6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V4, Anticipating D700 replacement !

pikipiki
post Jan 24 2011, 12:52 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Jan 24 2011, 12:47 PM)
doh.gif

That ham making company got 900 years of history and experience lah, not the ham!
Yeah. HAHAHAHA nod.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 24 2011, 06:27 PM

273 posts

noob question, what is the difference of a protector filter vs uv filter?
pikipiki
post Jan 25 2011, 11:54 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Jan 25 2011, 11:48 PM)
Im buying nikkor len . But i dont have my DSLR here , left at hometown. ><" , i try to borrow the camera to test from the camera shop

1. Check the warranty.
2. Check the Glass (Glass inside?)
3. Check the focus
4. Using focus chart (Wonder they provided or not)
5. Check the outer
6. Check the scratch

Any more beside what KTCY and aldo said.

Thank to you two anyway
You can check everything and find the lens in mint condition, but without your own dslr you can never know whether it is in good condition for your camera. The 'mint' condition lens might have back or front focus mount on your camera but not with the shop's. So it is not advisable to test without your very own camera when buying a lens.

pikipiki
post Jan 26 2011, 12:18 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Jan 26 2011, 12:01 AM)
Yeah i got a PDF focus chart but dun know how to use , i will try to read how to use . As need 45 degree and alot ><"

Alright thanks then i tell the tauke i wont get the len first bah , wait back hometown then go penang get one
Do the battery test for focus too I would suggest in case you can't get the focus chart right. Battery test is easier to do and read too. Just place 3 battery side by side, then move the left battery slightly to the back and the right slightly to the front. Place your camera directly in front of the middle battery on focus on it. Either left or right battery is sharper meaning you got back or front focus. Try it out. AA battery will. nod.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 26 2011, 01:44 AM

273 posts

---(batt 1)---
-------------(batt 2)---
------------------------(batt 3)---

Oops it doesnt show . LOL wait lemme edit it. Like this. LOL but slight closer as in just half out. Meaning the front of batt 1 is about parallel to the middle point of batt 2.

Okay, edited. user posted image

Added on January 26, 2011, 1:49 amDo 5 batteries to see the result clearly. smile.gif

This post has been edited by pikipiki: Jan 26 2011, 01:49 AM
pikipiki
post Jan 26 2011, 02:01 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Jan 26 2011, 12:03 PM)
Hahahaha, this is what i plan to do But got other better way lar.. Can i agak agak 45 degree can d. 
Wide up your aperture. let say the maximum aperture is 1.8 then adjust it to f/1.8 , Which mean set ur camera to Aperture Priority mode.
Set the Autofocus system to the AF-S
Set the AF-Area mode to Single Area
Make sure your focus point is at center. I mean the red dot in viewfinder.
Metering mode , any mode will do
But betetr if you got tripod lar make it 45 degree then focus on your focus test chart.

This friday try go penang see and test how.

http://focustestchart.com/chart.html
But problem with that 45 degree is that lens with maximum aperture 3.5 above give you result that is very hard to read whether there is any front or back focusing.

Also, 1.8 aperture sometimes can give you soft image thus it is even harder to tell about the focus issue.

Try to do the battery test if you find yourself unable to judge the focus problem. smile.gif

pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 01:15 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 27 2011, 01:04 AM)
If you shoot raw, your raw file will have none of those settings applied. The first thing you will notice if you do shoot raw is... there is NO NOISE REDUCTION applied. So,... yea, you have more things to PP.
Nope, the bigger the aperture, the easier to know the problem. The smaller aperture will have more in focus, covers more depth, so it's harder to tell.

If you want to do proper focus test, you will need to use tripod and do serious test to know. For basic test without tripod, you can put the camera on the table, line up the batteries, or put a book with wordings 45 degrees, etc. open to the widest aperture and focus and shoot, make sure the camera and object doesn't move. Take several shots, review the pictures and see.

Example:

-|------
--|----- 
---|----
----|---
-----|---

---C---

C = Camera
| = Batteries or other objects, or book/paper with words in 45 degrees
If you're handholding and shooting in f/1.4 or 1/1.8, you might not doing it properly where you or the camera might have moved just a little and the actual focus depth/plane changed when you press/release the shutter, resulting in inaccurate test.

If you have time, watch this video tutorial and how this guy test:

Part 1:

Part 2:

Nope, what I mean is at the widest aperture, it is usually not the sharpest(image look soft and hazy) and mostly very hard to get the focus lock on as the DOF is too shallow. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by pikipiki: Jan 27 2011, 01:39 AM
pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 01:42 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 27 2011, 01:35 AM)
That's the point of opening to wides aperture, for the shallow depth of field so that you can easily pin point which area front or back focus problem. With small aperture, it's harder to differentiate due to the more depth of field covered.
Most people face front or back focusing problem when the aperture is wide open, because they focus on the eyes, but end up the nose or hand, etc is in focus. With smaller aperture, you hardly have such problem.

Unless you wanna do sharpness test for the lens, such as MTF chart, to find out the sharpness at each focal length for each aperture...
Haha, you still don't get it, at the widest aperture the image out of the camera is too soft and hazy(often lack of contrast too), it is too hard to judge about the focus, normally you need to go down 1 f-stop to get the image sharper so as to see the result and easily able to tell the focus issue.

Added on January 27, 2011, 1:43 am
QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 27 2011, 01:39 AM)
Guys, rare turtle..snapped at one of beaches in Kemaman, Terengganu..
Snapped wif D90..
Wow your lens has super back focus problem laugh.gif
Joking! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pikipiki: Jan 27 2011, 01:43 AM
pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 03:14 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 27 2011, 02:38 AM)
You're not testing on the sharpness, but the focus, you don't gave to get tack sharp image to know. Have you seen focus chart test done with f/1.4? You don't have to get tack sharp image to know the correct results; Plus if you're on tripod or the camera is steady, the image are sharp enough. I don't know what definition or what you're looking for.
Focus test is to test which part is in focus, not which part is sharpest, unless you can't differentiate which part is out of focus and which part is in focus.

Anyway, to each his own; You may have different kind of test compared with others, but generally, if you check around, the test are usually done at widest aperture and there is nothing to do with super sharp image, or mention about how sharp it is. But then, this is just a test, you may have your own kind of test, while another person have another.
No point arguing whose test is correct, the main reason for this test is to find out whether there is any focusing problem, as in front or back focusing, where you focus on let's say the eye, but the nose gets the focus instead. Stopping down 1 stop might not have this problem because both the eye and nose might already in focus, so you wouldn't have know.

ANYWAY, this is how I tested before and what I've read on those test.
OR, as the video I posted previously, (if you actually watched it), the video did test on VARIOUS apertures. So, why stop it down 1 stop, test on widest apertures and stop it down  icon_rolleyes.gif
Want to test, do proper test and extensively.
What I mean is when you put it on the widest aperture the whole image is often just blurred and too soft. When it is so, it is really hard to tell whether there is any front or back focus(as the focus point and the front and back of the points are too soft and blur to see), even the video you suggested saying so that the widest aperture has the soft image, so it is always recommend to drop 1 f-stop as to maintain the shallow DOF but have sharper image(meaning clearer result on the test chart instead of the whole image came out just blur).(and this is for the battery test and the test chart)

While your video is just looking at the diet coke bottle, it is a totally different kind of test, you can't use the minimum aperture to do the test chart as the whole chart would come out tack sharp therefore unable to tell the focus problem, while the maximum is often too soft too hence the 1 stop lower aperture to do the focus chart test and battery test.

Not to correct you or anything just my own experience as most lenses have soft image at their widest aperture and when the whole focus chart came out soft and hazy how can one tell the focus problem(back and front focus lens if shoot at the coke diet bottle would give you soft focus image while a faultless lens on the widest aperture will show a soft and hazy coke bottle too, does it mean the lens has focus problem, not really just that you need to lower down your aperture to test it), you need to at least get the focus point sharp to the extent it is distinctive enough while remaining a shallow depth of field. I know technically you should do it at the widest aperture to narrow down the DOF but no lens can avoid the soft image at their widest aperture.

And I don't mean to argue just as my own experience I find it easier to read with when lower down the aperture. icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm not here to prove anything, just wanna share my experience. smile.gif

pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 07:42 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Jan 27 2011, 07:28 AM)
Isn't it May for D800? rolleyes.gif

pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 01:01 PM

273 posts

The D800 or whatever it is called has to have tremendous upgrade from it's predecessor D700 as rumors have it saying the Canon 5D mark3 has 28m mega pixels, less noise on high ISO, improved metering, improved AF system and accepting SD card. So Nikon may have to raise their own bars to in order to compete in the full frame business.

This post has been edited by pikipiki: Jan 27 2011, 03:14 PM
pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 01:07 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 27 2011, 01:03 PM)
can't some1 shoot in indoor without VC? I thought bumb the ISO will do. especially you have D7000. up to ISO 6400 still good.
why even bother about VC?
how about wide-angle lens?
I think the problem is about the focal length. The longer the focal length, the greater the shake will affect the image and thru your viewfinder it is as if there are some earthquake going on. laugh.gif

But below 60mm I think it is still ok without any IS/VR/VC, haven't tried any telephoto lens without VR tho. whistling.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 01:13 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 27 2011, 01:09 PM)
Its better if you go to the shops and try the VC and Non VC lens, see which one works best for you. Different people different requirement, some need it and some dont. For me VR/VC/OS or whatever its called are always welcome.
Try without VC above 100mm, hahahaha, earthquake! and it is super hard to focus on your subject as the view in viewfinder keep on bouncing even if you have steady hand as the long focal length magnifies the shake.
pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 04:02 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Jan 27 2011, 03:59 PM)
Pic spam >.<

D7000 F2.8 1/320 ISO6400
what lens are you using?

pikipiki
post Jan 27 2011, 08:49 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 27 2011, 08:31 PM)
I dare u challenge me with ur non-vc handheld indoor 50mm to shoot some products with words on it den u can see double image on yours  brows.gif  I can shoot at lower iso and get as sharp image, but u need to bump ur iso mayb two stops higher, so which produce cleaner image? u do the math.... don always see review, they put on tripod to do the testing, but for everyday use u don't bring ur tripod to ur dinner gathering always rite  wink.gif

Added on January 27, 2011, 8:36 pm

Sometimes my auto focus miss ler when asking ppl to help shoot =.= sipeh sienz..... AF-A auto

Added on January 27, 2011, 8:43 pm

U really need to check properly, n I don think HD is so easily scratch summore nice shape v simbol=.=
The tammy better or the sigma 17-50 f2.8? Double the price and is it worth it?
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 12:51 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 28 2011, 12:28 PM)
Tamron VC or Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 EX DC Macro HSM?
can some1 cite the + and -
I like the IQ of Tamron but that AF sound is just shakehead.gif
and the Tamron from the reviews I read it hunts a lot in low light and that basically defeats the purpose of a fast lens.
And without OS for the sigma I think it will struggle to take good photos in low light isn't it. 17-50 f2.8 has OS but it's 1k more! laugh.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 02:46 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 02:13 PM)
Reviews around the net favors the Tamron, but seems the shops favors the Sigma, maybe want to clear stock as the 18-50mm already phased out by newer version with OS (which is much more expensive).

Sigma will give you some Macro capabilities of 1:3 and very close focusing.

For around the same price, Tamron will give you VC; Build quality, I think Sigma is better, but the outer-coating is the issue here.

Suggest you to test BOTH at the shop yourself, you can also compare the Tamron without VC and with VC. Without VC is really cheap, around RM1.2K? The cost you save, you can budget for another lens or battery grip, etc.

NOTE: There is local set and AP set. For Tamron, local Set by Futuromic Malaysia has 2 years warranty (I think), but it's made in China; Those AP set, should be made in Japan set.
so the AP set is kinda like gambling huh with those quality issue of third party lenses. sweat.gif
what if there's a need to update the firmware or focus issue with the lens? hmm.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 03:24 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 03:06 PM)
Yup... but for Tamron, it's said that the one made in Japan is better, or less problems. That's what been said and read "lah".

I'm not sure the VC or non-VC version has problem with the D7000 during Live View, I think can't focus.
I think there is an update or something for the lens but not sure if it's this case.

The Sigma HSM, have problem with the focusing when using SB700 AF Assist Lamp, the focusing will judder trying to lock on, although it lock on successfully, but it's not accurate as most of the time, the image is soft. Turning off the SB700 AF Assist Lamp, then it focus like normal. No problem with the body AF asssit lamp tough.
Not sure if there is an update for this.
So Sigma should be better isn't it coz all their lens are made in Japan? hmm.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 28 2011, 03:50 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 28 2011, 03:43 PM)
Sigma have better build quality, but the problem is the outer coating will can peel off... it'll look not nice and most probably affect it's resale value...
Maybe someone willl paint it white,  tongue.gif

Anyway, the Sigma 18-50mm is a bigger glass... 72mm filter required...
You mean the glass coating or the metal/plastic coating? blink.gif
But Tamron feels like it would probably fall apart in couple of years tho IMO laugh.gif
pikipiki
post Jan 29 2011, 08:51 PM

273 posts

The new D800?? hmm.gif user posted image

The mirrorless Nikon Q? cool2.gif user posted image

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:14 AM