203 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v2, All things Big 4 + others

TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 5 2011, 12:03 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(MichelleXD @ Jul 4 2011, 05:32 PM)
Hey! I just sat for my ACCA optional papers and was recently offered a conditional job offer pending on my results by PWC and EY. I'm currently torn between both.

I personally prefer consumer product/services line, which I highlighted in my CV and during interviews. If I join PWC, I'll only know which industry line I get into once I start work. But I was interviewed by a manager from CIPS, not sure if that indicated anything.

Meanwhile I've been offered a position in EY's REC department. I've been told there's not much difference between the industry line, as only Financial Services is really specialised.

Is there anyone who is familiar with EY's REC department? I only have friends in FS/Services so I'm not too sure about REC.

If any of you have any input on which place is best to launch my career, I'm more than happy to hear your honest opinion.

Thank you. smile.gif
Hahaha ironically CIPS and REC are more in common than you think. In both CIPS and REC the core clients are property clients (in CIPS case it's Sime Properties) and for REC (as it's name suggest real estate and construction). SO personally, both is about the same.

I say given your timing of joining I think go for EY would be better. PwC always late at salary adjustments and all smile.gif
bradshaw6861
post Jul 5 2011, 12:11 AM

47 posts

to work in Big4, must be good in papers. 3 pointers at least...even the 3 pointers don't have the good command of english, they probably wouldn't care...even Band 4 for MUET considered low..yes offense
home.aziz
post Jul 5 2011, 12:19 AM

49 posts

I doubt 3. CGPA is all too necessary if you can back it up with a good EC and work experience. Got in with <2.5.
monsta2011
post Jul 5 2011, 08:14 PM

432 posts

Hi I would like to know whether the audit department is male dominated? and approximately how many junior associates are there?
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 6 2011, 03:59 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 5 2011, 08:14 PM)
Hi I would like to know whether the audit department is male dominated? and approximately how many junior associates are there?
My dear, it's FEMALE dominated LOL and there's TONNES of junior associates.
CyberTroop
post Jul 6 2011, 04:53 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 6 2011, 03:59 AM)
Not in the System Audit department cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
monsta2011
post Jul 6 2011, 04:40 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 6 2011, 03:59 AM)
rclxms.gif Cool! Wakakaka! thumbup.gif The office must be HUGE to accomodate that many associates...

This post has been edited by monsta2011: Jul 6 2011, 04:42 PM
shirley_andy
post Jul 7 2011, 12:24 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

just curious why is BDO so unpopular among graduates?
kitkit88
post Jul 7 2011, 12:43 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Vh4ilor @ Jul 2 2011, 06:31 AM)
Hey guys

I just applied for audit associate positions in all the big4 firms in Penang, did I just miss a big recruitment window or something?
i dun tink there is still opening at tis time, probably around aug?
monsta2011
post Jul 7 2011, 05:11 PM

432 posts

Have anyone tried to apply for a graduate position in the Big 4 in SG?
cikut
post Jul 8 2011, 09:59 AM

18 posts

Hi All,

Just got a phone screening interview from KPMG on Monday evening, and then received a call yesterday to attend the interview later today. Done the online assessments. Whats the chances? Really looking forward to to get the job.

Thanks,
Regards.
semivalue
post Jul 8 2011, 10:30 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jul 7 2011, 12:24 AM)
just curious why is BDO so unpopular among graduates?
answer: coz it's not among the big4
+
this is a thread for big4, so BDO automatic not in the list.
allornothing
post Jul 8 2011, 11:26 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

QUOTE(cikut @ Jul 8 2011, 09:59 AM)
Hi All,

Just got a phone screening interview from KPMG on Monday evening, and then received a call yesterday to attend the interview later today. Done the online assessments. Whats the chances? Really looking forward to to get the job.

Thanks,
Regards.
As long as you ace the interview you'll be fine. I didn't finish the assessment due to lack of time but it didn't change the outcome smile.gif
monsta2011
post Jul 10 2011, 02:28 PM

432 posts

Don't you guys find it scary to go home late at night? Especially when you have to pick up your car in the car park. That place is prone to car thieves/rapists at night shocking.gif unless u know there's Batman around.
allornothing
post Jul 10 2011, 04:28 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

If I know I'm staying back I'll re park my car.

Plus there are midnight shows going on in the cinema. But I doubt I would want to stay that late
monsta2011
post Jul 10 2011, 06:32 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ Jul 10 2011, 04:28 PM)
If I know I'm staying back I'll re park my car.

Plus there are midnight shows going on in the cinema. But I doubt I would want to stay that late
Is it possible to bring work home?
Garfie
post Jul 10 2011, 06:36 PM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 10 2011, 06:32 PM)
depends on how your team's work culture is....for me i don't really mind if work can be done at home e.g. documentation and whatnot. at the end of the day, as long as the work gets done

monsta2011
post Jul 10 2011, 06:56 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Jul 10 2011, 06:36 PM)
depends on how your team's work culture is....for me i don't really mind if work can be done at home e.g. documentation and whatnot. at the end of the day, as long as the work gets done

Ah that'd be really great. I'm the one who has to get back home before sunset LOL those crime cases are like ghost stories they scare me to the max. I'm always with someone when I go out at night in Malaysia. It's weird though I don't have this fear at all in Oz probably I heard too many crime stories happening in KL.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 10 2011, 09:24 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 10 2011, 02:28 PM)
Don't you guys find it scary to go home late at night? Especially when you have to pick up your car in the car park. That place is prone to car thieves/rapists at night  shocking.gif  unless u know there's Batman around.
Hahaha, yeah. Just take the relevant safety precautions and you'll be fine. Repark your car, don't work alone (besides if you wanna work alone you might as well go home, or go find starbucks or some nice chillaxed cafe somewhere)

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 10 2011, 06:32 PM)
Generally, yes, but not all the time (especially during key dates). I can be very lenient initially, but I mentally keep notes of a person's progress. If that person is obviously not working as fast as he/she should, I'll make a bit of noise. And if it doesnt work, I'll jsut escalates it upward that this associate is not performing, and will be reflected accordingly. I am nice to people whom I find to be competent, but really strict to the rest.

Call me biased, but it's how I manage. If you don't deserve the free rein, you don't get it.
seeya
post Jul 10 2011, 10:55 PM

I am having dilemma here.... i got offer from both EY or PwC....join in their audit department....which 1 should i choose?

i heard that PwC have better benefits, any1 can tell me more abt it??

203 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:21 AM