Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

dundermifflin
post Jan 10 2011, 10:37 AM

237 posts

Notes On A Scandal [2006] - UK

a sexual scandal between a female teacher and her teenage pupil. a colleague discover this forbidden affair and try to manipulate it for her own benefits.

great performance by Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench.

8.5/10
dundermifflin
post Jan 14 2011, 09:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Jan 10 2011, 02:37 AM)

Inception

Nolan can do no wrong. He's like the human version of Pixar studios. When the entire audience are at the edge of the seat all the way to the ending, you know you have done something right. The acting in this film is phenomenal (big props to JGL and Cillian Murphy). Visually stunning, some of the shots in this film has what it takes to enter my top 10 fav. shots of all time. I'm still digesting the plot and I have to go see it again to fully absorb everything. A+

Black Swan

If you think Inception was a mindf*** experience, go watch Black Swan. It'll f*** your mind until your mind gets paralyzed from its amazing orgasm. If my description makes you cringe, the movie will practically have the same effect to you. A

The Town

Crime movie of the decade so far. Intensely shot and confidently directed by actor/director Ben Affleck, it'll be unfair for the movie to not get nominated for Best Picture during Oscar season. A-

Exit Through The Gift Shop

This has to be my fav. documentary I've ever watched. Smart and creative throughout the film, the film does a fine job as a documentary: educating us while still being entertaining. A

Inception
agreed, an excellent film.

Black Swan
i cant class it as mindf*** (maybe i already predict the storyline). nevertheless its an excellent movie, better than Inception. the best for me in 2010.

The Town
an excellent crime movie, but certainly not the best of 2000s (for me). i grown fond to Ben Affleck works (as director)

Exit Through The Gift Shop
very interesting piece of documentary about street art. the picture are in poor quality, but acceptable because it came from amateur cameraman and never meant to be a major motion movie.
dundermifflin
post Jan 18 2011, 04:45 PM

237 posts

a couple weeks, completing TV series, Mad Men and Rome.. both awesome..

The Marine [2006]
its suck, time wasting..

The Cell 2 [2009]
also suck..

dundermifflin
post Jan 19 2011, 03:15 PM

237 posts

1957 - Hati Malaya [2007]

i love historical film. ive already known (almost) all the facts and the storyline, but as Malaysian this film are quite meaningful. but the plots are quite messy and for somebody who are unfamiliar with Tanah Melayu independence will be certainly confuse. the acting are so-so, except the Tunku (unfamiliar actor) which i think he's very outstanding.

by Malay film standard, its very good film me think..
dundermifflin
post Jan 31 2011, 11:59 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Amygdalai @ Jan 24 2011, 11:28 PM)
The King's Speech - 2010

Watched this last night. I was clueless to what this movie is about. Read some synopsis & was thinking, why would they make a movie about a stammer? How could this be interesting & oscar worthy?
I really loved it! One of my fave movies of all time. It's a really inspiring movie about a friendship between a King who has a stuttering problem & his speech therapist. Very human. I recommend everyone to watch this. I certainly give it 8.5/10. Even a 9.
this. one of the best of 2010. simply surpass Inception and The Social Network in my book as the best of 2010. but still, equal class with Black Swan.

looking forward to watch Rabbit Hole, 127 Hours and The Fighter..

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jan 31 2011, 12:00 PM
dundermifflin
post Feb 5 2011, 10:53 AM

237 posts

its CNY holiday, so ive decided to watch some of the movies which was over-looked and buried in my HD, before delete it to make some space..

Leatherheads [2008]
a film about professional American Football in 1920s. its very comical, entertaining, good at some parts, but overall it just an average movie. Starring George Clooney, Renée Zellweger, Jonathan Pryce and John Krasinski. 6/10.

Rise: Blood Hunter [2007]
another vampire movie. meh, i never like this genre but not so bad if you comparing this movie to the others vampire movies. rare glimpse of Lucy Liu's body will make up the disappointment tongue.gif 5/10

Jennifer's Body [2009]
its all about hotness of Megan Fox (and Amanda Seyfried). another meh.. devil eating men in a form of hot Megan Fox. some good OST track are the only bright side (and of course, Megan Fox wub.gif ). 5/10

The Devil's Whore [2008] - UK 4 episodes miniseries
i expect another great epic (from UK TV series), like Rome or at least as good as The Pillars of the Earth. this series arent that good, but still worth watching. it centres on the adventures of the fictional Angelica Fanshawe, and historical Edward Sexby during England turbulence period 1638 to 1660. 6.5/10.
dundermifflin
post Feb 7 2011, 09:10 AM

237 posts

The Kids Are Alright [2010]

bit funny here n there.. good family drama of lesbian couple. and Julianne Moore as usual, never shy to show off her body. 7.5/10.
dundermifflin
post Feb 11 2011, 07:26 AM

237 posts

127 Hours [2010]

one the best of last year, great performance by Franco. great camera works and magnificent view at the first 20 minutes, a bit dull in the middle but still OKish, and the ending are nice (but predictable. yeah, its true story so they cant alter it)

not Oscar material, but hopefully they can make an upset in Best Actor category..

dundermifflin
post Feb 21 2011, 09:22 AM

237 posts

I'm Toten Winkel /Blind Spot: Hitler's Secretary [2002] - Ger

90 minutes of interview of Hitler's last personal secretary. if u love /obsess about Hitler's story, this is for u. if not, this is just a plain interview. this interview is a base for Der Untergang /Downfall [2004], a great movie about final days of Hitler.

Unstoppable [2010]

surprisingly good since im not fond to Hollywood action movies lately. good pace, nice action, im totally enjoyed it.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Feb 21 2011, 09:23 AM
dundermifflin
post Feb 25 2011, 10:26 AM

237 posts

i need quick review /opinion about this films:
You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger
Easy A

i assume its some kind chick-flicks films, is it any good? TQ.
dundermifflin
post Mar 4 2011, 11:11 AM

237 posts

City Island [2009]
light and easy family-comedy-drama film. a dysfunctional family whose members all have a dirty secrets and live in City Island, New York. i like a lot, IMO its a bit similar to The Kids Are Alright [2010]. this one had less award recognition but im enjoying it more. 7/10

Easy A [2010]
teen-drama film. about a girl (Emma Stone), pretend to be a slut. and her ill growing reputation awkwardly help a lot of her schoolmates. partially inspired by the novel The Scarlet Letter. i dont like the story but its quite enjoyable. 5/10

The Next Three Days [2010]
i read a lot of bad reviews about it, so i didnt expect much, surprisingly im enjoying it. this my type film, an ordinary /despair man give it all to do an extra ordinary things. likened it to Law Abiding Citizen [2009], but this one much better. never say this is a great film by any definition, but TBH im enjoying it. 5/10

Straightheads [2007]
similar formula of classic I Spit On Your Grave, The Last House On The Left et al. the avenge of rape victim. nothing special overall (except Gillian Anderson rare **** scenes). 4/10

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Mar 4 2011, 11:13 AM
dundermifflin
post Mar 8 2011, 10:52 AM

237 posts

The Tourist [2010]

plain stuff.

weird nomination on last Golden Globe Awards (Musical /Comedy)

Funnily, if u all watched our own Malaysian movie Belukar [2010] (Daphne Iking, Bront Palarae), u'll find the storyline are very identical. totally co-incidental certainly..

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Mar 8 2011, 10:55 AM
dundermifflin
post Mar 15 2011, 07:18 AM

237 posts

You Will Meet A Dark Tall Stranger [2010]

star studded British comedy-drama film (Antonio Banderas, Josh Brolin, Anthony Hopkins, Gemma Jones, Freida Pinto, and Naomi Watts)

similarities are far fetch, but this film kinda remind me of Vicky Cristina Barcelona, maturer version.

not as good as i expected, but i can assure you its not boring stuff. the pace are good, the characters are colourful though the story are cliche. 6/10
dundermifflin
post Mar 15 2011, 01:37 PM

237 posts

^i read somewhere, The Wrestler and Black Swan are actually an idea for single film. a couple of wrestler (considered as lowest form of performing art) and ballet dancer (considered as highest form of performing art)..

both great films. Black Swan are definitely better, but if im given a choice to re-watch it again, ill pick The Wrestler..
dundermifflin
post Mar 18 2011, 08:54 AM

237 posts

Le Concert [2009] aka The Concert - French

a former Russian top orchestra conductor working as a cleaner at the concert hall where he once directed. one day, he intercepts an official invitation from the prestigious French music hall. he assembles his old pals musician and try to re-live his dream in Paris.

its pretty good movie, powerful music and nice bit of comedy (though im not fully understand the jokes because its in French and Russian). i give 7.5/10.
dundermifflin
post Mar 21 2011, 09:14 AM

237 posts

Hotel Rwanda [2004]

i never heard about this movie, not until recently. had multiple nominations for Oscar 2004.

basically had same theme like Schindler's List. a hotel manager bribing numbers of political figure and military top personnel in order to save human lives during Rwandan Genocide in 1990s.

i think the 1st hour are very good, but seem flatten in 2nd hour. 8/10.
dundermifflin
post Mar 25 2011, 08:09 AM

237 posts

Inland Empire [2006]

this is the only 2nd film David Lynch i watched, after Mulholland Drive (which i really love it)..

i read a lot of +ve reviews, so i expect a cracking film. and its really cracking my head.. its a long watch (nearly 3 hrs), non linear. i think i barely understand anything, except for the last 30minutes.

this arent stuff for everyone. i cant even decide whether i love it, or hate it. but this is a stuff that i love to re-watch it again sometime, only to understand it..
dundermifflin
post Mar 25 2011, 09:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(madcrow @ Mar 25 2011, 08:50 AM)
I sincerely think that David Lynch is somewhat mentally insane. And you have to be on that level of insanity to understand his works.
maybe (ive only watched 2 of his works)..

but i love Muholland Drive, very love it. maybe this movie arent complex enough, still within of my level, my grasp of understanding. though there's much interpretation about the film.
dundermifflin
post Mar 31 2011, 08:36 AM

237 posts

watched (and re-watched) some of the 90s last night (and nights before)

Leon: The Professional [1994]
fancy 13 year old Natalie Portman? wub.gif damn, she's very talented (and proven today). the girl have odd love relationship with cold looking hitman (Jean Reno) and looking for vengeance against corrupted policeman (Gary Oldman).
love it, very good movie. never heard about this until recently.

The Silence of the Lambs [1991]
watched it in my teen days, and im really appreciate it this time. Anthony Hopkins was awesome.
shame the sequels /prequel are totally disappointing.

The Usual Suspects [1995]
re-watched it. its good for 2nd time. always like Kevin Spacey as antagonist /villain.

The Big Lebowski [1998]
it supposed to be a comedy. its OK at few times, but im not really enjoy it.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Mar 31 2011, 08:37 AM
dundermifflin
post Mar 31 2011, 11:33 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(fragglerock @ Mar 31 2011, 09:03 AM)
manhunter is THE prequel and hannibal is a tad underrated. i think Julianne Moore fits the more mature fbi Clarice
not watch Manhunter yet. i normally didnt have much desire to watch 80s and early movies for some reasons, except few exceptions.

the prequels i mentioned are Red Dragon and Hannibal Rising. both are very disappointing. Hannibal are OK. i prefer Jodie Foster as Clarice, but i think Julianne Moore did OK.

0.0892sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:48 AM