hye
post Jan 11 2011, 04:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 11 2011, 04:28 PM)
no people reply me one
Because your question a lot of times has been asked.
Just wait for it to be approved ... everyone here had to wait for their card and yours is not the only application the bank is looking at.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 04:34 PM
erry-
post Jan 11 2011, 04:45 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Jan 11 2011, 04:26 PM)
Yea, but seriously... who actually pay the annual fees..
They are all waive anyway...
really? all waive anyway? hmm.gif

dont think so sweat.gif

as long as not free for life or free with condition (such as 36 swipe/year or spend rm30k/year), then its not guarantee waived!

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 11 2011, 04:51 PM
dopp
post Jan 11 2011, 05:02 PM

1,733 posts

I've never pay for my
ambank
ctbank
mbb
mbb amex
pb bank
cimb
alliance
HLB
EON
STD chart business plat
credit cardS
so ya... I dont use all of them(apply to get free gift only), i only use ctbank, mbb and eon gsc..
now i cancelled most of them, except HLB insist to waive my gov tax $50 eventhough i've never swipe their card once.

erry-
post Jan 11 2011, 05:12 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

well, seems almost all ur card can get free for life with condition such as pbb, alliance, eon, citibank (assume its choice) and hlb.

also cards that are really free for life without condition such as ambg, mbb amex, and cimb.

others, usually need to call to waived.
unless, they already make it free for life for u.

my mbb (not petronas) free for life with no condition (should have annual fee).
my hsbc also free for life with no condition (should swipe 12x/year).

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 11 2011, 05:14 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2011, 05:13 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 11 2011, 04:28 PM)
no people reply me one
coz there's no definite answer
and does it really matter?
erry-
post Jan 11 2011, 05:16 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 11 2011, 05:13 PM)
coz there's no definite answer
and does it really matter?
thats why. go call bank is faster than ask here sweat.gif

tAmp0i
post Jan 11 2011, 05:31 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

I received a call at 2.15pm from someone who claimed to be from Standard Chartered name 'Ken' or somewhat similar. He started offering me about this SCB credit cards and asked which cards and CL I possessed at the moment. I felt suspicious after that and straight then I questioned him how he has my HP number, he answered 'we pick the number randomly' and then shooted him which branch he is from... 'Standard Chartered lah' is his answer, then without further discussion I just told him to forward me the details of his so called promotions to my email and up 'till now I don't get his email. The number he used to call me is XXXXXX9300, anyone who encountered the same experience please share whether this is a prank or not...

This post has been edited by tAmp0i: Jan 11 2011, 08:20 PM
erry-
post Jan 11 2011, 05:44 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 05:31 PM)
I received a call at 2.15pm from someone who claimed to be from Standard Chartered name 'Ken' or somewhat similar. He started offering me about this SCB credit cards and asked which cards and CL I possessed at the moment. I felt suspicious after that and straight then I questioned him how he has my HP number, he answered 'we pick the number randomly' and then shooted him which branch he is from... 'Standard Chartered lah' is his answer, then without further discussion I just told him to forward me the details of his so called promotions to my email and up 'till now I don't get his email. anyone who encountered the same experience please share whether this is a prank or not...
usually bank only called to verify transaction, and this procedure not even asking for ur credit card number.

and afaik, bank never call people to offer credit card? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 11 2011, 06:18 PM
hye
post Jan 11 2011, 05:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Standard Chartered do not make calls to offer cc. Even if it is done, it is done by Price Solutions which is the marketing arm for Standard Chartered.

tAmp0i & erry- ... I'll suggest removing the reference to the mobile number directly as I don't see a (proven) scam has happened. It is potential warning ... just to be fair to the guy in case he was genuine. And if there's really a case, tAmp0i please report it to SCB because SCB take such matters seriously.

I don't think this a place to make a report based on something still vague and without proof. Definitely ... this cc thread is not Kopi Tiam. Let's handle matters in a more adult fashion.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 05:53 PM
erry-
post Jan 11 2011, 06:12 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 11 2011, 05:52 PM)
Standard Chartered do not make calls to offer cc. Even if it is done, it is done by Price Solutions which is the marketing arm for Standard Chartered.

tAmp0i & erry- ... I'll suggest removing the reference to the mobile number directly as I don't see a (proven) scam has happened. It is potential warning ... just to be fair to the guy in case he was genuine. And if there's really a case, tAmp0i please report it to SCB because SCB take such matters seriously.

I don't think this a place to make a report based on something still vague and without proof. Definitely ... this cc thread is not Kopi Tiam. Let's handle matters in a more adult fashion.
ok removed the number already in my previous post.

btw, the number shows up in our screen sometimes is not real.

like ambank case, they never call their cust, but their helpline number is being used by scammer to call people sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 11 2011, 06:22 PM
foong_14
post Jan 11 2011, 09:02 PM

14 posts

i just got back ocbc titanium approved. application submitted on jan 4. previously i sent through email on dec 22 however they said did not receive so finally i went to the branch to submit.
tAmp0i
post Jan 11 2011, 09:43 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 11 2011, 05:52 PM)

Anyway, i believe this is enough to convince it is quite possibly a scam?... rolleyes.gif

charymsylyn
post Jan 11 2011, 10:17 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 05:31 PM)
I received a call at 2.15pm from someone who claimed to be from Standard Chartered name 'Ken' or somewhat similar. He started offering me about this SCB credit cards and asked which cards and CL I possessed at the moment. I felt suspicious after that and straight then I questioned him how he has my HP number, he answered 'we pick the number randomly' and then shooted him which branch he is from... 'Standard Chartered lah' is his answer, then without further discussion I just told him to forward me the details of his so called promotions to my email and up 'till now I don't get his email. The number he used to call me is XXXXXX9300, anyone who encountered the same experience please share whether this is a prank or not...
Marketing calls taken from credit card customer database is quite common, especially with certain banks. Genuine marketing calls will usually only ask is your name so and so and whether you are interested in the product they want to sell. They should not ask for any info from you. Feel free to hang up if they do ask.
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2011, 10:26 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 09:43 PM)
Anyway, i believe this is enough to convince it is quite possibly a scam?... rolleyes.gif
they even hv ur email address shocking.gif
but then might be someone u knew gv him ur details, so i guessed he knew your full name as well

hye
post Jan 11 2011, 10:45 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 09:43 PM)

Possibly but the right thing to do is to report it to the bank if you suspect anything.
Although the information looks suspicious but there's no crime has taken place yet. The bank's official reply will prove whether this is a scam or not.

The information that you shared will be helpful for the folks here and a good reminder to those who came in here and ask whether can apply credit card using email. Don't be lazy to make that trip to the bank or to look for proper cc representatives ... your laziness and stupidity might cost you your identity theft.

Personally, I don't apply my credit card via someone who uses their yahoo mail or similar. My last application via email was with someone who uses @citibank email ID.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 10:46 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 11 2011, 10:47 PM

52,874 posts

My friend received an email to re-activated a suspended M2U account but my friend doesn't have a M2U account.

So suspicious and please don't click or login from the link sent using email.
roy918
post Jan 11 2011, 11:05 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 11 2011, 10:45 PM)
Possibly but the right thing to do is to report it to the bank if you suspect anything.
Although the information looks suspicious but there's no crime has taken place yet. The bank's official reply will prove whether this is a scam or not. 

The information that you shared will be helpful for the folks here and a good reminder to those who came in here and ask whether can apply credit card using email. Don't be lazy to make that trip to the bank or to look for proper cc representatives ... your laziness and stupidity might cost you your identity theft.

Personally, I don't apply my credit card via someone who uses their yahoo mail or similar. My last application via email was with someone who uses @citibank email ID.
Alternatively, phishing websites can be reported to MCMC here.
But how fast would MCMC block the website is another question.
Alec.Yong
post Jan 11 2011, 11:09 PM

1,488 posts

Just called to CIMB Bank CS, request for the newly launched Visa Signature. CS told that the card will send to me within one week.
No form required for existing CIMB card member, this is what the CS told me.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 11 2011, 11:10 PM

52,874 posts

What is the difference between Visa Signature and Visa Infinite?

CIMB Visa Signature: http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=cb...9&tpt=cimb_bank

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 11 2011, 11:13 PM
siutimtim
post Jan 11 2011, 11:13 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:10 PM)
What is the difference between Visa Signature and Visa Infinite?
more benefits for signature.. hahaha

123 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:33 PM