115 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

hazairi
post Feb 19 2011, 11:54 AM

2,694 posts

hi guys, i just registered unifi.
Maybe they will install in another 2 weeks? sad.gif

any tips on what should i prepare? I'm living in an apartment in Bdr Sunway.

My pc, tv and phone line is very near to each other..
cherroy
post Feb 19 2011, 11:59 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Feb 19 2011, 11:54 AM)
hi guys, i just registered unifi.
Maybe they will install in another 2 weeks? sad.gif

any tips on what should i prepare? I'm living in an apartment in Bdr Sunway.

My pc, tv and phone line is very near to each other..
Nothing.

Just ensure enough power supply socket.
hazairi
post Feb 19 2011, 12:09 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 19 2011, 11:59 AM)
Nothing.

Just ensure enough power supply socket.
thanks. At 1st i just wanna register streamyx 1mbps. But the cost for that is more than rm100+ including the rent of the phone. Why TM never reduce the streamyx price for about many years already? Haiyoo, monopolization.
So, i think it's more worth to take the minimum unifi package with it's free installation now.
kaiser_falco
post Feb 19 2011, 12:24 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

apart from mikrotik any other router compatible with unifi i just need something that i can pick up on the shelf at some pc shop go back and configure it...mikrotik have to order and that sux seriously need it today..
JinXXX
post Feb 19 2011, 12:24 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 19 2011, 10:50 AM)
Under Biz package, I have one domain provided.

It tells me to login https://cp.netmyne.net/ for the account control panel.

Guess what, when I clicked into the link.  doh.gif
what are the details of the certificate ?? ownself generate certificate or they got it from digicert and so on one ???

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Feb 19 2011, 11:20 AM)
Why not? Just need to pair the home plugs.
no idea.. not sure how they will handle the vlan... thinggy...
rattan
post Feb 19 2011, 12:55 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

For new and migration from streamyx to unifi. Streamyx can be terminated when upgrading to unifi. Customer have the choice to keep their existing telephone number or terminate the telephone line and use the telephone number bundled with unifi.

Benefit of terminating the copper telephone line is to save on the monthly rental chargers. Unifi telephone number is cheaper as there is no monthly rental, free calls to TM numbers and cheaper call rates.

PM me address to check for availability in your area.
coconutzz
post Feb 19 2011, 01:17 PM

1,109 posts

Hi all,

I read a lot about Mikrotik here. Can I ask what is the purpose of it?

cherroy
post Feb 19 2011, 01:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Feb 19 2011, 12:55 PM)
For new and migration from streamyx to unifi. Streamyx can be terminated when upgrading to unifi. Customer have the choice to keep their existing telephone number or terminate the telephone line and use the telephone number bundled with unifi.

Benefit of terminating the copper telephone line is to save on the monthly rental chargers. Unifi telephone number is cheaper as there is no monthly rental, free calls to TM numbers and cheaper call rates.

There is one disadvantage, you cannot use the phone without turning on the BTU.
It is using voip.
Not the same/like with streamyx.

My company wish to keep the number, but they said cannot, so now with another new number.

One advantage of using streamyx, is that can pull the copper wire on our own, cut, connect, at your wish.

Fiber optic, cannot connect like copper.
Even they installed time, they need to use alcohol to wash the exposed fiber optic (when doing the plastic joint part for connection with DB).
gmchun83
post Feb 19 2011, 01:50 PM

57 posts

For those want to register unifi,please go www.oneunifi.com....I have subscribe 5mb with oneunfi.com...at least their got help us follow up......your guys should that telekom or tmpoint customer services really suck.....
JinXXX
post Feb 19 2011, 02:41 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Feb 19 2011, 01:17 PM)
Hi all,

do you know what is it first or not ?? if not you finding actually what is mikrotik.. then only we can move on from there
cherroy
post Feb 19 2011, 02:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Feb 19 2011, 01:17 PM)
Hi all,

It is another router out there that can be used for Unifi.
deunan
post Feb 19 2011, 02:48 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 19 2011, 01:40 PM)
Fiber optic, cannot connect like copper.
Even they installed time, they need to use alcohol to wash the exposed fiber optic (when doing the plastic joint part for connection with DB).
Heh, I got the spouse to prepare the pipe-trunking through the roof and dropped it down to the server room ;-)

UniFi guys came and simply tie the fibre cable to the string which my spouse laid through the trunking and pulled it through to the other side straight to the server room.

I definitely heard they asked my spouse - "Encik kerja bidang network ya?".. No lar, its simply planning (and someone else who did the hardwork :-P ). At least no holes drilled through the walls or anything icon_rolleyes.gif

Regards
kaiser_falco
post Feb 19 2011, 02:55 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

cool tp link router does it magic,thanks klseet for those brilliant post and thaks for those who pm me to the right direction...no regret gettingwr841nd ver7.2 c zone digital mall pj ss14..they are kind enough to flash the bios all together just tell them you want to use for unifi..
skyliner66
post Feb 19 2011, 04:04 PM

726 posts

the unifi contractor come ndo the installation today...n i hv been told tat the free installation apply for 1st floor only(my house is a double storey),n i wan to install the btu at 2nd floor,so tats going to be a charge of rm200 to the contractor...i wonder whts the point of free installation here...
charymsylyn
post Feb 19 2011, 04:10 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Feb 19 2011, 04:04 PM)
the unifi contractor come ndo the installation today...n i hv been told tat the free installation apply for 1st floor only(my house is a double storey),n i wan to install the btu at 2nd floor,so tats going to be a charge of rm200 to the contractor...i wonder whts the point of free installation here...
Not sure if you just got conned or you just exceeded the free wire length quota?
cherroy
post Feb 19 2011, 04:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 19 2011, 04:10 PM)
Not sure if you just got conned or you just exceeded the free wire length quota?
Installation of fiber cable is done by third party contractor. (at least for my installation)
(Exchange until the DB in your house)

The TM installer only done wiring for the internal part after the DB, aka DB to your BTU.

From DB to your BTU, they only give 15m free, more than that Rm50 per 5m.

skyliner66
post Feb 19 2011, 04:25 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 19 2011, 04:10 PM)
i dun think my internal fiber is exeeding,cos i just use the std 15m length...is tat outdoor wire they nid to charge...i call unifi centre n the cs told me the same thing also...i din think the unifi will cheat me on tis also...maybe i m the one unlucky here...
ic3johan
post Feb 19 2011, 04:30 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_falco @ Feb 19 2011, 02:55 PM)
cool tp link router does it magic,thanks klseet for those brilliant post and thaks for those who pm me to the right direction...no regret gettingwr841nd ver7.2 c zone digital mall pj ss14..they are kind enough to flash the bios all together just tell them you want to use for unifi..
ahhh. bought TL-WR941ND izzit compitable? i tried athena guide but to no avail, 6 hour of sleepness priduce norhing sad.gif
cherroy
post Feb 19 2011, 04:34 PM

25,802 posts

If there are rules already in place until 1st storey, then no choice.

Think further if someone house is 4th storey high, then they need to climb until 4th storey to pull the wire.

Too be fair to them, higher level/storey means more work, and troublesome and time may be needed.
But may be the charges can be negotiable?
skyliner66
post Feb 19 2011, 04:57 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 19 2011, 04:34 PM)
If there are rules already in place until 1st storey, then no choice.

Think further if someone house is 4th storey high, then they need to climb until 4th storey to pull the wire.

Too be fair to them, higher level/storey means more work, and troublesome and time may be needed.
But may be the charges can be negotiable?
i know the contractor hv to climb up to 2nd floor to do the wiring...wht i not happy with is the Unifi CS never told me anything about this condition when they call me to confirm the installation date n time yesterday... sad.gif

n when i call the Unifi again just now...they also not so sure about this issue n ask me to lodge a complain to them after the installation is done...n they will enquire the contractor wht is the charges for...guess tats the only thing i can do la...but i dun think there will be any feedback from them lo... sad.gif

n yes, after a long negotiation, the contractor agree to reduce the fee to RM160... sad.gif

115 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0555sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:25 PM