SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB Official Thread V1, ..best and most portable Android tablet

hkboey
post Feb 18 2011, 02:01 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Feb 18 2011, 12:24 PM)
ue ?

once a while the 3G connection will just get stucked. i need to on and off data only start running again.
thanks.
Hey bro.... are you using stock ROM?? I faced the same issue also... very disappointed! sad.gif(
Change the network to GSM only dont seem to have this problem.

Now upgrading to JM4 and hope it solves this issue. Otherwise will need to try flashing to other custom ROM.
hkboey
post Feb 18 2011, 02:13 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 02:07 PM)
This could be related to network /location not so much the rom. I am saying this based on my experienced using Android phones besides the TAB. But one thing for sure is any of the popular cook roms ( Roto, Overcome and Modaco ) is one up above the stock rom. You want better performance, slicker faster UI - upgrade to EXT4 file system roms such as Overcome or MOdaco
Thanks for the heads up. Performance and UI aside, its the data network on WCDMA that is actually giving problem. Data transferring is stucked too often and you can see there's only outgoing data and no incoming. The data will timeout after a period and it will reconnect automatically or you disable/enable the mobile data manually, then the data will be back to normal.

It's confirmed not network tower nor the location problem as I tried using the same simcard on other phone and it works without data dropping.

I've just done factory recovery and the problem still persist. So it's either hardware problem or the ROM.

Added on February 18, 2011, 2:59 pmEDIT: Oh damn, upgrading to JM4 didnt solve the data issue :'(

New features found in JM4:-
1. Social hub is now included
2. Calculator is also included
3. Samsung Mobile Tracker is included, can be found under security setting.

This post has been edited by hkboey: Feb 18 2011, 02:59 PM
hkboey
post Feb 24 2011, 02:29 AM

749 posts

Hi, if I convert my filesystem from RFS to EXT4, do I have to reintall all the apps and would my data be lost?? Be in in the flash memory or internal SD.

Im still facing my HSDPA data tend to broken after a certain time. The data needs to reconnect now and then, very down sad.gif
hkboey
post Feb 24 2011, 03:16 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(dave18 @ Feb 24 2011, 02:47 AM)
When you flash the modaco kernel with odin, you should be fine.remember no rpartition and no pit.
Actuslly i think it's maxis problem.For me jk2 rom was very good with respect to connectivity.others swear by jk5  euro rom.Maybe flash to that first then move on to modaco kernel and maybe modaco/overcome rom.Your baseband will stay.I'm on  baseband jma--don't even know how i ended up with it. Hope i have helped.
Oke.. I shall try to change to EXT4 then. Don wanna take the hassle to reinstall everything.

by the way, Im on digi with jm4 rom. the previous stock rom also same issue. I will try to use Maxis on it and see.
hkboey
post Feb 28 2011, 08:30 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 28 2011, 02:00 PM)
These are the steps I took :
Download the EXT4 TAR file from  HERE
Launch Odin 1.7 , in PDA select the TAR file ( do not select the ‘repartition’ option)
Odin completed,  the TAB reset and freeze on TAB logo – is a normal condition . I switch it off ( hold down power button for 5 secs )
Go to Recovery Mode ( Press down VolumeUp button and switch on TAB )

--- i need to connect tab as what to be flashed with odin?
TAB reset and  perform the EXT4 conversion ; you can see all the conversion progress on screen
Once completed, the TAB Reboot.

Added on February 28, 2011, 2:09 pmops, just figure it out,

volume down + power button.

backing up data and convernting to ext4 now~
How do we check if we've change our FS to EXT4???
hkboey
post Feb 28 2011, 08:42 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Feb 28 2011, 12:36 AM)
any users have mobile date drop issues please hands up !!

i m using digi. once a while my data will stuck. i need to on/ off data to "revive" the connection.
I also experience this, damn annoying..... if switch to GSM only then you wont face this. sad.gif((
hkboey
post Feb 28 2011, 09:04 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 28 2011, 08:57 PM)
please refer post #3 Q 20

Added on February 28, 2011, 8:59 pm

I'd say this are telco issues.I have tested on Digi : prepaid voice cum data sometimes have this problem. Digi internet data only package no such issue. Celcom postpaid voice/data no such issue
Thanks bro. Its it the process of converting now. Scare me to death just now when I try to flash the tar file and its hanging there. The reason was the tar file that I download was incomplete. Thought I've bricked my tab.
hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 12:21 AM

749 posts

Have converted to ext4 on my stock rom jm4. Quadrant score was 1087 on rfs but now 1723 on ext4.

#1 Too bad now my sensor is now having problem, it keeps steering to left when playing NFS. It was working well before convert.

#2 I feel my vibration feedback is much less sensitive now. It is the same sensitive level as before but its not so strong like before.

Anyone can help on how to resolve my sensor issue?

hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 12:56 PM

749 posts

Anyone else face this??? My startup screen become like this after I convert to EXT4.

This post has been edited by hkboey: Mar 1 2011, 12:58 PM
hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 01:52 PM

749 posts

thepittbull, benny888: Yup, I've flash to Overcome v1.2.0 now that the above glitch has gone.

I'm having a BIG problem now. My tab cant see both my Internal SD and External SD.

Click on the Setting>External SD Card>Mount SD Card. Nothing happen.

Go into CWM Recovery, try to mount both SD Card also unsuccessful.

hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 02:04 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(thepittbull @ Mar 1 2011, 01:57 PM)
Hang on... I was just reading about this issue somewhere on XDA... can't recall where.

Let me check it out...

As ever, don't panic... everything can be solved. I'm in the midst of "reformating" and reflashing OC 1.2.0 right now anyway... some minor glitches.

BTW, I assume you were flashing from the Modaco kernel/rom combo -> OC1.2.0?

and you've done the EXT4 conversion?
Yup... Stock ROM > Modaco Kernel EXT4 without ROM > OC 1.2.0

So Im on EXT4 now.
hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 02:15 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(thepittbull @ Mar 1 2011, 02:05 PM)
@hkboey,

BTW, when you said it can't detect your internal SD... there's nothing there?

Could you describe the steps you did? In the reflashing process I mean...
I've wiped everything before I flash OC1.2.0. So I've also wipe all the data in my internal SD.

Now that in the Setting menu, when I put in/remove External SD, I can see the notification message there. But when I click on Mount, nothing just happen.

Yup, I have backup all data so not afraid losing any data in Application Memory, Internal SD and even External SD. Its all empty as I tried to do a clean flash.

Haha.. now its as clean as I cant even see both my SD now. I will try to reflash OC1.2.0 again and see.
hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 02:39 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(thepittbull @ Mar 1 2011, 02:19 PM)
Yeah that's interesting. I remembered reading about this particular issue just late last night, and for the life of me, can't seem to find it now.

I'm doing a clean wipe now and reflashing OC1.2.0 now...

Let me see if I come across it....

Added on March 1, 2011, 2:23 pm

Just reflashed...

Seems to be ok...

How's yours coming along?
Flashed again also the same. sad.gif damn......
hkboey
post Mar 1 2011, 03:45 PM

749 posts

I've definitely done nothing, on and off, on and off, and both the internal sd and external sd now can be accessed.

That is also what others have reported in XDA forum. It comes back for no reason.
hkboey
post Mar 2 2011, 02:01 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Devil @ Mar 2 2011, 10:35 AM)
Planning to get SGT soon, but would like to ask all sifu here, is it possible to transfer photos from digital camera to SGT without using PC?
Best if your camera have a sd slot. Then u can get a micro sd plus a sd adapter to use in your camera then when u want to transfer your photo, put the microsd into the tab then u can transfer your photos directly to the tab.
hkboey
post Mar 5 2011, 02:54 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 5 2011, 01:28 PM)
strange, both of my n1 and sgt facebook widget not updating the latest friend's status.

anyone facing the problem?
Ya, I do notice this as well. I've downloaded Seesmic and it also have widget and I think it works much better.
hkboey
post Mar 5 2011, 06:15 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 5 2011, 03:11 PM)
the latest update i get is on friday 2.00am. even thou i enter the facebook application and refresh it.

the widget on the screen still stuck on friday 2.00am status.
The Facebook widget now shows updated status though. Is yours working already?
hkboey
post Mar 9 2011, 01:00 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(psychomist @ Mar 8 2011, 11:18 PM)
today i upgrade my firmware as suggest on kies..and start from that my z4root is not working..anybody have similar problem?is it cause by the new firmware???damnnnnnn,,and i hate the new look for kies..too oldskool..
If your new firmware is JM4, then z4root will not work. You can use SuperOneClick, it works for me on JM4.
hkboey
post Mar 9 2011, 01:54 AM

749 posts

For those using DiGi with Galaxy tab and facing data issue on 3G network. Its actually DiGi 3G is not compatible with our tab. Damn... now Im stucked with their contract! sad.gif

I've tried Hotlink on it and it works like a charm! HSDPA data are so smooth! and Im getting 2Mbps to 5Mbps. Best is the data never timeout.

On DiGi HSPDPA, highest can get is 1Mbps, but it timeout like nobody business. Stupid DiGi selling a non-compliance product, worse still with contract!!

So guess now I have to use my remaining 11months contract with EDGE only on my tab.
hkboey
post Mar 11 2011, 03:14 PM

749 posts

after upgrading to Overcome1.2.0, I cant connecto Samsung Kies anymore. Any clue??

0.8028sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:53 AM