115 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

stasio
post Mar 11 2011, 02:33 PM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(vinkws @ Mar 11 2011, 11:18 AM)
Just finished installed mine. Took them 1 hour, guess mine pretty straight forward for them to install.

VIP5 user at PJ area.

This is the result.

just check my,result in my sig. biggrin.gif
chinkw1
post Mar 11 2011, 02:38 PM

3,156 posts

Anyone here using Aztech HomePlug HL110E to connect between your router to set up box ??

fredcwk
post Mar 11 2011, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(vinkws @ Mar 11 2011, 11:18 AM)
Just finished installed mine. Took them 1 hour, guess mine pretty straight forward for them to install.

VIP5 user at PJ area.

This is the result.

I tried to register online just now. It reached the step after I reserved a number, it said I already have a streamyx account and told me to select existing client option.....there is not link to do that and when I tried to sign up again the tel no. already reserved (by me lor!). blink.gif

I used to have streamyx a/c like 5 yrs ago in another state and I forgot about it....
I called TM and they said the reserved number will be release in 24 hrs. Looks like I have to wait to register again.

Another info, the TM staff said although there is no installation fee and free 1 month fee, I will still be charged 1 mth advance fee just like registering a new tel line. So if I reg VIP5, then my first mth bill would not be free but billed 149 as advance payment. hmm.gif

just for info, guys.
ppfoong
post Mar 11 2011, 02:52 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 11 2011, 02:38 PM)
Anyone here using Aztech HomePlug HL110E to connect between your router to set up box ??
Check Post #985 here.

Added on March 11, 2011, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(fredcwk @ Mar 11 2011, 02:52 PM)
I tried to register online just now. It reached the step after I reserved a number, it said I already have a streamyx account and told me to select existing client option.....there is not link to do that and when I tried to sign up again the tel no. already reserved (by me lor!).  blink.gif

I used to have streamyx a/c like 5 yrs ago in another state and I forgot about it....
I called TM and they said the reserved number will be release in 24 hrs. Looks like I have to wait to register again.

Another info, the TM staff said although there is no installation fee and free 1 month fee, I will still be charged 1 mth advance fee just like registering a new tel line. So if I reg VIP5, then my first mth bill would not be free but billed 149 as advance payment.  hmm.gif

just for info, guys.
Actually, Unifi is paying in advanced (pay before you use).

So if you install this month, by end of the month you need to pay for next month usage. By next month you need to pay for May's usage.

But this is only for the broadband. The telephone calls (to handphone, etc) still charge after you use.

This post has been edited by ppfoong: Mar 11 2011, 02:57 PM
hackwire
post Mar 11 2011, 03:10 PM

4,256 posts

When the contractors visited the house, what will be the most important thing to look out for before signing the paper after they had install everything and leave the place for another rush job? As you know, contractors are contractors who are quite linear in their work when comes to rush work.

I can name a few thing here but perhaps there are other thing that i miss.

1) Ask them what's the password and changing the password without screwing the configuration for newbie like me.

2) Confirm there's no extra charges before signing
3) IPTV password and everything in good order .
4) Make sure that they setup the security to WPA .
5) Disable Remote Management
6) Telephone Check
7) Wireless Area Check with own laptop
8) Get the person name and contact number in case we need him back or report to Telekom for whatsoever reason.. hell knows
9) Check cable installation for any shoddy work like few wall plugs etc
10) Remote Control Functioning

Anything else...?

cherroy
post Mar 11 2011, 03:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 11 2011, 03:10 PM)
When the contractors visited the house, what will be the most important thing to look out for before signing the paper after they had install everything and leave the place for another rush job? As you know, contractors are contractors who are quite linear in their work when comes to rush work.

I can name a few thing here but perhaps there are other thing that i miss.

1) Ask them what's the password and changing the password without screwing the configuration for newbie like me.

2) Confirm there's no extra charges before signing
3) IPTV password and everything in good order .
4) Make sure that they setup the security to WPA .
5) Disable Remote Management
6) Telephone Check
7) Wireless Area Check with own laptop
8) Get the person name and contact number in case we need him back or report to Telekom for whatsoever reason.. hell knows
9) Check cable installation for any shoddy work like few wall plugs etc
10) Remote Control Functioning

Anything else...?
1) they do give a a few piece of papers that contain all your details.
5) remote management is disable in newer firmware 7.09.

HoNeYdEwBoY
post Mar 11 2011, 03:14 PM

1,762 posts

err, just one question my friend say we can output movie from desktop, got such thing?
VerM
post Mar 11 2011, 03:47 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Mar 11 2011, 03:14 PM)
err, just one question my friend say we can output movie from desktop, got such thing?
Refer unifi cookbook --> Unifi Cookbook
IwanAGP
post Mar 11 2011, 04:39 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

What is the meaning of "output" movie from desktop? Watch movies on your desktop through set-top-box or what?
ayamstim
post Mar 11 2011, 05:09 PM

122 posts

Yes.
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Mar 11 2011, 05:35 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 11 2011, 05:47 PM)
Refer unifi cookbook --> Unifi Cookbook
thx bro.

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 11 2011, 06:39 PM)
What is the meaning of "output" movie from desktop? Watch movies on your desktop through set-top-box or what?
my meaning is possible that watch movie by using STB, issit from desktop control to STB? or can direct put usb pen drive or hard disk on STB to watch movie?

QUOTE(ayamstim @ Mar 11 2011, 07:09 PM)
Yes.
learning now thx sweat.gif

This post has been edited by HoNeYdEwBoY: Mar 11 2011, 05:39 PM
buddy84
post Mar 11 2011, 06:14 PM

hello
sorry i read the cookbook happytv , i didnt get it, it said is not possible but at the end it give us the configuration for desktop, so is it possible to use happy tv in our desktop or not?

This post has been edited by buddy84: Mar 11 2011, 06:28 PM
cucubud
post Mar 11 2011, 06:20 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 10 2011, 10:28 PM)
Just a curious question... Can we "extend" fibre optic cable like what we can do on copper cable? Just curious. Haha
Sure you can.

Did you see the box where the fiber cable go into?
Inside that box, there is a coupler. That is the place where they extend the fiber cable into the house.
A coupler is just a holder, holding the 2 connectors facing each other so that the light can pass through.
That is how they extend the fiber cable.
chinkw1
post Mar 11 2011, 07:33 PM

3,156 posts

A friend told me his amazing set up:
He stay in his father's house, and his father does not want external wiring inside the house.

What he did was, the BTU, router etc is placed in the store room, then he install HomePlug to connect his STB and PC to the router which is a distance away.

He bought a pair of HomePlug device, each connected to router and PC/STB.

No need wiring at all.
IwanAGP
post Mar 11 2011, 07:44 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 11 2011, 07:33 PM)
A friend told me his amazing set up:
He stay in his father's house, and his father does not want external wiring inside the house.

What he did was, the BTU, router etc is placed in the store room, then he install HomePlug to connect his STB and PC to the router which is a distance away.

He bought a pair of HomePlug device, each connected to router and PC/STB.
No need wiring at all.
Don't feel the "amazingness"... Placing in the store room got high chance of getting cockroach laying eggs on it or mouse pee on it (possible but i'm more to like jk). If it's a closed air with no ventilation, the router can be fried very soon. haha
hazardcradle
post Mar 11 2011, 07:55 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 11 2011, 07:44 PM)
Don't feel the "amazingness"... Placing in the store room got high chance of getting cockroach laying eggs on it or mouse pee on it (possible but i'm more to like jk). If it's a closed air with no ventilation, the router can be fried very soon. haha
that's true. D-Link Dir-615 can get very hot without proper ventilation. even put it under normal room temperature also can make the router untouchables due to the heat produced, what more a closed, poorly ventilated room.
chinkw1
post Mar 11 2011, 08:20 PM

3,156 posts

QUOTE(deora @ Mar 11 2011, 07:59 PM)
my unifi installation is next week..i wan to ask..is it a good idea to use TP-Link TL-WR841N straight away after unifi installation?..read many negative post on the DIR-615 router..

if im to use TP-Link TL-WR841N, i just connect it with the BTU and no need to use the DIR-615 right?
To avoid massive wiring inside your house, u can use HomePlag device.
Basically, connect your router using rj45 to homeplug, plug into power socket, then another homeplug connect to PC.
IwanAGP
post Mar 11 2011, 08:43 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Hmm.. Why not btu->homeplug->router in living room?
chinkw1
post Mar 11 2011, 08:53 PM

3,156 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 11 2011, 08:43 PM)
Hmm.. Why not btu->homeplug->router in living room?
Thats a good idea. Easier bro.
gotdamsg
post Mar 11 2011, 09:32 PM

380 posts

UNIFI installed today for 20Mbps. Everything has been setup however the Hypptv still have problem. There are no live display. They will come back tomorrow to check further.

Today they came here from 2.30 pm until 9.00 pm.. too much installation problem..

115 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:37 AM