126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V4, Anticipating D700 replacement !

Andy214
post Jan 28 2011, 02:13 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 28 2011, 12:28 PM)
Tamron VC or Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 EX DC Macro HSM?
can some1 cite the + and -
Reviews around the net favors the Tamron, but seems the shops favors the Sigma, maybe want to clear stock as the 18-50mm already phased out by newer version with OS (which is much more expensive).

Sigma will give you some Macro capabilities of 1:3 and very close focusing.

For around the same price, Tamron will give you VC; Build quality, I think Sigma is better, but the outer-coating is the issue here.

Suggest you to test BOTH at the shop yourself, you can also compare the Tamron without VC and with VC. Without VC is really cheap, around RM1.2K? The cost you save, you can budget for another lens or battery grip, etc.

NOTE: There is local set and AP set. For Tamron, local Set by Futuromic Malaysia has 2 years warranty (I think), but it's made in China; Those AP set, should be made in Japan set.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 28 2011, 02:14 PM
lighter
post Jan 28 2011, 02:19 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

Anyone updated your D90 / D5000 firmware to 1.02? I've updated mine yesterday night. The only changes is the Distortion Control... that's all huh??

http://nikonimglib.com/dcdata/#os-windows
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 02:46 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 02:13 PM)
Reviews around the net favors the Tamron, but seems the shops favors the Sigma, maybe want to clear stock as the 18-50mm already phased out by newer version with OS (which is much more expensive).

Sigma will give you some Macro capabilities of 1:3 and very close focusing.

For around the same price, Tamron will give you VC; Build quality, I think Sigma is better, but the outer-coating is the issue here.

Suggest you to test BOTH at the shop yourself, you can also compare the Tamron without VC and with VC. Without VC is really cheap, around RM1.2K? The cost you save, you can budget for another lens or battery grip, etc.

NOTE: There is local set and AP set. For Tamron, local Set by Futuromic Malaysia has 2 years warranty (I think), but it's made in China; Those AP set, should be made in Japan set.
so the AP set is kinda like gambling huh with those quality issue of third party lenses. sweat.gif
what if there's a need to update the firmware or focus issue with the lens? hmm.gif
razuryza
post Jan 28 2011, 03:01 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jan 28 2011, 02:19 PM)
Anyone updated your D90 / D5000 firmware to 1.02? I've updated mine yesterday night. The only changes is the Distortion Control... that's all huh??

http://nikonimglib.com/dcdata/#os-windows
okla tu.. better than nothing
Andy214
post Jan 28 2011, 03:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Jan 28 2011, 02:46 PM)
so the AP set is kinda like gambling huh with those quality issue of third party lenses. sweat.gif
what if there's a need to update the firmware or focus issue with the lens? hmm.gif
Yup... but for Tamron, it's said that the one made in Japan is better, or less problems. That's what been said and read "lah".

I'm not sure the VC or non-VC version has problem with the D7000 during Live View, I think can't focus.
I think there is an update or something for the lens but not sure if it's this case.

The Sigma HSM, have problem with the focusing when using SB700 AF Assist Lamp, the focusing will judder trying to lock on, although it lock on successfully, but it's not accurate as most of the time, the image is soft. Turning off the SB700 AF Assist Lamp, then it focus like normal. No problem with the body AF asssit lamp tough.
Not sure if there is an update for this.
lighter
post Jan 28 2011, 03:19 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 28 2011, 03:01 PM)
okla tu.. better than nothing
i want faster metering!! but i'm not willing to upgrade my camera.. laugh.gif
razuryza
post Jan 28 2011, 03:22 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jan 28 2011, 03:19 PM)
i want faster metering!! but i'm not willing to upgrade my camera..  laugh.gif
metering needs to be fast meh? if AF i can understand la.. unsure.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 03:24 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 03:06 PM)
Yup... but for Tamron, it's said that the one made in Japan is better, or less problems. That's what been said and read "lah".

I'm not sure the VC or non-VC version has problem with the D7000 during Live View, I think can't focus.
I think there is an update or something for the lens but not sure if it's this case.

The Sigma HSM, have problem with the focusing when using SB700 AF Assist Lamp, the focusing will judder trying to lock on, although it lock on successfully, but it's not accurate as most of the time, the image is soft. Turning off the SB700 AF Assist Lamp, then it focus like normal. No problem with the body AF asssit lamp tough.
Not sure if there is an update for this.
So Sigma should be better isn't it coz all their lens are made in Japan? hmm.gif
Kent3888
post Jan 28 2011, 03:29 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Jan 28 2011, 03:24 PM)
So Sigma should be better isn't it coz all their lens are made in Japan?  hmm.gif
My Tamron VC is made in Japan n it's a wonderful baby
lighter
post Jan 28 2011, 03:38 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 28 2011, 03:22 PM)
metering needs to be fast meh? if AF i can understand la.. unsure.gif
faster metering is important for me especially using Spot metering...
Andy214
post Jan 28 2011, 03:43 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikipiki @ Jan 28 2011, 03:24 PM)
So Sigma should be better isn't it coz all their lens are made in Japan?  hmm.gif
Sigma have better build quality, but the problem is the outer coating will can peel off... it'll look not nice and most probably affect it's resale value...
Maybe someone willl paint it white, tongue.gif

Anyway, the Sigma 18-50mm is a bigger glass... 72mm filter required...

pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 03:50 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 03:43 PM)
Sigma have better build quality, but the problem is the outer coating will can peel off... it'll look not nice and most probably affect it's resale value...
Maybe someone willl paint it white,  tongue.gif

Anyway, the Sigma 18-50mm is a bigger glass... 72mm filter required...
You mean the glass coating or the metal/plastic coating? blink.gif
But Tamron feels like it would probably fall apart in couple of years tho IMO laugh.gif
gnome
post Jan 28 2011, 03:52 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

The body coating, it wears off after sometimes making the lens looks really beat up laugh.gif

but the new coating said to fix the problem already hmm.gif
razuryza
post Jan 28 2011, 03:57 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jan 28 2011, 03:38 PM)
faster metering is important for me especially using Spot metering...
u can feel the lagness while meter meh? hmm.gif
lighter
post Jan 28 2011, 04:10 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 28 2011, 03:57 PM)
u can feel the lagness while meter meh? hmm.gif
not lag.. it just not fast enough when i'm on Aperture Priority the shutter speed change slowly when i face the camera from dark to bright or vice versa.. it will be sensitively change using Spot Metering..

get what i mean? I guess a lot of photographer doesn't care about it but just snap icon_rolleyes.gif
bagata
post Jan 28 2011, 04:35 PM

804 posts

Just to share, new SDHC card at speed 45MB/sec smile.gif

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/sandisk-announces...-cf-card-2.html

KIEN18
post Jan 28 2011, 05:20 PM

176 posts

Pic spam...

sifu-sifu, may i know that sharp enough ??
david9
post Jan 28 2011, 05:37 PM

493 posts

Hi ,

Where can I buy best price for d3100 kit after the week of chinese new year ?

celciuz
post Jan 28 2011, 05:38 PM

14,037 posts

Wow, Sandisk Extreme Pro SDHC at 45MB/s and the new Sandisk Extreme Pro CF at 100MB/s!
scotty
post Jan 28 2011, 05:39 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

very sharp. what lense u pakai?

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled