QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 27 2011, 11:56 PM)
try macro to the subject Head and make sure the background is green(leaf) which is my idea....overally the picture is boring The Sony Alpha Thread V50!, The Orange Legion
The Sony Alpha Thread V50!, The Orange Legion
Feb 27 2011, 11:57 PM
928 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Rawang, Selayang, Kepong... |
Feb 28 2011, 12:00 AM
1,286 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Home |
QUOTE(Codyx @ Feb 27 2011, 11:56 PM) kinna make sure what ceiling and progression of the whole wedding ceremony(en-route)..then you will know where is your shooting stance will be and how to control your light(flash) whether needed to be diffused or not..all up to the area and your choice okay! Thanks bro! what else? |
Feb 28 2011, 12:05 AM
284 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Feb 28 2011, 12:06 AM
6,075 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 3.1553587,101.7135668 |
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 27 2011, 11:47 PM) Yes, i understand that i should not go disturb him. But is it wrong to ask what gear to bring? Wrong for me to go snap for my cousin's one in a lifetime wedding? Nevermind. Maybe i'll just ask in the photography section. Maybe i shouldn't ask in the sony thread. its because if u need to ask what to bring, then you obviously is not prepared nor ready to shoot. Bring what you THINK you need, from there, will you learn what to bring and what not to bring the next time around. What gear to bring is subjective to each shooter. if you tell us what you intend to shoot at the wedding, and asks, "hmmm, what other gears should i have in hand apart from my camera, flash, and 50mm lens?" then you'll probably get some answers. i know you're newbieeeee, but sometimes it could be nice not to act your name. |
Feb 28 2011, 12:16 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
alaaassstttt!!! onlineeee... cilaka internet dunno why down till now. what did i miss? 1xx new post... skipped.
newbie, u should bring D3s + 2470F2.8! (u ask what to bring ma newbie, just play around with ur lens, gain the experience to know what each lens can do for wedding and piece of advise, (which i notice after last night wed shot) the A580+flash in QLV will have the delay like A55, the 500ms delay release. becareful when u use LV. Added on February 28, 2011, 12:17 amoh one more thing, my A300 officially retired tonight, gotten a temporary replacement for it. This post has been edited by ieR: Feb 28 2011, 12:17 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 12:18 AM
3,461 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 27 2011, 11:47 PM) Yes, i understand that i should not go disturb him. But is it wrong to ask what gear to bring? Wrong for me to go snap for my cousin's one in a lifetime wedding? Nevermind. Maybe i'll just ask in the photography section. Maybe i shouldn't ask in the sony thread. ermm... i would say bring everything you have? if you do consider yourself as a newbie, then you would probably want to try everything at a wedding ceremony. but do remember that you are not the OP, so you do not need to shoot everything. someone has already covered that. instead, concentrate on areas which you think you might want to improve your skills on. For example, you might want to improve your shots on details in a wedding ceremony. So practice more with your 50mm f1.8 and use the exceptional capability of the prime lens to separate the details you want away from the background & foreground. of course, you will be asked by family & friends to shoot their group photo as well. so that is where your 16-105 & flash will come in handy. well, that is just my 2 sen lah. hope it helps. Added on February 28, 2011, 12:25 am QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 27 2011, 11:32 PM) OK, some honest comments. Hope you don't mind. And this is coming from a non-macro shooter like me.... The reason why your 1st photo is not working is because there is a lack of separation between your subject (the lizard) and your background (the cement block he is resting on). You can almost feel that the lizard is almost blending in to the cement block. Good for the lizard to avoid being eaten by a predator, but not good for photography! Happy shooting! This post has been edited by kysham: Feb 28 2011, 12:25 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 01:08 AM
3,070 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Damansara |
QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 28 2011, 12:06 AM) its because if u need to ask what to bring, then you obviously is not prepared nor ready to shoot. Bring what you THINK you need, from there, will you learn what to bring and what not to bring the next time around. What gear to bring is subjective to each shooter. if you tell us what you intend to shoot at the wedding, and asks, "hmmm, what other gears should i have in hand apart from my camera, flash, and 50mm lens?" then you'll probably get some answers. and start posting with reasonable info...please dont make this thread like /k/...i know you always hang around there...i know you're newbieeeee, but sometimes it could be nice not to act your name. |
Feb 28 2011, 01:13 AM
1,518 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Here'n'There |
wanna ask..anyone goin to the Sony A Convention?
anyway, wanna buy a zoom lens..was browsing through amazon and got 2 tamron lens..Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens and Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Len which one should i get? |
Feb 28 2011, 01:29 AM
3,070 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Damansara |
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:13 AM) wanna ask..anyone goin to the Sony A Convention? most of us here will be going there bro...anyway, wanna buy a zoom lens..was browsing through amazon and got 2 tamron lens..Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens and Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Len which one should i get? regarding your question,what lens do you currently have?the kitlens izzit?if you prefer an all in one lens which you dont need to swap lenses,you can get the 18-200...if you are the occasional sniper,you should go for 70-300... |
Feb 28 2011, 01:42 AM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:13 AM) wanna ask..anyone goin to the Sony A Convention? Frankly, I do prefer the 70-300 but I am still waiting for the PZD version @.@anyway, wanna buy a zoom lens..was browsing through amazon and got 2 tamron lens..Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens and Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Len which one should i get? |
Feb 28 2011, 02:09 AM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
zstan: Well done! I like that it doesn't look like a thin strip of focus.
ahpingko: You need to master your wireless before you use the reflector, if you plan to use wireless flash as the highlight, and the reflector to bounce the flash as a soft main light. A plain white one works; silver ones may be too reflective. 8tvt: Can barely make it out - crop more? Codyx: Errr I prefer YMC's because you can see the colors of the night sky. However you could then overlay a "digital GND" (Google it) to darken the tower. empty-ball: Kesian the lizard's tail got cropped. Maybe you could go lower so you make it look taller and bigger. |
Feb 28 2011, 02:16 AM
1,518 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Here'n'There |
mmm..right now i got the 18-55mm kit lens and the sal50mmf1.8 along with 1 hvl f58 flash..but still learning how to use the flash
planning to get a zoom lens..bt unsure which one to get..hrm |
Feb 28 2011, 02:22 AM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Also, what's with the hate towards Newbieeeeee, guys? You know who you are.
I'd like to think the reason why people like it here, in the Sony Alpha Thread, is that we are nicer to n00bs - we don't force them to go into a separate thread! At the same time we can give and receive constructive criticism without getting butthurt. |
Feb 28 2011, 02:54 AM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 28 2011, 02:22 AM) Also, what's with the hate towards Newbieeeeee, guys? You know who you are. I was about to reply the same too. What's with the emo replies? He was asking politely on what suitable gears to be used during a wedding and you guys go hoo haa as him got butthurt by him. Everyone has their very first chance to shoot wedding so nothing wrong with that. Only kiasu weddingraphers-wanna-be will keep telling newbies stuff like "if you don't know how to shoot, don't bother to shoot cause you might end up spoiling the bla bla moments and stuff". Well, it's pretty subjective. With proper guidance and sufficient homeworks done, a newbie would probably learn that wedding moments are important and he probably learn how not to interrupt as he shoot more rather than not shooting at all and forever stay as a newbie. Do ponder.I'd like to think the reason why people like it here, in the Sony Alpha Thread, is that we are nicer to n00bs - we don't force them to go into a separate thread! At the same time we can give and receive constructive criticism without getting butthurt. |
Feb 28 2011, 05:56 AM
QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 28 2011, 12:18 AM) ermm... i would say bring everything you have? Ok, I don't mind any comment la, if I mind hw to improve, if no honest comment hw I improve.if you do consider yourself as a newbie, then you would probably want to try everything at a wedding ceremony. but do remember that you are not the OP, so you do not need to shoot everything. someone has already covered that. instead, concentrate on areas which you think you might want to improve your skills on. For example, you might want to improve your shots on details in a wedding ceremony. So practice more with your 50mm f1.8 and use the exceptional capability of the prime lens to separate the details you want away from the background & foreground. of course, you will be asked by family & friends to shoot their group photo as well. so that is where your 16-105 & flash will come in handy. well, that is just my 2 sen lah. hope it helps. Added on February 28, 2011, 12:25 am OK, some honest comments. Hope you don't mind. And this is coming from a non-macro shooter like me.... The reason why your 1st photo is not working is because there is a lack of separation between your subject (the lizard) and your background (the cement block he is resting on). You can almost feel that the lizard is almost blending in to the cement block. Good for the lizard to avoid being eaten by a predator, but not good for photography! Happy shooting! I did not understand hw to make sure we separate thesub n the background ? Whn I use kit lens is difficult whn I shoot this photo, nid go very near bt cnt, coz got fence blocking, so I change my mind n change to 55-200 which come tgt wif my a33 whn I bought. I zoom in and shoot the photo, can teach me hw to make it better ? Like hw to make sure separate the background n sub easily ? Thx a lot in advance, I m really hav that kind of passion to improve hope u guys will teach me more. I willing to learn all things wif my ability. |
Feb 28 2011, 07:27 AM
234 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:13 AM) wanna ask..anyone goin to the Sony A Convention? Good day!anyway, wanna buy a zoom lens..was browsing through amazon and got 2 tamron lens..Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens and Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Len which one should i get? Is too far from me |
Feb 28 2011, 07:52 AM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 28 2011, 05:56 AM) Ok, I don't mind any comment la, if I mind hw to improve, if no honest comment hw I improve. First things first, the picture is not good to begin with, so any sort of PP wouldn't improve it. No offence, yea I did not understand hw to make sure we separate thesub n the background ? Whn I use kit lens is difficult whn I shoot this photo, nid go very near bt cnt, coz got fence blocking, so I change my mind n change to 55-200 which come tgt wif my a33 whn I bought. I zoom in and shoot the photo, can teach me hw to make it better ? Like hw to make sure separate the background n sub easily ? Thx a lot in advance, I m really hav that kind of passion to improve hope u guys will teach me more. I willing to learn all things wif my ability. I'm also a non macro shooter, but afaik, don't shoot from a Bird's Eye View because it doesn't give your subject dimensions or the perspective needed for macro photography. Have a look at some pictures here, I'm sure you'll get what I mean http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/436139-Triforce...ard_display.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2646/409524..._f50e55f946.jpg You can try shooting from the side or from a low angle, most importantly(again afaik) you gotta fill up that frame with your subject. You gotta make your subject look BIGGGG Anyway, it could be your gear limitation also, since 50mm in some cases might not give you enough reach. Time for a dedicated macro/ tele lens |
Feb 28 2011, 07:54 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
@Newbieeeeee
My advise is, maybe you can bring one lens and see what you can or can't do without. Flash gun is a must unless your lenses are all f1.4 capable and you have a iso 1600 body. And like other people say, don't obstruct the OP. If he's standing in the middle, shoot from the sides. My Noob advise. |
Feb 28 2011, 08:09 AM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 27 2011, 10:47 PM) get one as big as you can (or willing to) carry Ok ok..btw, i m not the official photographer for them..my uncle like my portrait style..so just ask me to go along with the official 1 for outdoor shooting..then after they finish their session, will be my turn lo..just like add on..but i do want take the best too..hehe..to create my own portfolio as well as try hands-on doing wedding photos.. Flash is a bit more tricky to use than reflector, that is for sure. QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 28 2011, 02:09 AM) zstan: Well done! I like that it doesn't look like a thin strip of focus. If i plan to use only reflector instead of my flash during outdoor shooting, ok right?..hehe..i got my assistant to help holding reflector..xDahpingko: You need to master your wireless before you use the reflector, if you plan to use wireless flash as the highlight, and the reflector to bounce the flash as a soft main light. A plain white one works; silver ones may be too reflective. 8tvt: Can barely make it out - crop more? Codyx: Errr I prefer YMC's because you can see the colors of the night sky. However you could then overlay a "digital GND" (Google it) to darken the tower. empty-ball: Kesian the lizard's tail got cropped. Maybe you could go lower so you make it look taller and bigger. |
Feb 28 2011, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 28 2011, 07:52 AM) First things first, the picture is not good to begin with, so any sort of PP wouldn't improve it. No offence, yea i get wat u means, but mayb my lens limit, i like to shoot potrait group and outdoor thn macro shooting...I'm also a non macro shooter, but afaik, don't shoot from a Bird's Eye View because it doesn't give your subject dimensions or the perspective needed for macro photography. Have a look at some pictures here, I'm sure you'll get what I mean http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/436139-Triforce...ard_display.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2646/409524..._f50e55f946.jpg You can try shooting from the side or from a low angle, most importantly(again afaik) you gotta fill up that frame with your subject. You gotta make your subject look BIGGGG Anyway, it could be your gear limitation also, since 50mm in some cases might not give you enough reach. Time for a dedicated macro/ tele lens any advise for those shooting ?? i m jz wif my kit lens and55-200 lens. |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:06 PM |