Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

General_Nic
post Jan 20 2011, 10:42 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(april @ Jan 20 2011, 09:28 PM)
i see d3100 dun have auto focus lens...is it a problem? can i change a auto focus lens and how much does it cost?
D3100 kit comes with kitlens 18-55 which has autofocus function smile.gif
wat u hear shud be that D3100 dun have its built-in autofocus motor(autofocus needs a motor)
it relies on motor in lenses to achieve autofocus
so if u use lenses without motor(usually older model lenses), u cant have auto focus as there is no motor both on D3100 n d lens

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jan 20 2011, 10:03 PM)
Guys I just got bumped by opening a new thread wanting to know;
I should had asked here instead. Which would be a better choice?

Thanks in advance.
for me i would go for 1st choice
as i would like to have high speed flash sync & built-in commander

dawho
post Jan 20 2011, 10:57 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(april @ Jan 20 2011, 09:28 PM)
i see d3100 dun have auto focus lens...is it a problem? can i change a auto focus lens and how much does it cost?
consumer does not have built in motor....but luckily nikon have motorized lens....so u dont need to worry..but lens with motor i think a bit expensive...

better get d90 and above coz have built in motor...so dont have to worry about lens auto focus..in body already have..
signither
post Jan 20 2011, 11:38 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

how much is the street price for D90 anyway?
aldosoesilo
post Jan 20 2011, 11:41 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

^
I got quoted 2.45k for body only. New set. LYP

anyway guys mind to tell me how to do vignetting? purposely...
Beanie2304
post Jan 20 2011, 11:44 PM

114 posts

Hi people, reporting in here for the first time.

I'm one that owning a body of D3000 and this was the first camera I ever own.

Anyway, anyone know what's the market price for 24-70MM f/2.8? I would really save up and get this lens or other better lens. Thanks!
aldosoesilo
post Jan 20 2011, 11:46 PM

1,457 posts

^
mind to tell us which brand you are going to get?
Beanie2304
post Jan 20 2011, 11:47 PM

114 posts

Oh, sorry about my non-detailed question. I would like to buy Nikon's one... As I see, most of the third party won't be as sharp as Nikon. (from certain review thru net)
aldosoesilo
post Jan 20 2011, 11:54 PM

1,457 posts

^
you might want to check this.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1637184

Added on January 20, 2011, 11:55 pmas I never tried and never do research about 24-70 I can't comment on it. sorry.

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 20 2011, 11:55 PM
Isepunye
post Jan 21 2011, 12:00 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(Beanie2304 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:44 PM)
Hi people, reporting in here for the first time.

I'm one that owning a body of D3000 and this was the first camera I ever own.

Anyway, anyone know what's the market price for 24-70MM f/2.8? I would really save up and get this lens or other better lens. Thanks!
if nikon price is RM6k around dat la. and i am really interested if there any other lens better than this lens for the range~!
celciuz
post Jan 21 2011, 12:01 AM

14,037 posts

My friend offered me RM5350 for grey set if not mistaken. 2470 f/2.8 Nano.
Beanie2304
post Jan 21 2011, 12:09 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 21 2011, 12:00 AM)
if nikon price is RM6k around dat la. and i am really interested if there any other lens better than this lens for the range~!
Definitely have to agree with what other said, 24-70MM is the best in its range.

I would really spend that much for it, but surely not now @_@

And thanks people who told me the price =)
mmohdnor
post Jan 21 2011, 01:11 AM

1,021 posts

Been following this thread but i never spammed any pictures. Can give some comments? biggrin.gif
All pics are unedited for comments & critics purpose. Any comments are welcomed! Thanks!

^ the horizon is not flat/balanced ..hehe. tongue.gif

purposely made it overexposed

..and purposely made it underexposed ...not sure which one is better.

**my first photography outing with some frens. hehe.

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jan 21 2011, 01:15 AM
Andy214
post Jan 21 2011, 01:19 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jan 20 2011, 10:03 PM)
Guys I just got bumped by opening a new thread wanting to know;
I should had asked here instead. Which would be a better choice?

Thanks in advance.
Since you already have the 59mm f/1.8d, go for D90, plus it offers more controls.

If you prefer to get the D3100, get the 35mm f/1.8G DX instead of the 50mm f/1.4G; It's half the price of the 1.4G, and 35mm on DX = 52.5mm, it's more convenient for you to shoot (especially for baby). The 50mm, you will need to stand further slightly further distance, it's crucial if space if a concern.

fisherman10
post Jan 21 2011, 01:20 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jan 21 2011, 01:11 AM)
Been following this thread but i never spammed any pictures. Can give some comments? biggrin.gif
All pics are unedited for comments & critics purpose. Any comments are welcomed! Thanks!

actually i dont really get the point of showing unedited pics. it's like showing us unfinished work. if showing a comparison, before and after is ok.

anyway, your shots are ok except as you know....u gotta straighten it.

razuryza
post Jan 21 2011, 01:23 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 21 2011, 01:20 AM)
actually i dont really get the point of showing unedited pics. it's like showing us unfinished work. if showing a comparison, before and after is ok.

anyway, your shots are ok except as you know....u gotta straighten it.
SOOC pics cannot be used ka? shocking.gif most sports photos is unedited ok....

Added on January 21, 2011, 1:26 amuser posted image
unedited pic.. seems unfinished work for u?

This post has been edited by razuryza: Jan 21 2011, 01:26 AM
Andy214
post Jan 21 2011, 01:26 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Beanie2304 @ Jan 20 2011, 11:47 PM)
Oh, sorry about my non-detailed question. I would like to buy Nikon's one... As I see, most of the third party won't be as sharp as Nikon. (from certain review thru net)
If you can afford it, then go for Nikon one definitely.

For third party, it may not be as sharp and there might be other issues as well, but the price difference may be more than double or even triple. So, it depends on your budget.

For DX body, 24-70 might not be wide enough, you might want to consider 17-55; but then if you're planning to upgrade to FX body in near future, then 24-70 can be considered.

The 17-55 range, Tamron counterpart have pretty good sharpness, but have some of its own issues, but it's much more cheaper alternative, and for a little more, you can even get a VC (Vibration Compensation) version. With the cost save here, you can buy some primes or save for telephoto zooms.

All in all, it depends on your own decision, what you need, what you're looking for and your affordability/budget.

fisherman10
post Jan 21 2011, 01:27 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 21 2011, 01:23 AM)
SOOC pics cannot be used ka?  shocking.gif  most sports photos is unedited ok....

Added on January 21, 2011, 1:26 am

i mean like sports photos though it's unedited but at least straighten/crop, simple, basic stuffs. ohmy.gif

there's no added advantage of telling us it's unedited.

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Jan 21 2011, 01:30 AM
Andy214
post Jan 21 2011, 01:29 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jan 21 2011, 01:11 AM)

^ the horizon is not flat/balanced ..hehe.  tongue.gif

purposely made it overexposed

..and purposely made it underexposed ...not sure which one is better.

You might want to try some polarizing filter?

For your last 2 picture of overexposed and underexposed, seems like you're facing the common problems. You can try using the polarizing filter or combine the 2 picture into HDR.

razuryza
post Jan 21 2011, 01:34 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 21 2011, 01:27 AM)
i mean like sports photos though it's unedited but at least straighten/crop, simple, basic stuffs.  ohmy.gif

if u can compose well, those bolded stuff also no need to do la.. so.. unedited photo still valid tongue.gif

aa yeah.. nowadays people dont care edited or not.. coz in the end.. any nice pic, people will straight away thinks 'all pp ma.. all can..' whistling.gif
mmohdnor
post Jan 21 2011, 01:40 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 21 2011, 01:27 AM)
i mean like sports photos though it's unedited but at least straighten/crop, simple, basic stuffs.   ohmy.gif

thanks fisherman10. i got ur point. but my intention was to know what will u guys do/fix to the unedited pictures i shared, if u were to share the pics to ppl or forums. smile.gif
yeah, i'll be doing the editing later just wanted to get some additional feedback's before i start doing it.

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 21 2011, 01:23 AM)
SOOC pics cannot be used ka?  shocking.gif  most sports photos is unedited ok....

Added on January 21, 2011, 1:26 am

nice cat!

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 21 2011, 01:29 AM)
You might want to try some polarizing filter?
For your last 2 picture of overexposed and underexposed, seems like you're facing the common problems. You can try using the polarizing filter or combine the 2 picture into HDR.
yeah, my lenses only have nikon UV filter that time. any filter that u recommend? my fren had a cpl filter at the shooting. should have tried that.
i'll trying the hdr too. thanks for the comments andy214.

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jan 21 2011, 01:45 AM

126 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:01 PM