125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Mov_freak
post May 7 2011, 11:28 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ May 7 2011, 01:07 AM)
A friend was repeatedly asking me to watch that in the cinema thank god I didn't go for it. Obvious it would suck, really.
Thanks goodness I DIDN'T go to the movies for this!!

EVEN THE ENDING IS PREDICTABLE!!!!

*Sheesh*
fragglerock
post May 7 2011, 03:11 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 6 2011, 11:52 PM)
Single White Female with a hint of Basic Instincts??

wow we get to see great talent like Jennifer Jason Leigh with awesome sex scenes, snatch shot n ....newman?!!!

This post has been edited by fragglerock: May 7 2011, 03:12 PM
Mov_freak
post May 7 2011, 05:22 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(fragglerock @ May 7 2011, 03:11 PM)
wow we get to see great talent like Jennifer Jason Leigh with awesome sex scenes, snatch shot n ....newman?!!!
Sadly, NO.

It has a VERY pedestrian delivery.

A suspense movie that is NOT suspenseful, a lead actress you DON'T care for, and why oh why does Cam Gigandet think he is CHARMING??? (He is not)

I CAN GO ON AND ON... *Sigh*

I recommend this movie, NOT!!

Be warned, kiddies, CONSIDER YOURSELVES WARNED!!
dundermifflin
post May 8 2011, 12:01 PM

237 posts

United [2011]

If you're Man Utd's fan, this BBC Film are definitely compulsory watch. You'll appreciate more of United's history. It is based on the true story of Man Utd's 'Busby Babes' and the 1958 Munich air disaster. From a view of Jimmy Murphy and young Bobby Charlton.

Forget about minor criticism (Busby attire, player smoking pipe in tunnel, not all characters /victims names mentioned, etc). by all accounts its a very good movie, not a great documentary or very accurate references to Munich air disaster.

if you just normal movie viewer or non-Man Utd's fan, you still can enjoy it. But without any little knowledge about the disaster, you'll be clueless.
hfi
post May 8 2011, 04:21 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 7 2011, 05:22 PM)
Sadly, NO.

It has a VERY pedestrian delivery.

A suspense movie that is NOT suspenseful, a lead actress you DON'T care for, and why oh why does Cam Gigandet think he is CHARMING??? (He is not)

I CAN GO ON AND ON... *Sigh*

I recommend this movie, NOT!!

Be warned, kiddies, CONSIDER YOURSELVES WARNED!!
How pretentious can a lead character be ? Was cringe worthy to see her in that ohlookatmesohip hat.
Mov_freak
post May 9 2011, 07:45 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ May 8 2011, 04:21 PM)
How pretentious can a lead character be ? Was cringe worthy to see her in that ohlookatmesohip hat.
laugh.gif Oh, and DON'T forget Billy Zane"s character!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 9 2011, 07:46 AM
fragglerock
post May 13 2011, 10:22 AM

37 posts

Reflections in a Golden Eye (1967) - filmed in golden hue, it has an impotent sexual repressed brando, robert forrester nude hoseback riding, gay phillipino houseboy and liz taylor's sex appeal oozes out of the screen what a woman!!!!! there's a scene which inspired the now classic deniro's "YOU TALKING TO ME?!!!" taxi driver

"Have you ever been collared and dragged out into the street and thrashed by a naked woman?"

This post has been edited by fragglerock: May 13 2011, 10:45 AM
Kyoyagami
post May 16 2011, 03:54 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Thor was good fun IMO. Of course, Fast Five does a better job, but I like this as a popcorn muncher.

I would've love for more Anthony Hopkins screentime. And I think Tom Hiddleston does not understand what it means to be Loki. Or is it just not clear to him. Huhu.
Mov_freak
post May 26 2011, 09:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Kung Fu Panda 2 (2D English Version, 2011)

Very well done

Very Funny

Storyline quite thoroughly thought out

The Kung Fu fighting concepts are IMPRESSIVE

I wonder if Master Sifu have anything else he can teach Po.... Hmmmmm.......

Highly recommended

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:14 PM
Mov_freak
post May 31 2011, 10:53 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Red Riding Hood (2011)

I curse the day I watched Twilight. I CURSE THE DAY!!!!! smile.gif

Why am I cursing Twilight after watching Red Riding Hood, you might ask?

The reason is they are BOTH by the same director!!!

Why oh why oh why OH!! Would they take things we are quite FAMILIAR with and give it a modern spin????!!

Nothing in this movie works. NOTHING!!!!

A BLOODY waste of time!!!

Watch at your own peril

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 2 2011, 01:33 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Insidious (2010)

Wow, wow, wow, wow, WOW!!!

When Oren Peli is involved with a horror project, I like it

It is VERY cost effective to make, and the result are spectacular

Story Great

Pacing FANTASTIC

It is SPOOKY horror guys, so if you like SPOOK, look no further

I can even think of a way this can be tied to Paranormal Activity if they want to go that direction

If they can think of a really REALLY good sequel, MORE PLEASE

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 2 2011, 11:31 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 2 2011, 11:31 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Let The Bullets Fly (2010)

I was in Hong Kong in January and saw the movie posters.

Tried to watch it in the cinema, but timing was off, so didn't get to watched

Hoping to catch it in Malaysia, and found NO listing for it

Recently GSC International brought the said movie in and it is now showing in Malaysia

I was puzzled, why didn't the usual distributor bring this movie in, especially with Chow Yuen Fatt headlining the show????

Answer it is a DAMN good "Chinese/Hong Kong" production, it actually makes sense the GSC International brought it in

Still puzzled

Maybe this will clarify

Chow Yuen Fatt, JiangWen (of Red Sorghum, 1988 fame) and Ge You (of To Live, 1994 fame) all BIG GUNS actors when all out, in this movie, tried very hard to out do each other and it is SPECTACULAR!!!

It is a VERY Chinese production. The dialogue is witty BUT you have to understand Chinese CHINESE to understand it!

As for the story, think Ocean Eleven/Quentin Tarantino's Inglorious Basterds and with a Chinese flair. It is THAT good

There is no set formula and amazing, amazing acting and execution.

It truly is Chinese Cinema at IT'S BEST!!!

And the ending... no, I will NOT spoil it for you.

I really REALLY like this movie. A good counter weigh to Insidious. (I did a movie marathon yesterday)

My Two Sen
Kyoyagami
post Jun 2 2011, 12:07 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Kung Fu Panda 2 (Normal Edition)

Ah... the fat panda greets us back in what he calls the year of Awesomeness. Well, is the movie awesome?

Not so much as the first, but still a good charm. Jack Black still delivers his chops in this one, and we get more of Jackie Chan, Seth Rogen and even Tigress. Standouts however, were the new casts of Gary Oldman and a supremely wonderful Dato' Michelle Yeoh.

Surprisingly, its a good Father's Day movie. and still a fun time with the kids, even if the whole movie downplays abit with the stories, beefs up the action and uses easy to expect jokes.

Still good fun. 8.5/10
myafdal1989
post Jun 5 2011, 05:53 AM

55 posts

Due Date (2010)

High-strung father-to-be Peter Highman is forced to hitch a ride with aspiring actor Ethan Tremblay on a road trip in order to make it to his child's birth on time.
I watch it this morning and I watch kungfu panda 2 yesterday,
I surprise that I like Due Date more. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Rotten Tomatoes gives the film a score of 39% "rotten", or a 5.2/10 rating
Metacritic gives the film a "mixed or average" score of 52%,
I give this film 8.5/10 (Cant get full mark bcoz gross thing in the film tongue.gif )

azbro
post Jun 5 2011, 10:46 AM

4,403 posts

Limitless 2011
No bad...not bad at all, wish I got those pills to boost my lousy brain power up.
6.5/10

Unknown 2011
Not so kick ass for Liam Neeson, they didn't quite a good job with this one
6/10. If anyone plans to watch this, do not see the trailer first.
Still worth the watch because it's Liam Neeson acting...

True Grit 2011
I do enjoy cowboy movies..even if those draggy ones like Clint Eastwood kinda movies....but this is err...not my taste 5/10
yeah...i know it had great reviews everywhere.

The Green Hornet 2011
i really can't finish this...watched it in parts..now up to 3 before I dozed off...4/10
Still not finish watching it yet blush.gif

The Wildest Dream 2010
ahh...the Himalayas...and more specifically Everest and those that dared conquer it.
It would have been like any other documentary except that this they recreate George Mallory quest and personal life leading to his death on that mountain in 1924..
The last 10mins were truly amazing...8/10 for me

Drive Angry 2011
Watched it for a few minutes....off it...rubbish movie 3/10...i will probably continue later and give it same 3/10
This movie really drive ppl angry

This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 5 2011, 02:09 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 9 2011, 10:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

X-Men: The First Class (2011)

It is amazing what laziness can do for you!!

Stan Lee got tired of thinking of new origins for his super heroes, so he hit upon the idea of his new heroes, being "born this way" (very lady gaga of him!!) smile.gif

What a ride!

How does this compare to the previous installment of X-Men. Stands up quite well!

There is a scene I thought I saw in the trailer that didn't make it in the movie

I've never really followed the X-Men series in comic form (with the exception of the Dark Phoenix storyline) so am not really familiar with the "origins" of the X-Men.

I did like the fact that they merge the Cuban Missile Crisis with this storyline and have a suspicion that it is similar to the comic book. I also think this is why it is not selling well in the States. Nobody there cares about history!!

Overall I thought they did a good job.

Bryan Singer came back to oversee the script

They are several discrepancy with the previous X-Men movies

The character/power development of the "kid" were entertaining

Who would have thunk that Kevin Bacon makes a good NAZI!!!

Oh, there ISN'T any short add-on clip at the end of the credits, so don't bother

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:15 PM
dundermifflin
post Jun 9 2011, 10:26 AM

237 posts

Kill The Irishman [2011]

based on true story, the rising an Irish mobster, Danny Greene, against Italian mafia and law enforcer in Cleveland. guns, car bombs, hit mans and bloods everywhere.

much straight forward gangster movie. not boring, nice proportion between dialogues and actions.

the last 20min are very good, overall its very decent for low key movies like this.
Mickey C
post Jun 9 2011, 09:59 PM

616 posts

Black Hawk Down (2001)

I like this movie very much. Never boring to watch again and again.
Now in HD, I will watch again if I have free time.....
Very good dts sound........

Rating: 5/5.

Mov_freak
post Jun 13 2011, 09:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

True Grit (2010)

Well, well, well, well, well.

Who would have thunk that Quickfire would prove me wrong

True Grit is TRULY GOOD.

Everyone did a fantastic job from the main characters to the bit players, hands down.

The reason why I don't like cowboy movies is that I've always felt that they do NOT correctly portray the life in the west.

Boy this this movie show life in the WEST in ALL IT'S glory, WARTS and ALL!!!

Hailee Steinfeld's contribution to the movie is crucial. The movie might not have worked so wonderfully, if she was NOT cast in the said role Mattie Ross!!!

Lovers of good movie, please give this movie serious consideration.

Do not be, my myopic old self

110% recommendation

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 12 2017, 09:15 PM
QuickFire
post Jun 13 2011, 11:48 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Lolwut what did I say to make you bring up my name now?

125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:03 AM