Credit Card v13

kei18kun
post Jan 12 2011, 10:24 AM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 07:45 AM)
Guys,
i have cancelled my HLB cc since 2008. But in august 2010 they send a statement stating tat i have an overdue payment. After several emails, this is what HLB officer have to say:

"As per our previous email, we would like to advise that there is no record of your cancellation request received at our end prior to service tax imposition. We wish to take this opportunity to advise that for each credit card issued the bank is authorize to charge a service tax of RM50-00 which is then make payable to the Royal Customs Department. The bank has indicated that with effective 1 January 2010, all individual holding credit cards will be imposed a service tax of RM 50-00 per principal card.

In view of the above, it is with regret that we are unable to reverse the service tax of RM50-00 which was levied in the Visa card on June 30, 2010. Nevertheless, we are pleased to advise that we have since reversed the annual fee and finance charges derived from the service tax on goodwill basis. We would appreciate if you could make the necessary arrangement to remit payment i.e. RM 50-00 before your  statement due date."

I do not intend to pay for the service tax as my card was cancelled before the implementation of the tax.

Guys, would like to know what should i do?
1) do i really need to pay for the service tax?
2) if i do not make the payment, what is the consequences?
in my experience, my dad refuse to pay for it. so will received calls and lawyer letter, in the end nothing happen. lol funny part is they even offer my dad cc facility again. it was citibank i think. really waste of manpower n effort.
well if u want to go through all this hassle. don't pay.

for me i'll just pay it and have a peace of mind since its partly ur fault
PPZ
post Jan 12 2011, 10:26 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(my_cat @ Jan 12 2011, 10:22 AM)
Do you read Mandarin? If yes, you can refer Here
sorry. i don know how to read chinese. can you explain to me please? sad.gif

my_cat
post Jan 12 2011, 11:49 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 12 2011, 09:32 AM)
You cannot fault the bank. The way I read it you did not understand the concept of payment due every month as indicated by your bill and payment hierarchy. It shouldn't be a problem under normal circumstances but you had installment plans which then triggered early settlement fees.

All the senior folks here at one point or another make mistakes with their cc. Just accept it was a mistake on your part and move on.
I would appreciate it if you don't write discouraging people to pay early coz that creates another problem when people pay late, they get charged late payment fee and they fault the bank for not waiving it off.

Added on January 12, 2011, 9:38 am

HJebat, you should have made follow up calls to ensure that your card was cancelled in the first place. While Gen-X mentioned that it is possible to reverse the GST but not all banks are willing to do so and HLB isn't known to be one of them. You can try to appeal to them but if they decline (likely to happen) then just bite the bullet and pay to avoid a black mark on your CCRIS. Take the RM50 as a lesson learnt from the mistake made.

I know I sound harsh but the reality is that banks are commercial entities, least likely they will take side with the customer. In this case, I see that you assumed the card is cancelled and never checked with the bank at all as to whether your card is still active or not.
I never utilize credit card installment plan. Do you mean all banks will treat "early payment" or "extra payment" as installment?
gerrardling
post Jan 12 2011, 11:52 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

i think HSBC billing system is so damn stupid, if u pay more than ur statement, they will use it to offset ur installment and ask u to pay for the early settlement. u just need to go to their branch and file for dispute and ask them to solve it within one week, then they will reverse the installment back to u
my_cat
post Jan 12 2011, 11:52 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 12 2011, 10:26 AM)
sorry. i don know how to read chinese. can you explain to me please? sad.gif
That guy having exactly same issue with you which is all his early payment goes to installment, but he manage to appeal and no need to pay the interest. Your CC is HCBC one?

Regarding the OCBC Ti Rebate, friend said he only get RM100 + RM 20 rebate for December's statement , Not RM170.

This post has been edited by my_cat: Jan 12 2011, 11:57 AM
hye
post Jan 12 2011, 11:59 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(my_cat @ Jan 12 2011, 11:49 AM)
I never utilize credit card installment plan. Do you mean all banks will treat "early payment" or "extra payment" as installment?
Call up CS and understand their payment hierarchy system. It is more or less the same across all banks with slight variations.
Once you understand this, you'll be more informative on how to pay for your cc.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 12 2011, 12:00 PM
charymsylyn
post Jan 12 2011, 12:02 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 12 2011, 10:24 AM)
in my experience, my dad refuse to pay for it. so will received calls and lawyer letter, in the end nothing happen. lol funny part is they even offer my dad cc facility again. it was citibank i think. really waste of manpower n effort.
well if u want to go through all this hassle. don't pay.

for me i'll just pay it and have a peace of mind since its partly ur fault
Being that the amount is small, nothing much they can do if you don't pay other than put you into blacklist, e.g. CTOS and others. This will cause issues if you ever want to open credit facility with anyone in the future. Note that despite the blacklist, banks and others are still allowed to offer you credit facilities.
PPZ
post Jan 12 2011, 01:00 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 12 2011, 11:52 AM)
i think HSBC billing system is so damn stupid, if u pay more than ur statement, they will use it to offset ur installment and ask u to pay for the early settlement. u just need to go to their branch and file for dispute and ask them to solve it within one week, then they will reverse the installment back to u
QUOTE(hye @ Jan 12 2011, 11:59 AM)
Call up CS and understand their payment hierarchy system. It is more or less the same across all banks with slight variations.
Once you understand this, you'll be more informative on how to pay for your cc.
thanks. i will be more careful from now on. i just called their CS and ask them to reverse my payment which i paid them yesterday without knowing that i have paid the installment advance for 9 months!! now i ask them to revert the installment to it's original plan and revert back the money i paid them yesterday. they told me that they have to receive the payment which i paid yesterday and then only will bank in the money into my account again.

haizz.. lesson learned and hope they can bank in to me as soon as possible.

afad
post Jan 12 2011, 01:35 PM

308 posts

hello guys,
im a noobie here,
im trying to apply for my 1st credit card,
still cant decide what to get,
i have a few questions i like to ask sifus here notworthy.gif

abt the finance charge,
do they count the 20 days interests free period frm date of purchase or frm the statement date?
i dont really understand this,
thanks..

felix2212
post Jan 12 2011, 01:49 PM

48 posts

hi, is that anyone here know more about Maybank Pantai card?

SUSDavid83
post Jan 12 2011, 02:05 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 12 2011, 01:49 PM)
hi, is that anyone here know more about Maybank Pantai card?
It's should be an AMEX CC:

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jan 12 2011, 01:35 PM)
hello guys,
im a noobie here,
im trying to apply for my 1st credit card,
still cant decide what to get,
i have a few questions i like to ask sifus here notworthy.gif

abt the finance charge,
do they count the 20 days interests free period frm date of purchase or frm the statement date?
i dont really understand this,
thanks..
as for the 20 days interest free, it goes like this

1. Every month the bank wil on a specific date (called Statement Date) issue you a statement informing you of you account status. And usually you need to make payment before the 20th day (Due Date) after this said Statement Date. For example:

Your Statement Date is on the 8th of every month. Therefore payment is due on or before 28th of that particular month. No interest will be imposed if you make payment before or on the Due Date. That's why they say 20 days interest free.

Actually you can enjoy more than 20 days interest free. Once again will take 8th of every Janaury 2011 to be your Statement Date. Now you go make a purchase on the 10th of January which is pass your Statement Date and this transaction amount will only be shown in the 8th of February 2011 Statement Date and payment due on 28th February 2011. That means you actually got yourself more than 40 days interest free on your purchase if you pay in full on or before 28th Feb 2011.

To read more on credit card, click on my signature below - Intro to CC101
afad
post Jan 12 2011, 02:32 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 12 2011, 02:18 PM)
as for the 20 days interest free, it goes like this

1. Every month the bank wil on a specific date (called Statement Date) issue you a statement informing you of you account status. And usually you need to make payment before the 20th day (Due Date) after this said Statement Date. For example:

Your Statement Date is on the 8th of every month. Therefore payment is due on or before 28th of that particular month. No interest will be imposed if you make payment before or on the Due Date. That's why they say 20 days interest free. 

Actually you can enjoy more than 20 days interest free. Once again will take 8th of  every Janaury 2011 to be your Statement Date. Now you go make a purchase on the 10th of January which is pass your Statement Date and this transaction amount will only be shown in the 8th of February 2011 Statement Date and payment due on 28th February 2011. That means you actually got yourself more than 40 days interest free on your purchase if you pay in full on or before 28th Feb 2011.

To read more on credit card, click on my signature below - Intro to CC101
actually, i already read ur blog (good read btw thumbup.gif ),
thats what im trying to understand,
so that mean anything we buy will accumulate in the statement date,
and also the interest free period actually starts frm the statement date to the due date (not from the date of purchase rite),
if like that then we can have like u said more than 40 days of interest free rclxms.gif ,

im confused bcos before,i consult abt it with CIMB bank officer when im there,
and he kept saying that if i dont pay my usage 20 days after i swept my card for any purchases,
i will be charge with the finance charge, i dont want that..

and according to his explanation (if it is true),
then we need to know the date of every purchases we make,
and start counting the days, if we want to avoid the finance charge,
correct me if im wrong, still learning here sweat.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jan 12 2011, 02:32 PM)
actually, i already read ur blog (good read btw thumbup.gif ),
thats what im trying to understand,
so that mean anything we buy will accumulate in the statement date,
and also the interest free period actually starts frm the statement date to the due date (not from the date of purchase rite),
if like that then we can have like u said more than 40 days of interest free rclxms.gif ,

im confused bcos before,i consult abt it with CIMB bank officer when im there,
and he kept saying that if i dont pay my usage 20 days after i swept my card for any purchases,
i will be charge with the finance charge, i dont want that..

and according to his explanation (if it is true),
then we need to know the date of every purchases we make,
and start counting the days, if we want to avoid the finance charge,
correct me if im wrong, still learning here sweat.gif
that CIMB guy is stupid for a bank officer (to be an officer nowadays one need a degree). Just pay in full whatever amount that is stated in the Statement before the Due Date and you won't be imposed a single sen of interest.
PPZ
post Jan 12 2011, 02:37 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 10 2011, 10:00 PM)
Since you have only EON GSC and HSBC Amanah, I would recommend you go with AMEX Credit Card instead of PBB Esso Mobil. Why I say so is because you will also get 5X reward ponts for Utilities (DiGi, Maxis & CElcom) and Groceries besides Petrol.

besides the 5X rewards for petrol, groceries and etc. other than this, all will be 2X?
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 12 2011, 02:37 PM)
besides the 5X rewards for petrol, groceries and etc. other than this, all will be 2X?
Yes for AMEX Gold Credit Card in general. However, AMEX do have promotions where last year get 10X for petrol.

The thing is 2X membership reward points is equaivalent to 1% cash back (200MR = RM1). So you get minimum 1% cash back uncapped for whatever transactions.
PPZ
post Jan 12 2011, 02:49 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 12 2011, 02:42 PM)
Yes for AMEX Gold Credit Card in general. However, AMEX do have promotions where last year get 10X for petrol.

The thing is 2X membership reward points is equaivalent to 1% cash back (200MR = RM1). So you get minimum 1% cash back uncapped for whatever transactions.
hmm.. so that means, exclude the 5X reward points, whatever i swap will get 2X reward points right? they got capped reward points that can redeem cash?
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2011, 02:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 12 2011, 02:49 PM)
hmm.. so that means, exclude the 5X reward points, whatever i swap will get 2X reward points right? they got capped reward points that can redeem cash?
my english must be bad tongue.gif , no cap for AMEX. You can redeem as long as you got membership reward points.

Do go check out my blog on credit cards --> click at AMEX label (on the right column) to get more info on AMEX Gold CC.
MGM
post Jan 12 2011, 02:56 PM

18,410 posts

After going thru my 2011-01-11 ocbc ti statement, the rebate calculated is based on statement month.

Rebate cap of RM100+RM20 applies for transaction btw 12-12-10 to 11-1-11

erry-
post Jan 12 2011, 02:56 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 07:45 AM)
Guys,
i have cancelled my HLB cc since 2008. But in august 2010 they send a statement stating tat i have an overdue payment.
I do not intend to pay for the service tax as my card was cancelled before the implementation of the tax.

Guys, would like to know what should i do?
1) do i really need to pay for the service tax?
2) if i do not make the payment, what is the consequences?
QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 09:45 AM)
i did not get any statements between 2008 & August 2010.
So, when i received it on August 10...i was like "huh?!" blur, blur...
u not received statement bcoz u didnt swipe the card.
thats why bank dont send any statement, untill got govt tax rm50 imposed on june 2010, then there u have a statement on august 2010.

try to appeal to waived the gst and cancel the card.
if unsuccessful, just pay that rm50 and cancel the card. make sure this time confirm cancel.
its better to go to bank to cancel, and the bank officer cut the card in front of ur eyes.

then try to get rm50 (or more) from other cards rebates (to cover that rm50).

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 12 2011, 03:28 PM

123 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:09 AM