Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

Kent3888
post Jan 20 2011, 01:07 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 19 2011, 10:26 PM)
Definitely, the D3100 is your best choice now.

Side note, my new 'tripod'. The Joby Gorillapod Focus.

Gonna use this for group pics during CNY visiting hehe~
Do you have a ballhead with you now?? Do u mind help me to test somethin? laugh.gif
Try mount ur SB900 on ur camera with heaviest lens, den tilt it to vertical position, Portrait position I mean. See whether the legs can tahan without whole thing collapse or not? U can expand the legs to watever position n try.

I got a Gorilla Zoom version, that day went out vacation put on the floor, spread the legs a bit, den mount SB900 n my Tamron tilt to vertical, whole thing collapse when I will press da remote, can't manage to save it(the legs joints gave way)..... cry.gif , luckily it was juz a minor drop

p/s: don't trust ur gorillapod too much!! It will disappoint u sometimes sweat.gif , it performs best on a rough surface horizontal bar/ esp wood!

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Jan 20 2011, 01:10 AM
signither
post Jan 20 2011, 03:52 AM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

i'm interested to shoot sports, mainly football, for my team. what lens should i get if i'm to buy the D3100 ya? thanks.
celciuz
post Jan 20 2011, 07:26 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 19 2011, 11:34 PM)
The gorrila pod is it the biggest which can tahan 5kg ?
Yes, this is Focus. Rated 5kg by Joby, real performance I don't know la. But I took this over the SLR-Zoom because this is made of alu instead of plastic.

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 20 2011, 01:07 AM)
Do you have a ballhead with you now?? Do u mind help me to test somethin?  laugh.gif
Try mount ur SB900 on ur camera with heaviest lens, den tilt it to vertical position, Portrait position I mean. See whether the legs can tahan without whole thing collapse or not? U can expand the legs to watever position n try.

I got a Gorilla Zoom version, that day went out vacation put on the floor, spread the legs a bit, den mount SB900 n my Tamron tilt to vertical, whole thing collapse when I will press da remote, can't manage to save it(the legs joints gave way)..... cry.gif ,  luckily it was juz a minor drop

p/s: don't trust ur gorillapod too much!! It will disappoint u sometimes  sweat.gif , it performs best on a rough surface horizontal bar/ esp wood!
Lemme try it later on. My heaviest setup is my 70200 and SB900. But if 70200 put portrait also is using the collar. Like that I try with my 1635 lor haha.
Mavik
post Jan 20 2011, 11:44 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Jan 20 2011, 03:52 AM)
i'm interested to shoot sports, mainly football, for my team. what lens should i get if i'm to buy the D3100 ya? thanks.
Depending on your budget you would like a long lens.

Can consider the following
- 55-200mm
- 70-300mm
- 70-200mm f/2.8
- 300mm f/2.8
dawho
post Jan 20 2011, 12:42 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(april @ Jan 19 2011, 11:07 PM)
between d3100 and d5000, which one is better for a budget DSLR beginner? and what are the difference?
go read review la....but my opinion new model better la..
BenSow
post Jan 20 2011, 12:47 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

I wanna buy a sling bag for my D3100.. something that doesnt say "There's a camera in here!!" tongue.gif For d3100 body and 18-55 lens... and need some space for my future tamron sp 90 too.. can someone recommend me? cheap cheap de ar~~ XP
dawho
post Jan 20 2011, 12:48 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(geebul @ Jan 18 2011, 04:44 PM)
hi,does anyone can help me to solve my problem with photoshop cs5 can't open .NEF image format to edit.....i've install that software but can't operate my .NEF image.....
try google first.....never occured to me though.....

Added on January 20, 2011, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(BenSow @ Jan 20 2011, 12:47 PM)
I wanna buy a sling bag for my D3100.. something that doesnt say "There's a camera in here!!" tongue.gif For d3100 body and 18-55 lens... and need some space for my future tamron sp 90 too.. can someone recommend me? cheap cheap de ar~~ XP
buy standard bag ok pe....try crumpler la....but for me free gift bag already good one.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by dawho: Jan 20 2011, 12:49 PM
bbuser91
post Jan 20 2011, 01:15 PM

302 posts

Crumpler 5MDH or 6MDH enough for you
Everdying
post Jan 20 2011, 01:30 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Jan 20 2011, 03:52 AM)
if its mostly in the day time, for newer lenses then the 55-200mm VR or 55-300mm VR should do.
if you got abit more money, then 70-300mm VR as it focuses faster.

syukriramli
post Jan 20 2011, 01:36 PM

128 posts

i thought nowadays people are trying to hide their camera gears..too many snatch-theft cases involving photographers i heard..not trying to scare you but just reminding you of the danger..nanti kang penat2 kumpul duit beli dslr lesap macam tu saja unsure.gif

sleep.gif bruce.gif cool2.gif
BenSow
post Jan 20 2011, 01:54 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(syukriramli @ Jan 20 2011, 01:36 PM)
i thought nowadays people are trying to hide their camera gears..too many snatch-theft cases involving photographers i heard..not trying to scare you but just reminding you of the danger..nanti kang penat2 kumpul duit beli dslr lesap macam tu saja  unsure.gif

which is why im looking for a bag that DOESNT say "there's a camera in here!!".. My family warned me about that too... just student and wasnt easy getting that D3100.. cant risk it getting stolen
celciuz
post Jan 20 2011, 01:56 PM

14,037 posts

Just buy anything that doesn't have Nikon word biggrin.gif. But nowadays robbers can easily identify bags like Lowepro.
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 20 2011, 02:02 PM

330 posts

Lowepro is too common. Hahaha. Can be spotted easily everywhere. Nikon leather type seems good with no Nikon word.
syukriramli
post Jan 20 2011, 02:05 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jan 20 2011, 01:54 PM)
which is why im looking for a bag that DOESNT say "there's a camera in here!!".. My family warned me about that too... just student and wasnt easy getting that D3100.. cant risk it getting stolen
haha..alamak..segan la salah bace tongue.gif good then..im a student too and i understand..you should go for crumpler backpack then..like the sinking barge..or the karachi outpost..very useful for students..can put in laptop as well as appearing like an ordinary backpack wink.gif

This post has been edited by syukriramli: Jan 20 2011, 02:05 PM
razuryza
post Jan 20 2011, 02:05 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jan 20 2011, 02:02 PM)
Lowepro is too common. Hahaha. Can be spotted easily everywhere. Nikon leather type seems good with no Nikon word.
nikon so called leather type also got nikon word label la..(maybe u mention the no badge ones.. but all leather i see got label stiched there)

This post has been edited by razuryza: Jan 20 2011, 02:06 PM
BenSow
post Jan 20 2011, 02:08 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

and crumpler... i bet they did research before robbing... need to find one that doesnt have a design like lowerpro or crumpler...
dawho
post Jan 20 2011, 02:09 PM

782 posts

buy ordinary school bag la...no one interested... biggrin.gif
BenSow
post Jan 20 2011, 02:11 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

haha thinking of that too... next time go out im using my school bag biggrin.gifD but i prefer sling bag... Hope i can find out with enough space... If padding not enough then how? o.o
Kiki-Lala
post Jan 20 2011, 02:14 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 20 2011, 02:05 PM)
nikon so called leather type also got nikon word label la..(maybe u mention the no badge ones.. but all leather i see got label stiched there)
yes, no badge one. only side of it. Nikon Professional which is tiny to be spotted. I used to carry that and my friend thought I was carrying a projector. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Kiki-Lala: Jan 20 2011, 02:16 PM
dawho
post Jan 20 2011, 02:15 PM

782 posts

buy bigger school bag...or travelling bag can oso....but if buy travelling bag...will be weirdo... biggrin.gif

126 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:18 AM