yup yup.. price difference is close and plus you can get VR

Added on February 22, 2011, 3:26 pm

Never heard of such... maybe there are problems like that happening to some people but the problem with the AFS 80200 is a lot more serious as it just stop functioning all together and the cost of repairing the motor is a bomb.
The cost of repairing motor of ANY AF-S lenses cost a bomb. ANY lens that has it's AF-S motor spoiled would render the AF-S lens non-functioning. The problem is not isolated to the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 22 2011, 04:22 PM)
Go for D3s + 24-70.
You might regret once D700 replacement is out, just a sincere advice from me smile.gif
I think you're going to be more heartache when the D3s gets replaced...

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 22 2011, 06:16 PM)
Try google portrait lens, for FX, you will find 135mm f/2 DC. You can also find Portrait pictures @ 200mm on FX using 70-200mm f/2.8. So, it depends what kind of portrait you prefers more or you want to capture.
The 135mm f/2.0 DC is one of my favourites.

jchue73
post Feb 23 2011, 12:01 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Feb 22 2011, 08:35 PM)
80-200 two touch for RM2.8k. Is it a good price?
Assuming it's a good copy, that's a very fair price. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:47 AM)
Personally I would opt for two touch; Compare third party, Sigma is soft wide open, especially at 200mm. Third party lens might have built-in motor and newer technology.
Yes, I would do the same too. Then when you need something better, sell it. You can still command good price for it.

QUOTE(thomaskhling @ Feb 23 2011, 02:18 AM)
Does any hv this problem with zoom ring? quite stiff.. what should i do. go for service?
I think a simple lubrication service at Nikon SC should be able to cure the problem.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 23 2011, 07:38 AM)
And some very little issue on it doesn't make people won't buy it also. I've seen lots of nice images from the so-called-flawed 5d2. Well said bro celciuz.
It's the person behind the camera that matters most of the time. It's how you work around your equipment.

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 23 2011, 09:10 AM)
"The focus issue is real. Canon's actions clearly establish this as fact.
Debating this reality is only a source of controversy, and needless at this point in time.

1. There was and is a problem with the MkIII. This is not longer a debate, it is fact.
2. Most of the released units to date may be effected.
3. Canon will be implementing a process to repair the MkIII"
I believe that's a very old statement. Canon has already re-called and provided a "fix" but it still remains a problem if I'm not mistaken. What I heard is the 1D Mark IV while better at AF, it introduces new set of AF problems.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 10:43 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 23 2011, 09:30 PM)
No $$$ man.. got $$$ also is grab the 24mm and not the 35mm tongue.gif
Any reason why? 24mm f/1.4 better than 35mm f/1.4?

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 24 2011, 02:59 AM)
Err.. Why would an UWA lens have a big aperture like 1.something??
I don't get the purpose of it isn't that overkill.?
Yup, for most people, it's overkill since landscapes are always shot stopped down.

Big apertures on wide angles benefit people shooting in low light like photojournalist.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 24 2011, 10:19 AM)
bro are u sure nikkon is releasing 50 1.2?
because I heard that Nikkon mounting place is too small which makes them hard to make those big big aperture lenses.
The pic posted is the old Nikkor Manual Focus lens. So it is possible that Nikon would come out with an AF-S version.

Heck, one of the most coveted lenses i.e. Noct is a 58mm f/1.2.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 11:43 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 24 2011, 11:19 AM)
24mm comes with ED glass while 35mm and 85mm dont have that.
The 35mm and the 85mm without ED element also takes great pics, no?

I would think selection between 24 or 35mm f/1.4 would have to do more with shooting style than anything else. Not because of CPL or because it has an ED lens element.

My personal opinion is 24mm is a little wide while 35mm is just nice and neutral point of view. But having said that, I've seen great pics from both the 24mm and the 35mm.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 24 2011, 11:21 AM)
The reason KTCY mentioned and also 24mm is 77mm. I can use my CPL with it.
Good point. But I don't think I would put on a CPL to use it as a landscape lens when using the 24mm f/1.4.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 11:47 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 24 2011, 11:42 AM)
Guys, what lens dat hav sme performance as 70-300 VR? Budget is 3k..Not going 2 pick 70-300 VR coz my fren olredi hav it..any other good telephoto lens?
Not sure if you can get a 2nd hand AF-S 300mm f/4 at that price. The older AF 300mmf/4 (also great optics) is worth a look and cheaper but does not AF with certain Nikon bodies.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 11:52 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 24 2011, 11:44 AM)
plan to buy a ND filter soon...
ani suggestion from all d sifu...?
prefer a good one...
but not wif a godlike price...
If I was looking for ND filer, I would look for the graduated type. The cheap one I know is Cokin.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 04:13 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 24 2011, 01:45 PM)
A little wide can't move in meh ?
Then in tight area, you can move out with 35mm ? whistling.gif
It's not about moving in and out. It's about different perspectives !

QUOTE(cik_tak @ Feb 24 2011, 03:16 PM)
so if this picture is not a good picture. then the one to blame is me. not the filters.
Not bad. But it's a little small to actually appreciate it.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 24 2011, 03:48 PM)
Ya right. I sucks !
Great photos. But it does look like the skies still burns out. What ND did you use? Perhaps not enough?

Anyway, I guess nowadays with Photoshop, you can always simulate the graduated filter effect.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2011, 04:46 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 24 2011, 04:29 PM)
And just because you can't afford the expensive one, doesn't mean it's as good as your cheapo filters. You can always go and ask why Lee filters is the best and cokin for amateur !
I'm poor and I'm an amatuer. Therefore I either do not use a filter or stick with the Cokin which I have only used once for the last 5 years.
jchue73
post Feb 25 2011, 10:38 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Feb 24 2011, 11:31 PM)
A test shot of siggy 85@f1.4, pardon the subject  tongue.gif
Not too bad. Do you have the full EXIF for this shot?

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Feb 25 2011, 01:44 AM)
err...did the 35mm lens are classified as wide lens?
if no, what is the focal length that we recognize it as wide lens?
curious biggrin.gif
Just have a look at the lenses on Nikon's webpage. You'd see which lenses are classified as wide, normal or tele.

By Nikon's definition, the 35mm FX lens is still considered as wide.
jchue73
post Feb 25 2011, 11:08 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Feb 25 2011, 10:45 AM)
The EXIF is still intact with the pic..but anyhow: f/1.4, iso-200, 1/400 sec
Somehow Flickr does not allow me to see and extract the EXIF.

Did you apply sharpening (USM)? How does it look like straight out of the camera?
jchue73
post Feb 25 2011, 11:55 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Feb 25 2011, 11:19 AM)
No sharpening at all, just change to B&W in lightroom and bump up contrast..the crop was from the original picture str8 out of the camera (RAW-JPEG conversion with ViewNX2) which looks like this:
Thanks for the reply. Saw the EXIF and confirmed my suspicion that flash was fired.

Can you have one shot without flash and cropped at 100%?
jchue73
post Feb 25 2011, 01:50 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Feb 25 2011, 11:58 AM)
cropped:
That's excellent. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Feb 25 2011, 12:41 PM)
If not mistaken, camera stuff, lenses etc won't be charged for tax in Malaysia. All tax free.
In reality, that's correct. But all items are still taxed if they are found to be more than RM 500 (after including shipping cost).

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 25 2011, 12:53 PM)
I got taxed RM200+ on my 50mm 1.4G last time when i ordered online. sad.gif
How much was the item declared on the shipping slip (including shipping price)?

If your item is handled by Pos Laju or Pos Malaysia, they are not so strict. The ones from UPS, FedEx and DHL are the worst. They will just automatically send the bill to ask you to clear the tax on the item. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Feb 25 2011, 01:01 PM)
You're the unlucky one. Sometimes they tengok mood one tongue.gif

My friend ordered 17-55 f2.8 online got no problem getting thru custom.

*Disclaimer, correct me if i'm wrong about any details.
If there is no value declared on the shipping slip, or the value (+ shipping charges) after conversion is less than RM 500, there should be no tax.

jchue73
post Feb 25 2011, 03:46 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 25 2011, 03:34 PM)
Cant remember in USD but after convert RM was around 1.6k+....sent by UPS.
Last time I also got taxed with my RockBand Set (Video games equipments) for RM110 while using US registered mail only. I had to goto the local main post-office to pay them.

Thats why i dont think they seriously follow the rules and just tax us if they see fit. sad.gif
I agree that sometimes they do not follow rules and there is no consistency. I had an ex-colleague who bought for his friend a wooden door for a real antique Mini car that cost around RM 3k plus from UK. DHL delivered it right to the office without a single tax. Car parts would easily be subjected 30% tax without question.

Anyway, if items handled by Pos Malaysia, they will always send a letter to you saying that your item ditahan and you can fax the letter back and fill up the authorisation for them to clear the item for you on your behalf. If you choose to clear it yourself, you need to go all the way to the Pos Office HQ situated next to the LCCT terminal. There is a chance that you can argue your case if you clear the item personally.
jchue73
post Feb 28 2011, 06:26 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 27 2011, 01:18 PM)
There's also something call High Speed Sync or "Auto FP High Speed Sync" (need to set in your camera), which will allow faster shutter speed, the flash will keep firing continuously (very fast) during the exposure or during the small exposure between the 1st and 2nd curtain.
Not sure if your old Flash can work with the camera though.
Of course this is at the expense of reduced flash power...

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 27 2011, 01:42 PM)
Haven't masuk kilang, still with me just can't AF ._.
Have you checked the contacts at the lens mount? Dirty?

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 28 2011, 03:54 PM)
anyway how about metering will AiS meter with Nikon entry level body?
Only pro bodies like D2, D3, D300 and D700 series can.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 28 2011, 03:08 PM)
Sending my 24/1.4G back to shop
Just found out the lens will only tack sharp whenever I put the focus in center. If I use other focus point, all OOF !
doh.gif
Did you test it on a tripod? At what subject distance were you focusing? It's very difficult to get correct focusing at the lens MFD.
jchue73
post Mar 1 2011, 11:31 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 1 2011, 10:58 AM)
If center AF is accurate, side is not accurate... wonder how to calibrate? o_O
That was my thought too... A limitation on the body itself?

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 1 2011, 11:20 AM)
Nikkor AF-S 12-24 f/4 ! smile.gif
I'm confused... I thought you do not recommend DX lenses?

Like that might as well get the newer 10-24 DX lens. Closer MFD.

0.3371sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:59 AM