26 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 >Bottom

Gym Etiquette, what ticks you off in your gym?

VaLeNrUdOn
post Sep 28 2012, 03:12 PM

166 posts

just got back from the gym...saw this damn funny guy doing some funny shit...no it didn't tick me off but i found it amusing..
he was clean pressing a 50lbs db..mind u..db..!!..1 hand tucked behind..the other trying to clean press..while he 1/2 squats and tries to balance when the db is in the air..he was like moving forward a few steps..then back a few..grunting all the way..

while i'm a newbie and he's prolly doing something really important..still amused the hell out of me..biggrin.gif good day guys!
bonzaimy
post Sep 28 2012, 04:48 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ Sep 25 2012, 05:10 PM)
u sure its not ali G or bruno? lol
Hahaha...Ali G aku terus p mintak sign.. biggrin.gif
enix2000
post Oct 1 2012, 02:38 PM

747 posts

People turn me off by asking me silly question and give me silly advices

"Lifting heavy no effect one only will injured yourself" - I was doing 120lbs bar bell rows
"Your deathlift form wrong la bro" I asked "How do you DL then?" He ans "I dont do DL" - LOL
"Why you only use free weight? No difficult meh? Use machine la, why don't you? Oh.. Too many people using har? Come we share".......

Same person...

This post has been edited by enix2000: Oct 1 2012, 02:42 PM
TSmikehuan
post Oct 1 2012, 03:08 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(enix2000 @ Oct 1 2012, 02:38 PM)

"Lifting heavy no effect one only will injured yourself" - I was doing 120lbs bar bell rows
"Your deathlift form wrong la bro" I asked "How do you DL then?" He ans "I dont do DL" - LOL
"Why you only use free weight? No difficult meh? Use machine la, why don't you? Oh.. Too many people using har? Come we share".......

Same person...
Deadlift

D E A D L I F T

Ironic considering the title of the thread
kubuk
post Oct 1 2012, 03:28 PM

497 posts

Deathlift sounds so much cooler hahahahahaha
Jason
post Oct 1 2012, 06:51 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(enix2000 @ Oct 1 2012, 02:38 PM)

Same person...
maybe he's just concerned about you. was he wearing v-neck? icon_idea.gif I hardly have enough time to catch my breath, these people still can talk so much.
enix2000
post Oct 3 2012, 10:55 AM

747 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 1 2012, 03:08 PM)
Deadlift

D E A D L I F T

Ironic considering the title of the thread
LOL I didn't notice. I forget where I read about DL in LYN where someone said DL is lifting the death from the ground. Guess I must correct myself

QUOTE(kubuk @ Oct 1 2012, 03:28 PM)
Deathlift sounds so much cooler hahahahahaha
Agreed! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 1 2012, 06:51 PM)
maybe he's just concerned about you. was he wearing v-neck?  icon_idea.gif I hardly have enough time to catch my breath, these people still can talk so much.
IDK man, I get annoyed when people talk to me too much especially while working off my a$$ deadlifting..
chastise
post Oct 3 2012, 04:07 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

Yesterday was my leg day and I was doing squats lunges at one of the smith machine (squat rack full, gym was really crowded). Half way through.. 2 guys came to use the other smith machine and instead of looking for weights that they want, conveniently took mine from the smith machine rack that I was using. I've told him nicely that I need it (I just finish my 2nd set and I need that weight for my 3rd). Then he went off and told his friend with a hint of rudeness. Seriously.. I might be tiny and I'm a lady. I cannot use 25lbs is it?

This is the first time I see such rude people in my gym.
Kyoyagami
post Oct 3 2012, 05:04 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Oct 3 2012, 04:07 PM)
Yesterday was my leg day and I was doing squats lunges at one of the smith machine (squat rack full, gym was really crowded). Half way through.. 2 guys came to use the other smith machine and instead of looking for weights that they want, conveniently took mine from the smith machine rack that I was using. I've told him nicely that I need it (I just finish my 2nd set and I need that weight for my 3rd). Then he went off and told his friend with a hint of rudeness. Seriously.. I might be tiny and I'm a lady. I cannot use 25lbs is it?

This is the first time I see such rude people in my gym.
You are more than allowed to use it.

Can't believe those pricks exist.
Seasick85
post Oct 14 2012, 07:42 PM

229 posts

I'll just share my experience:

Personally, I've been playing for 3-4 years on and off, and I've seen all types of people with all kinds of attitudes, some are friendly, some are serious, some are playing or goofing around, some are just not acceptable due to very bad attitude etc.

Just wanted to share my experience, not really saying anything but:

1) I've just started doing squats last year..therefore i still need to work on my form..usually i will do a parallel squat, some of the senior guys there always tell me to full squat but what I always saw they do is half squat..which really makes me wonder y?

2) I'm regular at this gym..i've just finish my sets..so i sit on the bench for a while guiding my friend to do deadlift, however come this two unknown guys with that rude-kind-of-look staring at me, after a while they didn't talk but only pointed to me to use the bench..for me personally i've no problem as I don't use it anymore, but please, can you just said in a very polite manner, using words, to ask? Later on I just saw that they are doing sets of bench press and they still give that rude-kind-of-look (unfriendly look)..and although they are bigger than me, they still can't beat my bench poundages, and I don't have that kind-of-look.. seriously...

Dar1en
post Oct 15 2012, 11:54 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Seasick85 @ Oct 14 2012, 07:42 PM)
I'll just share my experience:

Personally, I've been playing for 3-4 years on and off, and I've seen all types of people with all kinds of attitudes, some are friendly, some are serious, some are playing or goofing around, some are just not acceptable due to very bad attitude etc.

Just wanted to share my experience, not really saying anything but:

1) I've just started doing squats last year..therefore i still need to work on my form..usually i will do a parallel squat, some of the senior guys there always tell me to full squat but what I always saw they do is half squat..which really makes me wonder y?

2) I'm regular at this gym..i've just finish my sets..so i sit on the bench for a while guiding my friend to do deadlift, however come this two unknown guys with that rude-kind-of-look staring at me, after a while they didn't talk but only pointed to me to use the bench..for me personally i've no problem as I don't use it anymore, but please, can you just said in a very polite manner, using words, to ask? Later on I just saw that they are doing sets of bench press and they still give that rude-kind-of-look (unfriendly look)..and although they are bigger than me, they still can't beat my bench poundages, and I don't have that kind-of-look.. seriously...
Sometimes, people just are born with a naturally unfriendly face. I'm one of those people. However, I do make it a point to be courteous and well-manners when I wanna share a bench or dumbbells with someone. So far, everyone has been nice enough to share. However, there are a couple of douches who rather not share and waste 30 minutes hogging it with a 5 min break in between every set. Sigh.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 15 2012, 12:20 PM

6,160 posts

Seriously guys, don't be timid at the gym. You'll avoid a lot of problems that way.

Just ask darklight how he handles shit while working out. He claims to be friendly but if you don't know him he's pretty intimidating.

Ever seen a buff guy smile like the joker? Scary stuff I tell ya
Kyoyagami
post Oct 15 2012, 12:30 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 15 2012, 12:20 PM)
Seriously guys, don't be timid at the gym. You'll avoid a lot of problems that way.

Just ask darklight how he handles shit while working out. He claims to be friendly but if you don't know him he's pretty intimidating.

Ever seen a buff guy smile like the joker? Scary stuff I tell ya
I'm seconding this.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 17 2012, 03:04 PM

6,160 posts

Happened yesterday

Average guy with a trainer doing squats. Fella is big, weight range in the 80kg and above, has some size but with a belly.

First set is 60kg. Now its kinda rare for people to be squatting so I looked on while on my rest between sets. Fella thinks he's ronnie coleman or something, giving a yelp before and after the set. I'm like fine whatever, ghetto gym afterall

The next two sets totally pissed me off. 100kg and 120kg, quarter squats, yelping before and after and groaning like its a 4 plate squat during the set. The audacity to LOOK at me after finishing the sets. Really?

I hope he's there for my squats session today. I really do.
VaLeNrUdOn
post Oct 17 2012, 03:08 PM

166 posts

prolly the LOOK was of admiration with what ever you were doing then? biggrin.gif

Seasick85
post Oct 17 2012, 03:14 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 17 2012, 04:04 PM)
Happened yesterday

Average guy with a trainer doing squats. Fella is big, weight range in the 80kg and above, has some size but with a belly.

First set is 60kg. Now its kinda rare for people to be squatting so I looked on while on my rest between sets. Fella thinks he's ronnie coleman or something, giving a yelp before and after the set. I'm like fine whatever, ghetto gym afterall

The next two sets totally pissed me off. 100kg and 120kg, quarter squats, yelping before and after and groaning like its a 4 plate squat during the set. The audacity to LOOK at me after finishing the sets. Really?

It's even more interesting if he had that pinned bar set few holes below the top hole just in case he fails..

I can do 120kg quarter squats for 5 reps at bodyweight 72kg with less a year training..lol..
TSmikehuan
post Oct 17 2012, 03:30 PM

6,160 posts

The look was pretty obvious. Totally malaysian mentality. No sense of humility whatsoever.

Whatever you can squat, someone out there is warming up with your max. Getover yourself. Numbers don't mean squat (pun intended) if u look like a couch potato.

Powerlifters however, don't fall into this category tongue.gif
VaLeNrUdOn
post Oct 17 2012, 04:40 PM

166 posts

let's see if he returns tomorrow..get his attention first by squealing abit...
then show off...end with a cock stare..and throw in a grunt for drama amplification...lGUFFAWW!!

fabians94
post Oct 17 2012, 07:03 PM

81 posts

lol i'd be fine with the yelping/groaning if his squats were below parallel.

but quarter squats? uwotm8

anyway. Not sure if this has been addressed yet but srsly guys

pls wear deodorant before lifting. for the sake of humanity

pls
darklight79
post Oct 17 2012, 08:47 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 17 2012, 03:04 PM)
Happened yesterday

Dude, you are a gay magnet anyway. He wanted your ass so bad.

26 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 >Top

0.0256sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:27 AM