26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Gym Etiquette, what ticks you off in your gym?

TSmikehuan
post Jan 12 2011, 02:05 PM, updated 14y ago

6,160 posts

Saw this topic on T-Nation forums and realised we dont have one here. i'll edit this post and compile your contributions into a list so everyone can learn not to be a d*** at the gym without realising it.

mine are:
1. occupying more than one bench/station at any given time, but if you're willing to share and wait for your turn, then its fine.

2. throwing down <70lbs db's with force at an obvious attempt to get attention on how awesome you are

3. talking shop while sitting on benches and taking up space in the free weight area. its already crowded as it is.

4. resting between sets for more than 5 mins sitting down at the HS machines, staring into space/on the phone/watching everyone else and when asked how many more sets, says x amount and immediately starts the set. were you actually waiting for me to start you off?

5. resting the short barbells on the benches instead of the floor. do the bars really need cushioning, and are you that lazy to lift it bar off the floor instead?

i'll think of more later.
-Dan
post Jan 12 2011, 02:14 PM

4,382 posts

The gym I go to is pretty much empty all the time. laugh.gif

The only issue(s) I have, when there are people, are

1. Guys who use the benches and don't wipe the bloody flood of sweat they leave behind. I have my own sweat, thank you very much, I don't need yours.

2. People who scream at the top of their lungs for every rep of their 10-rep set. I can understand a grunt or forced breathing or a shout on the last few reps, but not the first. doh.gif

3. People who come in and just take up benches and chat when there's quite a few people at the weights. I mean, seriously, if you're going to chat, go outside.
mcbarney666
post Jan 12 2011, 03:28 PM

405 posts

The guys above have some of my "faves" but I think I can add a few:

1. Guys who don't put back the weights.
This irks me to no end. I get that you're tired and all but so am I yet I still put back the weights. Therefore, why can't you put back the weights? This happens a lot with the leg press machines.

2. Guys who must do their sets in front of the mirrors.
It's fine if it's just you and the mirror but if you're blocking the way, by jove, get the heck away. This also applies to the dingbats who do shoulder presses right in front of the dumbbells. Push the chair back, you doink. Is it that difficult?

3. Guys who loiter in the locker room.
Specifically, guys who sit on the benches and do the yakkity yak for ages. They'll just sit there in their towels and talk forever. Dude, get out. Let people put their stuff so that they can, get ready and get out.

This post has been edited by mcbarney666: Jan 12 2011, 03:29 PM
TSmikehuan
post Jan 12 2011, 06:21 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:28 PM)
The guys above have some of my "faves" but I think I can add a few:

1. Guys who don't put back the weights.
This irks me to no end. I get that you're tired and all but so am I yet I still put back the weights. Therefore, why can't you put back the weights? This happens a lot with the leg press machines.

this. although i must say in my gym its the norm for everyone to leave the db's around. i still put my db's back though, as futile as it seems. its not unusual for me when occupying a bench to rack up the db's littered in front of the bench before starting my sets. wouldnt want to get up the bench and trip on them and injuring myself
night
post Jan 12 2011, 06:31 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

Encouter all those before. The worse is taking few pairs of dumbells and placed them at their place and only used one at a time.

Second would be leaving the dumbell everywhere instead of placing them back.
shiloong7081
post Jan 12 2011, 06:45 PM

928 posts

There's this uncle at my gym who is bigger than me, saying that you don't need squats and deadlifts ! 'all you gotta do is bench press like me, do 10 sets for decline, 10 sets for incline', and drink mass gainers !
TrutHatHand
post Jan 12 2011, 10:23 PM

67 posts

1. guys with singlets who maybe has 3-4 mths of training resulting in tiny weeny muscle definition, but put on a massive ego face in the gym flexing in the mirrors. These guys have nth but think taht they have something --____--

2. Skinny guys who look in the mirrors appreciating themselves more than they train.

3. lala guys fixing their spicky hair and fringe in the gym mirror for more than 5 min. You're in a gym, not a freagin fashion show in sungai wang..$$%^

4. doesnt rack the barbell and dumbell after use.

This post has been edited by TrutHatHand: Jan 12 2011, 10:26 PM
jamis
post Jan 12 2011, 10:35 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Hogging an equipment while talking to some other frens. DUDE SAVE UR DRAMA AFT WORKOUT, WE WORKOUT NOT TALKOUT.

Theres once, i was using the bench for my set, and when i hit my second set, i put back my dumbell and try to get a heavier one, and guess wat, some dude sit on my bench and start their exercise, my bottle and towel are still beside the bench T.T.
Dickson91
post Jan 12 2011, 10:39 PM

66 posts

Guys who gives the "I go to the gym not to make friends" kind-of-look.
John91
post Jan 12 2011, 10:43 PM

1,193 posts

Hahaha, I don't mind people not putting back the weights after usage because the ghetto gyms I go to are usually like that. I don't bother putting back the weights after I leg press too because 220kg will take forever to unrack plus I train alone.

I can't stand the skinny vain guys though, they are usually the college students who come in a group with their basketball singlets and pants with their tiny twig arms hogging the bench or doing bicep curls. Then doing a 50kg bench for 5 reps and grunting throughout while their friends stand by and cheer him on and one guy spots him (with one arm). These guys only fuel my rage to lift harder though lol.

As for the vain part, I think most of us have been like that when we just started out, newbies always want good and fast results. =) I still flex facing the mirror every couple of sets.

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(Dickson91 @ Jan 12 2011, 11:39 PM)
Guys who gives the "I go to the gym not to make friends" kind-of-look.
I think I give out that look very often. I don't like people disturbing me and asking me about diet and "what exercise should I do to get big" kind of stuff, most of the time its the same generic question and it makes me lose my pump. I just on my ipod and blast away, unless I go there with my training partners then its a different story.

This post has been edited by John91: Jan 12 2011, 10:46 PM
Aztec
post Jan 12 2011, 11:07 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Jan 12 2011, 10:43 PM)

I can't stand the skinny vain guys though, they are usually the college students who come in a group with their basketball singlets and pants with their tiny twig arms hogging the bench or doing bicep curls. Then doing a 50kg bench for 5 reps and grunting throughout while their friends stand by and cheer him on and one guy spots him (with one arm). These guys only fuel my rage to lift harder though lol.
LOL..hit the nail on the head there..guess we both are irritated by the same thing because of our age..

one almost consistent trend is the group of 5 will slowly dwindle down until theres none left in about 3months.. laugh.gif
-Dan
post Jan 13 2011, 01:02 AM

4,382 posts

Hahaha, I don't mind people not putting back the weights after usage because the ghetto gyms I go to are usually like that. I don't bother putting back the weights after I leg press too because 220kg will take forever to unrack plus I train alone.

As for the vain part, I think most of us have been like that when we just started out, newbies always want good and fast results. =) I still flex facing the mirror every couple of sets.

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:46 pm

I think I give out that look very often. I don't like people disturbing me and asking me about diet and "what exercise should I do to get big" kind of stuff, most of the time its the same generic question and it makes me lose my pump. I just on my ipod and blast away, unless I go there with my training partners then its a different story.
I think I know who you're talking about. sweat.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(TrutHatHand @ Jan 12 2011, 10:23 PM)
1. guys with singlets who maybe has 3-4 mths of training resulting in tiny weeny muscle definition, but put on a massive ego face in the gym flexing in the mirrors. These guys have nth but think taht they have something --____--
I wear singlets to the gym. Cause, really, the gym I go to is so hot pretty much all the time, and I'd turn into a human waterfall if I wore regular shirts. blush.gif

I don't do the ego face, though. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jan 13 2011, 01:04 AM
TrutHatHand
post Jan 13 2011, 01:37 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jan 13 2011, 01:02 AM)
I wear singlets to the gym. Cause, really, the gym I go to is so hot pretty much all the time, and I'd turn into a human waterfall if I wore regular shirts.  blush.gif

I don't do the ego face, though.  biggrin.gif
its not tat i'm against wearing singlets to gym.. but dun la oredi kurus kering and still wanna flex in the mirror putting on the "hey-look-at-my-darn-good-body" face

from the look of ur pic, u've got the goods to wear singlets man. nice bod, wide back.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TrutHatHand: Jan 13 2011, 01:39 AM
VinluV
post Jan 13 2011, 01:58 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jan 12 2011, 02:14 PM)
1. Guys who use the benches and don't wipe the bloody flood of sweat they leave behind. I have my own sweat, thank you very much, I don't need yours.

+1
apparently i am the only one who brings a towel to wipe my sweat and i get the "wtf you doing stares" from everyone else at my company gym..

This post has been edited by VinluV: Jan 13 2011, 02:02 AM
TSmikehuan
post Jan 13 2011, 02:52 AM

6,160 posts

basketball singlets
hey hey hey! i wear my bball gear to gym too! but at least i fill up my jersey tongue.gif. i agree with dan, if i wear anything other than sleeveless shirts and moisture absorbing material even my towel would be too wet to wipe away the sweat. once i wore a cotton shirt during leg day and the gym ran out of small towels i ended my routine TOTALLY drenched in sweat. i might as well have not worn a shirt that day =.="

Added on January 13, 2011, 2:57 am
QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Jan 12 2011, 06:45 PM)
There's this uncle at my gym who is bigger than me, saying that you don't need squats and deadlifts ! 'all you gotta do is bench press like me, do 10 sets for decline, 10 sets for incline', and drink mass gainers !
GVT training. 10x10 with a minute rest in between. im about to start on the program so i'll tell you how it goes in a few weeks tongue.gif. i'll still do my squats and RDL's though..

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jan 13 2011, 02:57 AM
shiloong7081
post Jan 13 2011, 07:36 AM

928 posts

yeah i know about GVT, but all he does is bench presses and shoulder presses
blackdove
post Jan 13 2011, 08:33 AM

26 posts

One pet peeve is folks hogging an equipment - especially for the wrong purpose. Sitting at the bench press equipment and doing seated curls. Just one of the reasons why I train at home.
TrutHatHand
post Jan 13 2011, 09:20 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(blackdove @ Jan 13 2011, 08:33 AM)
One pet peeve is folks hogging an equipment - especially for the wrong purpose.  Sitting at the bench press equipment and doing seated curls.  Just one of the reasons why I train at home.
i was wondering... how much does it cost to buy a complete set of home gym euipments?
dwk2112
post Jan 13 2011, 10:24 AM

519 posts

For me, really want to bloody kill those idiots who..

1. Do not put the weights back. I mean, really. You are here to lift weights, right. So, do you know by carrying the weight back and put it back the rack, you still doing some muscle flexing and building. No reason to say, lazy. Then what the hell are you lifting weight for. IDIOTS.

2. At peak hour, the locker are jam pack. I really don't mind people standing around the steam room and all. What really boil me is those IDIOTS that sit on the bench, playing with their phone and god knows what...sitting there while everybody is trying to get dress up around him and wanted more space. Sorry, this people are not IDIOTS....they are DUMB!!

3.What is the thing with all these throwing weights? Really, what? I don't get it. They think they draw attention to them that they are great lifting such heavy weights. To me, they are ***** and weak. How i see it, that you can't even have the strength to put the weights on the floor and have to let it go. So, you are bloody weak FOOL for lifting such heavy weights.

4.How many dumb bell do one need? They are people who has few dumb bell around his bench. I mean, how many hands do you have. This is not a bloody race of how many weight you can lift at one seating. You lift one weight, put it down, carry it back, take another weight back to the bench. How bloody difficult it is. By doing this, you may even get some cardio done in your bloody body instead of sitting on the bench surrounded with dumb bells, admiring it, thinking other are impress with it. Dumb bells are not girls....more dumb bells you have, the dumber you get.
jamis
post Jan 13 2011, 11:32 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

YES EXACTLY!

Those group usually only c them once or twice, probably on trial membership. But still, they are annoying

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:28 AM