125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Over9000
post Jun 17 2011, 06:05 PM

Star Trek : The Motion Picture (1979)

This is the 4th time I've watched this. Anyway, Kirk, having been away after his 'Five year mission', sees an opportunity to assume command of the enterprise again as it is the closest ship to an unidentified, destructive entity approaching earth, much to the displeasure of current captain Decker. Members of the original cast are still aboard the enterprise at their respective posts, with the exception of McCoy and Spock who rejoin the crew later in the movie via the transporter. Kirk, now has to identify and, if necessary, destroy the entity all while trying to overcome his unfamiliarity with the 'new' enterprise, settling his tension with the ex-captain and negotiating with a representative hailing from that entity.

The first time i watched it, one of the first things i noticed, obviously, was the high-budget special effects. I mean, as opposed to The Original Series where you'd have two people standing behind the set and pulling the 'automatic' doors apart with their bare hands. Those kind of elaborate and meticulously detailed images of spaceships and wormholes, etc are great to look at, but in this movie those scenes just drag on for too long. One can't help but get the feeling that this is nothing but mere blandness raised to an epic scale (Unlike 2001, which was cinematography brilliance). However, the story was immensely creative and thought provoking, just like the original episodes.

Plus, Shatner isn't as fat as he was in star trek II onwards. God, what an eye-sore.

7/10

This post has been edited by Over9000: Jun 17 2011, 08:24 PM

Attached image(s)
azbro
post Jun 19 2011, 10:40 AM

4,403 posts

The Adjustment Bureau

Why i dun see mid/old man with hats and caps walking around in KL tongue.gif

A very likeable movie..but I didn't buy it smile.gif

4/10

This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 19 2011, 10:42 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 04:29 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Unknown (2011)

I'm 55 minutes in to the movie and have to say it is good.

There has been some comments that it is NOT as good as Taken, and I think that is a little unfair.

It is entirely a different storyline!

The story is a little slow in setting up and it has been enjoyable so far...

Huh?

After the 55 minutes marker, the story took a whole new different direction!!!

It is good.

I like this movie a lot

Who would have thunk that I would have sympathy for a Ex Stasi Agent!!!!!

I recommend this movie

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:16 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 04:31 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Green Lantern Emerald Knights (2011, Animation)

I know this isn't the movie exactly, and have to add, it is VERY enjoyable (more so, compared to the movie)

Nice to see the Green Lantern Corp working together

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:17 PM
QuickFire
post Jun 19 2011, 10:07 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Sucker Punch.

Oh my god what a piece of crap.

OK the action is alright, but holds no weight whatsoever and I wasn't invested in them one bit. Visually it's pretty to look at in the same way processed canned foods are nice to eat.

Rubbish.

Mov_freak, have you seen it?

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Jun 19 2011, 10:19 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 11:12 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 19 2011, 10:07 PM)
Sucker Punch.

Oh my god what a piece of crap.

OK the action is alright, but holds no weight whatsoever and I wasn't invested in them one bit. Visually it's pretty to look at in the same way processed canned foods are nice to eat.

Rubbish.

Mov_freak, have you seen it?
And you drag me into this. laugh.gif

Here is where we vary... again.

I LUV Sucker Punch!! nod.gif
QuickFire
post Jun 19 2011, 11:43 PM

2,867 posts

Absolute drivel. Worst of the year so far.

And to think I chose to watch such garbage on the eve of my exam lol. I hope the movie isn't a reflection of hoe bad I'm gonna screw up tomorrow. Because Snyder did just that.
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 11:59 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 19 2011, 11:43 PM)
Absolute drivel. Worst of the year so far.

And to think I chose to watch such garbage on the eve of my exam lol. I hope the movie isn't a reflection of hoe bad I'm gonna screw up tomorrow. Because Snyder did just that.
You do LUV your hoe don't you!! laugh.gif

All the best in your exam.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 20 2011, 12:00 AM
dundermifflin
post Jun 20 2011, 09:51 AM

237 posts

Tropa de Elite 2 aka The Elite Squad [2010] Brazil

if u bored of Hollywood action movies, this is one decent alternative. the first movie are very good, the sequel are equally good. less gun fighting and bloods, but better plots. stand alone story, the only continuity from the first movie are his friendship with Matias and his realtionship with his ex-wife. older Nascimento, no longer Colonel of BOPE, up against top politician and corrupted cops.

though, the big question marks for me are, this movie were set 13-15 years later from the first movie. not much different technology /scenery /cars etc at the background.
fragglerock
post Jun 20 2011, 09:58 AM

37 posts

ah sucker punch...took me three sittings to get through the movie

first the not so shit:
the always bangable carla gugino not only put on a silly russian accent but sings in it too
the first scene at the rehearsal room...drool
the babes' outfit...drool probably for the first five minutes then figured out they're just mannequins.
baby doll's lips
sweet pea's dress at the bus station
token asian's cleavage
blondie's sweet behind

turd territory:
definitely the godawful soundtrack minus the bjork song. a girllified version of search and destroy?!!! come the fark on.

charisma wormhole scott glenn?!!! i'm know david carradine is dead. can't u get someone like say william fichtner (the badass bank manager in dark 'meh' knight) or Sam Elliott (love to see him in a japanese sensei outfit)

the boring "come on bro ten more minutes i'll finish this stage the end cut scenes are mind blowing effin awesome" action scenes

a low 4/10

on par with fast five
3/10 - rio
5/10 - kungfu panda 2
7/10 - super 8
8/10 - xmen first class; rango
QuickFire
post Jun 20 2011, 10:27 PM

2,867 posts

Sucker Punch is turd. The story is wafer thin, which wouldn't be such a problem if we had characters we cared about. No. Everything the movie has to say about babydoll is said in the opening 5 minutes, easily the best sequence in the entire movie. Beyond those 5 minutes, the film adds absolutely nothing to her character. We get to see her static sorry sad (and pretty admittedly) face for the rest of the duration. The story is rubbish, it's like Inception meets Shutter Island except there is no meat to it at all. It's simply a premise to fill the screen with stupid CGI fights we don't care about. In fact, Sucker Punch and Inception make a good combo. Both feature multiple layers of dreams/fantasies. One has way too much detail and chooses to convey by means of boring dialogue. The other has absolutely nothing of worth to say. Neither are good movies.

Oh and yeah I agree! The soundtrack is an insult to the original songs. Except Bjork. That was great.

Anyway I finally got around to seeing Super 8. Liked it a lot!

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Jun 20 2011, 10:29 PM
Kyoyagami
post Jun 21 2011, 09:34 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Sucker Punch was supposed to be some sort of Matrix-esque movie. Which I think worked, but Wanted and Matrix itself did so much better.

Mindless sadly.
Mov_freak
post Jun 26 2011, 01:38 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)

It is interesting that with each subsequent movie, the kids get better at their characters

The first two movies were kiddie, no doubt, and from the third onwards, they got darker and darker

I do NOT agree with some of the cuts they did from book to movie, (in this movie, the World Cup deletion was mind boggling)

And in high def, the movie never looked better

The Dragon Sequence and the Ballroom scenes leap off the screen

Also any scenes with Myrtle are always amusing!!

I believe this movie is also the first time Robert Pattinson is introduce to the world (before the Twilight craze...)

From the third movie on, Hogwath got more and more dangerous

Enjoy, really enjoyable

My Two Sen

Added on June 26, 2011, 1:38 pmHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)

The series of movies does go through they directors.

Apparently, Alfonso CuarĂ³n & Mike Newell were offered to do more then one, and they turned down the offers...

What I like about David Yates take it that he peppers his Harry Potter with very creative inter cut scenes, where The Daily Prophet is displayed with information he then does not need to get his character to say out.

The addition to the series this movie brought out was Wand Duel and also, Voldemort and Dumbeldore fight (which is FANTASTIC, practically element!!)

Again, fantastic in Hi Def, saw lots of stuff I missed in Standard Definition

As for your comment Quickfire, the seventh book isn't my favorite

Yes, they walked around alot!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:18 PM
QuickFire
post Jun 26 2011, 07:54 PM

2,867 posts

Jurassic Park. For the umpteenth time.

I don't care what people say. I don't care if you say it has a weak story or weak characters. It's not flawless. But I love it to death. It may be superficial fluff, but it's fluff of the highest order. No one constructs setpieces like Spielberg does here. You know that scene in Super 8 where the monster tramples over the bus? Obvious nod to JP, and guess what, Abrams forgot the build-up, forgot the scenes breathe before unleashing the terror, and the result is just another pretty decent action sequence. Watch how Spielberg does it here with the T-Rex attack on the cars. Classic.

dundermifflin
post Jun 27 2011, 07:56 AM

237 posts

Just Go with It [2011]

BIG MEH.. typical rom-com American movie. i only remember 2 hot woman wore a swimsuit and the nice little girl with fake British accent.

Jeniffer Aniston despite her iconic role in Friends, she never have a good movie (that i've watched)

typical Adam Sandler, nothing special.

Nicole Kidman played an antagonist, non factor.

Brooklyn Decker, she's hot.

and i believe Andy Roddick (US Tennis Player) made special appearance at the last scene.

too damn long for this type of movie (almost 2 hours)

3/10
kobe8byrant
post Jun 27 2011, 06:44 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

it is roddick.

only reason it's too damn long is because it's horseshit.
dundermifflin
post Jun 28 2011, 11:07 AM

237 posts

Battle: Los Angeles [2011]

read a lot of -ve review about it, so i dont expect much..

it turned to be OK, watchable. but typical American heroic-war movie + alien invasion stuff. nothing special, though i enjoyed my 2 hours..

6/10
fragglerock
post Jul 3 2011, 11:12 AM

37 posts

Centurion - a solid lean mean 90+ mins action chase flick. it stars michael fassbinder, a huge plus and Neil Marshall is officially my go-to genre director.

dundermifflin
post Jul 3 2011, 12:14 PM

237 posts

watch these back-to-back with my niece..

Rango [2011]
nice story but the picture /characters are little bit gloomy /ugly for kids. quite OK-ish for an adult..
6.5/10

Rio [2011]
nice story, very colourful, very recommended to kids. as an adult, a bit meh..
6/10
Mov_freak
post Jul 3 2011, 10:39 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)

One word, ABYSMAL....

I didn't go in with high expectation and really went because my friends wanted to, and even then a major MAJOR disappointment.

Bad storyline

Worst EDITING

Terrible acting (I'm looking at you Shia LaBeouf). I lost count of times I wanted ti slap him across the face. He is SO irritating in this one!!! And they brought in powerhouse actor like John Malkovich for what?????????? To DO NOTHING.

It took me every ouch of focus I have, to stop myself from fallen asleep (the storyline in THAT insipid...)

I should have saved up my money to go watch Harry Potter 7.2 or to watch Super 8 again!!! *Sigh*

Be warned kiddies. BE WARNED.

My Two Sen

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:50 PM