TSbenny888
post Feb 23 2011, 10:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 23 2011, 09:40 PM)
Successfully converted to ext4 wit modoco rom. The improvement is much better than I hoped ofr especially when playing gun bros.
Great. Infact i highly recommend this upgrade so we can maximize the Tab potential

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(mw5026 @ Feb 23 2011, 10:06 PM)
guys how to suscribe the star paper in readers hub?
Is this available?. You must sign up as subscriber to access . It is us29.95 per month

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 23 2011, 10:14 PM
myzer0
post Feb 23 2011, 11:59 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(cx5 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:45 PM)
cx5/orangKL@HK/ZHJJ1/ZHJK1 kernel by xda_koxudaxi_1.4Ghz then to xda_rotohammer_JMIv2 lost 1.4Ghz,

then re-kernel_koxudaxi boot-loop sad.gif
then kernel_xda_richardtrip boot-loop sad.gif
reboot into recovery-mode shows EXT4 CHECK intact
-select install from zip by Overcome1.1.3.zip
--Finding update package
--E:failed to mount /sdcard(Invalid argument)
--E:can't mount /sdcard/update.zip
--Installation aborted
-select WIPE
--Formating /data.. /cache.. /datadata. /se-ext.. /sdcard/.android.secure
--E:failed to mount /sdcard(Invalid argument)
--E:can't mount /sdcard/update.zip
--Skipping formating
--Data wipe complete
Reboot 1 OK hang
Reboot 2 OK OK hang
Reboot 3 OK OK OK hang
Reboot 4 OK OK OK OK hang
give up
Reflash kernel by koxudaxi hktw_2_3 reboot OK
-sdcard can't mount within adroid. empty empty, not even the usual data folder
apk Temp+CPU V2 shows 1GHz only
apk CPU Tuner shows 1GHz only

still looking for other solutions ..............
-
lol tats kinda tasking job right?

TSbenny888
post Feb 24 2011, 02:01 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Has been testing out the past 2 hours on Cyanogen CM7 beta Gingerbread :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=931857

Use Odin 1.7 to flash it. Since I was last on ext4 FS, I have to reflash back to RFS fs first ( I flash JMI ) and the recommended modem from JK5. Recommended must use Heimdall to flash but I use Odin 1.7 instead.
The whole process just took 3 minutes.

The final specs :
Android ver 2.3.2
Baseband : P1000XXJK5
Build number : GRH78C
Mod version : CyanogenMod-7-BETA0

Immediate impressions : Fast, extremely fast. Modaco R1 n Overcome 1.1.3 on EXT4 loses out in most areas.. Cyanogen is well known for his slick, smooth , speedy roms and is indeed proven even though is still in beta. So far all the important things work - WiFi, GPS, 3G except Camera. I do however miss the original full featured pulldown notification screen. THe one on this rom is more basic. I replace it with Quick Settings which has more and a better graphical display.
Will be installing more apps to test out. Reported still minor bugs by users - will assess it

Anyone using this rom, please share your experience too

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 02:21 AM
dave18
post Feb 24 2011, 02:20 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(cx5 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:07 AM)
Hi myzer0

hahaha, what to do? play play naughty naughty kena lor .....

Looks like you have Overcome1.1.3 with richardtrip 1.4Ghz. Can you tell me how to do it?

now with rotohammer's JMIv2,
1 I'm unable to apply Overcome1.1.3 via recovery-mode
2 and with richardtrip's kernel hang hang hang

don't know what to say of me now sad.gif

Thanks thanks thanks really appreciate your input on this.
LOL your problem has gone global. Just flash modaco kernel using odin.Then you can update to overcome with cwm.then trip v15.

You tried to switch from koxudaxi's kernel to trip's v15 straight away.You should wipe all caches, flash the modao kernel to properly set up cwm (if you have read thru koxudaci's thread you would have figured he has a problem with cwm) then use cwm to update to trip's v15 kernel.
hkboey
post Feb 24 2011, 02:29 AM

749 posts

Hi, if I convert my filesystem from RFS to EXT4, do I have to reintall all the apps and would my data be lost?? Be in in the flash memory or internal SD.

Im still facing my HSDPA data tend to broken after a certain time. The data needs to reconnect now and then, very down sad.gif
klwong99
post Feb 24 2011, 02:33 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(cx5 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:07 AM)
Hi myzer0

hahaha, what to do? play play naughty naughty kena lor .....

Looks like you have Overcome1.1.3 with richardtrip 1.4Ghz. Can you tell me how to do it?

now with rotohammer's JMIv2,
1 I'm unable to apply Overcome1.1.3 via recovery-mode
2 and with richardtrip's kernel hang hang hang

don't know what to say of me now sad.gif

Thanks thanks thanks really appreciate your input on this.
Here is my own experince but not sure how true of this:
When flash ROM or Kernel with CWM, try unplug USB of TAB from computer.
If not, you might facing chance of failure.
However, pls ensure your TAB reserve at least 50% battery while flashing to avoid breaking your TAB.
klwong99
post Feb 24 2011, 02:41 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:01 AM)
Has been testing out the past 2 hours on Cyanogen CM7 beta Gingerbread :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=931857

Use Odin 1.7 to flash it. Since I was last on ext4 FS, I have to reflash back to RFS fs first ( I flash JMI ) and the recommended modem from JK5. Recommended must use Heimdall to flash but I use Odin 1.7 instead.
The whole process just took 3 minutes.

The final specs :
Android ver 2.3.2
Baseband : P1000XXJK5
Build number : GRH78C
Mod version : CyanogenMod-7-BETA0

Immediate impressions : Fast, extremely fast. Modaco R1 n Overcome 1.1.3 on EXT4 loses out in most areas..  Cyanogen is well known for his slick, smooth , speedy roms and is indeed proven even though is still in beta. So far all the important things work - WiFi, GPS, 3G except Camera. I do however miss the original full featured pulldown notification screen. THe one on this rom is more basic. I replace it with Quick Settings which has more and a better graphical display.
Will be installing more apps to test out. Reported still minor bugs by users - will assess it

Anyone using this rom, please share your experience too
Hi Benny, good try of this ROM. I may try this after read from your result.
Most of the time, i'm not dare to flash beta or unstable ROM avoid big issue might occure.
BTW, i quite satisfy my surrent TAB with:
Overcome 1.1.3 + richardtrip Kernel V15 with Voodoo Sound rclxms.gif
dave18
post Feb 24 2011, 02:47 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Feb 24 2011, 02:29 AM)
Hi, if I convert my filesystem from RFS to EXT4, do I have to reintall all the apps and would my data be lost?? Be in in the flash memory or internal SD.

Im still facing my HSDPA data tend to broken after a certain time. The data needs to reconnect now and then, very down sad.gif
When you flash the modaco kernel with odin, you should be fine.remember no rpartition and no pit.
Actuslly i think it's maxis problem.For me jk2 rom was very good with respect to connectivity.others swear by jk5 euro rom.Maybe flash to that first then move on to modaco kernel and maybe modaco/overcome rom.Your baseband will stay.I'm on baseband jma--don't even know how i ended up with it. Hope i have helped.

TSbenny888
post Feb 24 2011, 03:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:41 AM)
Most of the time, i'm not dare to flash beta or unstable ROM avoid big issue might occure.
Overcome 1.1.3 + richardtrip Kernel V15 with Voodoo Sound  rclxms.gif
This is experimental rom. Not for user who depends on tab daily as it is not a full working version yet. Not recommended yet if you need to do all your stuffs on it
hkboey
post Feb 24 2011, 03:16 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(dave18 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:47 AM)
When you flash the modaco kernel with odin, you should be fine.remember no rpartition and no pit.
Actuslly i think it's maxis problem.For me jk2 rom was very good with respect to connectivity.others swear by jk5  euro rom.Maybe flash to that first then move on to modaco kernel and maybe modaco/overcome rom.Your baseband will stay.I'm on  baseband jma--don't even know how i ended up with it. Hope i have helped.
Oke.. I shall try to change to EXT4 then. Don wanna take the hassle to reinstall everything.

by the way, Im on digi with jm4 rom. the previous stock rom also same issue. I will try to use Maxis on it and see.
sphiroth
post Feb 24 2011, 07:13 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:41 AM)
Overcome 1.1.3 + richardtrip Kernel V15 with Voodoo Sound  rclxms.gif
Any problem with your rom combo such as features not working/etc? Need to know first before changing mine because my Tab is my primary phone.
klwong99
post Feb 24 2011, 08:08 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 24 2011, 07:13 AM)
Any problem with your rom combo such as features not working/etc? Need to know first before changing mine because my Tab is my primary phone.
No any problem found by me, maybe not really do the 'stress' test or fully utilize all the functions of TAB.
You advice to try Modacp Kernel if need stable kernel.
main reason I like this kernel is not the overclock CPU function but the smoothness and I more impress is the voodoo sound. thumbup.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 24 2011, 08:59 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:08 AM)
No any problem found by me, maybe not really do the 'stress' test or fully utilize all the functions of TAB.
You advice to try Modacp Kernel if need stable kernel.
main reason I like this kernel is not the overclock CPU function but the smoothness and I more impress is the voodoo sound. thumbup.gif
I interested in the voodoo sound also... nod.gif

Added on February 24, 2011, 9:03 amCan I just use this with modaco ext4 galaxy tab:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=924654

I only interested in the voodoo sound feature.

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Feb 24 2011, 09:03 AM
TSbenny888
post Feb 24 2011, 10:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 24 2011, 08:59 AM)
I interested in the voodoo sound also... nod.gif

Added on February 24, 2011, 9:03 amCan I just use this with modaco ext4 galaxy tab:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=924654

I only interested in the voodoo sound feature.
YES definitely. klwong99 is using the same kernel . Make sure you do a nandroid backup from recovery first in case you don't like it - you can just use recovery to restore back to the last default status
sphiroth
post Feb 24 2011, 10:29 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 24 2011, 10:23 AM)
YES definitely. klwong99 is using the same kernel . Make sure you do a nandroid backup from recovery first in case you don't like it - you can just use recovery to restore back to the last default status
Nandroid backup using CWM issit? hmm.gif
myzer0
post Feb 24 2011, 10:32 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(dave18 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:20 AM)
LOL your problem has gone global. Just flash modaco kernel using odin.Then you can update to overcome with cwm.then trip v15.

You tried to switch from koxudaxi's kernel to trip's v15 straight away.You should wipe all caches, flash the modao kernel to properly set up cwm (if you have read thru koxudaci's thread you would have figured he has a problem with cwm) then use cwm to update to trip's v15 kernel.
cx5 lol like wat i said... kinda tasking right??? prolly u shud learn to walk b4 run??

i kinda brick my tab a few times... but i learnt a lot tongue.gif... and i googled alot too

dave18... wat u say its true...

ajay67
post Feb 24 2011, 10:36 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:16 PM)
Use AwesomeDrop installed on TAB and you can transfer files from PC over

http://labs.dashwire.com/drop/android

i've installed. when run it says waiting for drop & nothing else happens. what did i do wrong?
myzer0
post Feb 24 2011, 10:37 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:33 AM)
Here is my own experince but not sure how true of this:
When flash ROM or Kernel with CWM, try unplug USB of TAB from computer.
If not, you might facing chance of failure.
However, pls ensure your TAB reserve at least 50% battery while flashing to avoid breaking your TAB.
hey do mine screenshot ur tab's kernel version ? tongue.gif thx
TSbenny888
post Feb 24 2011, 10:53 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Feb 24 2011, 10:36 AM)
i've installed. when run it says waiting for drop & nothing else happens. what did i do wrong?
First did you see the youtube video tutorial ?? What browser are you using - make sure is compatible with HTML5 : safari, Firefox or Chrome

The set-up process is easy. Visit http://labs.dashwire.com on a desktop and enter the displayed code on your phone. Then simply drag-and-drop files into the box. Awesome Drop will then download the files automatically. Again, maybe not the best solution for transferring whole albums, though it is possible, but it’s perfect for quick transfers.

You can refer to this tutorial here very well written and simple.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/08/13/ap...m-any-computer/

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:03 amJust an update to my test on CyanogenMOd Gingerbread CM7 beta :

Unlike the default Samsung system, the SD cards are mounted differently . In any file explorer or MyFiles I noted the internal SD card and external cards are mounted separately as :

- internal sdcard is mounted as /mnt/emmc (embedded mmc)
- external is mounted in normal /mnt/sdcard

Apparently this is Gingerbread feature - as such one of my apps ( Newsroom ) was unable to detect the external card for backup and restore.
Noted quite few other apps ( eg browser bookmarks backup, SMS backup, notes backup etc ) now backup data directly to ext card instead of internal card. In a way this is good so if one ever flash new rom no need to worry about internal SD card being wipeout

All video players ( default, Mplayer, Rockplayer, VPlayer ) cannot work - hear sound , no image

Tab cannot be charged switched off. If I charge it when it is off - it will auto reboot into ON position

Overall the performance of this rom is very good. I look forward to the camera n video being solved hopefully within the next week

So now time to go back to my Modaco R1

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 11:03 AM
dave18
post Feb 24 2011, 11:19 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 24 2011, 03:04 AM)
This is experimental rom. Not for user who depends on tab daily as it is not a full working version yet. Not recommended yet if you need to do all your stuffs on it
Somebody wrote on the xda thread that camera360 can work.Is it true? What about bluetooth? It has been a while since the rom went public.what concerns me is lack of progress.There hasn't been a single update.Looks like the OP is stuck. Rgds.

104 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:38 AM