115 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

janson_kaniaz
post Mar 27 2011, 06:55 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Mar 27 2011, 12:22 AM)
climbing the roof also includes lay cables + drilling + workmanship and all until to FWS.

so in a normal installation w/o climbing, drilling will be free.
thx for the info bro, i know it's abit 'late' to ask this but don't u guys think this is a rip off? Installation of a high speed broadband tat costs hundreds of ringgit? wats worse, everyone (landed property owners) has no clue tat there's extra charges on top of the so called free rm200 installation fee. i cant imagine wat the fee would b like if there's no promotion on the 'free rm200 installation fee'.
IwanAGP
post Mar 27 2011, 07:35 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 27 2011, 04:53 PM)
1. the default wifi setup for the router should support b/g/n... however if you still unable to detect then perhaps you should try set it to b/g only...

2. if your wifi network adapter only support b/g then upgrading the driver won't make your adapter n... its the chip on the hardware...not software..

3. my current asus laptop was bought in late 2007 and i'm able to detect and connect to the unifi wifi router...

4. the other reason probably due to WPA2 security... some older laptops can not perform the necessary 'handshake'.... so downgrade to WPA or WEP (less secure)

[attachmentid=2119834]
[attachmentid=2119835]

Added on March 27, 2011, 4:55 pm

My laptop bought in late 2007 and support n...
isit??? Coz from what I rmb... The first wireless card by intel that supports N should be 5100 and 5300 i'm using in my laptop. So it's not the first... Coz i bought this laptop in mid 2009. haha... Sorry for the wrong info. But... 2007 and 2008models i think rarely supports N right... haha
jAkUn
post Mar 27 2011, 07:40 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(ultraman259 @ Mar 27 2011, 03:11 PM)
Can I upgrade from VIP5 to BIZ5? Does it require extra installation that need TM staff to come to my house? Cheers.
No you can't. VIP is for Residential. BIZ is for Business. Upgrading is not the correct word, changing package will be correct.
So you have to terminate VIP. And then subscribe for BIZ.
Penalty for termination = RM500!! O_o

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 27 2011, 07:55 PM)
thx for the info bro, i know it's abit 'late' to ask this but don't u guys think this is a rip off? Installation of a high speed broadband tat costs hundreds of ringgit? wats worse, everyone (landed property owners) has no clue tat there's extra charges on top of the so called free rm200 installation fee. i cant imagine wat the fee would b like if there's no promotion on the 'free rm200 installation fee'.
I think its quite fair because for landed house, it would means new wiring. And if we survey the market the fibre cable alone is expensive not to mention the workmanship and all. The most reasonable explanation why they were not informed of this is because of various condition and scenarios for landed house as there were many types of houses in Malaysia. Some of them want concealed wiring, some of them prefer raceway, some of them want a customized wiring. So the quotation would be different based on request and scenarios limitation.
dannygoh
post Mar 27 2011, 08:32 PM

410 posts

tm open up all premium channel. what happen to them?
hye
post Mar 27 2011, 08:38 PM

White Tiger
3,397 posts

QUOTE(dannygoh @ Mar 27 2011, 08:32 PM)
It is called "Promotion".
By doing that they hope that someone will subscribe when the period is over.
Vbs
post Mar 27 2011, 09:35 PM

234 posts

Thanks a lot on the replies, guys.

I still am unable to detect the signal despite changing radio mode. It can't be WAP/WAP2 settings because I can't even detect the signal to begin with.

So I was thinking that it might be the hardware problem, but then I went to the living room and I was able to detect my neighbour's UniFi (802.11n). That is so odd wacko.gif

This post has been edited by Vbs: Mar 27 2011, 09:36 PM
OKLY
post Mar 27 2011, 09:47 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(dannygoh @ Mar 27 2011, 08:32 PM)
If I'm not wrong, they did mention it is a way of celebrating and thanking customers on their birthday. It is also another way to promote and try to tempt viewers to subscribe to premium channels.
Iscream
post Mar 27 2011, 09:51 PM

184 posts

if i want to share unifi with my neighbour, so my neighbour cant enjoy the call plans n IPTV ?
VerM
post Mar 27 2011, 09:53 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 27 2011, 07:35 PM)
isit??? Coz from what I rmb... The first wireless card by intel that supports N should be 5100 and 5300 i'm using in my laptop. So it's not the first... Coz i bought this laptop in mid 2009. haha... Sorry for the wrong info. But... 2007 and 2008models i think rarely supports N right... haha
IEEE 802.11n products prior to October 2009 were using draft specification 2.0 - 11.0. The final published specification only available after October 2009.
One key characteristic of wireless N is the introduction of multiple-input multiple-output antennas (MIMO)... and the earliest MIMO router surfaced in the market was in 2007. I know this because I bought buffalo routers that time (and my laptop) biggrin.gif

Intel releases draft-N wireless card (Published: 10:14, 24 January 07)

Added on March 27, 2011, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 27 2011, 09:35 PM)
Thanks a lot on the replies, guys.

I still am unable to detect the signal despite changing radio mode. It can't be WAP/WAP2 settings because I can't even detect the signal to begin with.

So I was thinking that it might be the hardware problem, but then I went to the living room and I was able to detect my neighbour's UniFi (802.11n). That is so odd wacko.gif
it will be helpful if you can provides some screenshots...

anyway, have u tried rebooting the router. I faced the same problem the same evening after getting my Unifi. Rebooted twice... Perhaps its due to channel conflicts..

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 27 2011, 09:58 PM
ultraman259
post Mar 27 2011, 09:59 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Mar 27 2011, 07:40 PM)
No you can't. VIP is for Residential. BIZ is for Business. Upgrading is not the correct word, changing package will be correct.
So you have to terminate VIP. And then subscribe for BIZ.
Penalty for termination = RM500!! O_o
Aiya... Why like that one? I'm trying not to be so kiasu. I wanted to try VIP5 but since there's a download limit, if every month I exceed the download limit, die lorh.. Need to change to BIZ5. But if I don't exceed, it's fine one.. I'm heavy in streaming and downloading stuff and there are also other 3 people in the house... Should I just get BIZ5?
Vbs
post Mar 27 2011, 10:03 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 27 2011, 09:53 PM)
IEEE 802.11n products prior to October 2009 were using draft specification 2.0 - 11.0. The final published specification only available after October 2009.
One key characteristic of wireless N is the introduction of multiple-input multiple-output antennas (MIMO)... and the earliest MIMO router surfaced in the market was in 2007. I know this because I bought buffalo routers that time (and my laptop)  biggrin.gif
Intel releases draft-N wireless card (Published: 10:14, 24 January 07)

Added on March 27, 2011, 9:58 pm

it will be helpful if you can provides some screenshots...

anyway, have u tried rebooting the router. I faced the same problem the same evening after getting my Unifi. Rebooted twice... Perhaps its due to channel conflicts..
Actually, yeah, we did. Once or twice, maybe. I think I'll reboot it again.

VerM
post Mar 27 2011, 10:03 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(ultraman259 @ Mar 27 2011, 09:59 PM)
Aiya... Why like that one? I'm trying not to be so kiasu. I wanted to try VIP5 but since there's a download limit, if every month I exceed the download limit, die lorh.. Need to change to BIZ5. But if I don't exceed, it's fine one.. I'm heavy in streaming and downloading stuff and there are also other 3 people in the house... Should I just get BIZ5?
Why dont you upgrade to vip20? Higher limit..

Added on March 27, 2011, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 27 2011, 10:03 PM)
Actually, yeah, we did. Once or twice, maybe. I think I'll reboot it again.
try manually select the channel instead of auto channel

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 27 2011, 10:04 PM
Vbs
post Mar 27 2011, 10:19 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 27 2011, 10:03 PM)

try manually select the channel instead of auto channel
So, here was the problem: I didn't have WMM enabled. That solved everything. Thanks to you, and to those who lent a hand, nonetheless smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vbs: Mar 27 2011, 10:19 PM
ultraman259
post Mar 27 2011, 10:20 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 27 2011, 10:03 PM)

Still got limit.. To me, not worth it. Reckon I should just get the BIZ5.

IwanAGP
post Mar 27 2011, 10:34 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 27 2011, 10:19 PM)
So, here was the problem: I didn't have WMM enabled. That solved everything. Thanks to you, and to those who lent a hand, nonetheless smile.gif
Lol... No one thought of WMM... Hahaha... Enjoy ur vip5/10/20 whatever... haha
VerM
post Mar 27 2011, 11:03 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 27 2011, 10:19 PM)
i dont think WMM is the problem...but if everything works now it should be good...
Vbs
post Mar 27 2011, 11:18 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 27 2011, 11:03 PM)
i dont think WMM is the problem...but if everything works now it should be good...
It could be the reboot. Here's what happened - I rebooted twice. After the 2nd reboot, I inspected the signal and it didn't show. Then I enabled the WMM for my network adapter and voila! I went to my dad's laptop to check.. he didn't have his WMM enabled but was able to read the signal.

Well, whatever works biggrin.gif
VerM
post Mar 28 2011, 03:17 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ Mar 27 2011, 11:18 PM)
It could be the reboot. Here's what happened - I rebooted twice. After the 2nd reboot, I inspected the signal and it didn't show. Then I enabled the WMM for my network adapter and voila! I went to my dad's laptop to check.. he didn't have his WMM enabled but was able to read the signal.

Well, whatever works biggrin.gif
you can double check again with WMM disabled...
rattan
post Mar 28 2011, 03:56 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

another 3 more days free installation promo is ending. wink.gif
hazairi
post Mar 28 2011, 08:30 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Mar 28 2011, 03:56 AM)
another 3 more days free installation promo is ending. wink.gif
i really hope that next month they will do a new offer.

for example, just add extra rm20 per month to upgrade from 5Mbps to 10Mbps for existing user.. LOL

115 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:46 PM