123 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Credit Card v13

zenquix
post Dec 17 2010, 10:03 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Dec 17 2010, 08:39 PM)
Actually it's alright to pay rm50
Just that since I'm so near to the 10k point,
I might as well move other spending to the ocbc now after knowing that I cannot get the rebate partially...  notworthy.gif
Here is my strategy next year (and actually this year as well tongue.gif)

Spend RM1k on 5% items only per month -> RM12k per year (free annual fee + free gst)

How to do it?

- 3-4 days before the end of the billing cycle, whatever gap to the RM1k limit, pay extra into utilities/phone bills using internet banking or over the counter

Utilities need to be paid every month anyway, might as well put extra in there and earn the 5%.
ekestima
post Dec 17 2010, 11:49 PM

930 posts

Some banks offer RM50 Svc Tax rebate for their customers who use their CC
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 17 2010, 11:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Dec 17 2010, 11:49 PM)
Such as ? I mean besides EON Bank, Standard Chartered and Hong Leong Bank that we already know.

winner
post Dec 18 2010, 04:41 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 17 2010, 10:03 PM)

Spend RM1k on 5% items only per month -> RM12k per year  (free annual fee + free gst)

How to do it?

- 3-4 days before the end of the billing cycle, whatever gap to the RM1k limit, pay extra into utilities/phone bills using internet banking or over the counter

Utilities need to be paid every month anyway, might as well put extra in there and earn the 5%.
As for me, from January 2010 onwards I will only use OCBC Titanium MC for expenses under the 5% cash back category. It's easy to hit RM1,000 per month for utility, hypermarket and restaurant bills. Payment for the rest will be via Amex or SCB for 2x points.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 17 2010, 11:58 PM)
Such as ? I mean besides EON Bank, Standard Chartered and Hong Leong Bank that we already know.
Somebody get it done from MBB. As for new card application, a lot of banks are offering cash back or points to offset or reimburse the service tax.
erry-
post Dec 18 2010, 05:28 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 17 2010, 09:22 PM)
Thank you so much !!! I've been looking for it since this morning !!!  notworthy.gif
welcome smile.gif

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 17 2010, 10:03 PM)

Spend RM1k on 5% items only per month -> RM12k per year  (free annual fee + free gst)

How to do it?

nice strategy thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ekestima @ Dec 17 2010, 11:49 PM)
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2010, 04:41 AM)
Somebody get it done from MBB. As for new card application, a lot of banks are offering cash back or points to offset or reimburse the service tax.
just like any other service tax imposed by and payable to the Malaysian Government, bank are unable to waive. however, they will give cash rebate/points to help you redeem against the service tax smile.gif

and it wont be automatically waive/rebate. need to redeem (starting 2nd year onwards),
new card (1st year) need to pay that gst then cover it back via cash rebate.

(btw some1 get it from mbb is me brows.gif)

This post has been edited by erry-: Dec 18 2010, 05:29 AM
winner
post Dec 18 2010, 08:57 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 18 2010, 05:28 AM)
new card (1st year) need to pay that gst then cover it back via cash rebate.
For new SCB cards, you need not do anything. Soon after your application is approved, you account will be granted RM88 for Gold card or RM188 for Platinum card and the service tax is also charged almost simultaneously. At that point in time, your account will have a surplus of RM38 or RM138. Currently, this is one of the best deals for cc application.
SUSpersistence85
post Dec 18 2010, 09:21 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2010, 08:57 AM)
For new SCB cards, you need not do anything. Soon after your application is approved, you account will be granted RM88 for Gold card or RM188 for Platinum card and the service tax is also charged almost simultaneously. At that point in time, your account will have a surplus of RM38 or RM138. Currently, this is one of the best deals for cc application.
that's right, and i will go to apply for it next year if the promotion is still valid icon_idea.gif

avars
post Dec 18 2010, 10:39 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 17 2010, 11:58 PM)
ive posted in the previous thread, HSBC, until end of Dec only
bingozero
post Dec 18 2010, 10:46 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2010, 04:41 AM)
As for me, from January 2010 onwards I will only use OCBC Titanium MC for expenses under the 5% cash back category. It's easy to hit RM1,000 per month for utility, hypermarket and restaurant bills. Payment for the rest will be via Amex or SCB for 2x points.
SCB which card are entire to get 2x points?
chemistry
post Dec 18 2010, 11:14 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 18 2010, 10:46 AM)
It is SCB Preferred WMC

jonuslee
post Dec 18 2010, 11:22 AM

Simple Guy with a Simple Life
1,167 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 17 2010, 12:23 PM)
Generally they share the same basic features as written in website.
If you dig into PROMOTIONS, you'll find that some promos are exclusively for Plat cards & above.
It seems like lots of promotion is for world mastercard for cimb.
chemistry
post Dec 18 2010, 11:32 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Dec 18 2010, 11:22 AM)
It seems like lots of promotion is for world mastercard for cimb.
Yeah, quite a lot.
CIMB has got numerous ongoing promo with Mastercard, from Classic to World.
jonuslee
post Dec 18 2010, 11:45 AM

Simple Guy with a Simple Life
1,167 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 18 2010, 11:32 AM)
Yeah, quite a lot.
CIMB has got numerous ongoing promo with Mastercard, from Classic to World.
It seems like the classic, gold and platinum card promotion is the same.Any differences between the gold and platinum privileges. All the promotion seems to be same for platinum and gold.Mayb Cimb more focusing on their worldmastercard i guess. hmm.gif
winner
post Dec 18 2010, 12:04 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 18 2010, 10:46 AM)
QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 18 2010, 11:14 AM)
That's right. It's SCB WMC. But 2x points are given with the condition that your monthly spending must be more than RM1,500. Or else, you will only get 1.5x points.

Alternatively, it is highly recommended to use SCB Business Visa Platinum. It gives 0.5% cash back plus 1x point, equivalent to 1% cash back or 2x points without any spending limit.
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 18 2010, 12:07 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(avars @ Dec 18 2010, 10:39 AM)
ive posted in the previous thread, HSBC, until end of Dec only
I am aware of the HSBC and Standard Chartered promotion. I just want to know what are the banks that offer to give free points to help their existing customers to pay for the credit card tax other than the 3 banks i mentioned earlier.

winner
post Dec 18 2010, 12:17 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 18 2010, 12:07 PM)
I am aware of the HSBC and Standard Chartered promotion. I just want to know what are the banks that offer to give free points to help their existing customers to pay for the credit card tax other than the 3 banks i mentioned earlier.
As mentioned, MBB has started giving out free points to compensate existing customers for the service tax. However at this juncture, only very few customers are selected for this benefit.
lolo18
post Dec 18 2010, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2010, 12:17 PM)
As mentioned, MBB has started giving out free points to compensate existing customers for the service tax. However at this juncture, only very few customers are selected for this benefit.
Ya. I do have MBB Petronas visa gold since 08. Last month they do send me a Platinum MC. I call the SC they need to pay for the GST myself but with 3 yrs AF waive. Since this Platinum MC dun bring any benefit to me, so i seng bank to MBB to cancel it. Then Yesterday i got a call from MBB again. Now they offer a another AMEX gold charge card which will preload 10k MR point inside to offset the GST. The condition its i need to use the card at not less than RM50 then only they will credit the MR point to me.
chemistry
post Dec 18 2010, 12:50 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Dec 18 2010, 11:45 AM)
It seems like the classic, gold and platinum card promotion is the same.Any differences between the gold and platinum privileges. All the promotion seems to be same for platinum and gold.Mayb Cimb more focusing on their worldmastercard i guess. hmm.gif
I have to agree.
I think CIMB is trying to make WMC and VI more exclusive than Platinum. Anyway, it seems WMC entry requirement has been greatly reduced although the website did not announce it B&W.

Added on December 18, 2010, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(lolo18 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:44 PM)
Ya. I do have MBB Petronas visa gold since 08. Last month they do send me a Platinum MC. I call the SC they need to pay for the GST myself but with 3 yrs AF waive. Since this Platinum MC dun bring any benefit to me, so i seng bank to MBB to cancel it. Then Yesterday i got a call from MBB again. Now they offer a another AMEX gold charge card which will preload 10k MR point inside to offset the GST. The condition its i need to use the card at not less than RM50 then only they will credit the MR point to me.
It is a Charge Card. Think twice bro.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Dec 18 2010, 12:52 PM
erry-
post Dec 18 2010, 12:53 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Dec 18 2010, 11:45 AM)
QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 18 2010, 12:50 PM)
I have to agree.
I think CIMB is trying to make WMC and VI more exclusive than Platinum. Anyway, it seems WMC entry requirement has been greatly reduced although the website did not announce it B&W.
agree too. waiting them to offer free upgrade to wmc & vi. lazy to apply. haha laugh.gif
but if they not offered then i'm ok with current plat. no need free golf, free coffee, free movie ticket (for wmc/vi), etc ~

This post has been edited by erry-: Dec 18 2010, 12:54 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 18 2010, 01:07 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2010, 12:17 PM)
Yes. But only one person got it. Just like the one person said that he got Alliance Bank to give him free Timeless points to redeem the credit card tax in the previous version of credit card thread. What i want to know is the banks that generously extend this special treatment not just to the lucky select few but everyone.

QUOTE(lolo18 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:44 PM)
Now they offer a another AMEX gold charge card which will preload 10k MR point inside to offset the GST. The condition its i need to use the card at not less than RM50 then only they will credit the MR point to me.
Fantastic !

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Dec 18 2010, 01:07 PM

123 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:27 PM